Even more apples in my garden :-)

 

Even though I took two long naps yesterday I still went to bed around 9 pm and I feel asleep immediately.  I’m a bit tired of this cold now but I guess it will follow me for quite some time yet, several people at work have it now so I’m not alone. It would be better if it just gave me fever so it could go away quickly and not just simmer like it does now🙂

 

The Chinese rhubarb likes it on the little hill by the pond. These plants aren’t even two years old so just imagine how big they will become after some years.

 

 

 

My garden looks so much bigger now when half the apple tree is gone🙂 I’ve never truly understood how big that tree was (and still is actually). So now I’ve started to wonder about what to plant in that big open space. No tree, I have an Osage orange growing by the fence already so I think it will be some bushes and high grasses. Even though I know my dogs love big open spaces I also know how much they like to walk around beneath those twigs and branches, making paths that no human can see. Perhaps the badger would like them too🙂

 

 

 

 

Some of the apples in my fan-shaped apple tree. I wonder what I should call them? An apple tree should always have a name.

 

The rain wasn’t supposed to start until around noon today so I wasn’t the least surprised when it started pouring down as soon as we set our feet outside the cottage around 6 am🙂 So we only walked a short distance and when we came back home it stopped raining again🙂🙂🙂 But it is fairly warm so I do have the kitchen door open between showers.

 

I didn’t manage to get any more photographs this morning but I did take some yesterday when the sun was shining🙂

 

 

 

 

I got rather surprised this morning when I looked at my fan-shaped apple tree (yes I have lots of apple trees here🙂 ). I saw apples on it! I hadn’t even seen any flowers on it ever🙂 I remember sowing that seed but I can’t remember what kind of apple it came from, probably from one of the trees in the garden though. I can see at least seven apples on it and I did try one. It is a winter apple, one that ripens rather late in autumn and can be storage all winter in a cool environment and still be just as tasty when spring arrives. I have to say that it tasted rather nice now even if it wasn’t ripe at all🙂

 

 

 

 

 

I guess this will be the day when i watch dvd’s all day instead since it most likely will rain on and off all day. I made the cobbler yesterday and it was so, so. The nectarines didn’t taste much I’m afraid, not even the custard helped much. It would most likely have been better just to drink the custard and skip the cobbler🙂🙂🙂 In the bottom of this post it says Badger. If You click on that You’ll be able to see a short video on how dangerous🙂🙂🙂 our badgers are. You’ll be linked to a swedish news paper so I guess You’ll see some Swedish commercials before You can see the video itself.

 

It isn’t easy to walk in very high grass, perhaps I’ll fly if I flap my ears🙂

 

 

Do You eat something?

 

I want some too!

 

Thank You, found it!

 

Have a great day!

 

Badger.

12 thoughts on “Even more apples in my garden :-)

  1. Kan tänka mig att det blev tomt när du tog bort äppleträdet, det såg så konstigt ut när vi tog bort vårt päronträd. Var inne och kollade lite på dina tidigare inlägg och då ser man verkligen hur mycket Sune har växt:) Vilket fint foto av Teodor, man riktigt ser hur han njuter i solen. Hoppas att du snart blir frisk från din förkylning! Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Den här förkylningen lär nog tyvärr hänga i ett bra tag, det brukar de ju göra när de kommer på sommaren. Det hade varit bättre om den brutit ut rejält dock.

      Det äppleträdet tog upp mer plats än jag förstått🙂 Plötsligt blev trädgården så mycket större🙂 Nu skall jag bara komma på vad jag skall ha där istället🙂

      Jo han växer allt på den lille🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! we haven’t had rain here in weeks and weeks. not a drop. it is so dry i think i am giving up on my vegetables. theodor looks so cute basking in the sun. we have another week of very hot sunny weather on the way. teddy really wants cool weather. she mostly stays in the house all day now. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish I could send some of our weather over to You, we have gotten more rain than we need for months now. But it is a nice day between the showers🙂

      Teodor loves to sleep in the sun and there’s no chance any wind can come and make it cooler where he was lying🙂

      I’ve given up my tomatoes, there’s no chance they’ll ripen before frost comes, the nights are just too cool now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I was nodding my head as I read about your weather. Today it’s supposed to rain and then be cooler. So far, no rain. Yesterday was HOT and then it’s supposed to get hot again tomorrow! I am SO tired of the heat. I really want it to cool off so that I can finish my work outside. (sadly the neighbor never came over to work on that damn tree) anyway…
    It is amazing how cutting down trees and shrubs can really open up the space.
    I watched the video and while I don’t know what was being said, the badger didn’t appear to be too ferocious, just curious?
    I did watch the white tiger and dog video. That poor momma dog didn’t seem like she was thrilled feeding the cubs, maybe their teeth are coming in?
    Have a good day, I plan on cleaning the house and hopefully do some painting.🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      Today they have almost gotten the weather prediction right🙂🙂🙂 We do have rain but in between showers the sun shines, they had missed the sun prat in the prediction🙂 But they guess we’ll have this kind of weather for some time now.

      Yes I got surprised over how much space that tree took! But I guess it has to do with the fact that its branches went all the way to the ground, it always look smaller if the branches are high up from then ground.

      They didn’t say anything special in that video, someone just wondered if the badger would like to play some golf🙂 But it shows just how aggressive our badgers are🙂🙂🙂 They are actually very peaceful unless one hunts them with dogs in their burrows of course.
      I can imagine the pain if their teeth had started to grow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I just had to stop back and tell you this since it’s been a topic of converstaion lately.
        Here I am, I’m happy that it’s finally raining and I’m busy in the house when I hear this big BOOM. Kinda like when someone hit’s the electric box and the power goes out. But my power was still on. So I walk around trying to figure out where the noise came from. Finally I stop and run to the back door and look out.
        Yep! that huge part of the Willow cracked and fell on my house. The edge of my roof is holding it up! My “happy” day now sucks.😦
        anyway, just wanted to share! Guess I will be paying someone to come out and cut it really down….hopefully it won’t cost too many $$$ since I have zero.🙂

      • Hi Cindi!

        I’m sorry to read this! Did it make any damages on the house? I do hope it just leaned towards it so nothing got damaged!

        Now it’s even more important to know what to do! If one make a mistake it can damage the house when being cut down. Since times are bad I think You can get that help rather cheap, but just make sure who ever does it for You have an insurance if anything goes wrong!

        Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,

    Well that was a badgering badger for sure. The woman must have had something very interesting on her shoe. Was it a young badger? It looked kind of small.

    I never heard that apple trees should always have a name. You could call your apple tree Fanny.🙂 Or how about Johnny Appleseed?
    I was thinking about the trees in my yard but only two had anything like a name. There was the huge old maple (now gone) that was called The Mother because we figured it had spawned all the little maple seedlings that sprang up everywhere in the lawn. The other tree is The Old One. It’s a big old black walnut at the back of the house. It and it’s now departed companion have probably been the parents of the dozens of black walnuts all over my neighborhood.

    There is only the Black Krim tomato left in my little garden. It is still brilliantly green with no sign of any color that remotely resembles black or purply red.

    Who was the kitten in the grass?

    It’s sunny here again this morning. It will be warm and humid too so Rocky and I will have our walk now before it gets too sticky out. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think it is a fairly young badger, but sometimes female badgers don’t get especially big. But I’m pretty sure the badger was looking for something to eat like worms or snails, it just didn’t care if there were humans around🙂

      I was meaning a variety name🙂 But why not Fanny🙂 From now on that apple variety will be called Fanny🙂 Otherwise I never name trees🙂 Well I had a huge pine close to where I lived before and I always called it the twin since it had two trunks, sometime something happened when it was around a yard high and two tops grew up from the common trunk.

      My tomatoes won’t become colored at all even if I place them in a sunny window now. But I can always fry them and have them on a sandwich🙂

      It’s a semi wild cat that lives in the farm next door. All stray cats that wanders here are adopted by the farms so they keep control of rats and mice. She’s a nasty piece of work that cat but four big dogs is a bit too much even for her🙂🙂🙂

      Showers and sunshine takes turns here today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      It is and I do have four apple trees in my garden🙂 even after cutting down one more today. It had been sick with something we call tree cancer, a disease that slowly kills the tree. I would like to have a peach tree too but I think there’s only one variety that survives here where I live and it is nasty expensive to buy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

