A close encounter of the third degree!

 

Yes we had that this morning but not with aliens🙂 Even though that would have been rather exiting this was at least just as exiting as that🙂 We got up rather early and the sun did its best to peek through the clouds in the sky, not too successfully though.  The kind breeze we had didn’t do much to blow away all the mosquitoes and flies that already were up, or perhaps hadn’t gone to rest after the night.

 

 

 

 

I thought this was a good morning to continue training Sune walking without a leash but Nova still had to be leashed to Orvar, so I gave those two lots of treats while we were walking towards home. Sune jumped around like he usually do and I was more concentrated on looking on the fields to see if I could take some photographs of deers and other animals.

 

 

This is the last photograph I managed to take this morning. This is just minutes before it all happened🙂

 

Thankfully I do have some spare ones from yesterday.

 

We had reached the Portal when all hell broke loose🙂🙂🙂 Suddenly I can see how Sune jumps at what I think is a big chunk of dead grass but turns out to be a rather big badger🙂🙂🙂 I think the badger got just as surprised as I did and he turned around and growled rather loudly towards Sune. What he didn’t expect was that nothing touches anyone in Novas family.

 

 

Illiamna remota.

 

Eryngium giganteum.

 

I have to say that not even Orvar stood a chance on keeping Nova back from that badger🙂 But thankfully she never managed to reach him, she just came very close🙂 The poor badger did what he could to stay away from anyone of us but tangled himself in the leash between Nova and Orvar, a good thing it turns out because that made Nova lose her balance and the badger got away. I can happily report that no one bit the other during this struggle🙂 But I had another problem, Sune!

 

 

Red berried elderberry bush.

 

 

He got so scared that he ran away in panic! He did look back when I called for him but he didn’t stop for a second. He’s fast the little one and even if I actually tried to run after him🙂🙂🙂 (You who know me by now know I’m not allowed to run with these implants in my hips) , all the time shouting his name. You never know what any living creature do while having panic so I just didn’t know what way he might have run.

 

 

 

 

I kept on shouting his name all the way home, I thought it best to bring the other ones home and then go back with only Orvar. He is rather good in tracking other dogs, he did find my neighbors dog when he got trapped in the fox trap🙂 But the first thing we met when coming home was Sune🙂 He had run straight home and was so happy when we finally arrived too🙂 Unfortunately this wasn’t the time to take any photographs of that badger, even if he was as close as ten centimeters (4 inches)from my feet I really couldn’t take the time to do that🙂🙂🙂

 

Monkshood.

 

 

Echinacea hybrid.

 

Thankfully most of my neighbors already are up by that time🙂 But I guess they will wonder why I was shouting so loudly that early in the morning🙂🙂🙂 Now I really need a shower🙂

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “A close encounter of the third degree!

  1. Oj, vilken historia – det hade ju kunnat gått väldigt illa! Men nu får vi hoppas att Sune fått sig en riktig näsbränna så han inte “jagar” i fortsättningen!!😦
    Men eftersom historien slutade väldans lyckligt för alla parter, speciellt med tanke på att Sune kunde ha sprungit bort istället för hem, så kanske man är tillåten att fnissa lite åt synen av en massa hundar, en “gubbe” och sen ett vilddjur(!) intrasslade i kopplen – för den 4:e satte ju full fart hem….. *hi, hi*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst kunde det gått illa, framförallt om Nova nått fram! Men grävlingar är allt annat än aggressiva och blir de bara inte inträngda i ett hörn så undviker de att slåss och flyr hellre fältet som tur är. Fast det var nog bara lek från Sunes sida. Vi har ju en grävling i trädgåprden ibland så han trodde nog mest att den kanske ville leka🙂🙂🙂

      Ja så skönt att han sprang hem!!! Han kunde ju försvunnit ut på fälten bland korna och kalvarna, det hade inte varit bra. Mossen låg åt andra hållet och vägen är allt för långt borta så dem oroade jag mig inte för.

      Det måste ha varit en hysteriskt rolig sak att se🙂🙂🙂 Jag hann inte bli rädd som tur var så jag har skrattat ända sedan jag kom hem🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Men herregud vilka äventyr du/ni råkar utför! Även om det måste ha varit en otäck upplevelse (även om du inte hann bli rädd) så måste det ha sett otroligt roligt ut:) Att Nova ville försvara sin familj är ju inte alls konstig men det var ju tur att det gick som det gick, hon kunde ju blivit skadad. Stackars lille Sune han måste ju blivit helt skräckslagen, hela familjen inblandad i vrål,rytande och gapande. Har sagt det förut men jag säger det igen, du MÅSTE skriva en bok om alla dessa fantastiska äventyr och roliga episoder som du varit med om genom åren med dina hundar:)) Det skulle alla gånger bli en “kioskvältare”;)
    Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det har ju hänt en del genom åren🙂 Just när det hände var allt mest förvirrat🙂🙂🙂 Nova fick ju inte nå den för då hade det slutat illa för bägge två tror jag. Sedan var jag ju tvungen att springa efter Sune så det hann egentligen aldrig bli riktigt otäckt och jag sitter fortfarande och skrattar när jag tänker på det🙂🙂🙂

      Ja Sune hade det inte lätt trots att han bara var med om en liten del, han stack ju hem rätt fort🙂🙂🙂 Skall bli spännande att se hur han uppför sig nästa gång han får gå lös! Antingen har detta satt djupa spår i honom och då håller han sig till och med närmre än han gjort hittils eller så är det borta och då kanske han blir lite modigare och dumdristigare istället🙂

      Vet inte o jag har talangen, men som sagt det har ju hänt lite under åren🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    First a wasp and now a badger. I expect it means Sune is hitched to Hector for a bit. Good thing it wasn’t an American badger. It could have ended very badly as they are meaner than mean. It figures that the one time you could get really good pictures of the badger is the one time that you are too busy rescuing everyone to manage it.🙂
    It is a good thing that Sune considers home the safe place even if he has to run through a lot of strange to get there. My Rocky does the same when he is frightened by something. He runs for the front door. If something at the front door frightens him, he runs around the house until he gets back to the front door.🙂
    It’s hot and humid here this morning and it’s going to continue that way through the weekend. Now I have to decide which is worse; the heat or the horrid noise from the air conditioner.
    Enjoy the rest of the day and no more messing with badgers if you can help it.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      No i think I’ll continue to have him unleashed on that part of our walk. I saw how he jumped towards what I thought was dead grey grass🙂 and it was just as when he plays here in the garden. Since we obviously have a badger walking around in the garden sometimes I just think he didn’t understand that it could be dangerous or in this case scary🙂🙂🙂 That badger really tried to get away as quickly as possible and avoiding any kind of trouble, not easy when getting entangled in a leash🙂🙂🙂

      But it does feel good that he runs to the cottage an that he feels that is the safest place in his world🙂

      No more badgers for a while, next time we’ll be looking for a fox or a lynx🙂🙂🙂

      It is surprisingly hot here now and the humidity is high so I guess thunder is on its way.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I read this post aloud to my husband so he could hear, very scary, badgers are fierce here, fighters, I’m so glad no one was hurt, I hope the remaider of your day is quiet and calm,

    • Hi Laurie!
      The European badger is normally very peaceful and only dangerous when cornered. The only thing this one wanted was to run away from us, it could easily have injured us all and even killed at least Sune if it had wanted to. I don’t know much about the one You have in America though, I only know that it isn’t especially closely related to the one we have here in Europe.

      So far the rest of the day has been very calm🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. When I read that the badger got tangled in the leashes, it really scared me thinking the worst. Nova is a fierce defender of her family for sure. Good dog, Sune, for running right home. What an experience!!! I know you must have been frantic about where Sune went to. You better sit down and have a calming cup of tea (or something stronger if you’ve got it!) Whew, another catastrophe averted!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Thankfully it untangled itself rather quickly🙂

      Yes Nova is a good dog, nothing touches her family🙂 But I am very happy that she never got to the badger, it would have defended itself if it had to. But the only thing that one wanted was to get as far away from us as possible the poor thing🙂

      We too an exceptionally long nap after that🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      The European isn’t but I know that some of them are, like the Honey badger in Africa and south east Asia. Not even lions dare to come close to that one🙂🙂🙂
      But there are lots of myths around badgers about how dangerous and aggressive they are. Those myths were started by hunters that let their dogs go down in to the badgers burrows. I would also be very aggressive if a dangerous hunting dog came in to my home trying to kill me🙂🙂🙂

      So our badger does anything to get away from troubles and would never attack humans or other animals.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Aaacckkk!! I will send Tillie and Sophie to the rescue!! My two badger, I mean wiener dogs!! So glad no one was hurt and even the badger!! You’re so right….almost any animal would become agressive trying to defend itself!! I think the most dangerous animals are humans themselves and they don’t even have to be provoked!!
    Great photos, as always Christer!!🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      They better save the badger then, because it was the one not guilty of anything🙂🙂

      Yes You are absolutely right! The most dangerous of them all is we humans!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Puppies are so cute except when the set your hair on fire. No alien? It surely was to Sune. She was happy to be home and should have stayed there. I think you need some of these on a video.

    • Hi Z&M!
      🙂 So true🙂🙂🙂

      No not a single Alien and I am a bit disappointed🙂🙂🙂

      Yes HE was so happy to come home to safety again but I doubt I ever will manage to get this on any videos🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    I hope everything is okay with you and the dogs. It is so unlike you not to post for two days so you have me worried. Please let me know if everything is okay.

    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      No problems here, I just didn’t have any energy at all yesterday🙂 I managed to mow the the lawn and after that I didn’t do a thing, not even reading blogs🙂🙂

      I’ll be beack today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I just Googled a picture of a Badger…Oh MY! I thought it was something like a groundhog! SCARY!
    I can just imagine the adrenaline rush that must have caused. I’d be so scared that Nova would grab it and it would be a battle to the death.
    And how worried you would have been. Thank god the little one knew to run home. What an exciting but frightening day.
    Let’s hope the badger moves to a new location.

    • Hi Cindi!

      They can become rather big actually but this one is a female I think and they tend to be in the middle size. It all happened so fast and I was way to occupied to feel anything when it happened🙂🙂🙂 but I was worried that Sune had run out to the cows, that would have been very bad!

      No, no I want the badger here🙂 They are as You can understand very peaceful creatures, It was all my fault this happened at all! I really need to keep my eyes open when I know we’re walking along a badger path.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

