Busy morning.

Once again winds have destroyed most of what could have been a wonderful morning. The sun was shining and it has been rather warm all day so far. Now thick clouds are covering the sky and the wind has almost died totally πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I mowed the lawn when the wind blew so it was at least useful for a while. But before that I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem and took the route to the abbey ruin on my way back. I stopped by the lake to see what kind of birds that stayed there now, lots of geese but nothing else.

 

 

 

By the pond.

 

Arctic raspberry flowers. They grow fine here but give few berries because I probably lives a bit to far south.

 

I re-potted some plants when we came back from our noon walk. my Yule tree that I’ve mistreated for several years finally got a bigger pot so I think it will look much better this Yule. I also gave my two peaches more space around their roots and my Black Walnut finally have the pot it deserves. I still have plenty of re-potting to do so I’ll continue with that when I’ve written this post.

 

Gudhem’s church and the ruins after the old abbey.

 

 

 

 

I have also sown several different kinds of perennials this morning. Most need cold winters to germinate but some want warm days instead. But I lack good sowing containers now. I use the candy boxes stores get their candy in and they usually give them away for free. I forgot to see if they had any when I was at the store. I must remember that next time because I still have plenty to sow πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

I’m listening to music while I’m writing this, Spotify play much of my favorite music and today it’s Maroon Five, Abba and Bette Middler I’ve chosen to have on my play list πŸ™‚ There were almost no bubbles when I poured hydrogen peroxide on my thumb today, it really looks as if things are going the right way now πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

Well I better stop here now and continue with the re-potting of my trees and bushes. When I’m done with that I think I’ll take a nap, it is a bit late in the day for that but since it is Saturday that doesn’t matter πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Busy morning.

    • Hi Dee and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I love it here and it was the best decision I’ve ever taken to move from the big city to the countryside πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer, I may be wrong, but I think this is the first time that I have seen photos of sheep on your blog. What a pastoral setting!! The photos of the church and abbey look wonderful on a sunny day! you may have mentioned this before, but do you know how old the abbey is? I imagine the spirit around that place is very old. It would be quite an experience to stroll round the ruins. I love the photo of the geese and cows grazing together. Thank goodness about your thumb. Good luck with all the sowing of seeds. I will be doing that myself within the next week. Lots of morning glories, zinnias, larkspur, and herbs. It is warm and sunny here, up to 80 degrees F, and warmer tomorrow. Summer is coming!

    • Hi Robin!

      I have shown those sheep one time before a couple of days ago. I have rarely seen them myself before this spring.

      The abbey was founded around 1175 according to old sources (the abbey church however was built early 1100) but there has been a sort of temple for our ancient gods there before that, mostly is was a temple for the god Tor= Thor. That’s why the place is called Gudhem= Gods Home.

      It is to late up here to sow most of what You’ll sown now πŸ™‚ Our autumn comes much earlier so they would probably freeze to death before flowering here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ That’s the reason I rarely sow annuals any longer. Summer is approaching us as well but it will take some time until we even get close to Your temperatures πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I still won’t say hi yet, I’m only half way over the creek when it comes to my thumb πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But it sure looks good πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I like to walk around in that old abbey, but it isn’t that big to be honest. Normally I can walk there totally alone but today I had problems taking photographs without getting people in the photos πŸ™‚

      Its getting warmer here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I wonder who keeps care of the Abbey grounds. It’s nice it’s bordering the water. That would be a million dollar property over here. Good that your thumb is finally on the mend. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I think it is a state property, they usually are over here when it comes to important historical buildings. It might be the Church of Sweden but since the state is paying for the keeping it doesn’t matter, this could never be sold to a private organization or person.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I had to start a new blog after having a wicked virus attack our co,mputer, it sneaked by our Norton security.I almost had decided not to start again but after seeing these beautiful photos today I’m so glad I have.The ruins are amazing, I like to imagine what it must havebeen like to live back then, my husband always says I wouldn’t want to know, it would havebeen a hard life for a woman back then but I still day dream, I love stone work, I really enjoyed the phpotos toay, I’m glad your thumb is healing, at last!

    • HI Laurie!
      I thought something like that had happened! I did get surprised when I couldn’t reach Your blog and a notice showed that You had removed it. I don’t use Norton any longer since it did let viruses way to easy in to the computer. Now days I have F-Secure and Spy Bot. Just imagine how many good things those virus makers could do with their knowledge if they wanted!!!

      The life for these women wasn’t that bad actually. Even if Reformation came and all Catholic things were forbidden and the abbey burned down, they still actually were protected by the king and were left alone for the rest of their lives and they still had privileges to live in the area and get help from the people in this area.

      Just give me Your new blog address if You decide to start again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, amazing to see the abbey once again especially on such a clear day. You did well in not getting any people in your shots.Hope the repotting got done. I have been trying out the Canon digital Elph camera that I won in an online auction and it’s a lot of fun. It’s just like the one shown in a recent post on the A Day photo project. Nice and small and so easy to carry around. ENjoy the rest of your weekend. Rain is supposed to come in tommorrow afternoon here.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It wasn’t easy to avoid those people so I did walk around the abbey to get them πŸ™‚
      There are some re-potting left to do, I got a bit lazy yesterday afternoon πŸ™‚

      I wish I had known about that A Day Photo project, it would have ben fun to participate but I hope they’ll do it next year too.
      Canon do make good cameras! and as You say, these small cameras is spo easy to just carry around and they take just as good photographs as many bigger ones. The abbey photos are by the way photographed with my little Fuji camera.

      Partly cloudy here today they say and the morning starts good anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    The abbey pictures are wonderful. I count myself lucky when I see the rabbits eating my lawn. Gracie would need a leash as she would be chasing everything you saw. She goes crazy to get at the rabbits.

    I love that your world is turning green!

    • Hi Kat!
      We have loads of hares here so Nova must be leashed when we are out walking. The hare is way to fast and smart for her so she never catch any though πŸ™‚ They have big colonies with rabbits down in Gothenburg and I do think they are cute πŸ™‚ Well as long as they don’t run out in front of my bike so I fall off πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I love it too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. So glad to hear the thumb’s getting better! I can understand your preference for the country. That’s how I felt when I moved to the country. Hard to believe some people don’t understand it. It’s glorious. And, I can get into the city whenever I choose in just under twenty minutes. Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Much better πŸ™‚ But it’s so sensitive so it almost hurts when touching anything πŸ™‚

      It was my best decision ever to move out here πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if I can call Skara and FalkΓΆping cities though, big towns perhaps πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

