Dogs!

Lots and lots of apples even though half the tree is gone.

 

Hector woke me up at 3 am this morning. If he has to go, he has to go so up I went and all dogs followed me down. ย Guess if I got surprised when none except Sune went out to do his business, the other just stood and stared at me and waited for the treat they all get when Sune does what he’s supposed to do outside the cottage ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve given them a treat as well so no jealousy should grow among them. I think I have to stop doing that from now on ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I opened the door again after they had eaten and then Hector just disappeared! He returned after twenty minutes and realized that he had done something stupid when he saw my face ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

El Diabolo!

 

 

ย Theย Moose flies (I think You call them deer flies) have arrived and I just hare them! They rarely bite anything else than a moose but if they do it hurts like h… Their legs and feet are constructed in a way that makes it almost impossible to brush them off the clothes or the hair and one can hit them hard and they just laugh in our faces. It is an interesting fly though because as soon as they land on a moose they drop their wings and live very much like tics. Thankfully they can’t survive on human blood ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Three landed on my head yesterday and two tried to walk inside my ears!!!! I managed to get them out before they got too deep ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

A new kind of fly has moved to us from the north-east and it too uses moose in a nasty way. They look very much like a small short-haired bumblebee and hovers in front of a moose, in front of its eyes. Then suddenly it squirts it larva’s straight in to the eye of the poor moose. ย The larva’s have some kind of hooks that they use to be able to stay there until it’s time to get to the next stage in their lives. It has happened that they have done this on humans too and those that have experienced this says it’s very painful. The only way to get rid of them is by going to the doctor. It is when I read things like that I’m glad I have glasses ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

It is very quiet in the cottage at the moment. My cats are outside hunting things and my dogs are asleep. The only sounds that can be heard is me writing, the computers fan and the fire in the stove. It’s kind of nice and very unusual ๐Ÿ™‚ My peppers are growing by my kitchen window and are now as big as normal peppers are when ripe but these will become at least three times as long before I’ll use them but at least I will get some peppers. I have brought in some tomatoes and placed them in another window heading south but I doubt they’ll become red anyway.

 

 

 

 

A non climbing Clematis, I don’t know what species though.

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and I think I’ll have some granola and yoghurt today. I’m not especially hungry to be honest but I know I will be if I don’t eat anything ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Dogs!

  1. Yes, Christer, time to stop the 3:00 am treats. This helped teach Sune about being a good dog, but now they are taking advantage, I think. Love the fall foliage photos, and the photos of the poppies and clematis. The moose fly sounds horrific, but the worst is the second fly, holy crap what an awful creature. Thanks for the images of a moose being sprayed with larvae into the eyes!

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes this must stop but I have to admit that he’s pretty smart my Hector ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I can’t say I like either of those flies ๐Ÿ™‚ The squirting one is still rather rare here and I hope it stays that way ๐Ÿ™‚ But I have seen it here and always liked it, until I read what it does ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I was wondering as I read this if nova and hector have made a deal with sune to make more outdoor visits for more treats!!! These dogs are tooooo smart. we have Deer flies they give a horrible nasty bite and their bigger cousin we call Horse flies and bother the moose terribly.I have never heard of the flie that squirts its larve in the animals eyes but it truly creeped me out!!!!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Are You back now? I have to check out if You have written anything in Your blog again:

      I’m pretty sure they are cooperating in this ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ but I know that it is Hector that has figured it all out, he’s pretty smart that one.

      The moose fly comes from south and the other one from northern Siberia, to bad both of them had to move to us. From now on I’ll use ear plugs when walking by the bog and never use contact lenses out there either ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. De รคr inte dumma djuren:) tรคnk att fรฅ fรถr sig att “lura” ner dig bara fรถr att fรฅ lite “nattamat”:) *
    ร„lgflugor รคr vidriga, Emma (dottern) fick en รคlgfluga in i รถrat fรถr mรฅnga รฅr sedan hon hรถll pรฅ att bli tokig inte ens lรคkaren kunde fรฅ ut den sรฅ det vara bara att vรคnta tills den krรถp ut igen:( Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjรคnare Monne!

      Det var det jag var livrรคdd fรถr! Vidriga djur som de รคr och รคnnu vidriga om de kryper in i รถrat!!!! Jag hade nog blivit totalt galen! Hur klarade hon sig frรฅn att inte bli tokig fรถr resten av livet ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ha det!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    We have deer flies which are also called moose flies but they are not the same as your moose flies. They look like houseflies dressed up in bee colors. Very delta wing shaped and streamlined. They usually land behind an animal’s ears and administer a very painful bite. They do it to people, too, as I can attest although they just bite us anywhere they can. I hate them even more than mosquitoes. No spitting of larvae into eyes or dropping wings and living as a parasite. They just bite, drink and fly off when swatted.
    I think Hector had to go, got distracted by the impending treat and then remembered and went off to do his duty in the garden like a good dog.
    Rocky’s trick is to ask to go out so he can come back in and get a treat. Sometimes he comes in, gets a treat, asks to go out and comes back in again in hopes I might have forgotten that we just did that. ๐Ÿ™‚ Dogs are cool.
    Do you suppose the apple tree is producing abundantly because it knows it’s failing? Make apples now before it becomes an unsuccessful life-form? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!

      These look very different from house flies, I just think they are disgusting! Ours loves to land on the head and crawl down in to the hair and stay there. I have woken up some nights feeling them crawling around and then I panic ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      No he didn’t ๐Ÿ™‚ He had planned this I’m afraid. The walk later on went far outside the garden. Either he went to the goats or out in to the cow pasture. Lots of good things for a dog to eat there and what a wonderful breath they get ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sune has started to pose beautiful and then run inside to get a treat ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ He tries several times until he gives up ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      No I don’t think that’s why we get so many apples around here this year. We get lots of apples every time the old crab apple tree flowers. It can pollinate all varieties of apples since it is a species. It flowered this year but won’t next, so I’ll probably get very few apples next year instead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Sometimes, in the middle of the night, Gracie goes downstairs and rings her bells. I try to ignore her hoping she’ll come back upstairs but then she’ll ring the bells louder and down I go When she comes in, she gets into her crate and pokes her head out expecting a treat. When I was training her, she always got one and still expects one even now. I, of course give her one.

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m afraid Sune will get that behavior as well ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ So I think I better stop treating at least the others during night time. Hector is wayb to clever I feel ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Beautiful pictures again – as always ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks! Those squirty flies sound like something out of a horror movie! Scary!!
    I think the apple tree is producing because it isn’t wasting energy trying to heal it’s parts that were dying… Judicious pruning helps almost all plants produce more fruit. Hope you aren’t too cold yet! Though I am sure it’s pretty chilly at 3 am…

    • Hi Alice!

      Thank You ๐Ÿ™‚

      But they are cute though ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      We get lots of apples every time the crap apple tree flowers wich it does every second year. So I’ll get less apples next year. I don’t think the part that still stands were affected especially much by loosing the other half, they most probably never grew back together after being split as a tiny apple tree. But I’ll know better next time the crab apple tree flowers ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Dogs, sometimes they drive us crazy but I’d rather be crazy with dogs than without them.
    and flies? I’d be happy if they all died. What good are they anyway? nasty gross insects.
    and now you are talking about some horror story fly! I’m scratching as I write this!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes they surly do ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Even though I hate annoying flies I know they are important as bird food. But we could keep all the nice ones and have plenty of them instead ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

