Censorship.

 

Well we did get rain today so perhaps my letter reached the right destination, even if I haven’t put it in a post box yet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We’ll know tomorrow if I win the lottery or when the weekend arrives. If the sun shines I know they have heard my reasons and think that they only are fair πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I wonder how many nutty letters they actually get every year at the CIA with all conspiracy theories that floats around on the internet. I don’t doubt that they do a lot of things of course, the history shows what they are capable off. But I’m actually not sure about what the NSA is or what they do, I guess it stands for national security agency or something like that.

 

 

 

We’ve had a rather big public outcry here in Sweden today. I know most Americans doesn’t know who Tintin is, but he is a cartoon character, a reporter solving crimes with his close friend Captain Haddock. These comic books were written during a time when we had different views on people in other parts of the world so I can understand if some would see them as offensive. But there is a text in every book that tells the reader that they can be offensive and that they are from another time.

 

 

But today one library decided to remove all these comic books from their shelfs and all hell broke loose πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This is, even if it actually is a Belgian that has written them, a part of our cultural heritage. I grew up with those stories without becoming a racist. Β The thing is that if they take away Tintin and his adventures they also must remove books like Pippi Longstocking. In the books about her it says that her father is a Chief of natives on an island in the south seas (something the author wished she never had written later on). But that is something they don’t dare, We love all books written by Astrid Lindgren and that library would probably be burnt down if they even thought of removing those books πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

It is things like this, censorship of certain point of views, that makes those racist parties grow. The books came back on the shelves after a couple of hours and everyone in that library is now blaming someone else for that decision. I may not like some ideas other people have but I would never agree to forbid them to have those ideas! But I think that some people would think more than one hundred times before they use that freedom of speech we have in the western world. Just look what happens all over the Islamic world right now after a certain film was published on the internet. Was it worth it, was it worth people loosing their lives just because of that film?

 

 

 

There’s a fire burning in the stove and it’s time to put the kettle on so I can make a pot of tea πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Censorship.

  1. Recently in the US, books by Mark Twain were going to be banned or edited to leave out a lot of words and descriptions. There are also states(mostly southern states) with agendas that wish to omit completely from school text books references to anything “bad”, controversial, etc…including if you can believe this, Dinosaurs. Some religious groups do not believe there were ever dinosaurs on earth, also that the earth is only 10,000 years old. This kind of ignorant buffonery is worse than anything they could want to censor. Censorship in any form is dangerous to all. I always am reminded of the book by Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451, of the book burnings. I think if censorship got out of control like that, I would wish to move to a deserted, isolated place away from all forms of government and religious doctrine.

    • Hi Robin!

      I really get upset when I read things like that! These books were written in another time with different values and we need to know that. Censorship is just plain stupid and I would say evil! But I doubt they will do anything to the worst book of them all, the Bible! It contains genocide, incest and murders, they day they will censor the bible I’ll stop complaining about this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’ve heard that some see dinosaurs as the animals that weren’t allowed on the ark πŸ™‚ I shouldn’t laugh at this stupidity but I do! If they don’t like it, don’t read it! Fahrenheit 451 is a great book!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    We get outbreaks of that here all the time. Every year a new list of banned books is published by someone or other. A lot of it centers on books for children or young adults. They aren’t supposed to know about profanity and sex. Right.
    It’s so bad that my local Barnes and Noble spoof it by having a Banned Books Sale featuring all the titles that made that year’s list. Read ’em now while you still can! πŸ™‚
    Classic books that were written before political correctness or social awareness are especially liable to be put on The List. Huckleberry Finn is always in trouble because of the N-word. Doesn’t matter that the book is about a white person coming to the understanding that black people are human. People fixate on a word or incident in a book and completely lose sight of the content and the message.
    The other kind of banning is even more insidious; the kind that attempts to control how history is told. In some states, for example, it is illegal to teach that slavery was the cause of the American Civil War. For many parts of the country, it was a war for States Rights. Okay. States Rights to do what? Base their economy on the stolen labor of a captive people. Slavery. Texas is a huge consumer of text books and they only buy the ones that tell it the way they want it told. And I’m off the soap box. πŸ™‚
    Sunny and cool here today. I’m trying to catch up on my photography class but the camera is still dusty. It’s also incapable of deliberately blurring things which is inconvenient because that’s what we’re supposed to be doing. If I bang it about a bit, maybe I can move the dust into the middle of the sensor where it will blur things and I can get the assignment completed. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your tea!

    • Hi Caryn!

      This is actually the first time this happens here so I got really unpleasantly surprised! Well it happened during WW2 too just so that the nazis south of us shouldn’t get upset and that just shows how evil this is!

      Over here the word negro never was a racist word when I grew up, it just said that the person most likely originated from Africa south of Sahara, nothing else. So we have lots of things called something with negro but now the names are changed. That is now a word not allowed to be used by white people and it is just stupid since dark colored people use it themselves πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Isn’t that racism too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So far no one has tried to present history in any other way than it happened here but they’ll soon come I’m afraid. But as long as people react as they did yesterday I think that will take quite some time.

      I hope You can get rid of that dust in the camera, it is so annoying! No problems getting blurry photographs here today, the rain is pouring down and covers the lens πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer –

    My Texas-born son grew up with Tin-Tin when we lived in australia, and he’s a pretty well-rounded young man now. No major damage – in fact, I would say my kids are the most un-prejudiced young people I have ever seen, ready to accept all peoples since they were once the odd-man-out. Culture-wise, they are willing to listen and learn, but still feel very strongly about their American upbringing and values, though one is conservative and one liberal. Go figure!

    I’m certainly enjoying your fall pictures – 93 degrees here on the Gulf Coast yesterday, and I’m ready for some cooler weather!

    Enjoy your tea and sunshine!

    • Hi Ann!

      I didn’t get damaged either πŸ™‚ Kids need to know that the world never was perfect so these books needs to stay in the libraries! I don’t think anyone becomes a racist by reading Tintin or Pippi Longstocking πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It’s the same in my family, we go from very right to very left when it comes to politics πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      93 degrees still!! I hope some chilly winds blow down to You soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes, people should be able to make their own minds up!

      When it comes to the author of the Tintin books ( HergΓ©) he actually was suspected of being a collaborator of the German nazis during the war. But I love those stories and is trying to find a volumes with all those stories in it. Expensive like h… but worth it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It’s not those books that people need to be frighten of, it’s the people who want to censor them that scare the Hell out of me.
    Those are the type of people who would kill others for not believing as they believe and ONLY what they believe.
    yeah, first it’s books, then it’s people they want to get rid of

Leave a Reply

