Sometimes I don’t know what to write about and sometimes I just have to many things to write about.

What to write about today? I actually have a couple of things on my mind but sort of can’t decide which one to write about🙂 I have for instance seen a couple of tv programs about the Chelsea Flower Show in England and came to think about my own garden philosophy, if I have one at all🙂 I could also write about internet auctions. Auctions is big over here in contrary to garage sales or flea markets, even though they are becoming much more popular now days. I have a friend that tipped me about a couple of well known businesses that have actions on the internet.

 

 

 

 

I think I’ll save the auction thing for later but I can say I have left a bid at a place and for the moment the thing is mine, but the bidding doesn’t stop until tomorrow around noon I think it was. So back to gardening🙂 The Chelsea Flower Show is probably the worlds most famous show of its kind, we have nothing like it over here but I guess there must be something like it in the USA. It shows flowers of all kinds and also shows designed gardens. The designed gardens looks like they have been standing there for years and I must admire the work they have put in to it. It is perhaps not my cup of tea but a show like this does give a lot of great tips for ones own garden or perhaps balcony.

 

 

 

 

So how do I think about my own garden? At first I have to say that my garden mostly is there for my dogs and therefore I have to adapt my garden interest to their needs. I can’t have any especially delicate plants, they need to survive lots of dogs walking on them, digging them up or being overly fertilized by both dogs and cats🙂🙂🙂 I do enjoy those gardens where You actually can see every single plant without any problems with lots of space between them, but as You can understand that’s not for me. To be honest, I’ve never wanted a garden like that due to all the work one has to put in to keep it that good looking. I’ve always been way to lazy for that🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

I do want lots of edible things in my garden as well. Berries, fruits and some vegetables. But I’m not the one to grow things in straight lines in a weed free environment🙂   I have for instance planted potatoes in my flower beds from time to time. The plant itself is actually quite beautiful when flowering, take a look next time You see one. I’ve used common peas and beans instead of Sweet peas in pots and all other kind of things. I like to place gooseberry plants beside more decorative plants and I have a sweet berried honeysuckle beside my perennials. I do however have a small vegetable garden and I’ll plant some squash, spinach and something more there this year.

 

 

 

 

I do like perennials but I’m afraid my body will make it harder to get down to weed my flower beds in the future so I’m turning towards trees and bushes instead. My garden is around 850 square meters (that is around 9150 square feet) so You might think that there will be very few trees planted but I’m pretty sure I’ll fit in rather many. You see a tree doesn’t have to be higher than half a meter (much the same in yards) and a bush can actually become up tp six meters or higher🙂 I have for instance a cherry tree in my garden that won’t become much higher than half a meter🙂 The cherries is said to be delicious.

 

 

Lilac.

 

Rosa glauca.

 

The good thing is that with lots of trees and bushes I still will be able to grow perennials, the kind of perennials that grows in woodlands or in a grove. They will flower early in spring and later on all the leafs from the trees and bushes will be so dense that it will become to dark for most weeds to grow there. So I think that the best description of my garden will be something like a continuing of the forest nearby. But that doesn’t mean that I’ll have only native plants here in the future, on the contrary. I do have a challenge to find plants hardy enough to survive here though.

 

The sloe is filled with flower buds now.

 

The flowers are quite pretty but small. As You can see in the next photo they look just the same as the flowers on wild plum do.

 

They are very closely related and if You have both You'll get fruit on both as well.

 

The problem isn’t our cold winters, many plants live in far colder places during winter than here. The problem is our short and reasonable cool summers. A tree can survive horribly cold winters if the summer is long and warm. But when they live in our climate they have to survive a rather long winter and a rather short and cool summer, not a good combination for most plants🙂 But I do have four Osage oranges (still very small) living in my garden. That is a bit strange since they normally live much further south with longer and much warmer summers. We do have one great advantage though, we have daylight for almost 18 hours in summer and still it only get dark for perhaps four hours when the days are as longest here🙂

 

The Amelanchier will soon open up as well. It gets delicious berries but the birds get to them first I'm afraid🙂

 

Glaucidium palmatum. I divided my plant into several last year so I doubt that any of them will flower this year, they are a bit cranky that way🙂

 

The woodland is the only place in my garden that I try the dogs to stay away from and I'm not too successful🙂 Here trilliums thrive and self sows🙂

 

We have sunny and warm weather once again. Unfortunately the wind is strong and sort of destroys the morning but they say it will calm down during the day just to get stronger tonight again. I better enjoy this now while I can because they have threatened us with cold and snowy weather this coming weekend. That’s a disadvantage living this far north🙂 I’ll see if I can find that photo with the map showing how far north this little country of mine is placed on this little planet of ours. By the way, we and lots of other countries in the world have a holiday today, it is the workers day and lots of demonstrations and speeches will be held all over the country.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Sometimes I don’t know what to write about and sometimes I just have to many things to write about.

  1. Det var ett bra inlägg som gjorde att jag tog mig en ordentligt funderare på vad min trädgårdsfilosofi är. Fast egentligen tror jag inte att jag har någon förutom att den ska vara snygg och dekorativ, sån är jag!
    När jag hade trädgårdsvisning första gången så frågade ett medelålders Stockholmspar vad jag hade för röd tråd i trädgården? Jag svarade att jag hade inte det, men vad menade dom egentligen med röd tråd? Jo, fick jag till svar, att man måste ju ha en idé om vad trädgården betyder för en och vad man då ska odla och sen följa den riktlinjen!
    Sorry, svarade jag, men det enda jag har som riktlinje är att jag ska gilla att titta på den, vara i den och njuta av den och att jag absolut inte ska ha något matnyttigt i den…hade trädgård med matnyttiga saker i Stockholm under 30 år och är trött på det! Dessutom finns det bönder runt om som odlar det mesta man behöver!!
    Dom blev faktiskt skitsura och sa att då passade det inte dom att studera den och så gick dom! Hallå, vadå!? Studera, det gör man väl inte! Man njuter av besöket i trädgården och blir inspirerad av den, eller också tycker man inte om den och går därifrån. Svårare än så är det väl inte? Och jag har faktiskt ALDRIG varit i en trädgård som inte har något kul att titta på och njuta av!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Min filosofi är nog lathet och frukt/ bärigt🙂🙂🙂 Det enda viktiga är ju att man själv gillar den, inget annat! Jag tycker lite synd om de som måste ha ett tema eller röd tråd för att kunna njuta av en trädgård! Jag tycker man missar själva poängen då, att njuta bara för njutandets skull. Jag har absolut inget emot sådana trädgårdar, de är ofta otroligt vackra men skulle aldrig orka med det själv🙂 Jag tycker du har en alldeles perfekt riktlinje🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. your photos showmore green each post, your passion for gardening must be very satisfying, it sounds like you are enjoying the challenges your area gives you with wonderful results.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes finally things are starting to happen here🙂 To bad there’s a risk of snow when the weekend comes.

      I wouldn’t mind a slightly better climate though🙂🙂 My neighbors that lives slightly higher than me and around 100 meters away have tulips that been flowering for two weeks now, mine still only have buds🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, hope you are enjoying your holiday. I think it is important to take some time to think about the garden and what you want from it, or need from it. Personally, I don’t care for the very planned, organized formal garden look. I am turning more to perennials such as shrubs. We don’t have a lot of space for trees (especially with gas lines, cable/phone lines all buried underground). I like the casual “cottage garden” look, as if things just started naturally growing there. We will probably do mostly container gardening this year, since my brother no longer can work in the garden. He will enjoy being on the porch with pots of easily-cared for veggies/flowers. I love your woodland garden, imagine so many trillium! I love flea markets and yard sales. Auctions I never seem to win. Someone always has more money. Good luck with your bid, hope you get it!! Take care.

    • Hi Robin!
      I am🙂
      We are all so different when it comes to our gardens. Some plan carefully others just do what ever they feel like and both ways can be just as fantastic🙂 It all depends on the person really.
      Thankfully I only have three things to worry about here, the drainage from the house, the water pipe but that is buried over two meters down🙂 and the electric cable. But since I do have a great neighbor I also have to think before planting anything so I don’t remove the view entirely for him. If I still had had the nuts living before him I wouldn’t have cared about that at all🙂 Cottage gardens are beautiful but way to much work to keep looking good, at least for me🙂🙂🙂 A flowerpot garden is actually perfect. It’s easy to move plants if they don’t like where they are and if they start to look sad its easy to remove them and get new things🙂

      It doesn’t really matter if I win the auction or not, it’s just fun to participate🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    I love all your flowers-envious also. The ones you suggested are growing quite nicely in the garden. When they are blooming, I’ll take pcitures for you though I doubt they’d be as striking as yours. It is raining here, but you have brightened my day!

    • Hi Kat!
      But I’ve kept on doing this for some time now🙂

      Your flowers will look just as good and after a couple of years when they have spread all over the place You’ll hate me🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Intressant inlägg:) Frågar mig varje vår då varenda muskel är inflammerad och fingerlederna är stela av att arbeta med rabatter och ogräsrensning- VAD I HELA FRIDEN HÅLLER DU PÅ MED??? Men så försvinner smärtorna (vänjer sig) trädgården ser fin ut och jag fullständigt bara njuter:)) Någon röd tråd eller annat finns inte i vår trädgård, vi anlägger,ändrar och tillägger och hela tiden har vi så fantastiskt roligt:) Det är vår “filosofi” att ha det kul samtidigt som vi “skapar” Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det är ju det viktiga! Att ha kul! Min filosofi går mer åt jag är lat hållet🙂🙂🙂 Jag beundrar verkligen de där trädgårdarna där man kan se varje växt tydligt med avstånd till nästa växt, men det är inget för mig. Tätt skall det växa så jag slipper rensa ogräs i onödan🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Sounds like our Labor Day. We spend a lot of time weeding the flower bed but I only put up tomatoes so those vines are easy to care for. You are putting a few together that my give you lots to can. We used to do that when we lived in Virginia. I’d like to see the map where it shows your location in the north.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes it is like Your Labor day.
      I might get more tomatoes than I can handle🙂🙂 But tomatoes is something everyone likes so I can always bring some to work🙂🙂
      I’ll see if I can find that photograph again, I remember You thought I lived in the arctic when You saw it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I really enjoy your pictures! Do you know the scientific name of the small cherry tree? I don’t have space for big trees but I would like to find out what it is so I can see if this kind of tree will grow here. If it will I am definitely going to find one and plant it if it will only grow half a meter high! I have some of the columnar apple trees but so far haven’t had any luck with finding very small cherry or plum trees in my local catalogs.

    • Hi littlegreegardengal!
      The scientific name is Prunus pumila var. depressa. It turns out it might not even get as high as that🙂🙂 The berries is said to taste more towards sloe than cherry, my trees are to young to give berries right now so I can’t say if that’s true or not. But You could look for Nanking cherry too (Prunus tomentosa) that is said not to be higher that 3 meters (the same in yards) and perhaps as wide too. I’ve heard the berries are delicious.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Thank you!!! I will look both of these up and see which sounds like it will do best here, and then see if I can find anyone selling them! Thanks again. I love finding new or unusual fruit to grow.

      • I’m glad if I can help🙂
        I do like that too, unusual for us that is🙂 So now I have five or six small Asimina triloba (Pawpaw) growing in pots here. I’ve heard they are delicious but difficult to store as soon as they are ripe. I think they will survive here but the summer might be too short for the fruit to ripen at all. But I have to try🙂
        Christer.

  8. I think you have an excellent plan. I’m starting to think that I need to just stuff my beds with perrenials as tight as I can and then just forget them. Would that work? I mean would it snuff out the weeds? I need to find more time for other things rather than spend every free summer day, trying to catch up on gardening.
    But I do love driving up to a bunch of flowers when I come home from work…
    All my plants are in the front of my house or the side, where the dogs can’t get to them. It’s useless to plant anything in their area. I do have some hosta in the back and they are struggling to survive. They get walked on and chewed to pieces.😦
    oh well! 🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes it does help a lot to plant the perennials very tight but then You might need to separate and divide them in a couple of years. Just remove as much of the weeds as You can before doing that, I think You have something called crab grass that grows in to everything and that can make things even worse if they get a chance to grow before the perennials does🙂🙂🙂 I rarely need to weed my flowerbeds.

      I don’t have as many dogs as You do🙂 But they do walk all over the plants and if the plant can’t take it, to bad there are other that can🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

