Panic in Europe again.

Once again we had some fog in the early morning.

It’s a bit strange really, even though we have worked one day less this week most of us were more tired when going home after work than we usually are🙂🙂 The sun has been shining most parts of the day but now the clouds are heavy and soon the raining will start. It will rain all night but when morning comes tomorrow so will the sun they say.

 

 

Sunset yesterday.

 

We walked through the village early Wednesday morning.

 

 

Panic is spreading in the European financial circuits once again. Greece, Portugal and Ireland already have bad economies but those countries are small and don’t effect the European economies that much. Now however one of the bigger is close to failing totally, Spain. It isn’t the country’s economy that is so bad to be honest, it’s the Spanish banks that have been way to generous with bank loans for properties. Now their credit losses are so big that they are close to become bankrupt. So the Spanish state now must put in lots of money in the banks so that people won’t lose their money.

 

 

 

 

 

I must confess that I never liked the idea of a European Union, We have loads of languages, just the cost of translators in the EU parliament is huge! farmers down in Sicily have the same rules as the ones most far north in Sweden and Finland even though we really don’t have the same conditions and lets not forget the big corruption in the Eu parliament! I’m not saying we don’t have corruption in Sweden, we do but not even close to what has been revealed in reports from the EU parliament.

 

 

 

 

 

But the big problem was when all countries started to use the same currency. Not all countries were totally honest about their economy and that’s why they have these huge problems now. Before they could devalue their currency and solve some of their problems that way, that is impossible if they have the same as all the others. We Swedes that joined the EU (by referendum) but really didn’t like it🙂🙂🙂 Refused to join the new currency (by referendum this time too). Our politicians were so angry, we were stupid that didn’t join this fantastic opportunity!!! They don’t say that any longer🙂🙂🙂 Thanks to our refusal we now have one of the strongest economies in Europe🙂🙂🙂

 

These last photographs will show flowers in my garden.

 

 

 

I got one! flower oin my rhododendron Nova Zembla🙂

 

It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea. The European Championships in football (or soccer as You americans call it) starts officially today. I might look a match this evening but otherwise there’s nothing worth watching on any channel. But I’ve bought the second film in the Narnia series (Prince Caspian) so I might look at that one instead.

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “Panic in Europe again.

  1. hi christer! the economy is so depressing. i try not to think about it too much. college graduates here can’t find jobs and lots of them are living with their parents. it looks like you are having nice weather. we are in the 90’s again. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I think it’s interesting but at the same time very boring🙂
      So far we’ve managed to stay above the water line but I’ve read that the unemployment rate in Spain is 24%!!!

      The weather is rather nice but perhaps a bit cool. Right now however the rain is pouring down!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, I love the way the fog is hanging in the middle there, above the field. Also, now don’t get all bent out of shape because I am complimenting, the photo of the sunset through your door looks, to me, like a very old painting, it is gorgeous. Love the blue columbines, and the rhododedron blossom is fantastic, that color, with the black marks on the inside. Quite unusual. The economy everywhere, except it seems, your Sweden, is horrible. I am not that well-informed on the EU situation, except the headlines, which aren’t good. Here in the US the politicians talk so much, and do very little. It is truly disheartening. But flowers are blooming, my dogs are happy and I can glide on my swing on the backporch. I suppose the world will continuing turning.

    • Hi Robin!
      I too love the fog flying in a layer of its own like that!
      The smoked glass in that window helps creating that vision, some of the glasses are broken in the other window that looks just the same but it is impossible to get the exact glasses now days. So either I buy darker glasses or just common glass for those broken parts, I’ll buy un smoked ones I think.

      It is a beautiful rhododendron but it rarely flowers. Either deers eats the buds or the winter gets just to long and cold🙂🙂🙂

      There are a couple of countries more than Sweden that has good economy🙂 Norway for instance🙂 But we had our crises a couple of years before this started and they managed to sort things out before it was too late. The huge problem is that if Spain that has such a good economy falls it will effect the entire world and it will be even worse for the USA than it is now. Sweden is a small economy so we’ll get hit very hard because all our economy depends on our export.

      But as You say, flowers are blooming and the dogs are happy, who could ask for more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. The economy is in a mess all over. Being retired, I don’t worry too much about it here in the states, as I have made some plans that protedt me if all the banks stop working!

    Glad that your economy is still strong in Sweden. Maybe we should all move there!

    • Hi Jim!
      Yes it is and the banks are to blame for most of this mess!
      I can thankfully live very cheap if things would go very wrong so I’ll survive by living economical.

      I guess our economy wouldn’t be that good if we all lived here though🙂🙂🙂
      I don’t like most politicians but I have toi say that we’ve always had very good minister of finance no matter what political party they have belonged to.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Fast egentligen är ju detta inte så mycket politik det hamdlar om, mera om slarviga banker. Jodå våra europeiska politiker har slarvat men då har det ju faktiskt handlat om i stort sett alla politiska riktningar🙂 Nu är det ju politiker som måste rensa upp efter bankernas haverier istället.

      Ide´n om ett förenat europa ser alltid fin ut på papper, men tyvärr så🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. This global economy is costing all nations plenty. We have to get out from under it or switch to a gold standard. Countries in Europe are going broke. Enjoy your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes the bank system has made many countries broke and if a country with as big economy as Spain should fall even big countries like the USA would get hit very hard. They really need to take back the control over the banks again!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I seriously covet your window. It looks like stained glass but the colors change depending on the view outside.
    Economics is not really a science and they shouldn’t try to say that it is.
    Horses and flowers. Foggy mornings. Much more pleasant than news of the world.🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Before they renovated this cottage the entire entrance had windows like that. It was something like 8 of them. The owner wanted to remove them all but his family made him save at least these two I still have. They are a nightmare to wash though🙂🙂🙂

      So true about economics! It’s definitely time for the countries to take control over the banks again!!!

      Yes horses, flowers and foggy mornings are so much nicer🙂 unfortunately both flowers and horses might vanish from here if economics get worse. Horses aren’t cheap and flowers will get less important if money runs out.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Oh, I meant to tell you that I bought a Black Russian tomato. I hope it’s the kind that tastes good.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I do hope it is Russian Black You’ve bought! Black Russian tends to taste nothing but water I’m afraid. But I have friends that says their Black Russian did taste rather nice so I’ll hold my thumbs so that Yours will too!
      Christer.

  7. Christer..today you have some of the most beautiful photo’s I’ve ever seen on your blog! Simply gorgeous. I was anxious to see what you thought of my little Fairy Garden but you didn’t come by!🙂 I know I seldom have anything that a man would be interested in..but I hope the tiny garden would be one of those things. I changed the way the comments are made..so hopefully I will get to see you from time to time.
    Enjoy your tea..🙂
    Oh..it was interesting to hear what you thought about what is happening in the world economically. (did I spell that right?)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Didn’t I comment on Your Fairy Garden? I thought I had done that🙂 I did mean to anyway🙂

      I like Your Fairy Garden very much! You have put in a lot of thought behind it and the kitten really makes it special! Many just place a little house and perhaps a bench or something but You have done so much more! Good job!

      I think You spelled that right🙂 I’m a swede You know so I may be wrong🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer, every time I read a news account of how bad things are economically throughout the world, I am so glad that I do not watch TV because then the news would not only be repetitive but more depressing. Grenville and I also try to live economically and don’t consider ourselves spendthrifts, except that we do take road trips to visit family and then for our enjoyment, but then we are helping the economy then too.
    I have caught up on your posts for the past several days and, as always the scenics are lovely, beautiful flowers in your yard as shown today. The trip to your friend’s garden was lovely to see. As i read about your National Day on June 6 it struck me that this is also D-Day, the Allied invasion.
    Have a good weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      We have so many other bad news that the world economy sort of seems normal🙂 The Norwegian mass murderer is on trial and so is one of ours. I don’t know but it seems that an awful lot of people get murdered now days and in more and more cruel ways. Bad economy reports sort of is the bright news here lately🙂

      Yes it is! I didn’t think of D-day at all! But we weren’t in that war so we really can’t have that as a reason to celebrate either. But I guess we are lucky to not have any reason to celebrate a National day. Most National days celebrates end of wars or other cruel things and we’ve had very little of those things for centuries.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Underbara blombilder! 🙂
    Visserligen gillar jag idén med fri handel mellan EU-länderna – och har dragit nytta av den ett antal gånger, både som privatpersopn och tidigare när vi hade firman. All import blev så mycket enklare, men man börjar ju undra om inte EU mest är till för dom som jobbar inom administrationen. Det är en jäklar att håva in pengar faktiskt…..😦😦
    Jag har inget emot att folk tjänar pengar, men då ska dom få jobba hårt för det också. Eller ha fantastiska affärsidéer som pckså ger jobb och berikar andra. Men bara sitta där nere i få massor av cash – det är jag helt klart emot!😦😦😦

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Håller med att mycket blev enklare med köp från utlandet, i handelsträdgtården hade jag ju mycket nytta av det. Men som du säger, administratörerna håvar in pengar och vi skall ju inte glömma vad parlamentarikerna tjänar! Plus detta eländet med att flytta parlamentet mellan Strassburg och Bryssel!!!

      Tycker nog att vi kunde behålla de öppna gränserna som ju inte är så öppna längre, men skippa resten🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. LOVE the back door view of the sunset! I agree with Robin, very Renaissanc-y… The trouble with some people having control over all the money is that they want it ALL — it’s greed, pure and simple, and we suffer for it. It’s not a science, but, if they say it is, it makes the whole thing appear more difficult to manage. So glad you all haven’t fallen for that foolishness.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It is kind of nice that photo🙂

      Yes greed is the biggest problem we have on this earth!
      I can’t understand how they can say it’s science? To be honest, it could be so simple but they complicate it all the time so no one will understand what they are doing!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

