Midsummer!

I’ve linked to this photograph. It comes from a blog called Dreamhouse. Every midsummer we dress the pole with twigs from mostly birches and lots of wild flowers too. When it stands up people sing and dance around it. The common tradition is to let it stay until at least autumn arrives.

Today we celebrate Midsummer here in Sweden, the biggest holiday beside Christmas (or Yule as we call it). Even though the church did try to make it a Christian holiday by calling it John the Baptist’s Day they finally gave up too🙂 It is all pagan and will so remain until we stop celebrating it. But to be honest, not all swedes knows a lot about this holiday, they just take it as a chance to drink their brains out. But surprisingly many children will be born in nine months and that is what Midsummer is all about, fertility.

My dogs and I started our morning walk around 5 am. The sun was already rather high up in the sky.

The grass was cut two days ago and yesterday they wrapped it in plastic to make silage off it.

The moths were ready to go to sleep.

I guess most people on this planet has celebrated the sun since the day we started to notice patterns in the universe.  It was very important that the harvest didn’t fail and it was very important that they got many children, so when summer solstice arrived they celebrated with offerings to either the god they had or directly to the sun (which by the way most likely was a god too). What they did later out in the fields I leave to Your dirty imaginations🙂🙂🙂 But at midsummer our gods Frö (male) and Freja (female and sister to Frö) were the fertility gods here.

The Midsummer pole as we now days just dance around singing songs about little frogs and how funny they are and other old songs that we only remember this time of year, is really a giant phallus. If You look at the photograph I have in the beginning of this post upside down You easily can see that it isn’t a bit strange-looking cross🙂 The midsummer pole arrived to this country around 1200 they think there are no indications that it existed here earlier than that.

I think there’s a new horse in the village.

I never feel like celebrating this holiday since it now turns towards darker and cooler weather. I always get a bit depressed this day since summer not really even has started here yet🙂 But that is somewhat destroyed today since I was away looking at the new puppy🙂  He already has a perfect name and it is only one letter different from the name I had been thinking of🙂 It is Sune (I had been thinking of Rune🙂 ). I met his mother and two of his sisters too and a whole lot of other dogs as well🙂 He’s a mixed breed but I can’t tell You which ones because my friend at work might read this and I do like to tease her🙂🙂🙂 I just left a message on Facebook to her: I have a puppy and he’s soo cute🙂🙂🙂

It is already raining down in Gothenburg so it will arrive here within a couple of hours I’m afraid. The winds are strong and that keeps the flies away, at least outside. Even though I have mosquito nets all over the place many still comes in when my dogs run in and out all the time. But fly papers takes most of them thankfully. Even though I don’t celebrate this day myself I still eat the food we normally have this day. Well I don’t eat any kind of pickled herring, but I do eat meatballs, prince sausages, cheese of different kinds and lots of other things🙂 I’ll continue about Midsummer tomorrow.

Can You see the dog rose flowering outside the window.

Bumblebee beetles.

Iris sibirica.

Foxglove, Digitalis purpurea.

Have a great day!

Geranium pyrenaicum.

16 thoughts on “Midsummer!

  1. Happy Midsummer, Christer. Love your commentary about this observance, and by the way, I do not have a dirty mind!! LOL! Of course, maybe I do since I can imagine all the things you were talking about!!! The morning light in your photos is perfect for this day. I have never heard of bumble bee beetles, they are absolutely crazy! Now, down to the nitty-gritty…..you have a puppy??? No photos?? This will not do. We must see Sune (how do you pronounce this, one syllable or two?) More info please. Sheesh, waiting all this time, and nothing, we get nothing. Hurry!

    • Hi Robin!
      We all have a dirty mind if we just look after it🙂🙂🙂 I’ll continue with more Midsummer things tomorrow and I’ll also correct one thing I was wrong about.

      I think the Bumblebee beetle only lives in Europe and it is a totally harmless beetle, lives on nectar and pollen. It is my favorite insect🙂

      I wish I knew how to write phonetically, It is two syllable and the e sounds much like if You would say eh. I think I’ll have to make a small video when he arrives so You all can hear his name, I better say all the names because I’m pretty sure You don’t say them like I do except for Hector maybe🙂 But he hasn’t arrived yet, I’ll fetch him on Friday two weeks🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. no one really celebrates summer solstice here. i wish we did. this is so exciting about the puppy. how is sune pronounced? when do you get him and is he also black? i bet nova gets her nose out of joint for a while. or maybe she will just be happy to have someone to play with! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I just wish it didn’t mean everything will turn again. We have such a short summer (and thankfully not as hot as You have🙂 ) so I just wish it could wait a bit longer.
      I actually think You might say his name right since You know German! Just think of German and an e sounding much like You would say eh. Our U sounds a bit different than the German but it’s rather close🙂

      He’ll move here on Friday two weeks and he’s black and white. I’ll mail You later🙂

      She couldn’t leave my hands when I came home after visiting the puppies🙂 I hope she doesn’t get jealous, that’s why I don’t want to bring him home until I have my vacation. But I think she will be happy when he is a bit older and bigger and possible to play tough with🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I think I know that house.🙂
    Quite a convocation of stoney animals in that photo. They look like they’re having a round table discussion.
    The new horse looks very elegant but Shaggy Pony is still my favorite. I don’t know how he can see out from under that forelock.
    Love the bee beetles. We have hummingbird moths and yours kind of reminded me of them. I call them bee moths because that’s what they look like to me and I didn’t know the name until recently.
    See how I am studiously not asking what the new puppy looks like? Hope you satisfy our curiosity soon.
    Happy Midsummer Day to you. Enjoy the food and the lovely, long, slow glide through to fall.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes I think You do🙂 I have shown it some times now🙂 But I just recently heard that no one has lived there for around a year now.
      Personally I don’t like those figures but it does look as if they were having a conversation🙂🙂🙂

      The Bumblebee beetle is my favorite beetle and I look forward to see them every ear. We too have those moths but we have another name on them🙂 Many that see them believes they see hummingbirds, birds that doesn’t exist outside the American continents🙂🙂🙂

      I’ll start enjoying the days from tomorrow, today is still a day I really don’t like🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Grattis till lilla Sune:) Ska bli spännande att se vad det är för korsning. Hoppas att det går bra med de andra nu men med en sådan bra flockledare som du kommer det att gå hur bra som helst:) Håller med dig lite om det här med att fira midsommar, min svärfar sa alltid att ” jaha, nu går det mot mörkare tider” och så var den dagen förstörd:( Fast jag vet ju att det är så:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja nu får vi hoppas att Nova ser honom som en bra lekkamrat, så att de gamle får det lite lugnare🙂 Kan berätta att det är en inte speciuellt vanlig korsning🙂

      Ja det känns lite trist att det redan börjar vända, sommaren har ju liksom inte ens börjat ordentligt🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Trevlig Midsommarnatt! Så spännande att få se bilder på Sune snart!! Jag förstår att du verkligen ser fram mot sommaren nu när du ska få en liten i huset. Har du testat något med dom andra hundarna? Ja, killarna är det väl inga problem med, men hur ska det gå för Nova när hon ska ta sig an den lilla!? :_)

    Vi var ju till fatslandet och då brukar vi alltid ta djurhytt på färjan. Nu fanns det inga lediga när vi åkte hem, men Santos låg tyst och snäll i sen resebur nedanför våra stolar TROTS att det var fullt med hundar i djuravdelningen och en del av dom var rädda och förde ett sabla liv. Han är så underbart snäll….men han är inte bra från sina urinstenar.😦😦
    Han kissar fortfarande blod och står jättelänge och försöker klämma ur mer urin utan att det kommer något. Så det blir ett besök hos vetten på måndag. Ingen bra grej, varken för honom eller oss, för förra året var det måndagen efter midsommar som vi tog bort Penny!😦😦😦

    Här regnar det och har gjort i ett par timmar, vilket Rolle tycker är underbart skönt. Då slipper han vattna i morgon. Själv får jag ju inte bära några kannor, så han har fått lära sig “the hard way” hur många krukor vi har! *fniss*

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag ser alltid fram emot sommaren🙂
      Nej jag tog inte med någon av de andra, mödrar hur små de än är har en tendens till att bli vildsinta vargar om andra hundar kommer på besök, även om de kanske känner dem från förr🙂 Jag tror inte det kommer någon reaktion från Nova förrän efter någon dag, om det kommer någon alls. Gissa om det kommer att delas ut godsaker de första dagarna efter Sunes ankomst🙂

      Det är sällan jag åker något annat än bil med mina hundar för det blir svindyrt annars. Har åkt tåg med dem och då kostade det lika mycket som om vi varit lika många människor. Men då uppförde de sig fint i alla fal🙂
      Inte trevligt när de kissar blod, hoppas veterinären kan fixa det fort.

      Här har det regnat hela natten och det skall fortsätta som skurar hela dagen idag och ett tag framöver. Enda gången jag behöver vattna mina få krukor är när de skall gödslas tack och lov🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Those beetles are amazing. So when do we get to see photos of the puppy? Great selection of photos today! I think you must be kidding us on the symbol looking more like fertility upside down. But it’s a curious point. Enjoy the Yule.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do like those beetles a lot!
      You’ll see some photographs on Friday two weeks.
      Most people tend to see it as a cross when You see it in the right way, but realizes what it is when it is put up side down🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I’m SO HAPPY that you have gotten a puppy. Are you going to call him Rune since it sounds almost the same?
    This is going to be a LONG 2 weeks!

    I like that new horse, very pretty.

    • Hi Cindi!
      No I think I’ll keep Sune🙂 But I won’t think much of this these two coming weeks. Now I know he’ll be moving here and then I’m cool🙂 But the day before I’ll get him home will be awful🙂🙂🙂

      Yes it is a good looking horse, sort of doesn’t fit in to this village🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

