This is what I did on our national day.

Around 4:30 June sixth. I do like the zoom on my little camera.

No I didn’t go out to celebrate to be honest, As I said before I find it hard to celebrate a king that was brutal and cruel. Instead I made a visit to garden friends that had an open day in her garden. We don’t live far apart but have totally different climate. The climate in my village is much like it is far north in this country, the climate in their garden is more like it is close to the coast🙂

The garden is fantastic and I can’t even imagine how much work they have put in to it🙂 This is the place I have written about when it comes to plant swapping days, and by then all their day lilies flowers. Yesterday only two flowered while we were there and one opened up when most people had left🙂 Later in season well over one hundred varieties flowers at the same time! I think I’ll stop writing here and let the photos talk instead.

This one came home with me🙂 At first I thought it should grow by the pond but realized that it will disappear under all the other plants I’ll have there. This is a slow grower and will never become big. So now I’m afraid that I’ll have to buy more plants like this and create a new bed fro them🙂

Have a great day!

On my way home again.

18 thoughts on “This is what I did on our national day.

  1. oh wow!!!! what gorgeous gardens. is this just one couple’s home? it makes me want to go out and get to work in mine. i love the plant you brough home.

    • Hi Joyce!
      The garden is simply fantastic! and these are just a few of the photographs I took there. But more will come after the plant swapping day.

      It’s just a couples garden and I’m not sure if any of their children lives there still. One can see that there’s a thought behind every single plant, nothing just happens by mistake there🙂

      I’m glad I have a different kind of garden, I would never be able tyo even come close to this🙂🙂🙂

      It is a cute little spruce but now I really must get more dwarf plants so this one just doesn’t disappear amongst the other plants I have🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Glorious, oh my gosh! Beautiful! Starting with your wonderful full moon photo, and then all the fantastic shots of the various areas in your friends’ gardens. The first photo of an enormous hosta!!! So many shades of greens, and many textures. LOL! about now realizing you have to buy more plants because of the one lonely little evergreen you bought! Been there and done that myself! So enjoyed this garden tour!

    • Hi Robin!
      I thought You would like the moon🙂

      It is a magnificent garden and I love to walk around there!

      Yes this little one will just vanish in all the other plants I have🙂 So now I’ll have to make a dwarf conifer bed too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes they truly are! And I guess it doesn’t hurt to have a big garden either🙂
      There’s a thought behind every plant or tree in that garden!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. De har en helt fantastisk trädgård! Det var några år sedan vi var där sist så det skulle vara roligt att komma dit igen:) Får se om det blir i år. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja den är magnifk! Tröttnar aldrig på att vandra omkring bland alla deras växter!

      Ha det gott själv!
      Christer.

  4. Just beautiful!! Love your photo of the backlit branches and the black background on the other branches photo and that full moon shot is fabulous!! A garden like that takes full time work to achieve but it sure is gorgeous!! I can’t imagine what my back would feel like at the end of a day working in that yard!! :))

    • Hi Chris!
      It is a fantastic garden and I never get tired of walking around there!
      The zoom is rather good on my little camera🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Yes, the photos are beautiful. I envy the owner who owns the boathouse on the lake there. I wonder what the solar strip is for on the roof line. Enjoy your cruel King holiday.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It isn’t a boat house, it has to do with the water regulation in the small lakes around this place. It used to be a river before. So I guess the solar strip has to do with the engines that opens and close those openings that lead out the water.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    What beautiful gardens! I love to walk through well planned gardens but I am like you. I couldn’t keep up with that kind of garden. Mine is mainly composed of stuff that Nature puts there. Though I did go to the garden section of Home Depot and picked out a Russian Black tomato, a cherry tomato and a basil plant and something to grow them in. There was a deluge of rain while I was there so I got good and soaked as well. I originally went in for a cordless rechargeable lawn mower but they were too heavy for me to pull off the shelf and no one was around to help so Home Depot doesn’t get my $350 dollars today.🙂
    I love those little red houses that are sitting over the water. Are they lock gates or boat houses?
    Your little Bear Swamp balsam is very cute.
    It seems your day off was very enjoyable. Hope the evening is as well.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes it is fantastic to walk around there, but I’m to much of a slob to have anything like that🙂🙂🙂

      My tomato plants doesn’t seem to grow at all, so if I do get some tomatoes they will come very late this year🙂🙂 And it was a good thing You got Russian Black instead of Black Russian! The latter tastes nothing but the first one is very tasty!

      I don’t understand why they don’t have enough staff so they can help us in the stores! It’s so annoying so I usually goes where I know I can get help even if it is a bit more expensive!

      They are lock gates! This used to be a river before and now it’s small lakes.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer – Thanks for sharing your talent with your little camera. The garden is lovely, as are your shots of it. I look forward to a daily peek into your corner of the world.

    • Hi Ann!
      It is easy to get good photographs in a garden like that🙂

      I never post on Wednesdays, that’s my blog free day in the week🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. The gardens are gorgeous! Thank you so much for sharing. For a minute, I thought Jaz had flown over and done her magic!! These photos were just magnificent, Christer. You have such a great eye for balance and presentation. The gardens are gorgeous but I have no doubt lots of hard work. If not maintained, the ‘jungle’ quickly takes over. So, for me, it’s a great place to visit and then I can come back to my less than perfect yard.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It is so much more fantastic in the real!

      I can’t even imagine how much work they have put in to that garden🙂🙂🙂 I would go crazy after a while so I’m so glad that I can blame my laziness on my dogs🙂🙂🙂 But I do enjoy walking around in those perfect gardens!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

