A nap should never continue for longer than half an hour.

 

I woke up around three this morning and this time I can’t blame any of the dogs🙂 I let the dogs outside and the night was rather warm and calm, the clouds had come and stopped the eventual frost from reigning the land. But I had big problems going back to sleep after that. I did eventually but I don’t think I slept for long. It was still dark when I got up the second time and by then the rain had come.

 

 

Autumn aster.

 

 

 

Even long after the sun must have risen oven the world it still was very dark outside. The rain had changed to a gentle drizzle and we all enjoyed the walk. I talked a bit loud so that no deers or other animals would stay to close to us, I don’t want to go out looking for Sune in weather like that if he would get the urge to follow them. But he did actually listen very good when we did meet a deer on the road one morning. He started to follow it but stopped when I told him to🙂 I do hope he will continue like that.

 

 

 

 

 

Nova is a completely different dog when it comes to that though🙂 But it seems to work great with her leashed to Orvar, he has already stopped her from running after animals and he doesn’t seem to dislike his job either especially since he understood that he’s in charge🙂 I always let him walk by himself for half the distance until I leash Nova to him and after that they both walk free from me but Nova still can’t do anything she shouldn’t🙂 I think this might be the answer if she refuses to stop running after hares. But there is one field where I can see if there are any hares and she’s allowed to walk by herself there.

 

Maximilians sunflower.

 

 

Clematis tangutica in the top of my crab apple tree.

 

The Aronia get a wonderful autumn color.

 

I thought it would be nice to take a little nap after the walk, fifteen minutes up to half an hour is perfect and the day always get good after that. Unfortunately for me I slept for more than two and a half hour and that’s never good🙂🙂🙂 I tend to get cranky, get a head ache and sort of zombie like for the rest of the day when that happens and I can honestly say that today is no exception. So when we were out walking a while ago I did over react when ever Orvar walked away to far ahead of us and I did over react when they continued to walk when I told them to stop and so on. The good thing is that not a single wild animal stayed within hearing distance after me going on🙂🙂🙂

 

The day had become a bit brighter when we were out walking after our very long nap.

 

 

 

 

There was a short while when the clouds got thinner and the sun almost reached us but now it’s back to deep grey clouds again and it is almost as dark as when we went out the first time today. The kitchen door is open though because it is fairly warm but I have a fire burning in the stove at the same time. The rain makes everything feel damp and as soon as I close the door it will feel nice, dry and warm indoors again.

 

 

 

 

 

It is time to make another pot of tea and then I’ll get upstairs and watch a movie. I’ll start with MIB 3, if it is as bad as they say I still have two really good ones to watch after it so the day doesn’t feel like a total waste when it comes to film watching.

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “A nap should never continue for longer than half an hour.

  1. beautiful photos!!! I think its wonderful the dogs walking together, our dog carried his own leash half the time in his mouth, when he grew old we really didn’t need to leash him but I did in case of the odd rabbit or deer or chipmunks, he HATED those!!!!!.He would always try to chase at the most unexpected moments, he listened but I was always afraid of porcupines or skunks , he would love to chase those and the bush grew in close on our walk so they could come out quickly.I miss my daily walks terribly but through your blog I feel a bit better, thankyou for that,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m so glad it works so good to have Nova and Orvar leashed together like that. I guess they still feel as they are free from being leashed even though they do disagree on where to go sometimes🙂🙂

      I only have to worry abut Nova following hares and the occasional squirrel. Thankfully we don’t have neither skunks nor porcupines here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Helt fantastiskt vackra foton! Vilka färger! Jobbigt när man “försover” sig, det gjorde jag igår och hela eftermiddagen blev konstig:( Vädret har varit underligt idag – ösregn eller duggregn men hela tiden har solen lyst och det resulterade i den bredaste regnbåge jag sett:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Ja den här dagen har blivit ganska kass🙂🙂 Jag är ännu tröttare nu än innan och inget får jag gjort heller🙂

      Fick se en otroligt fin regnbåge på vår eftermiddagspromenad idag, man såg både var den började och slutade🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. The dark gloomy skies certainly make the autumn foliage stand out. I know what you mean about too-long naps; groggy, grumpy and grumbly!

    • Hi Robin!

      yes it certainly does!

      This day has been just a long pain🙂 I get nothing done and I’m even more tired now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. yeah, a short nap can be refreshing but a long one can really screw up a day.😀
    although sometimes I think it would be nice to just wander around living my life with no time restraints. Just getting up whenever and sleepng whenever and no deadlines or need to be anywhere.🙂
    love all the photos.
    My Jimmy is pretty good about staying with me. I have him on a tie-out while working in the part of the yard that’s not fenced. The other day he was laying on top of the picnic table sunning himself when a jogger went by with her dog. He got up and trotted down the drive. I was working on the tree and thought he’d stop when the line ran out. Intead the line snapped and he kept going. I called after him but he wanted to see that dog. The jogger stopped and held her dog up on her and held his muzzle closed while Jimmy kept cicrling them like he was saying “Hi! my name is Jimmy! Want to play?” He didn’t come to me when I called, he was so focused. I had to go get him (I apologized a lot) and walked him back to the house. He was so happy, without a clue what just happened. I didn’t yell or anything because I didn’t want him to think he gets yelled at when he comes to me. I’m not sure if I handled that correctly.
    I was surprised that he didn’t come back. I guess I still have work to do.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I would love to have no time restraints, that’s why I look forward to retirement so much, only 17-19 years left until that happens🙂🙂🙂

      I have to say that all dogs are good at staying close to me when I’m around (except for Nova if a hare shows up when we’re out walking, she doesn’t care about them if she’s in the garden though) but if I go inside for a longer period of time both the old ones makes their walkabouts🙂 My neighbors know about that and knows they are harmless so they just let them walk around🙂

      But I remember when old Sickan did just what Your Jimmy did🙂 It’s always so embarrassing and one can see in the other dog owners eyes that they think one is useless as a dog owner🙂🙂🙂. I yell at my dogs if I have to go and get them but if they come back themselves I praise them instead. They must know that coming back themselves is a great thing but getting fetched by me is a scary thing🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Your day got so nice and sunny. I’m a bit jealous. It is still dark and damp here, been that way all day.

    When Gracie sees a rabbit outside the fence, she tries to jump the fence. Luckily, she can’t anymore, too muscular. When she walks, I put a halter on her as she has the ability to shake her head out of the collar and if she does, she’s off and running. I call her and she ignores me, but she’ll go to anyone else her calls her. If my neighbors hear me, one goes out and captures her.

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes we did get a nice day but it’s quite the opposite here this morning. The rain is pouring down and all dogs except for Sune refused to get out in to the rain🙂

      I have a harness on Nova ans she can’t get out of that one🙂 But she does behave very calm if she is leashed and don’t try to run after that hare though. She gets a temporary deafness if I should call after her🙂 but always comes back to the place she ran away from or she runs straight home🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! that is exactly why i never take naps. i feel weird when i wake up. your fall colors are beautiful. i drove home yesterday through the appalacian mountains and it was breath taking! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Normally I only sleep for a very short while but obviously my body needed more yesterday, to bad it needed so much more🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve seen photographs from the Appalachians in autumn and they have been spectacular so I can imagine how beautiful it must have been driving there!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, I usually run out of words to comment on the beautiful fall colors and today is no exception. The blue flowers are so atmospheric and the last photo was WOW. I can never take an afternoon nap, but Grenville does it all the time and outdoors in the hammock before it gets too cold. But I have never tried to do that. Hope that at least one of the DVDs turns out to be good watching. All of the movies we own have been packed away when we stored items to list our home, sometimes we borrow them from the local library. There are both DVD and VHS movies but the selection is not extensive, however there is no charge to take them out.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      The colors are more vibrant this autumn, they are normally a bit more dull but I won’t complain🙂

      I usually only sleep for a quarter of an hour but yesterday wasn’t one of those days🙂🙂🙂 I wouldn’t had complained if I hadn’t been just as tired all day🙂

      I looked at MIB 3 and I thought it was rather good and I’m glad I saw it. I’ve learned never to listen to what other people say when it comes to movies🙂

      I think they have dvd’s in our libraries too but I live so far from them that I haven’t been there for a very long time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

