She payed us a visit this morning, Morran.

Two new bulls in the village.

 

For those of You not familiar with Tove Janssons books about the Moomins, Morran (or the Groke as her english name is)  is the one that comes with frost and winter.  She paid us a visit here this morning but didn’t come close to the cottage, she stayed by the bog close to my garage so I had to scrape ice from the car windows before I drove to work. But most cuttings that I’ve taken from the tomato plants froze anyway.

 

Bertil followed us as usual but today he saw an enemy. Well it seems he think the whole world is his enemy so I wasn’t surprised 🙂

 

 

 

 

But most of the day was sunny but somewhat chilly, that is until we were driving home because then clouds came and covered the sky. Well that will stop Morran from visiting us tonight again. Normally we get our first frost late in the first week of September and then we’ll get a longer period with warmer weather again. So next frost might not come until early October.

 

 

 

 

It is Orvars and Hectors birthday today 🙂

 

We have so much to do at work right now that my brain has fried and I just can’t think of anything to write about 🙂 🙂 🙂 So I better leave You now and hope that tomorrow will be a better brain day 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

I wonder if this is a home for a little forest mouse or perhaps a storage place for the squirrels.

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “She payed us a visit this morning, Morran.

    • Hi Deanna!

      I’ll tell them You wished them happy birthday 🙂

      But that cat is anything but insecure I’m afraid 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer
    Happy Birthday to Orvar and Hector!
    You know, for a short dog, Sune seems to be at the spindly, gawky legged stage of growth. 🙂
    So what did Bertil do to his enemy? Just hiss and disappear? 🙂

    No frost here yet. We had the remains of Isaac which was lots of rain and very humid when it wasn’t raining.
    The Black Krim tomato is getting some color! It’s coloring from the bottom up which I thought was kind of weird. It may make it after all.

    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was thinking just the same when I saw that photograph of Sune 🙂 But looking at him in the real he doesn’t look like that that much 🙂

      Bertil did look back every now and again for quite some time, but he never hissed. I guess that other cat was a bit too far away.

      What a strange way to be colored 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever seen that 🙂 At least Your tomato will get some color, the ones I have will never get any color at all 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! happy birthday to hector and orvar. do they get special treats today? frost!!!??? we sure won’t be worrying about that for a long time around here. sunny and 90 degrees here and HUMID!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      They are nine years already! It feels like it was yesterday I could have them both on my lap 🙂 Trying that today and their weight would break my legs 🙂 But no special treats today, we’ll wait with that until next weekend. By the way, Nova had her third birthday four days ago 🙂

      I’m not sure I would like 90F and high humidity but it would be nice if it got a bit warmer. They say it will be when the weekend comes but god knows, they usually have problems predicting tomorrow weather 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I thought Morran might be lurking around soon from how you were talking about the weather changing.
    Happy Happy Birthday to those Boys of yours! Are they 9 or 10? I hope you got them special bones or snacks.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes she was expected 🙂 But I hope she can stay away for a couple of weeks more until she returns 🙂

      They are nine years today 🙂 And Nova had her birthday four days ago, she’s now three 🙂 But we’ll wait for any special treats until next weekend. I’m hoping Sune will have gotten a couple of new teeth by then :-)I already have some nice juicy bones in the freezer 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Wishing Orvar and Hector both a Happy Birthday, even if a bit late. And we will not be getting any frost here for quite awhile, which is a good thing. I really hate scraping it early in the morning and so thankful that it isn’t necessary for me or Grenville, as we are retired. Sorry for saying that, Christer, when you are still working 😦

    • Hi Beatrice!

      They thank You for that 🙂

      We will most possibly get frost tonight as well. We usually do if they get it much further north and they will get it tonight. So I’ve started to bring in some of the more sensitive plants I have in pots out there.

      That’s life I’m afraid 🙂 I’ll retire in about 17 years 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

