Fog, swapping and kittens.

 

It wasn’t as cold this morning as it was yesterday but close and since it never got especially warm yesterday my cottage felt rather chilly. I think it mostly depended on high humidity since windows had been open but I did wear a sweater all morning. But now the sun is shining and I’ve open up the kitchen door to let in some of its heat.

 

 

 

 

 

We had some fog here and it was quite nice to take our walk in the chilly air. Not a sound could be heard and both flies and mosquitoes stayed away from us. We walked in to the village and this was the first time Sune could follow us that way. He loves cows but showed some skepticism towards horses πŸ™‚ I think they were a bit to curious of this new member in the family πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

I was at the plant swapping day yesterday and for those of You not familiar with this I can tell You that we are a bunch of people meeting once (or more) a year to swap the surplus of plants we have from either sowing them or just digging them up from our gardens. It’s more like a lottery actually. We place our plants so that all can see what we have brought and then we have a drawing. There are as much numbers in the drawing as there are participants and the one getting number one starts to choose one plant and so on.

 

That low hill with the brownish grass on it is actually no hill, it’s a tomb. I’ve learned lots about this place lately and we have quiet a lot of graves here, from the Bronze age up till late 16oo’s when they abandoned the old church.

 

here’s one more.

 

 

One can participate even if one doesn’t have any plants, this is more of a getting rid of surplus than getting more plants to be honest πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚Β I still have too many plants here at home and yesterday I brought home some more πŸ™‚ I brought home a Rowan (it origins from an Ullung-do Rowan but since Rowans are rather promiscuous and crossbreed with any other species in that family one never knows exactly how it will turn out πŸ™‚ ), two different monkshood, an autumn aster, a geranium and more but they are now all standing in quarantine in the garage. We have a slug here, the Spanish forest snail, that we who don’t already have it desperately tries to avoid getting it. It eats absolutely everything and I know people who kills around one thousand every night all summer. It has no natural enemies outside Spain because it is so slimy that no animal wants to touch it.

 

I wonder where he dropped his two other legs πŸ™‚

 

They have way over 350 different varieties of day lilies in the garden I visited yesterday and most of them flowered. They also had loads of kittens πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

I think I’ll show some photographs every day from that garden we had the swapping at this coming week. It is a beautiful place and some of You have already seen it before. But to be honest, I think I had just as many photographs of the kittens living there as I have of the garden πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Fog, swapping and kittens.

  1. Det Γ€r verkligen en helt otrolig trΓ€dgΓ₯rd de har,Karin och Stellan, egentligen Γ€r vΓ€l park en bra beskrivning. Kattungarna gav en extra dimension till gΓ₯rdagen, hade jag inte haft tre egna katter hade jag nog tiggt till mig en av Karin πŸ™‚
    Jag plockade ju Γ₯t mig en del av dina plantor, jag kommer sΓ€kert att Γ₯terkomma med frΓ₯gor till dig, speciellt om vindruvan eftersom jag inte har nΓ₯gon som helst erfarenhet av dem. Ha en bra dag du ocksΓ₯!

    • Hejsan Monaxe!

      Ja visst Γ€r den fantastisk och att kalla den park Γ€r nog inte fel πŸ™‚

      Just nu Γ€r jag ju immun mot kattungar och valpar som tur Γ€r πŸ™‚ FΓΆr jag fΓΆrΓ€lskade mig allt i den lille orange πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Ja bara hΓΆr av dig om det Γ€r nΓ₯got!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. such beautiful photos, the kittens are so cute, the gardens are amazing, we have a plant swap at our market twice yearly too, itsa great place to have a great chat with fellow plant enthusiasts.Have a wonderful day!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I did fall in love with an orange little one πŸ™‚ So I am happy that I’m sort of immune towards kittens and puppies right now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think there were at least seven kittens running around in the garden and all just as cute πŸ™‚

      yes these swapping days are much about meeting people I perhaps only meet at these days too. It is lots of fun πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I can’t believe you didn’t come home with one of those cute kittens, along with your plants. I love this place you go to, and remember enjoying photos of it before. Absolutely great photo opportunities there. That spanish slug sounds ghastly!

    • Hi Robin!
      I’m rather immune now by having Sune πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ There will be more photographs of kittens πŸ™‚

      It is an amazing place and I can’t even imagine how much work they’ve put in, it’s mostly clay in the ground πŸ™‚ It is way more work than I would put in to my garden and I only have sand wich is much easier πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We call that slug The Murderer slug. It eats its own if they are dead and they completely empties gardens. They are a big problem all over Europe now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! how did you manage to leave there without a kitten. they are so cute. i think you need another cat! haha! sune is too cute! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m immune right now:-) Besides, I don’t think that Bertil and Teodor would be just as understanding if a kitten arrived here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      It is and they’ve worked on it for over twenty years and will continue for many more πŸ™‚

      I think You would have gotten a couple if You had been there πŸ™‚ They are all adorable πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Your friends’ garden is beautiful. I remember it from last year. A lot of daylilies have self-sown around the old cess pool cover in my back yard. They’re scraggly and never bloom because it is deep shade. Some day I will move them all to a sunny part of the yard and have a big bank of orange daylilies just like those photos. Yeah, right. πŸ˜‰
    I like the plants with the orange flowers and almost black foliage.
    The ginger kitten that was climbing head first down the shrub would have been coming home with me. I am not immune. What beautiful fur.

    Today Rocky’s dormant terrier brain cell fired up and he decided to chase the Canada geese at the lake. The terrier brain cell also caused him to forget his name and any human languages he might have known. He was chin deep in water and getting ready to swim after the birds when the sound of my yelling finally got through. Fortunately Rocky is a short guy so chin deep for him meant the end of the leash was still on the shore and I didn’t have to wade. I have pictures. πŸ™‚

    It’s warm and humid here. Sometimes there is sun and sometimes not. Enjoy the day!

      • I looked on ever store that is supposed to sell them and none had it!? So I guess I’ll have to buy via internet if I want one.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Only one of my day lilies flowers too, the rest either hate me or grows in deep shade πŸ™‚ They tend to get cranky when moved and then they don’t flower either πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The plant with the orange flowers and deep red foliage is a Ligularia of some kind and I want that one too πŸ™‚ But I’m afraid it’s to dry here but it would love to live close to Your marsh/pond area.

      I hate when those dormant brain cells wake up πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s strange that they get totally death when it does πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I hope that You have posted them on FB πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, they are on Facebook.
        Thanks for the plant name. I’ll search for it.
        I didn’t know daylilies got cranky when moved. They sow themselves and flourish in all the worst places but they won’t flower where they have planted themselves in my yard. 😦

      • I’ll take a look at them in a minute πŸ™‚

        I’ll also try to find the exact name for that plant! They are changing the names on plants faster than I can say internet πŸ™‚ But all Ligularias loves to grow in marsh areas and lots of them are beautiful!

  6. Hi Christer, really enjoyed the fog photos, so atmospherice. I have never taken any of fog and this shows me that I should at least try one day as it produces some eerily strange results. The floers and the gardens were lovely, but oh my thos kittens were beautiful. I thought that we might read you brought home some plsants and a kitten – as a playmate for Sune?

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I have enough pets as it is thank You πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But they were all adorable and that orange one fell asleep by my side πŸ™‚

      My camera has problems focusing on foggy days but I do like taking photographs while it is foggy. We’ve had fog every morning for an entire week now but now the mornings are too dark when I get up.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I have daylilies in front of my house and also down in the bottom of my yard (the swampy area) I guess I’m lucky because they keep flowering even though I keep digging them up and tossing them. 😦
    Those kittens are cute but the cats I already have are enough…more than enough! πŸ™‚
    Of course I’m always tempted when I see a black one but Nope, no more for me.
    I need to go to a plant swap and swap some of my daisies for grass! hahahaha!
    I’m so tired of weeding.
    :/

    • Hi Cindi!

      Some day lilies just don’t understand they they are supposed to get cranky when moved πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Better not tell them πŸ™‚

      I have enough with two cats and four dogs, I really don’t need another pet in the cottage πŸ™‚ but they are adorable πŸ™‚

      There’s always somebody that would love some of those daisies πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

