New fish and a Berry fart.

 

The day started grey and rainy and kept that theme most of the day, it finally stopped to rain when I came home from work. Well it drizzle every now and again but that’s it. It’s funny but I don’t mind this cold weather  (it never got warmer than 9 C (48 F) ) at all, it sort of made it cooler at work too and I needed that today since its Friday and the week has felt longer than usual.

 

Chives. We call it Grass onion in swedish.

Paeonia anomala ssp. veitchii.

The weather will be a bit unsteady and cool most of next week but we’ll have sun every now and again they say. I bought some fish to have in the pond on my way home today. Normally I buy some goldfish but since I have tadpoles in the pond (and a full-grown frog as well🙂  ) I didn’t want any big fish in there because they would only eat the tadpoles. So I bought ten “White Cloud Mountain Minnow” (click on the name and a Google page will pop up and show photographs) (Tanichthys albonubes, Kardinalfisk på svenska). It is common in our aquariums but it’s actually a cold water fish. It may even survive outside all winter if I can’t manage to catch them in autumn.

 

 

Acer tatarica ssp. ginnala. First time it flowers and it was sown seven years ago.

 

I also bought five ” Rosy barb” (the same here, click on the name and another page will pop up) ( Puntius conchonius, praktbarb på svenska). That one will enjoy an outdoor summer but must get in to the aquarium in the autumn. Since I’m planning on cleaning the pond and take out some of the water this autumn I hope I’ll manage to catch them all. They are all small enough so they can’t eat the tadpoles but big enough to eat lots of mosquito larvae and horse fly larvae. I think we have enough of those insects here as it is so my pond doesn’t need to contribute with any more🙂🙂🙂

 

My multi colored Cinnamon rose (Rosa majalis). Much nicer weather yesterday.

 

Aronia melanocarpa. Beautiful flowers but the berries are overrated to be honest.

 

Haberlea rhodopensis.

 

I’ve been thinking a lot about this coming puppy and I think it leans toward a retriever or border-collie or a mix with any or both of them. I wouldn’t mind another pitbullmix but there’s never any ads for those, still there seems to exist a lot of them in shelters and foster homes. I want a puppy though, so it can grow in to this family and its ways. So it already from the beginning understands that Nova is the queen of the universe and never forgets it🙂🙂🙂

 

 

This is a Berry fart, our more kind relative to the American stinkbugs I’ve read so much about. These hardly ever do any kind of damage at all.

 

 

It’s time for something to eat and after that it’ll be a day of laziness. We’ll take a short walk if the drizzle stays away. My dogs are still wet after the rain we already have had and I want them to dry up some before we go out in to the wet nature again.

 

Nova still have some issues with sharing🙂 These are her stick and all other sticks one might find is hers too🙂

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “New fish and a Berry fart.

  1. nova sure is a character. it is raining and cool here today too. what is the common name of the acer tatarica? i have a bunch in my garden that look similar and this is the first year mine have flowered. there is pollen all around them. your stink bug is prettier than my stink bugs! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      She sure is🙂
      I found the name Amur maple for that maple. It grows up to 6 yards high. Normally it gets several stems so it looks like a giant bush, but they can have only one stem as well as one of mine has.

      We have a couple of different berry farts and they are all just as kind to our plants, some even eats other berry farts and those I want plenty of because they eat plenty of other pests as well🙂

      Have a great day and enjoy the cool weather!
      Christer.

  2. Here (US) the shelters will often have whole litters of mixed-breed puppies turned in to be adopted. Does that not happen where you are? Maybe there are just more people being irresponsible with animals here in the US. I agree that 1/4 to 1/2 pit bull makes a very nice dog – very loving and loyal! My dog would love to have a 2nd dog for a play mate but so far I’m not able to do that. Your dogs are very lucky to have you and each other. Nova will have so much fun “training” the new puppy!

    • Hi Charisse!
      That doesn’t happen that often over here, but it does happen so I look at different sites to see if some puppies are ready for adoption. I would prefer to adopt that way if I can. I have a friend that is the chairwoman for such a group so I’ll call her next week.

      I don’t think that there are more irresponsible people in the US than here, but since we are fewer people here we more easily can keep our eyes open for animal abusers.

      Yes poor puppy🙂🙂🙂 Nova will be a tough teacher🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Här har det regnat lite granna idag men det har blåst desto mer:( Rena höststormen har det varit och kallt. En rejälare regnskur kom det dock nu i kväll. Underbart foto på vallmon och bärfisen:) Jädra namn egentligen:)) Hoppas att du kan finna en liten valp som passar in i er familj och med drottning Nova:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Här har det varit ganska lugnt med vinden, ibland är det skönt att bo en bit från kusten🙂🙂

      Ja vilket lustigt namn de har, det blir ju ännu roligare när man översätter det till engelska🙂🙂🙂

      Jag tänkte ringa till kompisen som är ordförande i Djurens vänner i Lidköping för att höra om de har valpar också och inte bara vuxna hundar. Jag är ganska övertygad nämligen att den mycket lättare skulle blin accepterad av all de andra då. Vi får hoppas att drottning Nova är nådig den dagen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. yes I agree with Joyce, your stink bugs look different than ours.
    Poor nova, she seems like a troubled child sometimes, she is so lucky to have someone like you who cares for her and understands her ways,
    Its cool and raining here, and will be do so for about the next 10 days if the weather channel is correct, they rarely are though,

    • Hi Laurie!
      There are lots of different Berry farts and we have others that looks much more like Your stink bugs. But none of them behave as bad as Yours do thankfully.

      Nova is mostly a bit bored with us all since she has so much more energy than all of us have together🙂🙂🙂

      Sounds like You’ll have much the same weather as we will these coming ten days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Queen of the Universe and guess who spoiled her? Lovely photos today Christer. I love flowers with fresh rain drops on them. We are getting more rain today too. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I blame the previous owners since she was worse when she came here🙂🙂🙂

      Everything look so clean with raindrops, but I don’t mind dust if it would rain less🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    I bet Berry Fart sounds much better in Swedish than in English. The bug looks much prettier than our stinkbugs as well.

    Nova is acting like a human toddler. If she has the stick, it’s her stick. If she had the stick a minute ago but you have the stick now and she wants it, it’s her stick. If the stick was ever in her vicinity, it’s her stick.🙂
    I was really proud of my Rocky. The other morning I let him out the front door without his leash. There was a rabbit on the front lawn. Rocky took a step toward it and it ran around the side of the house. He started to follow but I called him to come and he did right away. He kept looking over his shoulder the whole time but he did come.

    The poor, sickly poppy that I bought from the garden center has put forth a flower. It’s still a sickly-looking thing but perhaps it will pull through. The daisies have dropped all their flowers and the heavy rain we had the other night has shattered almost all of the peonies. Only the buds that were later than the rest are still around.

    It started out to be a lovely day here but now has turned cool and cloudy. I guess it’s going to be a wet weekend and maybe a wet week as well.
    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’m not sure if it actually sounds better in Swedish, but it sounds much funnier in english🙂🙂🙂

      And even if she never have seen that stick before it still is her stick🙂🙂 But she’s getting better and better, now she knows that it isn’t allowed to just take things from the other dogs when ever she likes to, at least not as long as I’m close🙂
      Good Rocky! It has happened with Nova as well but to rarely I’m afraid!

      Rain can really destroy flowers! But if You remove the destroyed flowers so no seeds can be produced more flowers should be produced soon again. Strangely enough my tree peony managed to look good despite the showers we had?! It normally drops its petals as soon one mention rain🙂

      This morning is sunny and cold, frost covers a lot of the plants outside now at 5 am.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Love this post!
    Beautiful photos and links to Google in Swedish!😀
    I no longer am thinking about what kind of big dog I would want next. I used to think about a Golden again but…
    I’d rather not even think of Blue not being here.
    I was thinking about what you might decide for a puppy today while I was at work. I’m currently taking care of 5 black labs and they ALL act like they are crazy!😀
    I also thought maybe an Australian Shepherd would be good for you too. I’m taking care of one that I adore. She’s about 8 now and I’ve taken care of her since she was a puppy. She can be shy and aloof to people she doesn’t know but she is SO loving when she does know you. She always follows me around and if I sit down, she comes up and cuddles against me.

    I do think a retriever mix or border collie are excellent choices.😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      So the links brought You to swedish sites🙂 I searched after their scientific names and only looked at the photographs🙂

      I do like retrievers and from what I’ve heard the american Labrador is different than the one we have over here, Yours is supposed to be a bit more happycrazy than ours :-)Just think of Marley the worlds worst dog🙂🙂 I had my Viran and she was just like him and I have to say that even if she drove me crazy I loved her. She’s the funniest dog I’ve ever known🙂🙂🙂 Australian shepherds aren’t especially common here but I have met a few. Nice dogs in all ways.

      We’ll see what I can find when my vacation comes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Beautiful photos (as always). When I read the title of your post, I thought it was a typo and you meant” Berry Tart, that you had baked, lol!!! I am glad you are going to get a puppy, that will be perfect for the Queen; definitely tire her out. And your boys will be able to enjoy their own peace and quiet. And best of all for us, we will get to watch your puppy grow! Rainy and coolish here now, not able to get into the garden. Hopefully a dryer weekend. Take care Christer and love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      We do have a strange name on these insects, it’s strange even in swedish to be honest🙂 But it sure does sound funnier in english🙂🙂🙂

      I do hope Nova will see to it that it’s her job to raise the new one, otherwise I’m afraid it will be Hector the puppy turns too and then he won’t get any rest at all🙂

      Frost outside at the moment but the sun is shining and will do so for the better part of the day🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

