Almost too cold.

Quite beautiful sunrise this morning.

I almost had to start my blog with “The first frost” today. It suddenly got so cold yesterday evening that I had to start a couple of radiators to keep the cottage warm. Well warm is a bit too much to say🙂 but at least not chilling cold. I closed all windows just to be sure the heat from the radiators would stay indoors. If it is around or colder than 6 C (42,8 F) at 10 pm we will have frost the next morning and we only had 5 C (41 F).

I couldn’t decide whether I should have this one or the next in todays post so I’m showing You both🙂

The smoke to the left comes from burning silage balls. Well they really don’t burn, more sort of glowing away and it smells awful after a while🙂

The photographs are once again a bit blurry because I had to adjust the camera for photographing in dark conditions.

 

But clouds came in sometime during the night so it only fell to 2,5 C (36,5 F) . I had turned of the radiators when I went to bed so I woke up to a chilling cold cottage this morning. Nova woke me up at 4 am for some reason and when I woke up all the others did too🙂 Even though I rather quickly jumped back in to bed after all dogs and cats had walked in again after doing their business I still felt chilly inside and just couldn’t fall asleep again.

 

 

 

 

Hylotelephium telephium ssp. maximum. This is a plant we can see very often in European gardens but then they are red or pink. This is our wild species that grows everywhere here.

 

Our first night with frost usually comes late in the first week of September so it’s close anyway but I really don’t want it any earlier than usual, especially since we never got any real summer here this year. This year I need a long and reasonable warm autumn to sort of make up for that lousy summer🙂 It would be nice if we didn’t get any winter at all as well🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

 

I started the radiators again when I came home since it only reached 14,5 C (58,1 F) today. It isn’t especially cold indoors but the humidity makes it feel nasty here and the radiators will at least dry up the air so it feels nicer again. Hector and Orvar loves this, finally we have temperatures they think is nice🙂 They would without a doubt love to sleep in the snow all winter if they were allowed to🙂

 

 

 

 

It looks as if they were in a fight🙂 But they had so fun🙂

 

It is time to make something to eat and another cup of coffee. I do hope we all could sleep a bit longer tomorrow, it would be so nice to at least sleep until the alarm clock starts🙂

 

The trees turn yellow now.

 

 

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Almost too cold.

  1. I can’t tell if it is Orvar or Hector in the photo with Sune; it looks like they are having a very serious conversation about something.
    Beautiful sunrise, and moon photos. You don’t ask for much, do you Christer…….a long warm autumn and then basically no winter. Well, I guess it could happen in this crazy climate change of ours. I hope you can sleep in!!

    • Hi Robin!

      It is Orvar but even I have problems telling who’s who sometimes🙂🙂🙂

      At least in the mornings clouds help things to get beautiful🙂 That was a beautiful sunrise that morning and one can never see too many moons can one🙂
      No I don’t🙂 I think that is a simple thing for nature to do🙂 I mean now when summer was like it was I think we deserve a long warm autumn and no winter🙂🙂🙂

      Tonight they woke me up at three am🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! those two sure enjoy playing don’t they? it looks like autumn has arrived for you. the rains missed us once again and we are still in the 90’s. we might get remnants of hurricane isaac this weekend. we sure need rain. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      The only time those two doesn’t play is when they are sleeping🙂

      Yes autumn is here and even if I would have liked summer to stay for some time more I still am happy that we don’t have 90F here :-)I can’t understand how You can manage this heat week after week!

      I hope You’ll get the rain but not the winds from Isac!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      It would be nice to be able to sleep until six at least🙂

      I think he has fun almost all the time, I wish I had his mood too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Fy katten vad kallt:( Tänk vilken himla skillnad det kan vara på väder och temperatur ändå, jag menar det är ju inte SÅ himla långt emellan oss. Vi hade 12.8 grader här i morse vid halv åtta på morgonen vi brukar inte ha någon nattfrost här före oktober och för det mesta inte ens det men vi bor ju nära havet:) Håller med dig om att det inte behöver bli någon vinter alls i år, det kunde räcka med att det blir som lägst 2 grader varmt resten av året och fram till nästa vår:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Jag får ju vår två veckor efter mina grannar som bor 100 meter bort men högre upp, så därför kommer alltid frosten tidigt här också. Jag har verkligen valt rätt ställe för trädgårdsintresset🙂🙂🙂

      Visst hade det varit skönt om hösten bara fprtsatte rätt in i våren🙂 Så kunde våren vara torr dessutom så att alla broms- och mygglarver dog🙂 Då skulle det bli ett paradis här för mig men antagligen svårt för fåglarna som ingen mat fick🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Oh my gosh Sune is growing so much, big feet!!!! I thought it must be cool where you are , the weather channel showed us the weather for your country , .I agree, dampness makes for a not so comfy home.

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes he’s getting bigger every day now🙂

      Even though I live rather far south in this country I still have much the same climate as those living far north. This is a cold spot so spring comes late and autumn and winter early🙂

      Today is very different so no need for radiators🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Omg! that photo that Robin mentioned goes straight to my heart. That has to be one of the sweetest photos of all time! Who is it with Sune?
    I want to pin it and name the proper big brother. I wonder what is wrong with me that I love seeing the photos of the dogs playing…after working all day with dogs and then coming home to my own. It’s like my cup is never full. Yet…and this will sound awful, when people show me photos of their cute kids, no matter haw adorable they are, I’m kinda done looking after 3 or 4 pics. Hmmmm. Yeah good thing I just have furry kids I guess! LOL!
    (got all my estimates and one was very low! the tree guy will be here on Saturday! and I am HAPPY.)😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is Orvar that stands close to Sune in that photograph.

      Well if one loves dogs its impossible not to be happy when coming home even if one works with dogs all day🙂 I’m much the same when it comes to kids🙂

      I’m glad You could get a tree guy that wasn’t too expensive! It is a tricky job and I’m a bit worried about Your roof! It looks like a part of that branch is resting on the roof. Make sure he has an insurance!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    I love the last photo with the green and blue containers and the red wall and then that splash of yellow sunflower.
    I also love the big brother/little brother conversation. I’m guessing it’s Orvar but am probably wrong. They do look like they are having a serious talk.

    You can send a bit of that cool weather back this way. It’s been warm and humid all week and is supposed to get warmer and more humid. It’s not been as bad as the midwest of the country but it’s still too much for me.

    Rocky and I went for a walk by the lake today. He went down the little hill to paddle around in the water. When I called him to come he looked up and saw a bikini bottom that someone had left hanging on a bush. He got scared and refused to walk up the path underneath it. He stood there with a worried expression on his face, looking at me and then looking up at the bikini bottom. I had to go get him. I realize it was scary black with big pink and orange flowers on it but really!🙂

    Enjoy the day and I hope the dogs let you sleep until the alarm rings.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I really like all those colors too! And You guessed right! it is Orvar🙂

      I’m afraid the winds blow in the wrong direction otherwise I would have given You all the cold air and rain we have had here🙂 But it is very different today, warm sunny and a nice breeze, no need for radiators today🙂

      They say dogs can’t see the color red but I’m pretty sure some of them can! My first dog, Sickan, was terrified when seeing a red plastic bag or wastebasket. If they had any other color she didn’t mind at all🙂 She didn’t like red cars either to be honest.
      I guess Rocky has a sense of style then🙂🙂🙂

      Today they woke me up at 3 am🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. “They” don’t know everything. “They” told me horses couldn’t see red or orange. My horse could see those colors very well. I know several other horses who could as well.
    I also know two cheetah who had a great fear of red-headed men wearing red jackets. Not blonde men in red jackets or brunette men in red jackets. Red haired men in red jackets. If they couldn’t see red, how did they know the men were red-haired?

Leave a Reply

