Another tree is gone.

 

It has been a wonderful day, sunshine, no wind and a bit cool. Not that I could enjoy it especially much since I work all day but it is nice to know these days still exist 🙂 🙂 Yesterday wasn’t that bad either to be honest. We had lots of sunshine between showers and the grass was wet enough so I couldn’t mow the lawn 🙂

 

 

 

 

If one isn’t strong enough to take something by force it might help being cute instead 🙂

 

But I did bring out my chainsaw once again. Several years ago I started to cut down an apple tree that had a disease we call tree cancer (I’ll show photographs of it). It is a virus that hots the tree and slowly kills it. This can take several years but if it is a fruit tree it will in the end stop giving any fruit. I didn’t have a chainsaw back then so I used a common saw and realized that the trunk just was too thick for me and a saw 🙂

 

This is the tree. It wasn’t especially big any longer and had gotten lots of new branches.

 

Even though it looked healthy the new branches already showed signs of the tree cancer.

 

Not a pretty sight.

 

The tree behind had a big branch that hang way over on my neighbors side so I decided to remove it.

 

It too have this disease and You can see how the branch has started to rot.

 

Every spring I’ve seen the tree and thought that this year I’ll cut it down but I never have 🙂 until yesterday that is. New branches had started to grown on the part of the tree that I had left but this job was so small that anyone could have done it without any bigger risk of injuries. When I had finished the job I took a look at the apple tree growing beside the one I’d taken down.

 

Do You remember the rose cutting that gotten roots? Here it is and it has a big bud 🙂

 

My fuchsia has decided to flower now when the summer is over 🙂

 

 

 

Even though tree cancer isn’t contagious in any way lots of fruit trees has it and I realized the other apple tree has it too. It also has a fungus that kills almost all new twigs in early summer, so I’ll have to take down that tree too eventually.  Not however until I have planted another tree where I cut down the other. I don’t like cutting down trees if it isn’t necessary (except for lilacs 🙂  ) and if one is taken down I think a new one should be planted. I do have several Magnolias growing in pots at the moment (Magnolia kobus, M. acuminata and M. obovata), perhaps I should try one of those there, even if they tend to die every winter here 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

It is time to make something to eat and then I’ll enjoy the last sunshine of this day.

 

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Another tree is gone.

  1. Hi Christer,
    You are getting enthusiastic with the chain saw. But if the tree is diseased, it must go, I suppose. There are a lot of windfall apples around that sick tree.

    I have a lot of scrubby maples that should be removed but they block my neighbor’s view into my back yard so I am reluctant to do it. Every so often I trim them back in the vain hope that they might form themselves into a hedge but they never do. There’s not enough sunlight back there to make them fill in.

    One last tiny tomato has ripened. There are a few tiny green cherry tomatoes left on the one vine and, of course, the (not)Black Krim. 🙂 The oregano has died and the basil is heading that way. Not a good year for gardening but better than I deserved given the lack of care I took with it.

    My internet was down for 4 hours yesterday. I thought it was the provider. It was but not in a way that they would help me fix. The provider changed some settings in the router so my wireless device no longer recognized it. I didn’t know that at first. I knew it after 90 minutes, 3 phone calls and 5 tech assistants who couldn’t help me. I messed around with the wireless settings for a bit and got things working. But GRRRRRR!!! 😀

    It’s sunny, breezy and humid again. Not too bad. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’m only enthusiastic with my chainsaw when it comes to lilacs 🙂 🙂 🙂 This was just to end a job I started years ago 🙂 The tree was slowy dying so I thought I just as well finally cut it down. But a new tree will be planted 🙂

      I’m not sure maples works as a trimmed hedge 🙂 🙂 But there are smaller apple trees that would work great without trimming. The apples are tiny though but birds tend to like them a lot.

      I thought it was impossible to kill oregano 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ve tried in my old garden center and at the place I lived before I moved here. No matter what I did they always survived 🙂 🙂 🙂 Basil is impossible, it always dies 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I think there’s a special place in hell for internet providers 🙂 They truly belong there anyway 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, I was told it was impossible to kill oregano but I am good at killing things that are supposed to be impossible to kill. In this case the poor thing drowned. We had three bouts of torrential rain over a two day period. All that water saturated the soil in the planter to the point where about 3 inches of water was just sitting on top of the soil in the pot. The soil was too wet to wick it down and out the bottom of the planter. The oregano plant was under all that water. The tomato and the basil in the same planter came through.

        Acer campestre is the real hedge maple. It doesn’t like deep shade which is what I have in that space. My trees are a mixed group of Norway and sugar maples but I’m hoping they will adapt to repeated clipping. 😀

      • You have the gift 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hard to do if it grows in the garden though :- I’ve never had them in pots but have been thinking about that since they do spread like crazy. But then again, I love the smell when either my dogs or I walks in to it 🙂

        I think I’ve only seen one hedge with maples (campestre as You say), but I have seen a lot of maples in hedges but that’s not the same 🙂 🙂 🙂 I would like to have a sugar maple but they don’t survive here.

        Christer.

  2. hi christer! i sure wish teddy would play like your pups. chows are not very playful as they age. i sure wish we had some of your weather. still 90 degrees here for as long as i can see. we might get remnants of hurricaine isaac this weekend. we are so dry! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      You would have loved it here this morning, nasty cold! and some rain later in the day too.

      It seems my dogs plays all the time and it’s fun most of the time but now they almost moved my kitchen table and I never know where things on any table has moved to when they play as worst 🙂 🙂 🙂 At the moment I just wish they got tired and fell asleep 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I wish you were my neighbor right now!. 🙂
    Then you could come over and go all chain saw happy on my Weeping Willow.
    😀 😀 😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I wonder what they would say if I tried tio bring my chainsaw on a plane 🙂 🙂 🙂
      But I’m glad I don’t have to cut down Your willow since it already has hit the house, it is difficult to make it fall to another direction so it won’t damage the house when falling down. I do hope You can solve it somehow and cheap!

      Have a great day despite that tree!
      Christer.

  4. Terrific pictures today of the doggy family, my gosh that one of both Nova and Sune running with their ears up is hilarious. And the tug of war ending with Mr. Cute on the ground is really good. I have seen that cancer on cherry trees, never knew that that was what it was. Great rose bud!!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like the way Sune tries to be cute to get that thing 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Cherry trees usually have other problems and I don’t remember seeing that on them over here. But they tend to die anyway in spring when the sun hits them and the bark bursts. When it does they usually sort of bleed sap to death.

      I hope that but gets a chance to open up, last night was nasty cold!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, enjoyed the first photo of the frittilary on the sunflower, at least I think that it’s a variety of sunflower. And, the tug of war between the boys and girl was fun to “see.” I am usually trimming the crepe myrtle trees that are alongside our house. If the branches touch my head or if they are so numerous that I cannot get to or see the bird feeders, then I cut them off. Some people have told me there is a more correct way to trim, but in the 3 years I have been doing this, the trees have not died, but just grow new branches. The fushia looked lovely and perhaps it was waiting for nicer weather to show its beauty.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes it is a sunflower, Maximilians sunflower. A perennial one that isn’t especially weedy, perennial sunflowers usually are. I’ve only seen a couple of that butterfly this year so it was fun that it finally flew around in my garden 🙂

      Trimming bushes is something lots of people have ideas about 🙂 🙂 🙂 The main thing is that one doesn’t kill what ever one trims 🙂 But I have seen some scary 🙂 🙂 🙂 examples that took me hours to almost fix, they had become so ugly that it was impossible to fix them again 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Fuchsias usually loves summers like the one we had this year so I guess this is a late flowering kind. It can also be one of the few that actually needs hot weather, most of them doesn’t though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

