It isn’t easy when Orvar gets grumpy.

 

We’re all scratching our selves today, all the time.  We were out walking yesterday and I put Orvar and Nova together and it started out fine but things changed quickly :-)We hadn’t come far when I heard the thunder closing in and it seemed to hurry towards us. I could hear it was a big one, the rumbling sort of didn’t stop even for a second.

 

 

 

I avoided the forest this morning.

 

So we walked to the Portal and then we turned back home again.

 

I was stupid enough to lead us in to the forest on our way home and since thunder was coming the flies started to behave insane. Suddenly Orvar just stopped and I realized he had the leash messed up between his legs, nothing strange but this time he just didn’t want to understand what I asked him to do. He simply refused to lift his paws from the ground when I told him to🙂 So I stopped and had to do it for him and that was the signal the flies and mosquitoes had waited for.

 

So I told them all to hurry but Orvar was grumpy and refused to move at all🙂🙂🙂 So I actually had to yell at him and then I started to push him forward, it isn’t easy to make a 99 pound dog walk when he’s grumpy🙂🙂🙂 But I think it was the horse flies that finally made him understand that he just couldn’t stay there any more🙂 We finally came out from the forest and hurried home. The lightning came out from my telephone jacket several times during that storm.

 

Smells interesting. So much to learn🙂

 

 

 

If he is too annoying, just push him in to a ditch🙂

 

But I decided that I wasn’t going to let him decide whether he should be leashed to Nova or not, so I did the same thing this morning. I could see that he wasn’t happy about it but this time it worked so much better. Ok he still suffers from amnesia when it comes to understand things he has understood since he was a puppy🙂 But at least he just didn’t stop.

 

 

 

 

and in to the ditch he goes again🙂

 

Sunny and cool weather today and I like it🙂 If we just could get a stronger breeze most of the flies would stay away and that would make this day perfect. This time of year is perfect for digging up Irises and divide them in to sever new plants and that is what I’ve started to do today. The best tools for that kind of job is a saw, an ax and a sharp spade🙂 Some of it will be replanted in my garden, some will be brought to the plant swapping day in August. I better remember to label them so I know what is which🙂 After that I’ll start with the few day-lilies I have.

 

But he likes to go on his own small adventures as well. Thankfully he always come running when I call for him.

 

What You can’t see is that three big dogs are keeping their eyes on him. If he goes to far they soon will fetch him in again.

 

 

 

All the dogs and cats are already sleeping and I think I’ll be joining them in a short nap🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “It isn’t easy when Orvar gets grumpy.

  1. Hi Christer,

    Okay, ded from teh cute as they say on the internets around here.😀
    Nova looks like she’s hauling poor Orvar along whether he wants to go or no. And she seems entirely too pleased at ditching poor little Sune.
    The cloud pictures are lovely. Definitely a sky with a story to tell.
    I take it you all were bitten badly by the flies. You need a large tube of Afterbite. Stops the itching really quickly. Of course it’s mostly alcohol and stings like crazy but it works.
    Weather here has been beautiful the past few days. We had a huge thunderstorm on Wednesday and that chased all the humidity away. It’s been cool at night and about 80F during the day. Perfect.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’ve never heard or read that before but then I usually only visit the same blogs when I’m out on the internet🙂

      She really does haul him along and I’m telling him that it is he who will decide where to go and how fast🙂 But I think he’s only protesting to be honest, they both know that she can’t do anything to make him do something he doesn’t want to🙂 and I think she likes it when Sune is falling down in to those ditches🙂🙂🙂 But You should see how he keeps pestering her most of the time🙂🙂🙂

      Yes we were all bitten badly and I usually have a no itching liquid here at home, not this time of course, but ours smells lot like vinegar🙂 Great though!

      Something is very wrong here now, we have summer weather??? I think this might be a sign for the coming end🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    Today is beautiful, and I’ll be outside most of the day enjoying it. It will get really cool tonight just s it was last night when i actually felt cold.

    I love all the dog pictures, particularly Nova and Sune. The two of them together give a chuckle. Speaking of bugs, I remember walking with Shauna, my first Boxer. We were following a path when we got attacked by black flies. I used the ends of the leash to keep them off Shauna, but I was being dive-bombed and bitten. I was close to tears by the time we reached the car. I hate black fly season.

    Enjoy your nap!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Much the same here, I don’t know what’s wrong🙂🙂🙂 It actually feels like summer today🙂

      Nova and Sune works so good together! Better than I ever could hope for🙂 and I do get a lot of laughs watching them🙂

      Our black flies, we call them knott in swedish (midges in english) doesn’t like me especially much, really strange since all other blood sucking insects loves me🙂 But I know that burning feeling when a lot of them bite. They are impossible to stay away from too, they can reach everywhere since they are so small!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. its horse fly season here as well, nasty nasty bites!!! Deer flies as well, they bite too, but not as big as horse flies, Sune is such a sweet heart, I think its wonderful the older dogs are keeping watch of him.The photos are beautiful, great action shots!!! I wish I was dividing Iris today , instead I’m being bombarded with crazy noisy people, music and just general chaos!

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes those bites hurts so much and then the itching starts, drives me crazy🙂🙂🙂
      But we have Moose flies here, but they rarely bite humans but they are disgusting! They just laugh when I hit them and they are impossible to brush away when they have a grip on us. I HATE them!

      I only managed to divide one bunch of irises🙂 But I expanded a flower bed instead🙂 I’m glad I don’t have to listen to all that noise!

      Have a great day despite the noisy people!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! those flies would drive me crazy. i am so allergic to bites of any kind. great pictures of the whole gang. nova sure has found the perfect playmate! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They do drive me crazy🙂🙂🙂 But this summer has been ok so far, it’s only when thunder comes that they are truly nasty! Normalyy I don’t feel anything from the mosquito bites after the first ones but I never get used to those horse fly bites!

      It works so much better with Nova and Sune than I ever could hope for🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. You should have named him “Mr Happy” he has that sweet happy look in most all of the photos to date. I hate those flies too and thankfully one would have to drive way inland to find any here. We lace our mailboxes with killer ant formula. Works most years. We always have to remember though, when a heavy rain washes the pellets away, we wait for a sunny day and apply more. I just can’t think what you can do over there except wear your net hat. That seemed to work even though the dogs still suffered.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I guess those flies do some use by being food for birds but I can’t say that helps in me getting to like them🙂 I do hate them even if they are fewer this year than normal.

      This time no hat had helped, some managed to bite through my clothes and even Orvar that has such thick fur got bitten badly. Thankfully the horse fly season will soon be over🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hey Christer, hearing all that talk about biting insects makes me glad not to walking near a forest. Whenever we are outdoors in hot and humid weather, I am like a mosquito magnet and I really dislike being bitten all over. But thankfully it is not the worst thing that could happen, so I just try to avoid being bitten, which is not easy in summer. I have heard that vinegar will relieve itching, but you might smell like a salad dressing. I have used alcohol ( not the drinking type) and that has worked for me. My favorite photo today was Sune looking at his reflection in the ditch water.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I tend to walk by the fields this time of year🙂 Mosquito bites usually stop to bother me when enough of them have bitten me. I sort of get immune to that part in their saliva that itches. Unfortunately that doesn’t happen when it comes to horse flies. They are painful and itch like h… But their season is soon ended and then I can walk in the forest until the Moose flies comes in late August🙂

      Anything that helps towards that awful itching is a good thing, no matter how one smells after using it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. God I hate flies. I would be hiding in the house.
    Love seeing the dogs “playing”.
    Life is Good when the dogs are Happy.
    I can’t hardly wait for it to cool off so I can do some major work outside.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      You’re not alone🙂 They are disgusting in every way! Unfortunately birds need them to survive otherwise I would try to make them extinct🙂🙂🙂

      Today wasn’t that bad here even if we didn’t have that much sunshine and I am glad we don’t have the heat You have!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

