Blood was taken from me.

Just before five am in my kitchen. Not the cleanest windows in the world🙂

Once again its 27 C (81 F) but this time we don’t have any wind to help us through the evening. The air stands absolutely still and I can feel the tension, I guess we might get a thunderstorm later tonight. The best would be if we didn’t get any rain at all, the ground is still very wet to be honest and the dryer it gets the less mosquitoes and horse flies we’ll get.

 

Two seconds later through another window.

 

 

 

The Portal is closed at the top, once again I can enter the magic kingdom🙂

 

I went to the hospital for my hip checkup yesterday. I told the doctor all about my thumb and that I still get a high fever when I do something like walking. So he took an extra blood test just to be sure I don’t have anything I shouldn’t in my body. He phoned me just a couple of hours later and told me everything looked just fine, it is the cold I got last week that still hangs around it seems. But they took extra blood test of me yesterday, tests they usually never take. They have discovered a big problem with implants like the ones I have, isn’t that fun🙂

 

It tried so hard to hide in the grass.

 

Lily in the valley.

 

Forget me nots.

 

Red Baneberry, Actaea erythrocarpa.

 

They have replaced my hip ball with a new one in metal, or rather they have placed a new one around the old one after some planing of the old one. The sort of bowl that this hip ball is placed towards is also made of metal, they won’t break down easy🙂 The problem is that some brands of these implants have a tendency to release metal ions when rubbed against each other. That is anything but good, because these ions then destroys the bone and the muscles close to it.  This is an experimental surgery so it is impossible to know this before it happens. So if they have placed the hip ball just a tiny bit wrong this will happen.

 

Geum of some kind. One I wouldn’t want to be without.

 

Haberlea rhodopensis, a hardy relative to the African violet.

 

Clematis ‘Propertius’. One of the few clematis that has a scent.

 

Solomon’s seal.

 

But I’m lucky in one way, I have the brand of hip implants with the least problems. Everything looked good on the x-rays but they must check since I only have had this second implant for two years now. I’m not sure what will happen if they do find metal ions in my blood, I guess it will be time for another surgery then. I do hope they can wait until next April if they have to do that, it’s so nice to meet spring here at home🙂 I did drive by another ruin on my way home yesterday but I’ll show You those photographs tomorrow if my brain works better then🙂 I also drove by a garden center, I wanted some ferns to my pond area but found a few Hosta’s that I bought instead. I’ll show photographs of the pond area tomorrow as well if I remember it🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Blood was taken from me.

  1. Thanks for all the Bertil and Teodor pictures lately, they make me smile. Love the pups too, but kitties are my fav and your boys are just too cute!

    • Hi Deanna!
      They have been polite lately and given me permission to take some photographs of them🙂 They are very aware of the camera and that I want to point it towards them and You know cats🙂 They always do the opposite to what we want🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i sure hope your hip implants will be fine. it would not be fun to have to go through another operation. so, you are having hot weather too. we are in for 5 or 6 more days of weather in the 90’s. i just hate it. i am just on my way out to buy some more hostas too. the more i work in the yard the more work i see that i need to do. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It would be a bit boring if I have metal ions in my blood, but the x-rays do look good so I think everything is ok.
      It will stay warm the coming five days they say, I refuse to complain but it would be nice if it could be more normal temperatures🙂🙂

      That’s always a problem🙂🙂🙂 The more work we put in the more work we find🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and good luck with those Hosta!
      Christer.

  3. Holding my thumbs that all will be well with your hip implants!!!! Wonderful plant photos today, too hard to pick a favorite, except possibly the last one of Bertil!!

    • Hi Robin!
      The x-rays looks good and the left one is ok, I’ve had it for ten years now and never had any problems with it. The last one, the right one, has been more troublesome though, a nerve tends to get jammed and sometimes makes it hard to walk. But when that happens I just stop and move around my leg some and then its fine again.

      My favorite photo from today is the first one.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I confess I know very little about hip implants. I can’t imagine though that chips or ions would get into your blood stream. Have you checked online to see if other Swedes have complaints about the ball they embedded in your hip? I do that all the time with new ailments I have. So the fever is not from the thumb? Great looking photos today. We have a long Memorial Day weekend coming up so badly needed in my case. I may sleep the weekend away.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Chips would be impossible but ions are atom sized and they do get in to the body. I first heard about this a couple of months ago and unfortunately looked at some photos🙂🙂🙂 Not nice! So unfortunately this happens, but as they told me, I have the best brand of those implants🙂

      No they think the fever comes from a common cold. The antibiotics I took can weaken the immune defense and most probably did so to me. Strange really that something that helps the immune defense in one way can weaken it in other ways.

      We used to have a long weekend now, Pentecost, but they removed Whit Monday as a holiday and replaced it with June 6th, our National Day.

      Sleep well!
      Christer.

  5. FABULOUS photos!
    were they taken with your little camera?
    I just love them!
    I hope all turns out well with your implants! (fingers crossed)

    • Hi Cindi!
      No all was taken with my big camera this time, but todays post will have lots of photographs taken with the small one.

      Yes cross Your fingers🙂 I do hope I won’t have to do this surgery again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    That first photo is beautiful. I love the amber tones.

    Your post about the hip replacement is the second time I’ve heard about this in the last few days. Did this information just get released? I hope you don’t have any metal ions floating around inside you. That doesn’t sound good at all.

    The weather here has been cooler than yours but it’s supposed to go into the high 80’s tomorrow. Not looking forward to that.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      That’s my favorite one🙂

      I heard about this some months ago and realized that I had this kind of implants. But my x-rays has always looked good so I didn’t bother to call my doctor. I wonder if a metal detector would go crazy if I have a lots of metal ions floating around in me🙂🙂🙂

      I think it’s even hotter today but it will turn towards cooler this weekend, it will still stay warm though for a while anyway.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Let’s hope all goes well with the implants. Seems it’s always one thing or another, doesn’t it, when just trying to stay healthy in this world! Looks as though the whole East Coast is having some seriously hot weather. I can’t figure out why Joyce is having temps in the 100s when we’re so much further south and have yet to get in the 90s for any length of time. (I’m sure it will happen before long!) So, I’ll just keep going out first thing in the morning to water the gardens and stay out of the midday heat! Have a great day!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Everything looks well with the implants🙂 The fever I had was just a common cold but since the antibiotics made my immune defense weaker I got a fever.

      Who knows why temperatures are like they are🙂 It could be the distance to the ocean or if mountains is placed around a city so it becomes like a pot.

      I usually water in the evening if I can, doesn’t matter really when we do it as long as we don’t do it in the middle of the day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

