Suddenly we weren’t alone.

 

The air is finally getting some heat from the sun but it is still rather chilly. It is when the sky is cloudy one really can feel that autumn is here to stay, when the sun shines it’s easy to believe it hasn’t arrived yet. They have promised us sun all day here but they promise so much those weather men and they aren’t right especially often to be honest.

 

 

 

 

I’m used to being the only person out walking early in the mornings here so I got a bit surprised when I first heard voices out in the forest. I know our hunters are lazy ones and never gets out before nine am, so I thought it was the wind carrying them from a distance. Then suddenly I saw several cars driving on a road that cars shouldn’t drive on, tractors maybe but not cars🙂

 

 

 

 

I asked them what they were doing out here and they immediately thought I didn’t like them there🙂 But I assured them that it just was fun to see other people out here since I almost never see any. It shows they were going to make tracks and that lots of people would come later with their dogs and practice tracking🙂  I asked them for how long they would keep doing this because I hate it when I walk in to something and destroys it for them.

 

 

This is the bull of all bulls🙂 It had a sort of low frequency sound that wasn’t especially loud but I could feel it in my bones🙂

 

 

I suddenly remembered the leader, a rather harsh woman, from another time in another place. I did walk in to one of their practices and she was anything but happy about it🙂🙂 Thankfully she didn’t seem to remember me🙂🙂🙂 They always say it’s not Your fault but it is easy to see in their eyes that they do feel it is🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

I’m thinking of starting up the green house lamp I have in the cool cellar again. Even though we haven’t had frost more than twice here the nights do get cold and some of the more sensitive plants needs to be brought indoors at least during the nights. I don’t have the energy to keep bringing them in and out every day🙂 So I better get down there and start it up.

 

 

 

I can’t have any Gunnera manicata (a plant with leafs that can get up to over 2 meters, the same in yards, wide) in my garden but I think that the Chinese rhubarb (Rheum palmatum) is a good substitute.

 

There’s no idea to take a walk in the forest until the tracking is over so I better make myself a cup of tea and then place myself beside Sune on the kitchen stairs🙂

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Suddenly we weren’t alone.

  1. hi christer! i know what you mean about the weather people. they said it would be cool and cloudy for the fair yesterday and it was 84 degrees and sunny! very hot out in the unshaded fair! i love that photo of theodor and sune. beautiful photos! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      A study shows that our weather men have predicted wrong 20%, I thought it was even worse🙂

      I hope the heat didn’t destroy Your day at the fair though!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    Lovely tomatoes! No hope for them?🙂 What is a green house lamp? Is it like a heat lamp?

    I didn’t know bulls made low frequency sounds. The one at my old barn was huge. He would just look at us with an expression that said if we didn’t have food, we could just go away. Now and then he might stir himself to bellow at something but usually he was quiet.

    So these tracking people, were they on private property or public property? The very least they could have done is post signs so that innocent folk didn’t walk into their activity or hunters didn’t shoot their dogs by mistake. I used to belong to a dog club for Jack Russell Terriers. When they had dog trials there were signs all over the place that there was going to be one in that place. Of course when there are a bunch of Jack Russells together in one place the barking is so loud and persistent that a sign is probably not necessary unless it’s a sign that one should have ear protection.😀

    It’s cold and rainy here this morning. I didn’t hear the weather report for today so I can’t be disappointed. It is what it is.🙂

    Enjoy tea on the doorstep with Sune.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No hope for those tomatoes at all🙂

      A green house lamp gives away much more light than any other lamps can do and a side effect from that is the heat it gives too so no plant closer than half a yard or they might start burning🙂 But with that one turned on there’s no need for any radiators🙂 So my plants can keep their leafs during winter if they feel like it.

      I have read about bulls doing that but never experienced it myself until today. Sort of creepy actually and can probably be heard over long distances to other bulls I guess. Like Elephants, but they go even deeper down in frequency so we can’t hear it at all.

      It doesn’t matter over here, the Public access law You know. If we had walked in there while they were going on we might have destroyed the tracks or even made some dogs follow us instead🙂🙂 They usually don’t like that🙂🙂🙂 But I agree, it would have been nice if they had put up signs a day before they do it. I did warn them about the wild hogs but they didn’t seem to care much about them, I would if any of the dogs followed them instead of the placed tracks🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. What is tracking. I am guessing it is something to do with unting? Be careful. Just reading this made me cringe. I am sure it is very safe where you are but meeting strangers in a wooded area sounds scary. We have had a few very unusual things happen in our state this past year. SOmething that no one would have ever guessed. Very sad indeed. So please be careful.

    • Hi Debby!

      They teach dogs to follow tracks that they have made during the morning. It can be hunting dogs or dogs used to track injured animals. But now days they teach dogs to track mushrooms as well🙂

      These people had children with them and I have four dogs so I rarely worry about strangers in the forest🙂 Most people can see that Nova is a pitbull and since they believe that pitbulls are dangerous they usually keep a distance🙂🙂🙂 The big boys weigh around 100 pound each as well and that tends to keep people at a distance as well🙂🙂🙂

      Bad things has happened in this country as well so I do keep an eye on unusual things here, so far I’ve seen nothing strange though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Vilken tur att kärringen inte kände igen dig;) Fast det är ju löjligt att bli sur, det är ju inte hennes mark och människor kan ju faktiskt inte veta vad hon leker med. Bra idé att sätta på belysning till växterna, jobbigt att bära ut och in. Till helgen ska vi nog försöka att i alla fall få upp alla fuchsiorna till stallet så att de kan torka upp lite innan vi ställer in dem för vinterförvaring:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Jag tror att de brukar få en massa frågor mest hela tiden när de är ute så här på nya områden. Jag har inget emot dem alls dock men är glad att hon inte mindes mig🙂🙂🙂

      Ja det är tungt att bära in och ut, så det var lika bra att sätta igång lampan, då behöver jag inte tänka på att de är blöta heller. Men magnoliorna, aprikoserna och persikorna får stå ute till bladen faller.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, wonderful photo of the sky with the rays of light streaming above..simply perfect!
    Teodor doesn’t seem too happy to be running into Sune on the road!
    I’d like to hear that deep sound the bull makes; he is one massive creature…I feel sorry for the girl cows actually!!
    Those are the greenest tomatoes I’ve ever seen! Too bad they won’t ripen.

    • Hi Robin!

      Or is it rays of darkness we see🙂 I’ve always wondered when I see this in the sky🙂

      Sune just ran too fast towards him, normally he get very happy to see him🙂

      It was strange when he did that sound, perhaps he did it because he’s the biggest of them all and wanted to tell the world?

      I wish one could preserve that color or the entire tomato🙂 To have it in a jar to look at when ever i liked to🙂 But I guess that color will disappear when doing anything to it.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  6. Yes, always be careful.
    But if they had children and you have Nova, you are right. Nothing to worry about.
    Years ago when I just had my Golden Retriever, she and I would go to the State Park that’s in my town and walk through the woods and go down to the river. I would throw sticks and she would love going after them, sometimes into the water even. She was the sweetest dog ever. One day as we walked a path through the park we ran into four men. They were wearing street clothes and she didn’t like them. They said Hello, two of them smiled at each other and I felt suddenly afraid and I mumbled Hello back and we hurried ahead. Then we cut through the woods and doubled back to my car. We never went back.

    • Hi Cindi!

      It’s hard for people to find this place even if they have a map🙂 So I rarely worry about meeting people out here and with three adult dogs few would even try to do anything towards me🙂🙂🙂 But it is a different thing in a park in the city, that’s much worse. But perhaps that just was two men in love smiling at each other, who knows🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer…I have been away for quite sometime and am just now catching up on blogs….loved your late summer photos and your very last sentence in your reply to Cindi!🙂 Sune is getting so big!! There is a name for those particular kind of light rays coming through the clouds, which escapes me right now but I will find it for you…people usually think of it as heavenly rays…can you get any closer to that magnificent bull for a photo…he is really something to behold, isn’t he? I wonder if he has a name??

    • Hi Chris!

      No late summer here any longer though, autumn has arrived and I hope it will stay for a very long time so we don’t have time for winter🙂

      I might be right in that comment, who knows🙂

      No that bull always walks in the middle of the field and for that I’m thankful🙂🙂🙂 But there is a magnificent black bull that I now call El Diabolo. He never stop looking at me when we pass and he do look evil but beautiful🙂 I might get a good photo of him instead🙂

      I doubt he has a name, Burger King perhaps because that will most likely be his final destination.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I love the same sky picture that Robin does. I’m not sure I would let the people that have come into your world keep you from going out. It depends on how much they take over. They should apologize to you for interfering with your morning walks!🙂🙂 Everything looks so bright and crisp, now, so I can’t wait until we get some fall weather here. It has been very hot and we’ve been going through a minor drought. As usual, your pictures are just beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!

      I doubt they would even try to stop me but I don’t want ton destroy their day either. It doesn’t matter if I wait another hour or take another route when walking out there.

      I can’t even remember when we had our last drought🙂 According to scientists we won’t get any in the future either🙂 I do long for at least a short one next spring, so the mosquitoes and horse flies can’t reproduce at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

