The air smells like apples.

Almost all photographs from this mornings walk was taken in ISO 800, wich means the camera concentrates on light and not so much in sharp photographs. That’s why they look a bit blurry. I’ve done what I can with my editing program to make them as good as they can be.

 

I was prepared to stay indoors all day watching dvd’s ( Hunger Games and the animated movie Hugo) and eating nectarine/ apple cobbler with custard. They said it would rain all day and that we also might get thunder. They day started that way too and I even started a couple of radiators because it felt so cold indoors. So I started with taking a nap and when I woke up 30 minutes later the sun was shining and I really had no use of warm radiators.

 

Giant Sea Holly, Miss Willmot’s Ghost. It shines in the garden when there’s very little light.

 

 

 

 

So I changed the chain from the old one to the new one in my chainsaw and started to cut down that fallen apple tree. I have training in how to use a chainsaw and how to think when cutting down trees, I even have some kind of diploma somewhere🙂 So I have a fairly good idea what will happen when I start cutting. If You have a tree that You want to cut down do take a class in how to handle a chainsaw. If You are 100% sure what will happen when cutting down a tree please do take a class in how to handle a chainsaw because not even experts know for sure what will happen when one cuts a branch.

 

 

 

I have to admit that I was a bit nervous when we had to pass the old bull so close🙂 Be he’s a gentle giant.

 

 

There can be cracks in the trunk and branches that makes the tree behave very different from what it should do if it was without cracks. My tree had already fallen wich made it a bit trickier, but I could see that it leaned on three big branches, so I cut away everything that the tree didn’t lean towards. When all those were removed I had to decide on wich one of those it leaned on I should cut first. Naturally I took a wrong decision and the tree started to move towards me. But since I hadn’t cut through the entire branch I saw what I was about to do and could move to another position and continue cutting.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s also very important to stand steady towards the ground, apples is not steady :-)They tend to roll away just when they mustn’t🙂🙂🙂 But everything went well and it took me less than two hours to finish the job and as You already know I never hurry things🙂 I had thought I should continue to trim that part of the tree that still stands but it started to drizzle from a clear blue sky and since I have an electric chainsaw I decided to stop, water and electricity is never a good combination no matter how many protection gadgets one has🙂🙂🙂

 

I started by cutting the tree as close to the ground as I could, I didn’t want to risk that the tree would start to rise when the weight from the branches got lighter. But I wouldn’t have to worry about that, the trunk was almost totally broken of.

 

Then I started to cut off all branches that didn’t have any contact with the ground.

 

 

 

The rains and thunderstorms has been moved until tomorrow according to the latest weather predictions🙂🙂🙂 So it feels like almost summer today and it is way too nice outdoors to stay inside and watch dvd’s. Now I’ll make myself a cup of coffee and after that I think we’ll take a little walk.

 

 

Finished! I placed all the branches and twigs that isn’t too thick beside the other half of the apple tree that still stands, I’ll chip them down to wood chips next year when they have dried. If You have a dog or many, don’t tidy up too well, they usually loves chewing on those apple twigs🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The air smells like apples.

  1. Christer, great safety tips and instructions for tree cutting. Too many idiots have been injured or killed because they did not know what they were doing! Looks like you made good work of it, and I can just imagine how wonderful the air smells, with the wood and apples. Your dogs are going to be in stick heaven!!! How does that fence possibly keep that enormous beast in the field. Even if electrified, I don’t see how it is possible. I would have turned around and headed home!! Sune is a joy to watch in action! Gosh, he is growing and growing! Is he heavy to pick up? We have a couple of episodes of the new season of Grimm recorded and will watch this evening. Lots of chores today around the house, blech! Have a wonderful Saturday!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I forgot to write that one always shall try to stand on the other side of the branch one is cutting, then if slipping the tree will take the saw and not ones legs🙂 You are right, way to many have cut off arms, legs and fingers and died just because they never cared to think before doing something like this.

      It does smell wonderful, I walked on a lot of apples that broke🙂🙂

      I’ve learned that the bull is very friendly🙂 but I have to admit I was a bit worried when passing by. Nothing stops a guy like that if he wants to run🙂🙂🙂

      No Sune isn’t especially heavy yet, but he’s only four months old tomorrow so that’ll change🙂

      I think we’ll start watching the new season of Grim as soon as we’ve seen all episodes from the first one now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Det var ju skönt att du nu har fått ner äppelträdet eller den del som knäckts:) Bra att gå kurser i sådant, kan få stora och allvarliga konsekvenser om man inte vet hur man ska bete sig, jag gillar inte motorsågar:( Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Fort gick det också🙂 Ja det är alltid bra att ta en kurs när man skall hålla på med potentiellt farliga saker. Allt för många dör på grund av att de inte tänker efter före eller tror att de vet allt! Inte så roligt att kapa av en hand, arm eller ett ben heller🙂🙂🙂

      Jag gillar motorsågar men anväönder dem inte i onödan.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hmmm….
    So you are probably saying that I shouldn’t try to cut my Weeping Willow that towers over 2 stories tall?
    and maybe I’m just damn lucky when I cut my apple tree and the neighbors walnut?
    I don’t have a chainsaw, just a “Saw-Zall” with different blades.
    I’m too frightened to try a chainsaw. Last year when I was on a ladder cutting a tree I had this thought flash in my head about the ladder falling. I decided I’d throw the Saw-Zall clear away from me if it happened. Glad I thought about it because the ladder did go over and I only had scratches from the limbs below, instead of a blade sticking in my chest or cutting off my leg.
    Now you are making me think I should stop with the cutting, before my luck runs out?

    Anyway. Grimm was really good the other night. That blond woman that got her throat cut and died? I love the interior of her house, very pretty! I get easily distracted by home decor.😀
    Sune is getting longer legs!
    (I would have been too scared to walk by the bull!)
    Glad for you that the day turned out nice!😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Well since You don’t use a chainsaw You’ll at least not cut of any arms or legs🙂 But it is very important to know how to do this! It is so easy to get hit by a big branch and even if it doesn’t kill You it might injure You badly! So if the tree is big, no don’t cut it yourself! Things can go so wrong and since You live in the USA You really need a good insurance if things goes wrong. Well it won’t save Your life🙂🙂 As You say, You have been lucky so far and who knows how long that will last?

      I haven’t seen that episode yet🙂🙂🙂 We’re still looking at reruns from the first half of the first season🙂🙂🙂 I never look at home decor🙂🙂🙂

      I was a bit nervous when passing that bull even if I know he’s a kind one🙂

      Have a great day and stay away from trees🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • yeah, you are right…and I forgot about my no insurance problem.
        I guess I’ll just wait for a winter storm to bring it down.
        and Oops! So sorry, I hope I didn’t spoil Grimm for you.
        I won’t comment on what happens again. (but it was a really good episode the other night!!!)

      • Hi Cindi!

        It is easier to cut them up in pieces after a winter storm🙂🙂🙂

        No problem with spoiling Grim, lots of blond women in that series🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Even I might have been a bit concerned about walking by the bull if I didn’t know the animal. He’s very close to the road. They don’t even have to run against the fence to knock it over. They can just lean a bit too heavily. Ask me how I know.🙂

    Nice pictorial about cutting down the tree. I hope you saved the apples that were ripe.
    I don’t worry about cutting down things. I don’t have a power saw; just a thing we over here call a Swede Saw. I have no idea why we call it that. It’s a triangle bow-type saw which comes apart and folds up into itself. Very handy. Anyway, it is good for small jobs and might even take down a biggish sapling but it isn’t going to do a whole tree. I hire someone to do that. If they aren’t competent, they are at least insured.

    Sune looks so happy when he runs towards you.

    The Giant Sea Holly is interesting. Are those the seed heads or the flowers? I will google it later.

    Sunny, warm and humid here again today. All the windows are open and all the fans are running. Rocky and I went for a walk early this morning and it was humid even at that time of the day. Bleh.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I was a bit nervous but he’s a kind one so he just stood there and looked at us. The cows however came running like crazy to the fence, they really scared me🙂🙂🙂

      It is a winter apple tree so none of the apples are even close to be ripe, they’ll ripen end of September, early October as best.
      What a nice name on a saw🙂 We do use saws like that a lot here and that’s the kind I use when not using the chainsaw. Very practical in every way. I like that You hire someone when You need to bring down a big tree, just make sure they have an insurance just in case something goes wrong and it makes a lot of damages:-)

      Sune is always happy🙂 I don’t know what’s wrong with him🙂🙂🙂

      It’s both flowers and seed heads on that sea holly. I can collect seeds from that one at the same I do it on the blue one You wanted seeds from.

      We have had a really nice day here but now the clouds fill the sky and we’ve had a tiny shower.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i cut some limbs off of my sycamore a few years ago and the first branch that did not look very heavy, came down right on my shin. it turned out to be very heavy and i was very cut and bruised. i have those sea hollies in my lower gardens. they are beautiful. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      This is very strange! Your comment went to the spam box?? I’m glad I saw it because I have gotten so much spam comments lately that I may have missed some real ones. I do hope I haven’t missed any of Yours!

      Yes tree is so much heavier than one can believe! That must have hurt like h..l! Cutting down trees are dangerous and we have at least one death every year over here because of that. I’m glad it didn’t get worse when it happened!

      I do like those hollies and they self sow gently here every year🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

