Why mow the lawn when You can wait a bit longer.

The old rose without a name. I’ve dug it up from the hedge several times but as long as there’s a bit of root left it comes back 🙂

It’s warm and cloudy outside, the wind tries to make the leafs rattke every now and again but isn’t especially successful. It feels like we’re going to get some thunder and I think I heard some in a distance a few minutes ago. I really should mow the lawn while I still can, the grass is dry and soon a bit too long for the engine less lawn mower but it’s just too warm right now (this is no complaining I love this heat but not so much that I want to mow the lawn in it 🙂 ).

 

This statue is standing outside the village my mother used to live in. It shows a man that was said to be very strong. They say he could lift an entire tree after they had cut it down. The photo is a bit foggy because I took it through my car window.

 

This is the house she lived in. No one lives there any more, it is more or less used as a summer house now.

 

 

We walked around in the village while everyone still was sleeping.

 

We’ get nice weather tomorrow as well but I’ll have Sune with me when I come home and i really want us all to get to know each other as soon as possible. We’ll have most of Saturday to do that too, we’ll get up to 40 mm (1,6 inches) of rain they say and lots of thunder. I haven’t bought any leash to him yet because we don’t know how big he will become 🙂 Most of You don’t know what breeds are in him but let me just say that this is not a combination I would ever have thought of 🙂 But accidents happens 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll tell You more about that tomorrow.

 

I think I only saw one garden without this kind of plant in it.

 

 

 

The old Manor. It has a few nice rooms but it looks fancier than it is 🙂 Now days a bunch of Danes owns it as a collective. They just book a room or two when they feel to spend some time here. Lots of Danes owns properties in this part of Sweden.

 

The magpie chicks are playing around the pond and it’s so fun to watch them 🙂 To be honest, much of what they do looks like something young children would do too 🙂 They are also making a mess of the area at the same time 🙂 Vines get broken and small plants get pulled up from the ground. I don’t mind really, I can always replant when autumn comes 🙂

 

 

I think the three closest neighbors also are Danes.

 

This property is always visited by burglars, it’s just beside the road and it’s easy to break in to without being noticed.

 

This barn and guest house belongs to the house my mother used to live in.

 

It’s time to make something to eat and perhaps a pot of tea or ice cold milk. Only one working day left now 🙂

 

This used to belong to that property too but now Danes owns it. It’s called The Laundry room 🙂

 

 

 

I have a few more photographs from the trip that I most likely will post on Sunday. I guess You all will be more interested in Sune and the other dogs on Saturday 🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Why mow the lawn when You can wait a bit longer.

  1. hi christer! i can’t wait to see sune!!! this sure is exciting. we spent the morning picking up garbage and beer bottles that people threw in our yard while they watched fireworks. i sure am glad the 4th is over. we are still having 100 degree weahter for the next 4 days. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It’ll be exiting to see how much he has grown and changed 🙂

      I can’t understand why people just toss away their garbage like that in to other peoples properties! Happens here as well.

      If Your weather men is right it will most likely stay that hot for much longer, I do hope they are wrong! Here they predict a rather wet summer, I hope ours are wrong too 🙂

      Have a great day despite the heat!
      Christer.

  2. Det har varit enormt hett och kvavt idag, trodde att det skulle bli en riktig urladdning med åska och regn men ännu har det inte hänt något. Förvånar mig inte om det brakar loss inatt när Göran har börjat att jobba efter semestern:) Tycker att det är lite läskigt att vara ensam när det åskar på natten. Serfram emot att få se Sune i morgon:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jag tror det var åska jag hörde på avstånd, men hit kom inget. Klockan är nu nio och det är fortfarande 20 grader varmt!

      Enda gången jag störs av åskan är när blixtenb far ut genom telefonjacket i hallen 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It will be exiting to see him again, two weeks are a long time for a puppy and lots of things happens during that time. I wonder how much bigger he is now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    We share the same philosophy about grass. 😀 My new lawn guy says he comes every 10 days but he has a very different way of counting to 10. My grass was getting very long. I was thinking about mowing it again when the faint buzzing that had been nagging at my ears resolved itself into lawn mower noise. New lawn guy was out there cutting the lawn. Every time I think about an alternative to new lawn guy who shows up when he feels like it suddenly new lawn guy is there. Really, it’s magic!

    Your mother’s old house is very nice and not red. Yellow is a good color for a house. Too bad so many of the houses are not occupied full time. It encourages bad behavior in some people.

    Sune is coming! Can’t wait to see what he looks like now.

    Rest up. Your vacation is probably going to be very interesting. 😉

    • Hi Caryn!
      Perhaps ten is a bit more than he can count 🙂 But they usually never have counting problems when they want to get payed 🙂 🙂 🙂 But it seems he has a sixth sense so he knows when he really must mow the lawn 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is a nice house and it has been red 🙂 But I think it looks better as yellow. It is sad that most houses in some areas mostly are summer houses but swedes don’t want to live there any longer so it is better than nothing.

      Photos of Sune will be posted in a while 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The photos of the house where your mother used to live are wonderful. So much woods. Our grass is very brown from the heat and no rain. No need to mow since it hasn’t grown at all in over two weeks. I am holding my thumbs that all will go well when you introduce Sune to his new siblings, especially wonder how Nova will be. Will be waiting for updates!!

    • Hi Robin!
      I do like that area especially since there are lots of cherry trees and oaks too.

      My grass is way to happy right now, especially since it is raining heavily again 🙂

      I’ll tell You all about the welcoming in a while 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Big weekend at your house. Wish we could all come over. Can’t wait to see Sune. Your Mom lived in some very nice places. I hope the yellow house was close to town. I Know you will enjoy this weekend!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes indeed it is 🙂
      It would have been fun if You all could come over, a bit crowded perhaps but who cares about things like that 🙂

      No that house was far from any town, perhaps 3 miles from where she lives now though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I’m so excited your baby is coming home! I hope all goes well with the whole family!!

    Love the houses, and I laughed as not too far from my house is a house which is on a busy street, and when people I knew lived there, it was broken into several times. No one was ever caught!

    Nice to see the sun.

    • Hi Kat!
      I’ll tell You all about Sunes welcoming in a short while 🙂

      It’s always the same houses that gets broken in to. I doubt they even leave the coffee machine in that house when they leave now days. I guess it would be best just to leave the front door unlocked, less damages when they break in to it then 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Thanks for the tour of your mothers village. I like the house she lived in. Did she move because the new place is easier to take care of? I’m wondering because the house looks so nice, I would want to stay if I was her.There’s room for dogs!
    Speaking of which, I am SO excited for you. What great fun it will be to see photos of Sune meeting his new family!
    🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      She moved because she was tired of always working the fire wood for the coming winter. She also got tired of the darkness during winters, now at least she sees lights from neighbors and the church all the time 🙂 She has always been a city person so I was surprised when she and her fiancée moved there long ago 🙂 I wouldn’t have moved if I had lived there 🙂

      Photos of Sune’s coming up soon 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Love the photos of your mother’s old house. I not only had garbage thrown on my yard but they started a fire! It was around midnight and a very kind person stopped their car to knock on my door and let me know! It was scary. So looking forward to your adventures with Sune.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Did they start a fire!!! What’s wrong with some people!!! I’m glad that nothing worse happened anyway!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

