Cuttings, spotify and frog egg rescue.

Sunset yesterday night.

It’s not much colder than yesterday really but it feels like it because the sun hasn’t shown much yet. I changed the bandage on my thumb and it looked rather good. Not much blood, just a bit strangely colored, like a bruise and a bit swollen. Would be strange if it didn’t look like that considering how bad I’ve treated that poor thumb of mine🙂 I think the pain I still have is due to it being swollen, as soon as the bandage was taken off the pain stopped.

 

Sunrise this morning.

 

I could have taken a really good photo of the fox if it hadn't been for my thumb🙂 It got in the way and the fox is quick.

 

 

I planted cuttings from my old tomato plant yesterday. A tomato is usually seen as an annual but I know it can live longer. But it’s better to take cuttings for a better result, at least in a climate like the one I live in. I didn’t take that many because to be honest, I have tasted much better tomatoes than this one🙂 You see I did a mistake. I had heard that the tomato Black Russian should be one of the best there is so I just had to try it and like so many others I got very disappointed. The thing is that there’s another tomato called Russian Black and that’s the one that tastes delicious🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

I have also sown two kinds of tomatoes, two cherry tomatoes. One is a normal red one from seeds I’ve bought and the other one is a yellow striped and those seeds I took from some I bought. Unless it is a first generation hybrid tomatoes usually stays close to what their parent looked like but if there has been another kind of tomato close to the one those tomatoes came from it can become something completely different🙂 I won’t know until later this year🙂 I also sowed two different paprikas, those seeds came also from paprikas I’ve bought. I call one Hungarian white and the other Spanish red. Both are very long but thin. They had a kind of sweet but still peppery taste that I liked.

 

 

 

 

It is a bit late to sow those seeds now but since I’m counting on having a greenhouse later this year I should get fairly many tomatoes and paprikas this year.  I also cut down my geraniums and took some cuttings from those as well, not that I really need more geraniums but one never knows if someone would like to have some with them home if they see them here.

 

Do You remember the little grey calf I photographed last summer? Here she is and she's not little any longer🙂

 

 

 

 

I also did a rescue mission yesterday🙂 My neighbors have sold their property to the castle owner and they have promised to dig out the ditches before they leave. Those ditches has been the only safe place for frogs to lay eggs in since they never dried out. So it’s not sure that there will be any more frogs in that ditch this year and the coming ones. So I brought a pitcher and took as many eggs as I could in it and poured them out in to my pond. I also caught a couple of water beetles and some leaches too🙂🙂🙂 I might go there later today to bring more of those frog eggs, we have very little frogs here now compared to how it was when I moved here. Most small ponds has been allowed to overgrow.

 

This poor tomato plant has been growing by my kitchen window all winter and hasn't enjoyed it at all🙂 I think I could have taken at least twenty good cuttings from this plant if I had wanted to.

 

I took these three. I don't know if the cutting will sacrifice the flowers on the right one or if it will manage to give tomatoes anyway. Tomatoes has the great capability to create roots anywhere on its stem so these will be planted as deep as the pot allows. The deeper the better.

 

Here they are in pots. Don't over water them now so they start to rot. Won't take long until these starts to produce tomatoes🙂

 

I’ve started to listen to music via Spotify when I write this blog and it is both negative and positive🙂 When I write I write so much faster but if I hear songs i really like I tend to stop writing and just sing along with the artists🙂 :-)m:-) Today I’m listening to Maroon Five and I tend to sing more than write I’m afraid🙂🙂🙂 It’s time to make a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll take another walk with my dogs, I might bring a pitcher🙂

 

The water in the ditch is very rusty and now these frog eggs are placed in my pond with clear water. Some of the eggs were already eaten by predators but I hope many enough will make it. I also got some water beetles and leaches in that pitcher as well🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Cuttings, spotify and frog egg rescue.

  1. 😀 You are now the Frog Rescuer! That’s so great that you thought to go get the eggs. I hope they survive.
    I didn’t realize you could take cuttings from a tomato plant that easily. I have never taken cuttings of anything, maybe I should start.
    Last year everytihing had holes eaten into the leaves and black spots. I’m wondering if it was because of the Japanese Beetles?
    This year I plan to spray for bugs. I also plan to try a garden now that I’m eating healthy….sigh, SO much to learn!
    Enjoy the day! It’s rather cool here and supposed to rain so I might just work inside. there’s always something to do.

    • Hi Cindi!
      I hope that will safe some at least.

      It is the easiest thing in the world to take cuttings from tomatoes, it is actually hard to fail🙂 You can do the same with potatoes too, not sweet potatoes because they aren’t potatoes at all but a relative to the morning glory. This is a good way to save money when times are hard, I do it because I think it is fun though🙂

      We don’t have the Japanese beetle here so I can’t say anything about it. But remember not to use anything toxic on things You finally will eat!!! Mix one part of soap with nine parts of water and add one cork with alcohol of some kind. Spray this on any pest (not fungus) and they will suffocate. Do this in the evening so that the sun doesn’t burn any leafs. Toxic stuff just makes the survivors immune towards it in the long run and then You’ll only have to get even stronger toxic stuff to kill those pests. Nothing survives suffocation and can’t become immune to it either🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Thanks! I will try that. When you say alcohol, do you mean rubbing alchohol? Or the good stuff? Vodka?

      • You could use that if You want to, but denatured alcohol works just as good. The thing is that the alcohol makes the soap solution spreading evenly on the pest so that no surface what so ever isn’t covered in that soap. Then the insect will suffocate. If there should be a tiny spot of the pest that isn’t covered they normally can continue to breathe since they don’t breathe through their mouth but through their backs.

        Christer.

  2. You need a cape and a big F on your shirt, now! You are the Froggiliberator! The pix were gorgeous, today, and it was great to catch up on the calf. I love to do cuttings and see what happens. I do know that when tomatoes volunteer the next year, many times, they are much smaller than the parent plant. This year I bought four Roma tomato plants and, when they got sturdy, took another 8 cuttings for more plants. I just wanted to see if they would fruit, as well. I once cut up a rubber plant to make it easier to carry downstairs from my porch, when the phone rang. I just stuck each piece back in the big pot and went to talk on the phone. I forgot about them and we went through a rainy spell. The next time I saw those cuttings they had all become rubber plants and the planter was gorgeous! Good luck with yours. We had a very cold day, yesterday, so I went to check everything and it looks great. Have a great day (rest your thumb!).

    • Hi Sharlene!
      That would look good on me🙂🙂🙂
      I’ve never noticed them being smaller but perhaps that depends on variety?
      Those cuttings will give just as many new tomatoes as the original plants and usually they give tomatoes just shortly after the originals as well.

      Plants are more amazing than we usually believe🙂🙂

      Sunny and warm here but a strong wind destroys the day I’m afraid, it’s a rather cold wind too. But I have my kitchen door open anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Jag sår inte längre tomater, jag köper färdiga plantor istället:)) Vad bra att det slutade värka i din tumme och att den ser “bra” ut! Vad gulligt av dig att rädda grodyngel;) Hoppas att det hjälper så att grodstammen inte dör ut helt:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det är ju egentligen enklare men det är inte alltid man hittar färdiga plantor här ute och de som finns är oftast Dansk export. Inget större fel på den egentligen men det finns bättre🙂

      Det gör lite ont än i tummen men det beror nog mest på att tummen är så svullen än. Sover dock gott🙂

      Ja grodor behövs så jag hoppas jag gör lite nytta i alla fall.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Yes folks…listen to Christer…please don’t use toxic chemicals…not good for the Earth…not good for you!! Only makes things worse!! Christer…beautiful sunset photo and so glad to know I’m not the only Frog Whisperer!!🙂 I transport their eggs too, when they are in danger…The world needs more frogs!!🙂

    • BHi Chris!
      Yes avoid chemicals as much as possible! There’s always some pests that survives and then spread the resistants towards those chemicals. And then people needs to use even more dangerous chemicals!

      Yes we do need frogs and they are now dying all over the world! Scientists says that frogs shows how the world feels and now the frogs are dying, not a good sign!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! how will the frogs fit in your pond? i wish i had frogs here but i don’t. i have plenty of pond space for them. glad to hear your thumb is doing well. maybe i will get stitches out tomorrow! we are going to be in the upper 80’s this week! igh! way too hot! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      The frogs won’t stay in the pond all the time. They walk around between different puddles during summer and nights here are usually quite damp. But there’s a chance they will come to the pond again during winter.

      I’ve used my thumb too much today so now it’s even more swollen🙂🙂
      Great that they will remove those stitches in Your thumb!

      I’m sort of glad that we only reaches those temperatures when summer is as hottest here🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer, I love Sharlene’s image of you in a cape as the Frogginator!! LOL! About your tomatoes…Russian Black and Black Russian? Who names these things? I actually have some experience with Black Russians, only not the tomato kind….the alcohol kind…tee hee! Beautiful photos in spite of your thumb! Good luck with all your transplanting.

    • Hi Robin!
      I do look good in that cape🙂 But I only wear it at night so few have ever seen the Frogginator🙂🙂🙂

      Old names on both actually. These tomatoes are old Russian varieties and perhaps they had the same name before but are so different that someone just changed the name on one sightly🙂 I’ve never even heard about the alcohol kind🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I plant Big Boy Tomatos over here. They seem to be bug resistant and very tasty. I think June before they will ripen up enough to pick. Be careful with that thumb. It can still get infected. Let a nurse or doctor tend to it on Monday. Enjoy your froggies.

    • Hi Z&M!
      You do have a lot more pests that attacks tomatoes than we have. Tomatoes are actually one of the plants that get the least of pest problems up here.
      If I’m lucky I’ll get tomatoes in early August🙂 Well perhaps that cutting with flowers might give me some earlier🙂

      No I’ll just leave that thumb alone now and remove the stitches on Thursday🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Ohhh…well..not so sure about leaches. They really kind of give me the heebee geebee’s..like spiders and snakes. I tend to sceam and that’s not good at all. I used to act brave for the children as I didn’t want them to grow up with fear of small creatures…rather to understand them. But..It took all I had at times.

    You have all sorts of wild life around you. You must hear all sorts of night sounds…Mele would be barking her little head off..
    Bad enough when cats come up on our porch at night to catnap on my porch chairs. I don’t mind…but I do mind the males peeing on my front door.
    Sheesh!!!
    I bought several more plants at a garage sale. Squash, another tomato plant and a zuchinni!
    Take care of that thumb Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      These leaches aren’t the kind that goes on humans, just fish and frogs and other cold blooded animals. The kind that goes on humans are very rare up here thankfully🙂 But I fully understand Your feeling about them🙂🙂🙂

      Nights here are actually quite quiet. But to be honest, nights are very short here during summer, at midsummer I think there’s about three hours off darkness as most🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully all my dogs are the kind that doesn’t bark. They do make a sound but it is rather quiet and they do follow it with their ears🙂

      I’ll start sowing squash and melons here today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

