A sunny afternoon.

Cold and foggy this morning.

I was supposed to be looking at a puppy right now, but they had to cancel since another dog of theirs needed to go to the vet. I could have come later today but I knew that I would be a bit tired after mowing the lawn and walking my dogs. So I’ll call them on Saturday instead to see if the puppy still is there.  I’m teasing a work friend because she really wants to know what kind of  puppy I’ll buy and I refuse to tell her🙂🙂🙂 But I have promised to show her the puppy on Monday on my first week of vacation🙂

We all left work early today and tomorrow is always free even if it isn’t a holiday (the holiday is on Saturday). Midsummer is beside Christmas our biggest one and it is all pagan to be honest. The church did try to make it about John the Baptist but failed totally🙂 Even though I’m Christian I still feel it’s rather nice that they didn’t succeed with removing everything from our past. The Christian churches has done terrible things in the name of God to force people to do as the churches has wanted, so it is nice to know they did fail some times🙂🙂🙂 But more about Midsummer tomorrow.

Dog rose.

The old sandpit.

I think I destroyed my lawn mower today. I forgot about the solid iron rod in the ground that I use as a door stopper to my garage. I learned that I can’t mow solid iron🙂 This will probably be just as expensive to repair as to buy a new one, but I still have my old without engine. It is a modern thing that is so easy to push around that I’m less tired after using that one than the engine one🙂 The only problem with the “easy to push” as I call it is that the grass has to be rather short and dry. If it isn’t this lawn mower is totally useless🙂🙂🙂

I think this beetle is called something like Green golden beetle in swedish. Normally it looks like bronze but it gets metallic green and gold in sunlight.

Fire-weed growing on the tree.

I had my bedroom window open during the night because yesterday was just as warm and sunny as today has been, but I woke up in the middle of the night freezing. My blanket had by some kind of magic wandered down to my feet and strangely enough a 45 kg (99 pound) dog was sleeping on it🙂 I had a bit of a problem to get it back and I remember thinking that it was very cold without the blanket. It was 4,5 C (40 F) outside when I woke up some time later🙂🙂  I almost hope it will be just as cold tonight because no flies fly around in those temperatures and it would be nice to take our morning walk without them annoying me🙂

Buttercup ‘Citrina’.

Beauty bush.

It is time to make some dinner and after that I think I’ll take a small nap, now I’m free from work until Monday again so it doesn’t matter if I can’t fall asleep until late tonight🙂

Isn’t it fun, they never seem to look at the same direction when I photograph them🙂 Yesterday Nova tried to eat a Hornet and it didn’t even try to defend itself, it just tried to flee.

Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “A sunny afternoon.

  1. hi christer! what a nice photo of all the pups. hopefully soon there will be a 4th! 40 degrees at night! i would love to have that. we will hit almost 100 again today. unreal how hot it is! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I should have turned the other way so they had gotten the sun from the opposite direction though. I might take a look at the puppy tomorrow already🙂 I just got a text message that they were going to be home all day tomorrow.

      I like it when it is as cold as that in the mornings and I can honestly say I’m glad we never reach 100 here🙂

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Christer.

  2. Spännande med en ny valp:) Trist med gräsklipparen hoppas att du kan klara dig med “magflängarn” tills du fått köpt en ny:) Jag vaknade också i natt av att jag frös, täcket hade åkt ner på golvet och på det låg de tre katter och sov;) Ha en trevlig midsommar/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja det skall bli kul men framförallt hoppas jag ju att det skall bli lättare för de gamle🙂 Hon vill leka hela tiden och det vill ju de med men orkar inte.

      Jag gillar den här utan motor, den är fantastiskt lätt att klippa med, om bara gräset inte är för långt och framförallt inte blött!

      Visst är det konstigt hur täcken bara kan hamna så🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. I am sure that Hector said to his siblings: “Quick, look the other way, here he comes with the camera!” Very excited about the possible new puppy!! Enjoy your holiday. Happy Solstice!

    • Hi Robin!
      It wouldn’t surprise me at all if he did🙂🙂🙂

      I think this will be a sort of cuddly dog when getting older, it is an unusual mix🙂

      Happy Midsummer🙂
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Why do they try to eat hornets and bees? My last dog used to go for them all the time and if she caught one and it stung her, it was $50 visit to the vet because she would swell up.
    I’d love it to be 40 degrees at night here. It’s been extremely hot here the last two days. One more day of heat and then it will get a little better. I need to get the AC unit put in the window but have to wait for one of my brothers to help me. It’s too big to handle on my own.
    Short, dry grass is the secret to making the no-engine lawn mower cut grass? I like using that lawn mower but it only cuts grass. It leaves all the other non-grass plants completely intact.
    Hope the puppy is to your liking.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes why do they🙂 I have no idea but none of mine have so far actually been successful🙂

      It is nice to walk around outside in the morning when it is as cool as that, just as long as I know it will get warmer during the day🙂 We rarely get it so hot here that we need air conditioners, it’s very rare in homes but office buildings usually have them.

      Yes short grass already from the beginning. So when I only have that one I must cut the grass a bit more often. That’s the only negative thing about it actually. The modern ones don’t even make that clicking sound and since there’s no fumes I can feel the smell from the cut grass and I’ve realized different grasses smells different🙂 But mine takes all kinds of plants🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I have a cordless rechargeable electric mower now so I can smell the grass and the weeds in the lawn when I cut.
        One summer day I drove by a house where a man was mowing his lawn. The lawn must have been part of a hayfield at some point because the whole area smelled like sweet timothy hay. I want a lawn like that.🙂
        And your beetle does not look anything like a Japanese beetle.

      • Hi Caryn!
        I would like to have a mower called Flymo. It sort of flows over the grass while cutting it, the big problem is that is has a cord and I usually cut it off🙂🙂🙂 another slight problem with it is that when it goes over a hole in the ground it sort of suck itself down instead and I do have a lot of holes here🙂🙂🙂

        I have that grass in my garden (we call it Timotej) and it smells fantastic! But I have another kind that sort of smells bitter, a great combination between the two though🙂

        It looks like the Japanese beetle has a sort of folded back while the one I show is smooth.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  5. As usual, Christer, I love your photo shots! You really have a knack with the nature pictures, and make me want to visit your little village and bog. Days like today are just too much in the big city, and I long for some outdoor time without 90 F degrees and 85% humidity. Put me down for a walk with you and the critters, ok? I’ll bring the bug spray, or better yet, I use a dryer sheet in my pocket when I hit the golf course. Do y’all have those? Seems to work for me, most of the time.

    Have a wonderful holiday – I’ll do mine in 2 weeks for July 4!

    • Hi Ann!
      I’m glad You like them🙂
      I’ll book in a walk a cool morning here then🙂 No need for bug spray that early🙂🙂

      I have two golf courses rather close so that wouldn’t be a problem🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer, your mystery green beetle looks like a Ja[anese beetle to me and they are destructive esating leaves. SOme people have been know to gather them up and dump them in gasoline to keep them, but not sure how this would prevent more from coming around. I really liked the first few p[hotos today of the mist/fog? The first one was my favorite in the group. Weather here is mid-90sF so lawn cutting will be quite uncomfortable Friday afternoon which is our “usual” day. We have a lot of closer coming up.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I don’t think we have the Japanese beetle over here (couldn’t find anything about it on the web in swedish at all) and ours is a rather nice one, drinks nectar all day long🙂 Strange idea to dump them i gasoline?🙂

      Foggy mornings are so beautiful! We didn’t have the same luck today though. I can’t even imagine to mow the lawn in those high temperatures🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Åh så spännande att vi snart ska få se bilder på valpen! Ser verkligen fram mot det!! För du tar väl en massa kort så snart som möjligt, eller…….!?🙂
    Vi har alla tre varit i Stockholm för min operation. Rolle och Santos fick bo på lyxigt hotell där det ingick både frukost, middag och eftermiddagsafika. Men mitt var inte så mycket sämre. Sophiahemmet är ett otroligt trevligt sjukhus – om man nu kan säga så!? *fniss*
    När vi åkte hem var djursalongen full av hundar men Santos uppförde sig exemplariskt och låg i sin resebur utan att säga ett knyst TROTS att det var ett jäkla liv på en del andra hundar. Speciellt i början på resan. Normalt brukar vi boka djurkupé, men det var fullbokat. Typiskt när man hade fem hål i magen och skulle behövt en viloplats! Ovanpå det hade jag också blivit vansinnigt förkyld se hemresan var INTE kul!!😦
    Nu är vi dock hemma igen, underbart skönt, och om några veckor är man väl också “fit for fight” igen. Tyvärr måste jag dock till stan igen för återbesök om 4 veckor, men då åker jag upp på morgonen och hem på kvällen – allt för att slippa att stanna där längre än nödvändigt!
    TREVLIG MIDSOMMAR
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      De första bilderna på någon valp kommer inte förrän den är här hemma första veckan på semestern, så två veckor till får du vänta🙂

      Så skönt att operationen blivit av🙂 Men visst är det typiskt att du blir förkyld nu då! Kan tänka mig att det var fullbokat nu under sommaren, alla skall väl över till Gotland nu. Men ett återbesök gör väl trots allt inget även om det inte är nästgårds. Kan tänka mig att det kommer att ta en liten tid innan du känner att du kommit tillbaka igen.

      Ha en trevlig midsommar du med🙂

      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Since I don’t know if this is the one moving here yet I’ll keep the mix to myself🙂
      You’ll know soon enough🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!
      It does look similar but we don’t have the Japanese beetle up here, I couldn’t find any info about it in Swedish on the web at all.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I like that last photo even if they aren’t looking the same way.
    I don’t even have a lawn mower…just lots of flowers and I weed whack the weeds.
    Someday I will finish the backyard area and put down grass seed, then I will get another mower like my last one which was electric. I’d plug it in, charge it up and cut the grass and plug it back in when I’m done!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think it’s funny that they always look at different directions🙂 It’s like there was this huge conflict in the group and no one would show interest in what the others looked at🙂🙂🙂

      I got to tired just by just using a weed whack so now days I always try to have some kind of mower🙂 But I think I’ll buy another weed whack so I can trim the edges of the flower beds, now I just pull it up by hand🙂
      The electric lawn mowers are still rather expensive here, unless one buys one with a cord. I hope the one without engine will work until autumn and then I can take a look at mowers again next spring.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Over here you can get an electric mower for $150. and never have to buy gasoline…so it’s the cheap way to go for me.

      • Those lawn mowers with rechargeable batteries are expensive here, I guess they have put extra taxes on them because of the batteries. Strange really, our governments no matter what color they have always say they fight for the environment but still they make anything electric bloody expensive! The ones with cord however cost much the same as the ones with common engines.

        Christer.

Leave a Reply

