Finally!

I found Teodor sleeping in the first sunshine of the day this morning when I woke up. I just had to take a photograph of him before I let him in. I took the photo through the smoked old glasses by my entrance.

I went to the District nurse today and she took a look at my thumb, it had healed🙂 Well there was no skin but no openings where yuck comes out. She squeezed my thumb a bit and said I’ll have to open it up again🙂🙂🙂 Isn’t that typical?! It turns out that yes the two halves had healed together again finally but there was a big blister beneath the surface and she had to see what was in there. So she cut it open and no yuck🙂 only healthy looking blood and that is a good sign!

 

We were a bit lucky because it only drizzled when we were out on our afternoon walk.

 

Mosquito farms🙂

 

 

So this second kind of antibiotics is doing its job well. But I won’t shout “Hi before I’ve crossed the creek” (swedish saying), Things can turn to worse faster than I can say hi🙂  So unless nothing turns for the worse I won’t have to go to the clinic again, just continue to take the antibiotics until I have no pills left and that is next Monday. Cross Your fingers and hold Your thumbs so nothing happens!

 

 

Bird cherry. Some smell wonderful some smell cat pee🙂

 

Most of the wild cherry trees in the forest are very high, but there are a few that doesn’t seem to become higher that three meters (much the same in yards). They have smaller flowers as well. I think this is the kind we call Bird berries, they have the most delicious berries but the birds take them too early.

 

We’re having dreary weather here today again. Strong winds, cloudy sky and rain. But it hasn’t rained as much here as it did where I work thankfully. It isn’t fun to walk by the fields in this weather so in to the forest and out to the bog we went. I could hear some strange noises while we were out there and it sounded like someone was building something. I thought it might be one of the hunters making repairs to the oldest fox trap. It is so rotten that it won’t hold any animal stronger than a mole🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suddenly I heard a sound behind us and I could see two horses walking down the road. I thought it was my neighbor taking his horses out for a ride with a carriage behind them but I was wrong. The forest owner is thinning out the forest again and this time they have hired people who only use horses while working in the forest🙂 That means no damages on the ground, no new deep ditches where mosquitoes can lay their eggs either🙂 We have to many of those places as it is anyway🙂🙂🙂

 

I have a red leafed clematis that I sowed years ago. It is a survivor because it has managed to stay alive despite my dogs🙂 They have torn it to pieces, dug it up and peed on it and still it lives🙂 It has only flowered once and it had a fantastic flower, this year it has several buds and I’ll show You how the flowers look when they open up.

 

I would like to say that this is a Trillium grandiflora but the one giving it to me said it most likely is a hybrid.

 

Trilliums likes it in my woodland and self sows well. But this one is a bit different than the others, the bud stands straight up unlike the others who are hanging down. So this might come from a pot where I sown seeds and thought I had failed🙂

 

Now I’m sitting in my kitchen, Orvar sleeps by my feet and there’s a fire burning in the stove. Orvar has dislocated his shoulder once again so now he’s limping pretty bad. But we’re used to that now since he does that every six months. Tomorrow he’ll be walking better again and already in a week or so he’s back to normal. It is time for something to eat and today I have a green tea with anise in it, it’s very tasty if I don’t drink it too often🙂

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Christer, good news about your thumb, I hope! We won’t say more about it, till Monday when you have finished your antibiotic. Love the photo of Teodor sleeping, and then Bertil attacking grass. It’s great the wood clearing is being done the “old way” with horses. We need to do more like that to preserve environment!! I just hope the trees coming down is a good thing. Take care now.

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes finally🙂 But I’m quiet about it until next week🙂

      He looked so cute out there by the lilacs🙂 I was lucky to find him that short time the sun shone at him.

      I like it when they use horses out in the forest! But I have to admit I never thought this forest owner would use that option🙂 Nice to see I was wrong🙂
      The trees don’t grow well in that part of the forest, I think there’s too much water in the ground there it borders to the bog. Birch is a better choice in that part I think.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. It’s catch-up time, again. This has been one crazy spring and still lots to do. So glad to hear your thumb is finally healing. So nice of you to have a sympathy injury for Joyce! Yes, the red blood is a great sign. Won’t be long before you’re working it, like crazy. Enjoy your tea. I’ve eight more things on my list for today! Give your pets some scratching for me. Have a great day.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Just make sure to take breaks every now and again so You don’t over do it! But I can imagine how fun it must be🙂 Time just flies when there’s lots to do🙂

      Yes I do what I can to show sympathy for my friends🙂 Might have over done it this time though🙂🙂🙂

      I’ll scratch them long and good🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I won’t say Hi before you cross the creek either. I’ll hold my thumbs and wait until Monday.🙂

    Love the horses. If I had seen them in the woods, it would have blown my entire day. I would have had to hang around watching them work and wishing the driver would let me drive.

    Bertil looks very comfortable out there in the sun.

    The wild cherries here are in bloom but they don’t look like yours. There are a few different types around here, pin cherries, choke cherries and fire cherries. They can get to be very tall trees but the flowers and berries are very tiny. The birds eat them and then excrete the purply-red waste all over the car windows. That is the extent of my knowledge on the subject of wild cherries.🙂

    Enjoy your day!

    • Hi Caryn!🙂 I’ll wait to say anything more until then too🙂

      I was lucky to see those horses, they brought them to the pasture ten minutes after I took that last photo🙂 I did enjoy to see them and I was so glad the forest owner chose this way this time🙂

      I think I don’t lie if I say we have two wild cherry species here, we call them sour cherries and sweet cherries and their names tell all about them🙂 But since people spit out the kernels everywhere lots of different kinds grows here and there. I had the ones we call Bird berries in my last garden and they tasted delicious! The trees are so low that it is very easy to pick the berries as long as the birds haven’t eaten them to early.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i can’t believe they had to open your thumb again. that is so cool that they have people that use horses to clear the forest. it rained here for a day and now another heat wave is on the way. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      That was a bit annoying to be honest🙂 But she had to see if it was clean in there. Now I hope no more blisters will grow inside my thumb again!!!

      I love it when they use horses in the forest but I have to admit I never would have guessed that this particular forest owner would chose that way🙂🙂

      No heat wave in sight here, only more rain. We really don’t need it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Vad skönt att höra att tummen ser bra ut;) Hoppas nu att du kan hålla den så, jag ska hålla både tummar och tår att det blir så:) Vad fint med hästar som hjälp i skogen istället för stora helvetesmaskiner. Konstigt att dina kommentarer på min blogg tas bort, de ligger där bara en kort stund och är jag inte inne då så ser jag den inte:) Nu ska jag försöka att gå in och kolla på borttaget med jämna mellanrum så att jag kan se vad du har skrivit:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Jag hoppas verkligen att tummen sköter sig nu, det pirrar och killar något vansinnigt i den i alla fall🙂

      Visst är det kul att de använder hästar numera, men jag hade aldrig trott att just denna skogsägaren skulle välja det sättet. Kul att ens fördomar inte alltid besannas🙂🙂

      Det är inte bara din blogg, det är alla bloggers bloggar! Men jag vet att jag inte är ensam med detta problemet tack och lov. Jag hoppas verkligen Blogger gör något åt problemet snart!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. well that has been a battle with that thumb, great photos today, the team of hourses is just wonderful.My dad had a team of work horses, they were beautiful as well, Its good to see your neighbors have respect for Mother Earth,

    • Hi Laurie!
      And its not over yet🙂 But it feels like it’s going the right way now🙂

      I have to admit that I never thought this forest owner would chose this way but I’m glad he is🙂 Yes it si beautiful to see horses work like that in the forest or the fields. To bad it doesn’t happen more often!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. That thumb! C’mon now with that thing. I stole a photo for Caturday. Thank you! Not sure when I will post it but I like the green in the photo as well. You can guess which one. I love the horses pulling that trailer. Reminds me of days gone by. Why is the farmer trapping Fox? Do they eat Fox over there? Enjoy your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I can tell you that this thumb of mine will be a long and continuing story. What looked so good yesterday didn’t look that good today.

      I have to say I like the one with Teodor better but that green color is special.

      They have those traps when we’re having periods with fox scabies. If they get one and it is healthy they let it go. But if it has scabies they’ll end its misery.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer, thanks for the good news update on your thumb, which has been quite a topic for a few weeks here. We were supposed to have rain all day today, but got fooled with sunshine. I managed to still do some things indoors. However, it’s always easier to be doing inside work when the weather is bad outside. Rain is on the way for tonight and all day on Tuesday. I expect my auction win camera to arrive later this week so will have to take a photo and maybe do a post as well. But it’s the exact same model as one I already have, so no surprises and I had hoped for a different color, but both are blue.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Well the good news was short lived I’m afraid. So the story continues.

      We’ve had very mixed weather here today and fairly warm, so no fire in the stove today🙂
      I do need bad weather to get anything done in my cottage🙂

      Yes do a post about the camera and show photos You’ve taken with it. Blue is a good color on a camera🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. My parents use to hire only the people who use horses to thin the forest. They believed it damaged the forest less and was better for the enviroament. Glad to see they still do that.

    • Hi Seasongirl and welcome to my blog🙂
      I totally agree with Your parents! I wish more people would think of that! It is actually getting more and more popular to use horses in the forest🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  10. poor Orvar, it’s Hell getting old. I guess it’s just part of aging. I hope he is back to feeling good very soon.

    Love your cats!🙂🙂
    those horses are very cool. I love that idea of them not destroying things like a machine would do.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes he is the big kind bear🙂 But he’s already walking much better today.

      I do like that they use horses in the forest, I couldn’t see any damage at all on either trees or ground🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

