It is time to buy fish!

To my big surprise the peonies started to open up yesterday. This is Paeonia anomala ssp. veitchii. My favorite peony and probably the easiest of them all.

The heat is gone and now we’ll have lower temperatures for a while, I do hope this wasn’t the summer we’ll get this year 🙂 I remember summers when the temperature barely reached 20 C (68 F) the entire summer. One midsummer we had 8 C (46 F) and we had 12 C (54 F) on New Years even that same year 🙂 🙂 🙂 I rented a cottage back then and had to find fire wood in the middle of summer because the cottage didn’t have any electricity 🙂

 

Even the tree peony started yesterday.

 

They tend to change the scientific names on tree peonies every now and again, but I think this one now days is called Paeonia suffruticosa Rockii.

 

 

But even if it is cooler today it’s still to warm indoors for Hector. He walks around outside trying to find the coolest spot, but he walks away after a while since the mosquitoes bites him all the time. They appear as soon as the sun doesn’t shine or is covered by clouds now. A more aggressive mosquito has moved south these last years and when our old kinds circle around for a while to see if its safe to fly down and bite, this one doesn’t care if it is safe. It just lands and bites, it hurts too! But this is nothing compared to an area further north. They have so many mosquitoes that they can’t go outside without getting hundreds of mosquitoes drinking their blood within seconds. It’s so bad that the government since three years back helps them to kill off all mosquitoes.

 

I have lots of Columbines in my garden, they tend to mix much so they can look very different from each other after a while.

 

 

Euphorbia polychroma.

 

I saw that there was lots of mosquito larvae in my pond now so I think I’ll drive by the pet store tomorrow so I can buy some fish to put in the pond. I doubt it will do much difference since there already are so many of them flying around but then I at least have done what I can to reduce the numbers 🙂 The bites doesn’t seem to bother me as much though, I tend to become immune towards the itching after a while when enough mosquitoes have bitten me, it’s not the same for either my dogs or cats though.

 

The flowers on the Eleagnus commutata aren’t big and they aren’t beautiful 🙂 But they have a scent that is fantastic. It isn’t overwhelming but still one can feel it in the entire garden.

 

My Frost grape or River Bank grape vine has lots of flowers this year. The problem is that frost has taken them all every year. I do hope we won’t get any more frost this spring/summer. It would be so fun to finally get some grapes.

 

Nova thinks that I’m boring 🙂 She’s not allowed to chew on Hectors legs, she’s not allowed to take his or Orvars toys while they are playing with them and she’s not allowed to chase hares. Life is so unfair 🙂

 

It is time to start making dinner for the rest of the week, I eat dinner at work every day so it is easier to make for the entire week at the same time. I’ll make a cup of coffee as well, I’m still a bit tired since the late Saturday night 🙂

 

I must remember to buy a new chain to my chain saw! This might look sort of cute or even romantic but it’s just a bloody nuisance. It’s impossible to walk there rainy days and not get soaking wet.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “It is time to buy fish!

  1. Vilka underbara pionbilder:)) Här blommar aklejorna för fullt också och jag älskar hur de korsar sig och skapar den ena finare än den andra:) Fy sjutton för mygg;( Jag är ju lite allergisk mot dem så jag får ju riktiga “bölder” och kan klia i veckor så jag avskyr mygg. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Synd bara att de blommar så kort tid pionerna. Framförallt buskpionen slås ju sönder bara av ett regn.

      Ja det är ju det som är det roliga med aklejor 🙂 I år kommer nog pastell aklejorna att blomma för första gången och då kan det bli spånnande blandningar nästa år 🙂

      Tack och lov reagerar inte jag som du gör, då hade jag varit tvungen att flytta 🙂 Att bo bredvid en mosse kräver att man tål betten 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Renate!
      Visst är de fina pionerna! Om jag bara kunde lyckas med sådden någon gång. Pioner är bland de få som jag aldrig lyckas med hur ofta jag än prövar 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Does your aggressive mosquito have striped legs? We have a saltmarsh mosquito that is really pushy with a nasty bite. They were small but had massive powers of regeneration so there were lots of them.
    Your door is indeed romantic but I agree that some of it should probably go. I don’t think about rain when I see the overgrowth, I think about the critters that might be hiding in or behind it. Critters like coyotes, skunks and raccoons.
    My peonies are all open to the fullest right now. You remind me that I meant to take some photos of them yesterday before they got overblown. It’s probably not too late yet so I can do it later.
    Rocky has the same look as Nova when he thinks I have not been sufficiently entertaining. At the moment he is out on the front porch doing his hooting bark which means someone that he wants to play with is outside and I should just jump up and let him out right now!
    It’s sunny, slightly breezy and just the perfect temperature here today. Perfect weather for the holiday. Enjoy your coffee and your day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I have never checked their legs to be honest 🙂 But I’ll do that next time I kill one!

      All lilacs will go from that place! But I will replace them with something else, perhaps the black walnut next spring? It will spend one more winter in my cold cellar and then it will be ready to stay outdoors all year round.
      Thankfully I don’t have to think about animals like that 🙂 We have a badger that walks around outside our gardens at night so that would be the only one that possibly would hide there.

      That look is easy to recognize 🙂 Nova only barks when she’s desperate for someone to play with her 🙂 It’s a high pitched bark and sounds really fun, she normally has a deep bark 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq and welcome to my blog 🙂

      I was going to make a couple of different dinners but ended up making only one kind and the easiest too 🙂 Pasta with Bolognese sauce 🙂 I had forgotten to take out some things from the freezer and I had some pork ready to use but then I thought it smelled funny. There was probably nothing wrong with it but I didn’t want to take a chance 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

  3. nova really looks like she is ready to play!!! i never got around to trimming my grapes and now i have more grapes than ever before! how can that be? you are so lucky to have cool wether. it is braking records here again today. we are in the mid 90’s.

    • Hi Joyce!
      She really was but understood that I had things to do and didn’t like it 🙂

      You don’t get more grapes by trimming the vine but You get higher quality on the ones You get. They usually get bigger and more sun will reach them and there fore they get more sweet. I will be happy if I get any at all 🙂 I don’t mind cooler weather just as long as the frost stays away, the frost destroyed those grape flowers every year before!

      Have a great day in the heat!
      Christer.

  4. We finally have a break in the rain and wind from Beryl. Now it’s muggy and hot. No mosquitos yet. We do have a bug control system spread by air and included in our County taxes. It must help since we are pretty much free of those pest each Summer. I wish I could say the same for bees. Florida is known for its’ bees which is why a main highway to Orlando was called “the bee line”. Now it’s open to the beaches and the new name is “the beach line”. President Obama gave a moving speech at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial this afternoon. See if you can catch it on TV there. Lovely flower photos today Christer. The dog looks like he is worn out. Enjoy your coffee.

    • Hi Z&M!
      So Beryl wasn’t that bad I hope!
      We don’t have programs like that up here since they spread very few diseases. From what I know they only spread hare plague and even if it can be deadly on humans it’s so rare so there’s no use in any control like that. Except for those poor ones that are covered in mosquitoes as soon as they walk out their doors.

      We have very little bees here, honey bees that is. Lots of other species and bumble bees, wasps and hornets. But those I don’t mind, it is flies I hate 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

