Spring is here again :-)

We’ve had a spring day today and the evening was wonderful. It had rained some during the night and then the sun came. It never got any warmer than 13 C (55 F) but walking in the sun shine was just delightful. The coolness of the day also stopped most mosquitoes to leave trees and bushes so we could walk out to the bog without getting attacked by them🙂

 

 

 

But it feels like we’ll get frost tonight so I guess that means I won’t get any grapes this year either. We normally have the last night with frost in the first week of June here, after that I don’t need to cover fragile plants during nights. I’ll go out later and place some pots on my patio, frost this late usually never reaches that area.

 

 

 

Nova has too much energy for the old boys. She loves Hector and wants to play with him all the time but he has his bad leg and he is after all almost ten years old. She needs a friend with just as much energy as she has so I’m thinking of maybe let a new dog move here this summer when my vacation starts. I know four dogs, should I really have that🙂🙂🙂 Well four dogs is easier to have than three because they usually walks around in pairs, but still🙂

 

 

Some kind of Eonymus.

 

If I do get another dog I think I want a puppy. Things will be easier because it will sort of grow in to how things works in this family, it will learn already from the start that Nova is the Queen of the Universe and she won’t have to teach it the hard way🙂 I always have mixed breeds but it would be fun to have either a Hovawart or a Dogue de Bordeaux. Not especially tiny dogs to be honest🙂 Perhaps I should look for a smaller dog? Big ones usually gets the problems Orvar, Hector, Erna and old Viran had, bad joints and backs.

 

 

 

Well it is still a few weeks till vacation so I’ll have some time to think about this. But it would be nice to see Nova tired from playing all day and not just short moments every now and again. It is time for something to eat and today I think I’ll make cocoa.

 

Z&M! This one is for You🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Spring is here again :-)

  1. omg…what made teodor stick out his tongue and make that face? maybe the idea of a new dog? i find it very exciting that you would get another puppy! we finally are getting storms today. we need this so much! then our temps will drop for a while. i am so excited!

    • Hi Joyce!
      He was starting to yawn🙂
      I’m not sure I’m exited though🙂 But I guess it would be good fro Nova and some relief for the old boys. But I doubt I can afford a Dogue de Bordeaux🙂 They are really expensive over here🙂

      I can so understand that You’re happy about getting storms and cooler weather! It must be terrible when it gets as hot as it has over at Yours lately and this early too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Holy Mackerel!! Teo looks really really scary!! I think it is a great idea for you to get Nova her own dog!! I think a bit smaller than Nova too, so the competition isn’t as tough. We have the same problem here. Lexie is almost 11 and just isnt up for playing. Gwennie gets crazy and wants to chase and wrestle, but Lexie just lays there now. It is hard for Gwen. Well, good luck with your decision. Enjoy your cool weather; it is miserably hot here.

    • Hi Robin!
      I think he looks slightly insane🙂🙂🙂

      Nova is much tougher than she might look🙂🙂🙂 So I guess that it must be a bigger one or perhaps another pitbull. But I’m pretty sure it will be a puppy. It is tough for the older boys, they want to run around like they always have but it’s just to much now days. So I’m leaning towards a buddy for Nova.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Ja, en valp vore kanske en bra idé:) Det är ju synd om “de gamle” och lika synd om Nova som inte får utlopp för sin energi. Hovawart är ju en helt underbart vacker hund, skulle säkert passa in i din flock:) Vilket fullkomligt underbart foto av Teodor, han ser helt vansinnigt farlig ut:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      tror att det skulle vara enklare för de gamla pojkarna att acceptera en valp än en äldre dessutom. Jag skall kolla vad en Hovawart kostar bara🙂 Men egentligen bryr jag mig inte om ras på hundar, de är välkomna hur de än ser ut🙂

      Visst ser han galen ut Teodor🙂 Ibland har man tur att kameran är framme och redo när det behövs🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. beautiful photos , even the yawning one, my they look ferocious when yawning don’t they, I agree another dog hardly makes that much work, well except the cost if illness strikes but they do like company.My son has a mix breed boxer and golden retriever, she is lonely while he is at work so he is getting a puppy this August while on his holidays.Our son is not married and lives alone, at 30 his dog is his family so I suppose that means I will be a grandmother to another dog, ha ha,
    Enjoy your spring like weather, we usually plant our garden after the first full moon in june , thats when the danger of frost is past but this unseasonably warm spring has everything on fast forward, maybe we will be fooled with an early Autumn and winter!

    • Hi Laurie!
      I think he looks a bit insane to be honest🙂🙂🙂
      I’ve had four big dogs at the same time before and it was less work, they tend to do everything in pairs so it is easier to keep an eye on them. When they are three (or five🙂 ) they tend to be all over the place🙂🙂🙂

      It is sad to see how especially Hector tries to keep up with Nova, because his bad leg makes it so hard for him. So I think I decided today that we’ll have a new family member when my vacation comes. I think a puppy would be best even if it is hard work inn the beginning🙂🙂🙂 Or perhaps one not older than six months. I’ll keep my eyes open for ads in the paper and on the internet.

      I think we might have a very late autumn this year, perhaps something like last year. I do hope that anyway🙂

      By the way, did my comment reach You on Your new blog yesterday? I’m not sure but I think something happened and that it didn’t reach You at all.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Yes, thank you. A great Caturday photo. They are both good. Mine now. So why won’t the grapes come in? I had so many grapes on our vine at the old house I had to give them away in big paper bags. Not sure about getting another big dog. Try a smaller variety if you must. Beagles are great companion dogs. They hunt too. Kat will tell you to buy a Boxer. Thanks for the photos.!!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I thought You would like that big open mouth🙂🙂🙂

      The grape flowers get destroyed by frost every year! It is hard to cover them where they grow, but it only almost was frost last night🙂

      I want a fog that I know survives if I fall on it🙂 It has happened before so it will surely happen again. I’ll keep my eyes open for ads in the papers and on the internet from now on. I do like retrievers of all kinds so a retriever mix is most likely to end up here I think, or another pitbull.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,

    Great photo of Teodor doing what he does best, no doubt.🙂

    You should get Nova her own Jack Russell Terrier mix. Big dog in a smallish package and tough enough to survive even Nova’s incessant play need.

    If I were you I might go out and throw a cover over a part of that frost grape just so I could get a taste of the fruit.

    I hope your cocoa was tasty. Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I was so lucky to have my camera with me at the right moment for once🙂

      I actually saw a Jack Russel/ Labrador retriever mix the other day🙂🙂 It looked like a gigantic yellow Jack Russel🙂 It was to old though, I think a puppy would be best even if it means hard work in the beginning. But it will sort of grow in to how this family works🙂

      I’ll try to cover the vine tonight, it grows a bit awkward but I might get it to work. It would be so fun to finally get a taste of those grapes🙂

      Cocoa is always tasty🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi thelittlehouseiusedtolivein!
      Thank You🙂
      I was so lucky to have the camera with me when he yawned🙂

      So far so good with the vine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, I will co fess that when you mentioned the possibility of another dog, my reaction was YIKES because of the work in having 4 dogs and 2 cats, but after reading the previous comments and your own about how even numbers and pairs are not more trouble, then perhaps it makes sense. We both enjoy cats and dogs but have decided not to have any pets because leaving for a road trip is not a problem with no pets or kids🙂 Good luck with your choice. Also, lovely photos and having a camera and being there at the right time is important.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I’ve had four dogs before but I also had a bigger car🙂🙂🙂 So I think one of the dogs will have to sit in the front beside me to make it work. But I’m not totally convinced this is a good idea🙂🙂🙂

      Yes luck is a big part of taking a good photograph🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. 😀😀😀😀😀
    you KNOW what I am going to say! LOL!
    Only 4?
    Easy Peasy.
    I would vote for a Golden Retriever.
    I love my Blue but Danes don’t live long enough and I think your winter would be too hard on them.
    Or maybe a Jack Russell…I will never get another terrier but you are much better at dealing with that temperment.
    I wouldn”t go too small though because little dogs have big dog syndrome and might tempt Nova to put the little thing back into it’s place and then there could be an accidently tragedy. (like Button leaping up at Blue and Blue squeezing her until her eyes popped out!)
    I’ve taken care of Doguede Bordeaux’s before and the ones I know could not keep up with Nova.
    What about a Border Collie? All the ones I take care of are Super Fast and Super Smart.
    I’m excited to see what you decide!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes four dogs is nothing🙂🙂🙂 Five however is totally impossible🙂🙂🙂

      I’m thinking of retriever or border collie or mixes between them. But first i must find at least one for sale🙂 It’s funny but all my dogs are part birder collie🙂 Most likely it will be something like that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

