Déjà vu.

Déjá vu!
I feel I’ve done this and been here before🙂

They day didn’t start to well. First my dogs woke me up before 4 am and I told them in not so many words that they would die if they didn’t sleep at least an hour more🙂 Normally I’m up by then during summer but I had stayed up late yesterday since I was watching football. We lost but the match was great and it could have gone either way to be honest. They gave me almost exactly one ho0ur and then I had to get up🙂 I felt cranky and had a splitting hjead ache so I decided to make some coffee.

 

No thunder storm this time though.

 

 

We started to walk before it had stopped raining completely and Bertil didn’t like that🙂 Still he continued with us without complaining.

 

 

I fill the pitcher with water and drops it on the counter. It’s amazing how many times a pitcher made of glass can jump around before it breaks🙂 But thankfully it didn’t explode like they so often do, it just fell appart. I only picked up one splinter with my foot, the rest I managed to get with the brush. I would have used the vacuum cleaner but since there was water all over the place I didn’t feel I had the time to get sort of dressed and get the dogs out to the dog house. Nova would have died if I had started it while she still was in the cottage.

 

A Roe deer buck was out in the field eating without noticing at first.

 

He realizes that he isn’t alone any more but can’t localize us.

 

But when he does he slowly walks away behind the trees.

 

Almost at home again.

 

We went out rather late for being us, slightly after 6 am. It drizzled some but that doesn’t bother me much so we started to walk towards my neighbors cottage. We had just reached their stable when the rain started to pour down, so once again we took cover there. That place is becoming my second home it feels🙂🙂🙂 After that everything turned for the better. The rain stopped and now the sun shines, clouds comes and goes and they say we most likely will get more rain later today.

 

The weather was much nicer on our walk to the bog. This little bird was kind enough to let me take a photograph of it.

 

 

 

We call these flowers Squirrel berries. I don’t know why because they are poisonous just like the relative Lily of the valley, deadly even for squirrels I guess.

 

I also tried a new mosquito repellent that is said to work on horse flies as well. So we walked in to the forest towards the bog on our next promenade. It works perfectly and it stops those nasty (but harmless) forest flies too🙂 I sprayed some on my entire head and on my arms as well. They are still flying around me in big swarms but they turn away as soon as they try to land on me. So if this continues to work just as good I won’t have to wear the mosquito hat any longer🙂 but I’ll save them just in case🙂🙂🙂

 

Ramonda myconi, a relative to the African violet. I had big problems making this happy in the beginning. I did just like I was supposed to and it just wanted to die. Now it grows on the driest place in my garden and almost dies every summer because it is so dry, but it likes it and flowers every year🙂

 

Another relative to the African violet, Haberlea rhodopensis, grow just beside it and thrives too🙂

 

A Geranium of some kind. They tend to like it a bit too much in my garden so I have to dig up loads of them every year. This is not that kind of geranium You english speaking call geraniums and we all have in pots. For some reason You never changed the names on the pot plants to Pelargoniums like the rest of us did🙂

 

Syringa joksiea. They are now so big that I hardly can see the bird feeders any longer🙂 I need to trim them down hard this autumn and perhaps remove one side totally. Something else will grow there instead if I do, the small birds need all hiding places they can get.

 

I think it is time to get out into the garden before it starts to rain again. The clouds arriving now is darker and some even looks as if they are going to let go of some thunder. I’ll bring a cup of instant coffee with me, no tea today even if I feel much better now I still feel I need something stronger🙂

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Déjà vu.

  1. bertil is a real trooper! i hate it when i stay up too late and then have to pay for it the whole next day. i just heard on the news that we are in a drought. no wonder! we get so little rain and the ground is so dry that when it does rain, it runs right off. all i do is water. i wake up and walk straight outside and turn on the hose sort of like a robot! still no rain in sight either. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I never thought he would follow us in that rain but he did and never complained🙂

      It’s the same with me, sleep to long and the whole day gets sort of gets tough as toffee🙂

      No drought in site here on the west side of the country, but I’ve heard that the islands by the east coats are dry as hay now. As You say, the rain just runs right off when it is as dry as You have it, it must drizzle for a day or to before the heavy showers comes. So lets hope for some heavy drizzle over at Yours!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. My grass is too wet to mow and is now looking like your forrest photos. Weeds are breaking through by the hundreds. I need my landscaper to bring that heavy whacker next week rain or shine. It’s really getting out of hand. I would love it to look like your first photo. Do you celebrate Father’s Day over there tomorrow? We will be gone all day and I can’t imagine driving in more rain but I told my son if it’s too heavy a rain we will turn back.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Thankfully I mowed the lawn yesterday otherwise I know Iwould have just as high grass as it is in the forest🙂

      I think Father’s day is in November over here, I’m not sure because I’ve never celebrated it.

      I wouldn’t drive in heavy rain either, so take it easy tomorrow!
      Christer.

  3. love the flowers in the last photo! I could use that on my fence bordering the neighbors!😀😀😀
    We had rain and even thunder yesterday, all day. I was glad that it forced me to stay inside and work on the house a bit.
    But I was still frustrated at the fact that the weather people had only predicted a 30% chance of rain….I don’t think we even need those people.😦

    • Hi Cindi!
      You mean the lilacs? Those are the only ones I don’t dislike that much🙂 Grows and spreads slowly and the smell isn’t that strong either thankfully. Great hedge towards any neighbor🙂

      Our weather men/women have been so wrong for quite som time now that no one trusts what they are saying any longer🙂🙂🙂 They have all thses super computers and still they can’t figure out the weather tomorrow🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

