Light bulbs.

From now on I can see so many stars in the sky clear nights🙂 I couls see even more in the original photograph before I made it small so I could have it here in my blog. Some of those stars aren’t stars actually, they are gigantic galaxies far far away.

 

I was supposed to check some facts yesterday but got out of track when I found out my blog friend had passed away. So I’ll save that one for another day. We  haven’t had any frost yet even if it has been close, clouds has come and stopped it during the night, so I haven’t had to scrape any windows again🙂

 

 

 

 

Since it’s dark in the morning when I go to work I’ve noticed that some light bulbs are broken and need to be replaced. The common light bulb is now forbidden in the EU, an insane decision to be honest but I won’t get in to that today, I have a tendency to become very angry when just thinking of this stupid law! So now we must buy dangerous low energy lamps instead.

 

 

 

 

They are said to last much longer than an ordinary light bulb and that’s just a lie. They break down just as often to be honest and they still cost a small fortune to buy if one wants to replace at the light bulbs at the same time. It takes for ever for them to shine bright as well. It feels like living in land of twilight half the morning and when they finally shine as bright as they should it’s time to go to work🙂

 

 

 

But there is one that I actually like, it has a light sensor in it so it turns on as soon as it is needed. Those are perfect to have by the garage, dog yard and the doors on our homes, hard to find though. It is time to make a pot of tea and I think I’ll have a couple digestives with some cheese on today. Only one day left until I have a fire in the stove and can turn off the radiators I need to have on at the moment🙂

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Light bulbs.

  1. Christer,
    Those star are amazing and awesome. I love the night sky when it is ablaze with stars as yours is. The idea of frost just doesn’t sit well with me. I am a long way from wanting to scrape windows. Another good thing about being retired is I don’t have to go out at 6:15 each morning and can sit until the sun melts the ice from the windshield.

    Sune is getting so big!

    • Hi Kat!

      I love the night sky too, it’s amazing how many stars that are out there! I do wish I could visit some of them🙂 I guess I’ll have to do it in my mind🙂

      We’ve already had frost here twice and I’m not looking forward to any more🙂

      He is but he’s still smaller than Nova.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Ingrid!

      We have almost no lights at all shining in this village so I can see lots of stars (and galaxies). It was even darker where my mother used to live and I got surprised over how many more stars I could see there, I never believed it would be such a difference. I can stand outside for hours just watching the night sky🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Vilken himmelsbild, helt otroligt vacker!🙂
    Idag har vi fått “domen”. Santos har väldigt ovanliga stenar, dom kallas cystinstenar och finns endast hos 1% av dom hundar som får stenar. Tydligen är det en livslång njursjukdom – som dock är den enda njursjukdomen som inte skadar njurarna – och som gör att han alltid kommer att få stenar. Det kan stoppas någotsånär med hjälp av ett dietfoder, som är så ovanligt att vetten fick beställa hem det, samt en medicin som inte är registrerad i Sverige och alltså inte kan säljas här. Dom ska dock göra ett försök att få dispens! Sen ska naturligtvis det här med det nya “kisshålet” göra att han får ut gruset innan det klumpar ihop sig och blir stora stenar.
    Problemet är att han inte dricker alls trots att han ska dricka extra mycket, så just nu får han vatten i den mjuka maten och mjölk med vatten. Han dricker väl kanske 1 dl om dagen vilket är åt helsicke för lite, men vad gör man. Man kan ju inte tvinga honom att dricka!😦 Men idag har han i alla fall mått bra, både kissat ur båda hålen och så har han inte blött – vilket känns riktigt skönt!🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Å ena siden är det ju typiskt att han skall få en sådan sällsynt variant som kommer att fortsätta hela livet, å andra sidan är det ju bra att den inte skadar njurarna. Hoppas de kan få dispence på medicinen och att maten inte är allt för dyr, fast han äter ju inte så mycket, fast ändå.

      Jag hoppas att ju mindre såret svider desto mera kommer han att pinka! Tvinga honom att dricka går ju inte som du säger.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, do I detect Ursa Major in your star photo? I am sure your night sky is a million times brighter, filled with stars, then what we see here. When we go to Quebec, the night skies are truly unbelievable…no lights in the country there.
    I hate the whole light bulb changes here too. One does not know what to believe on all the labels. And some of them hum. I do not like that.
    Sune has such a beautiful swirly coat; I can’t believe how big he is now.
    Thanks for gorgeous autumn foliage photos, I enjoy them immensely.
    I know you must be very sad about your friend who has passed and it is hard not to see his blog posts. I am sorry I never got to see his blog.

    • Hi Robin!

      No but You can see Orion with his belt and the red giant star Betelgeuse.

      It is such a big difference to watch the night sky here from when I lived in Gothenburg🙂 I only saw the most brights stars there and here I can see billions. It is amazing🙂

      I’ve never had one humming yet but I’m sure I will soon🙂

      Sune is still slightly smaller than Nova and I guess he will stay smaller but he will become heavier.

      Yes it is sad that he died, especially since he just had won the battle over cancer. But that’s life I’m afraid, we never know when it is our time to leave.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I love seeing galaxies from far far away.🙂
    We have those stupid bulbs too. But they still sell the old kind. My sister is stock piling those!😀😀😀
    I guess when they eventually burn out they have to be dosposed of at a special recycling center becasue they have mercury or something inside of them!
    How crazy is that!?!
    This weekend there’s supposed to be a freeze warning here. And to think that 2 weeks ago it was in the 90’s.
    Yep, that’s the Midwest for you! But I’m not complaining (not yet anyway! LOL!) I was SO sick of the hot weather.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is amazing to see all those stars and galaxies at night, I can just stand there looking at them for hours🙂

      Yes they are dangerous due to the mercury. It is very important to remember that if we drop one and it breaks to never use the vacuum, that will only spread the mercury and most probably get in to our bodies and create lots of problems.

      It sure changes quickly🙂 Well better that than never change at all like it has been here this year🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

