I can feel it has turned.

Just seconds after I took this photo a flash covered the entire sky! Why couldn’t I have waited just those seconds to take this photo🙂

 

The thunderstorms came and went as they pleased yesterday. Mostly they went outside the village but every now and again the lightnings hit the ground just outside the cottage. But I think most of them just travelled between the clouds. I did however see one hit on the same place several times and I wonder what it was that got hit. It wasn’t especially close though so I won’t hear about it from any neighbors.

 

 

 

 

 

Hector doesn’t like thunderstorms at all but yesterday he found a place he finally could relax in. My ceiling goes almost all the way down to the floor on the upper stairs so if I place something close to it, it sort of creates a cave behind it🙂 So he crawled in behind a sofa and a book shelf and fell asleep🙂 Sune doesn’t care at all though, non of the rest either.

 

 

We call this grass Hares tail. It is said to be rather unusual here in Sweden.

 

 

 

This morning is rather pleasant, sunny and chilly. There’s a kind of sharp edge in the cold air telling me that autumn isn’t too far away. I’m not sure I’ll notice the change since we really never got any summer to talk about🙂 The first night with frost usually comes the first week in September so it isn’t that far away in the future to be honest.

 

Sune without a leash for the first time on our walks.

 

But he came as soon as I called. Unfortunatley my camera decided that focusing on Sune wasn’t something needed to be done🙂

 

Lots of disgusting things to eat on the ground.

 

 

I got a letter from my hip doctor the other day. Do You remember how I wrote about some people getting higher levels of metal ions in their blood due to some problems with the hip implants? Those ions will in the long run destroy both the bones and the muscles if not dealt with. So they took some blood from me just to check even though they thought I wouldn’t have any problems since I didn’t have the worst kinds of implants.

 

 

No I won’t follow You in to the garden🙂

 

It’s so much more intyeresting to look at cows.

 

Who cares about cows? It is hares we much keep an eye on.

 

But they did find a slightly higher level of metal ions in my blood anyway. So I’ll get a new appointment next year so we can see if it continues to stay high and discuss what to do about it. They say it might be difficult to know wich one of the implants that is wrong but that’s really no problem at all since the last one, the one to the left, has a tendency to try to jump out from its position :-) It’s a really strange feeling when that happens🙂🙂🙂

 

It was sunny, hot and humid between the thunderstorms yesterday and we managed to take a walke between them. Not nice at all to be honest.

 

One of my favorites, a six-spot Burnet. I’ve been looking for it all summer.

 

 

 

 

It is time to make a pot of tea and then I’ll go upstairs to see if there’s anything happening at the Olympics.

 

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “I can feel it has turned.

  1. Det regnade rejält här i går eftermiddag men det blev bara ett par enstaka små åskknallar:) Jo du, man märker att det är på väg mot höst:( vi märker det mest på att Bobo den senaste veckan börjat att nysa:) Han har alltid gjort det en kort period på våren (då vet man att den är på gång;)) och senare på säsongen för att tala om att nu är hösten på väg. Vet inte riktigt varför han gör så men det har han gjort i 15 år nu:) Så man kan använda honom som en typ av barometer:) Vad skönt att det blev ett positivt besked från läkaren! Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det kom ett par kraftiga åskskurar men egentligen inte så mycket regn.

      Har han hållit på så i femton år är det ett säkert tecken tycker jag🙂🙂🙂

      Nja, där får du nog allt läsa om Monne🙂 Tvärt om är det ett dåligt resultat. Det skall inte finnas en förhöjd mämgd metalljoner i mitt blod, detta är ett tecken på att jag med största säkerhet måste byta den. Men det verkar inte vara någon jättebrådska i alla fall🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Det låter som om du gärna skulle vilja byta implantat!? Hoppar det “ur led” så kan jag förstå det, kan ju inte vara skönt!!😦
    Skönt att det gick bra med Sune lösspringande!🙂 Själva har vi precis kommit hem efter en tur på Näsuddes strandängar. Inte en turist i sikte – och dessutom hittade vi ett par områden utan kor, så det blev en underbart skön prommis. Santos fick spring “nästan” som han ville. Det var många rabbisar där nere, så när han började följa dom istället för oss så fick man ropa in honom. Men det gick bra!🙂🙂
    Idag har vi ett helt underbart – svalt – väder. Efter gårdagens otroliga hetta (då vi kastade korv och grillade pil), så kändes det riktigt mysigt med lite svalare väder. Hoppas nu bara att vi får dom 30 mm regn vi blivit lovade – däremot kunde det bli uppåt 50 mm och det vill vi INTE ha!😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det är en jättekonstig känsla🙂 Det har aldrig gått så långt att jag fått ont, men obehagligt är det. Men det kan jag leva med, jag bara helt enkelt undviker att göra de rörelserna som kan få den att poppa ut🙂 Men den förhöjda metalljonmämngden är otrevligare, både ben och muskler blir förstörda av det i det långa loppet. Men det var såpass lite att jag inte behövde åka tillbaka direkt i alla fall.

      Sune är ju fortfarande såpass liten att det är roligt att komma tillbaka och få en godbit🙂 Snart är den tiden borta dock så det gäller att lära honom redan nu🙂 Harar och kaniner är inte bra🙂 Bara elände när Nova får syn på harar, då är jag inte mycket värd🙂

      Det blev äckligt varmt och fuktigt här mellan åskovädrena, men idag har det varit riktigt skönt här. Fick dock inte så mycket regn som de varnat för tack och lov🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. not so good news about the implants, hope everything works out OK with them, sad when something is done to help you turns bad.
    Beautiful photos this morning,

    • Hi Laurie!
      No not too good :-9 But now they” keep an eye on it and if it starts to look bad I guess they’ll change this to something else.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! that is the best photo of theodor! what is bertil doing in his pic? i hope you don’t have to have the hip replacements redone. i guess we got your summer this year and everyone elses too. no signs of cooling off here. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes that photo turned out quite well.

      He was eating something and I took the photo so it looks like he’s puking🙂🙂🙂

      It would be nice if I don’t have to do this again🙂 But I think they’ll keep it there until it starts to look as it turns towards bad. So far my legs and muscles looks just fine.

      We do turn towards autumn rather early up here but usually the signs doesn’t come this early. So now I’ll hope for a long and warm autumn instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,

    Wow! That first photo is definitely of a sky with a big story to tell! I think it’s kind of difficult to determine in advance just where the lightening is going to show up. At least that’s what I have heard other photographers say.

    Now that Sune is walking without a leash and Nova is not I guess that means the student has surpassed the teacher?🙂 It’s good that he comes when called except if the garden gate is involved, of course.🙂

    That is disturbing news about the hip implant. It would be okay if the one they need to replace is the one that wants to pop but how do they figure out which hip is leaking ions?

    The moth is beautiful. Shockingly red spots! I wonder if it’s slightly poisonous since many brightly colored (and otherwise edible) insects are.

    I think America won some medals yesterday. Swimming? I’m not paying a whole lot of attention because I only like the equestrian sports. The oldest competitor is a Japanese dressage rider. He’s 71. I will cheer for him just because he’s probably the only one there that is way older than I am.😀

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I can tell You that the cloud told us a lot🙂🙂🙂
      It is impossible to know where the lightning will show but just imagine what photo I would have gotten if I just had delayed it for just a couple of seconds🙂 Those getting really good photographs of lightnings are either very lucky or have a special technicality that makes tha camera take the photo as soon as the lightning starts.

      I wouldn’t go so far but he was really good today. Nova is too 99% of the time🙂🙂🙂

      They weren’t too worried at the moment when it comes to my hips and I have no idea how they’ll check this🙂 They can’t just bring it out too see if they can find any scratch marks on either of them🙂🙂🙂

      Yes the moth is poisonous so no birds touch it and that’s why I could go so close to it, it doesn’t fear anything🙂 If one sees it from the right angle in sunshine it shines in metallic blue!

      No medal for us so far and I doubt we’ll get more than one or two this year but I’ll be happy for any Scandinavian medal🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I’m sending out positive thoughts to you that your ions will go down and that you won’t need any additional surgery.
    You have done a great job of training Sune, just like you have done with the others! I am working with Jimmy my Boston Terrier mix and I’m tying him to a long lead tie-out like you do with your dogs. If you remember, I took down my fence and put up a new one that just surrounds the patio area. One side is much lower but too high for Blue or the little ones to jump…except Jimmy! He keeps jumping it to join me while I water the flowers, so I’m tying him to the post or the wheel barrel or myself! So far he seems to just want to be WITH me and not run away!
    My favorite photos today are the 1st one – Awesome and the one of Teodor and Nova🙂

    • Hi Cindi!
      I’m afraid that if it has started it won’t go back again. So I’m hoping for that it doesn’t get worse instead🙂

      So far so good🙂 But soon he’ll be in his teens and then he won’t care much about what I say🙂🙂🙂

      It’s funny really, there’s no big difference between a fence or a lead but there’s something with the fence that makes them feel as we are so far away. But it works good and that’s what matters. So none of Your dogs are climbers? My first one was and I never knew if she would be in the diog yard or in my garden when I came home from work🙂🙂🙂

      I think my favorite is Teodor alone.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, I found your blog from Cat in the Bag this morning and enjoyed very much reading it and looking at your photos! Hoping your hip turns out fine, I have not heard of this problem over here but sometimes they like to keep things like this quiet! Your pets are beautiful, I love an orange cat! I am going to mark your blog and visit again. Best wishes, Jo in MN, and yes we probably did get your summer 80-95 degrees F.

    • Hi joandstella and welcome to my blog🙂

      I’m glad You like it here🙂

      I’m afraid my hip sooner or later will get worse. I have implants, not prostheses since I am too young to have those. The problem is that it’s all metal and when they place them a tiny bit wrong ions may go out into my blood. I have the ones with the less problems but still it has happened to me. But I’m happy to have them anyway because otherwise I would have huge problems walking.

      I too think my pets are beautiful🙂 Teodor, the orange cat and Bertil is brothers but very different, Bertil hates humans but Teodor loves them🙂

      Yes I think You got all summer this year🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  8. Christer, today’s photos have really made me smile. I love the first cloud photo, even if you did miss the lightning. The moth with the red spots is unbelievable! Never seen such a creature. I love the spider web and the angelica. I would love to take photos the way you do, though I don’t have your amazing cameras. All the family photos are wonderful, too (but they always are). The one of Bertil? It kinda looks like he is hacking something up!! Nova and Teo look so good together. All your furry ones are photogenic. This is disturbing to hear about your hip implants. I guess there is nothing to do about it right now, so I hope it won’t be an issue later. Surely they could develop a safer metal to use in implants. Well, we will all just keep a very positive view of it, sending good vibes to you so all will be fine. My husband is watching the basketball competition right now. I am not!!! Off to play with kittens!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like that moth! I see just a few every summer but since they are poisonous I wonder why there aren’t more of them around.

      Bertil was actually eating something but it does look as if he’s puking🙂🙂🙂

      I had hoped that they wouldn’t find any ions but there they were🙂 Sooner or later they will have to replace the bad one otherwise my bones and muscles will get destroyed I’m afraid. But they do check my hips every year and as long as they can’t find any deterioration they’ll leave it as it is I guess. They have similar implants that are made of plastic until now they have had other quality problems.

      I can’t understand basketball🙂 So I’ll find something else to watch🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • I thought it was what had happened🙂 But I understood anyway because those photographs showed so well what had to be done🙂
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    First off you have to watch this video. If you substituted Gracie for Fenton, you would hear the same tone of franticness and frustration. This is amazing nd hysterical: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GRSbr0EYYU&feature=youtube_gdata_player

    I hope you hip metal is okay. Nothing is worse than an operation to fix one which has gone wrong somehow.

    It is wonderful that Sune is off-leash. He learned far quicker than Nova did, but she was older when you got her so that may have made a difference.

    Have a great night!

    • Hi Kat!
      I’m still laughing🙂🙂🙂 We can replace Fenton with Nova too with much the same result🙂🙂🙂

      Unfortunately it isn’t but perhaps it won’t become worse anyway.

      So far I only allowed him to walk a short distance but it looks ok anyway🙂 I started with my old boys as soon as we started our small walks, it is so much easier than to start with a dog at Nova’s age. But we’ll get there sooner or later with her too🙂

      Thanks for the video, I’ll spread it on Facebook now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. So our little Sune is an all weather doogie. That will certainly help her up there in the snow. I am not thrilled to read about your hip problems. I don’t get too much info on hips here, other than the wealthy go for some special medals because they can afford to. But stay on top of it. U.S. and China are one medal apart last I check this afternoon. Enjoy watching the games.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’m not sure yet, I try to walk in between showers. But I think he might be since he is half cocker spaniel.

      I wasn’t too happy either🙂🙂🙂 This is a problem they found out about a couple of years ago. They have been doing this kind of surgery for almost 30 years now and I guess it all depends on what kind of metals are in those implants. From now on they’ll keep an even closer look on my hips.

      No medals here yet, one fourth and one sixth place as best so far.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

