I wonder if thunder will arrive.

It is so dark outside that I had to turn on the lights in the kitchen. The clouds are dark grey, almost black and there’s no wind at all. It drizzles some and even if it isn’t especially hot I still can feel that tension in the air that usually means thunder. I have heard one rumble so far but that was some time ago and not especially close to here. I do like a good thunderstorm as long as the lightning doesn’t come out from the telephone jacket in the hall, it usually does though. Old Viran was sleeping on the floor next to the jacket when the lightning came out from it with a loud bang, she never slept there again🙂🙂🙂

 

We walked down to the creek yesterday afternoon but never followed it because of all the tics that lives there.

 

I took a look towards the Forbidden Forest while hundreds of forest flies used my head as a camping site, I had forgotten to use the new spray🙂 I can also happily tell You all that the Horse fly season has started, oh how I’ve longed🙂🙂🙂

 

Stone Circle Hill.

 

Let me just clarify one thing from yesterdays post. A Hornet is a species of wasp, the largest one we have here in Europe and it now lives on the American continent as well, I think You may call them Giant Hornets over on Your side of the ocean. But lots of bees, bumblebees, wasps and some more insects are dying in great numbers now days. Something especially fruit growers seen and now fear, without them we’ll have no more fruit or berries. No one knew why at first, many guessed that they had been infected with some kind of virus that quickly killed them all.

 

We call this flower Dog Bisquits, don’t ask me why dogs don’t like them. Well it could be wild carrot as well, I didn’t look especially close at it.

 

 

Thalictrum aquilegifolium

 

But the answer was not something most of us would get surprised to hear, it is poison. There is some insecticide’s that always has been seen as harmless towards these insects and to be honest it doesn’t kill them directly but it affects their brains. They really don’t have big brains to begin with but these poisons makes them smaller. This does that the insects forgets where they live and suddenly they can’t find their way home again. Since they don’t come home less food for the larvae arrives and soon they start to starve to death. So in a way almost all these pollinators now are threatened to be extinct. Just imagine a world without any of them!

 

The White rose of Finland.

 

The blue plastic box Bertil is standing on protects newly planted dwarf globeflowers. Magpies loves to pull them up otherwise.

 

 

No honey bees no fruit, vegetables, honey or berries. No wasps lots of insects that will fill the air, many of them pests on plants so the little we still may have left will then be destroyed by them. Not a specially nice future to be honest, but I have to admit that in autumn when the wasps are left behind by their Queen and therefore gets annoyed and stings us those days I wouldn’t mind if they were gone🙂🙂🙂

 

 

Laughing gulls (or Black headed gulls) visits us a lot now days.

 

Bearded Iris of some kind.

 

It’s time to make something to eat and I think I’ll make coca today too, it sort of fits the weather even if it isn’t especially cold🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I wonder if thunder will arrive.

  1. hi christer! we had huge storms headed towards us yesterday and none of them made it and we did not get even a drop! i always here about the bees dying but i have more than ever in my gardens. they are everywhere. no one around me has any fruit or flowers so i guess they all come to my gardens for pollen. good thing the blue crate was covering the globeflowers or some little kitty feet might have crushed them. joyce who lives in the desert!

    • Hi Joyce in the desert🙂
      Strange how the rain keeps avoiding Your area! I wish it at least tried it over here too🙂

      I guess that there’s actually more bees in the city than out on the countryside. Those insecticides are used on farms so those bees get confused, lost and then dies while the city bees still know their way home.

      Yes I had to do something against those magpies and it seems to work against small angry cats too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    My friend had one hive of bees in her yard. They did very well during the growing season but they all starved to death over the winter. There was plenty of food in the hive but it was so cold that the bees didn’t want to leave the warm ball of bees to go to the food. Very weird. My friend got another bunch of bees. There was a queen with them but something happened to her. The hive carried on as if nothing was wrong. We decided they were republican bees and didn’t need no stinking queen.🙂 At some point they made their own queen but it was a constitutional monarchy and she had no power. Just like the Virgin Queen Elizabeth she didn’t have a mate either. Worker bees are still not fertile bees, regardless of their republican sentiments, so eventually the hive died of attrition.
    Things with small brains really can’t afford to lose any brain cells.

    You are probably correct thinking that city bees do better than country bees. Not much insecticide gets sprayed around the cities nowadays because the residents are really touchy about it. But huge amounts of it are routinely sprayed all over the farming areas. Bee hives are transported all around the country to pollinated field after field. The bees are constantly exposed to all these farming chemicals. Even if the insecticide was relatively harmless to the bees, constant exposure to it might be far more dangerous than the original studies predicted.

    Sunny and cool again today. My heat has come on three mornings in a row so far. It comes on in that hour just before sunrise when the temperature drops. It runs a few minutes and then doesn’t come on again. I need to remember to turn it all the way down. But it has been cold so I haven’t really minded.

    Hope your cocoa was tasty. Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They do tend to die a lot without any help, so loosing some of its brain really doesn’t help them at all🙂🙂🙂 Over here we also have a mite that kills them slowly especially during winter. I’ve heard about that, that a working sister becomes the new queen, but that just works as long as there are more queens on the way. So that queen was really a president🙂🙂🙂

      Yes people in the cities do check a lot what their neighbors do🙂 But I have to admit that my neighbors know exactly what I do most of the time🙂🙂🙂 The grounds here are to bad so they only grew grass and clover and for that no pesticides is necessary.

      Sunny and warm over here today but a nasty wind sort of spoiled it all. But it kept most mosquitoes away from me🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Idag har det verkligen varit mörkt och trist, någon åska har vi dock inte haft:) Stackars Viran, vilken chock – förstår att hon aldrig mer sov där:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja igår var det bra trist, men idag sken solen hela tiden! Synd att man skall jobba inomhus långt från fönster hela dagen då🙂

      Pälsen stod upp på henne en bra stund efteråt🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. That’s amazing and interesting about the hornets and wasps. I wonder if the same is happening over here. Perhaps there is a way for science to reverse this disability. It surely would lead to extinction. Keep me up on what you hear please. I love the dog biscuits. They remind me of my old Dogwood tree which was abundant every year I lived in Virginia and I hardly did anything to feed it. It was an amazing tree. Enjoy your Cocoa.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes it happens all over the world. Not so much up here in Sweden though because our laws stops most of those pesticides.

      To bad You can’¨t feel the smell from the dog biscuits! Not to strong but very nice🙂
      I wish I could have Dogwood trees here but it’s just to tough around here for them. But I know they have them along the coast line.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Great photos.
    I got some stuff to kill insects in my garden last year and my sister made me return it because she said it killed bees.
    I had never thought about it before. It’s scary to think what these poisons can do. I’m trying to be more aware of everything I buy.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I rarely use insecticides here, sometimes indoors when too many forest flies gets indoors. But I have sticky fly paper all over my cottage and they do take most of the flies.

      It isn’t easy to keep control of what may kill what to be honest. A problem with insecticides is that some insects get immune against it and so will their offspring too and then we need stronger ones and so on.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. very beautiful photos. I used to frequently visit my grandparents that lived on a farm and miss the nature that I just don’t see in the city. ONly thing that I hate is the bugs.

    • Hi RescueABoxer and welcome to my blog🙂

      We have lots of bugs here and most of them are ok, but I just hate some of them. But since I love living here otherwise I must accept those too🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂

      Christer.

  7. Christer, bees are interesting insects to watch, but wasps sare never. Recently, one found its way into my car while I was driving, so that was a bit unnerving. Somehow I think the wasps can sense my fear of them. Right now we are being invaded by lots and lots of black flies. it seems they are everywhere in the yard.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I once saw a wasp attack and kill a dragonfly, scaring indeed but very interesting. But I have to say that a wasp in the car is a nightmare!
      Our “black flies”, the midges never cares about me. One or two bites me and then they leave🙂 I wish it was the same with horse flies and mosquitoes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

