Chilly.

 

My brain is blank once again even if I really had some things I wanted to write about today. But I need to do some research to check if I actually know the correct things before I write about them🙂 I’ll try to do that tomorrow on my blog free day.

I looked up in to the sky too see what direction the clouds flew and this dart showed the way🙂

 

 

 

The rain has been pouring down big parts of the day but for once the sun broke through the clouds on my way home, usually it the other way around🙂 We were hit by one shower half way home though but I didn’t mind nor did my dogs or Bertil. The air is chilly though and it feels like we’ll have frost tonight. I think it was this coming night they predict frost all over this country.

 

 

 

A Wood Nymph (Bog Lady) looks like a very beautiful woman, but when she turns her back to You she looks like a tree or a tree stump. Like the one in this photograph perhaps🙂

 

Sweden is Europe’s fifth biggest country and it is 1570 km long ( that would be around 975 miles long) but only around 500km ( 311 miles) wide. So the climate varies very much from south to north and during summer they have daylight 24/7 during some months in the far north but no daylight at all during winter. 85% of the population lives in cities and towns and they believe that even more will in the future. Well I won’t complain, more space for me out here🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

Well I already have lots of space to be honest since we’re only nine million people living here( around 10% of that are first, second or third generation of immigrants. Yes they do statistics on that and as it turned out I’m one of those🙂 ). Still, surveys shows that most swedes dream of living in a red cottage in the countryside but at the same time surveys show that lots of people are afraid of the wild nature🙂🙂🙂 I guess they have listened to too many myths about how dangerous wolves, bears and badgers are. Bears are dangerous, most of then never comes close to any towns or cities though but one should consider oneself lucky if one get the chance to see a wolf, at least this far south.

 

 

 

 

It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea. I’ll try to calm down Sune and Nova too, soon they break something and I have no wish to start cleaning up their mess🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Chilly.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the story about the arrow in the sky.
    When those things happen to me I get a feeling the planet is saying “Well, duh!”🙂

    More people will be living in cities because the towns and villages will have become cities and not because everyone has moved. I’m not sure people are afraid of nature so much as they are annoyed by its inconveniences. People from the city want to move to a quiet little suburb with clean air and room. But then they want city sewerage and water and garbage/trash pick-up and street lights. And soccer fields. And get rid of those damn mosquitoes and tick-infested deer that eat all the plants. You see how it goes.

    Yes, that is definitely a bog lady. Maybe.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was so fun to see that arrow in the sky pointing in the direction of the wind just as I was thinking it🙂🙂

      Not here though, villages are dying and people moves to the already big cities here. The only reason that at least some houses or even villages still exist is that Germans, Danes and Norwegians buy them. Sometimes as homes but more often as vacation houses. I know lots of people that would like to live like I do but there aren’t enough jobs here.

      It’ is most likely immigrants that are afraid of the nature here, they may be used to have dangerous animals of all kinds out there and believes we have it the same here.

      We have just the same service when it comes to garbage as in any city, we are not allowed not to have it🙂 and soccer fields are all over here🙂 Not much else to do for those kids living here, well they can always drive tractors of course🙂 Very few street lights though, I can see some up on the mountains at night🙂🙂🙂 You are very right about the mosquitoes though🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I think it is a bog lady🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Ingrid and welcome to my blog🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Yes the Netherlands are a bit more crowded🙂 But lots of people from Your country are now buying homes here. mostly farms I’ve heard. We have lots of old farms and few buyers and they are much cheaper than on the continent as well.

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂

      Christer.

  2. Christer, you need to keep the location of your little piece of country paradise a secret so no one from the cities knows where to move to! And erase that directional arrow in the sky too, lol, it’s pointing the way!!!!
    Beautiful roses again in the last photo, that shade of orange is beautiful. And our Bertil looks quite royal sitting on his tree trunk throne.
    Good luck calming down those younger dogs; not sure you can really.

    • Hi Robin!

      No danger of that, no one can find my cottage even if they have GPS or a map🙂🙂🙂 I looked up into the sky today and the arrow was gone🙂🙂🙂

      I was thinking that of Bertil too🙂 I actually think he believes he is royalty🙂
      I hope that rose survives the winter, that orange color looks like it is burning when the sun goes down.

      I can calm them down for a minute or two but that’s it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i bet there is such a huge difference between the north and south. have you ever traveled to northern sweden? i wish i had visited your country when i traveled all the time. i lived in an area of upstate new york that was populated by scandinavians so i got a bit of the taste of the culture. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      You’re right, it looks very different in the north with all the high mountains and glaciers. I love it up there during spring to early autumn.
      I’ve been as far north as Jockmock, it’s a city above the Polar Circle. So the sun doesn’t go down during summer and doesn’t rise during winter🙂

      Even though I love my country I have to admit that the country to visit here is Norway. It’s breathtakingly beautiful! Expensive though🙂🙂🙂 Swedes and Norwegians are more alike than we want to admit🙂 Very different taste in music though?! Norwegian modern music is soo boring most of the time🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We live in a very small area, this town has more chickens than people according to Grenville. At last count, there were perhaps 500 humans, but not sure of the poultry count. We do have services here, but the medical facilities are better in other places. Also, we would like a better library. We are looking to relocate not because we don’t like the area, but that none of the family ever visit here (once only for 2 of them) and the grandkids are 10 hours away. Perhaps if they had been born already, we might not have moved here, but then one never knows. I liked the orange flower in the last shot today. Also wondered why Nova and Sume need to be calmed down…is it the weather?

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We have many more cows than people here🙂🙂🙂
      We have nothing in this village so we have to drive to the bigger towns if we want to go to the library or to buy food and things. I’ve chosen to have my health care close to my job though.

      The question to ask, will they visit more often if You move closer? I know my family won’t since they think it’s so great when I travel around like an idiot to see them🙂 So I’ve stopped doing that, if they want to see me they’ll have to lift their fat a… and come up to me for once🙂🙂🙂 But I can fully understand that You want to live closer to Your grandchildren!

      It is a rose and I do hope it survives the winter here!

      Nova and Sune run around all the time having fun🙂 But they don’t want to go outside now when evenings are getting dark and cold🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Visst är landet långt och det är väldigt olika klimat, här är det fortfarande lite kvardröjande sommar idag så det var riktigt mysigt när jag var ute med Santos i morse.🙂
    Saker och ting verkar ha styrslat till sig med honom, han blöder nästan ingenting nu, men…han dricker absolut ingenting. Jag tror att han vet att dricker han så måste han kissa och förmodligen svider det i såret fortfarande. Vi har börjat ge honom mjölk – för det gillar han – men det blir kanske 1/2 kopp om dagen bara. Inte bra, med tanke på hans urinstenar!😦 Däremot så kissar han (!?) ändå (måste vara den “blöta” maten) från två hål – så det funkar tydligen och det är nog det viktigaste i det här läget!!🙂🙂
    Den där orange rosen var bara helt underbar, vad heter den?

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Så skönt att det börjar bli bättre med Santos! Fast det är ju som du säger ett problem med att han inte dricker! Fast får han blöt mat och lite mjölk kanske det räcker. Ger ni honom laktosfri mjölk då? Magen brukar rasa på mina om de får vanlig mjölk nämligen.

      Kommer inte ihåg vad rosen heter, men kan hitta det🙂 Så jag skriver det senare!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Somedays I want to live out in the country…but then I think about how dark it would be at night. And no one near by and then of course there’s the snake thing to worry about. Other days I’m happy where I live. 6 blocks from the library and 8 blocks the other way to the grocery store and 9 blocks to the hardware store and 7 blocks to a gas station that I never go to but rather drive over to Iowa and get my gas near my work. Oh! and the fire station is 8 blocks away and one of the hospitals is in the other direction about 5-6 blocks away….yeah, it’s rather convenient and I don’t even live in a big city! Actually it’s a cluster of cities called the Quad Cities, supposedly 2 on each side of the river but it’s more like 5 or 6 or more. Then it’s cornfields…..
    Each city has it’s own rules and restrictions. MY city is the only one without a pet limit. As long as they are vaccinated and registered I’m, or should I say, they are good.😀
    I have a rosebush with roses that color! and a couple of yellow ones too. I think they are so pretty.😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I would never move to the big city again but a bigger village like the one I had my garden center in or the one I work in wouldn’t be so bad after all. But there’s absolutely nothing to fear out here and as long as one gets out of a burning home and have a home insurance it really doesn’t matter if it burns down. It would be inconvenient for a while and some memories would be gone for ever but that’s it.

      I don’t think we have a pet limit even though they usually put a limit to ten cats when someone can’t take care of all the cats they have. I guess the limit for dogs would be smaller though. But as long as the pets are taken care of they usually never bother to do anything.

      I’m not a rose fan to be honest but I do like this orange one and wild roses.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

