It is amazing how much water there is up there.

I got a bit surprised when I looked at my tomato plants yesterday. They aren’t even 20 cm (8 inches) high yet but already produces tomatoes🙂 It is the ones I started from cuttings that is this early.

The day has been grey and dull most of the time, I did however see the sun for a few seconds on my way to work and it looked beautiful. To bad for those having vacation at the moment but for us working it doesn’t matter that much that it isn’t especially warm and that it rains every now and again. Most kids start their summer breaks now so I hope the weather stabilizes for their sake.

 

I looked up in the sky and saw this cloud coming closer, but that one missed us. To bad I didn’t see the clouds coming our way beside this one🙂

 

It started as a gentle summer rain.

 

That didn’t last for long though🙂 Here we are in the Portal looking out on the rain.

 

We hadn’t come far when it started again. You can see the stable at the end of the road.

 

Yesterday however I did mind that it rained! I had just come home from work and stopped to talk to a neighbor when we were out walking. I looked up in to the sky and twice I told my neighbor that I had to move on because it looked like thunder was approaching. But You know how it is, one continues to talk anyway🙂 I think we were half way home when the first showers came. It poured down but we could take shelter in the portal, we still got wet but it could have been worse🙂

 

We ran the last part of the road to take cover in the stable.

 

 

 

 

We started to walk when the sun turned up but had come just a short bit when the sky really opened up🙂 We were soaking wet when we finally reached my neighbors stable🙂 Orvar and Hector didn’t care much about it but Nova showed that she really didn’t like this🙂 The water was dripping from my clothes and I thought my camera would get destroyed but it just sounds a bit strange today. I think we had stood there for about five minutes when the thunder started and I think we stayed for over thirty minutes until we finally could walk hoe and dry up again🙂

 

The Tree peony flowers can’t survive a rain like that.

 

 

Iris sibirica.

 

Iris ensata I think.

 

I think the Magpies has moved their entire family to my apple tree now. It’s easy to see which ones are the young ones because they still haven’t gotten those long tail feathers. Apparently they don’t see my cats or dogs as dangerous enough🙂 I like them but since they scare away all the small birds I usually try to scare all the Magpies away. It’s time for something to eat and at least a pot of tea. I am already looking forward to next week, we’ll only work three and a half day. It’s Midsummer on Friday, our biggest holiday besides Christmas, or Yule as we call it. We had a meeting yesterday morning when the factory owner asked if we wanted to work only half the day on Thursday, no one said no🙂

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “It is amazing how much water there is up there.

  1. Jag bara njuter av dina fantastiska bilder,de är så levande och säger så mycket.Det var värst vad våt det är hos er.Här var det visseligen molnig men inget regn kom,däremot blåste det kyligt.Nu hoppas vi på värme.Gott med kvällste,jag har precis druckit,med katten som sällskap.

    • Hejsan Renate!
      Kul att du gillar mina bilder🙂

      Det bara vräkte ned igår. När vi kom hem sken solen en stund men sedan satte det igång igen och forsatte en stor del av natten.

      Det blev cacao istället🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! you sure got caught in it! i wish we would get a rain like that. we had a little and now there is none in sight for at least another week. i will be doing lots of watering. i have tomatoes on some of my small plants and i wonder how the plant will ever support them.summer solstice is a week away and then the days will start getting shorter!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes I did🙂 I’m glad I missed most of it anyway🙂
      We’ll get plenty of rain these coming days, Only tomorrow will be rain free.

      In was wondering the same thing about my small tomato plants🙂 But I think I just can put something beneath the tomatoes, they are already so close to the pot🙂🙂🙂

      Yes soon it will turn again and that’s why I never celebrate Midsummer, I just get depressed that day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Yep, that was a gully washer you got caught in. Good thing there was some kind of shelter however leaky it might have been.
    My peonies don’t survive much of a rain anyway. Unless it is a soft spring rain, the regular rainstorms will knock the petals right off.
    None of my vegetable plants has flowers yet.
    It finally stopped raining here and the clouds went away this morning. It’s sunny, breezy and a little on the cool side but lovely. My grass, which is already way too long, will get even longer. The guy I hired had better show up pretty soon or I’ll have to bushwhack my way to the front door.:/
    Enjoy the day!

    • Oh, I meant to say put your camera in a bag of rice. If there’s water inside it, the rice will dry it out.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes I’m glad that we were so close to the stable, it wasn’t long after we went in there that the thunder started.Thankfully no leaks there🙂

      We’ll have some sunshine tomorrow but already on Saturday the rain will come back again. We really don’t need it to be honest🙂

      So he hasn’t turned up yet? It will be a tough job cutting down high grass even if he has good machines.

      I was a bit surprised when I saw those small tomatoes🙂 and I think yesterdays rain killed my winter squash plants🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. my favorite photo (besides my all time fav, the portal) is the purple blue Iris, thats stunning, I love summer solstice, it means Autumn is coming, I do not like the heat, and the bright sun of summer blinds me.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes it means autumn is coming and after that winter. I really don’t like that. But our summers aren’t as hot as Yours and winters so much darker. But I fully understand Your eye problems.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I’ve had to seek cover in rainstorms like the one you had. It’s a lousy feeling to be soaking wet head to toe especially if the only way home is to drive the car. Then soak up the water in the seats and floor once home. I’m impressed with the size and sturdiness of your tomatoes. Wish mine looked like that. I do have one flower and expect more, yours look like you could have a bunch to pull this summer. You got some nice rain photos today. The rain water coming from the downspout has a sign to the right which I can’t make out. Probably something affixed 50 or more years ago. Glad you get most of the week off. !!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes it feels like the car never dries up after that🙂

      I got surprised as well, I hadn’t seen those tomatoes before🙂 So I think I’ll havbe at least two tomatoes this year🙂🙂🙂

      The sign says lethal cable. I guess there must be an electric cord somewhere in the ground close to that sign.

      I got a bit surprised when the factory owner asked us if we wanted half the day off🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Vilka underbara regnbilder! Om jag kunde så skulle jag skicka dig några “ökenbilder” istället, för här är det brutalt torrt. Alltså vattnar jag…och vattnar…och vattnar… och…..Men inte 17 hjälper det, trots att vattnet får stå på i timmar på samma plats!😦
    Men nu har vi blivit lovade regn i morgon och på söndag, så jag håller tummarna. Fast “dom” har ju lovat regn tidigare utan att vi fått något. vi fick 3 mm i maj och så fick vi 4 mm för 10/14 dagar sen, det är allt.
    Men åska är jag gärna utan, det är inte kul när man bor mitt ute i skogen. Det har varit några gånger när jag faktiskt varit riktigt rädd.
    TREVLIG HELG – utan åska!
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!

      Det var inte sådär underbart att vandra omkring i det🙂🙂🙂 Tur att jag hann in i stallet innan åskan satte igång🙂🙂🙂
      Jag önskar att vi kunde skicka över lite av allt regn vi får, vi har så att vi kan dela med oss🙂

      Hoppas att ni får det utlovade regnet!
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

