It’s just safer to stay in bed some days!

And then the sun went away and rain came instead.

It started already at 4:20 am this morning. My dogs thought it was a great idea to get up and go out. I told them in not so many, but loud, words that it wasn’t๐Ÿ™‚ After that I know I had a very strange dream until I woke up again at the right time.

Rowan.

 

 

At work I’m responsible for the huge washing machine that cleans everything we’re painting. I do test of the water every morning and every now and again I must pour in a very high pH detergent. It has pH 14 so it is just as dangerous as sulphuric acid and really nothing You want on the skin. Naturally I had rubber gloves on but didn’t think when it started itching on my forehead. Naturally I scratched my head with the rubber glove on๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

Gooseberry flower. They grow wild in our forests.

 

 

So I put my head beneath the water tap and everything seemed good. But I hadn’t filled enough with the detergent so I went to the pump to get some more. Naturally the pump breaks down but I didn’t see that some of the detergent had spilled over the edge of the barrel. So I leaned towards the barrel to bring up the pump๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It took some seconds before I felt that burning feeling on my left thigh๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ So I ran away to the sink again and poured water on my trousers for a long time๐Ÿ™‚ My thigh is now smooth like a baby’s butt๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Is that what they call chemical peeling๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

Red-leafed Elderberry.

 

Primula veris.

 

As soon as I’m finished with the washing machine I walk over to the paintbox. I start the machine and notices that one of the plastic tubes to the painting gun is broken. It has a long rip in it and has to be cut a couple of centimeters (an inch or so). So I bring my knife, not remembering that it is new and very sharp. Well guess what happened! It cuts through the tube like a hot knife in cold butter and continues straight into my right thumb. I split my thumb from the top and two centimeters (around two thirds of an inch) down.

 

Primula vulgaris.

 

Euonymus cornutus quinquecornutus, at least that's what was written on the label.

 

So now I’m at home and will be until next Tuesday. It’s only a flesh wound so I have four stitches in my thumb and they taped between the stitches as well. This is just a stupid week to do something like this, we’re having a long weekend anyway since it is May first and a holiday here next Tuesday๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It didn’t hurt at all while cutting myself, nor afterwards either. But I can say it hurts pretty good now. But like I usually say, shit happens๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “It’s just safer to stay in bed some days!

    • Hi JoJo!
      I really don’t hope it will be worse๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      The doctor think that I can work next week without any problems so that’s something๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Wow, that is lot to happen in one day! Sorry to hear you had to get stitches! I guess you can take lessons from Joyce on how to do things one-handed. Take good care, hope the pain goes away quickly.

    • Hi Robin!
      Thankfully I’m both right and left handed๐Ÿ™‚ So I’ll manage quite well anyway๐Ÿ™‚
      I guess this will be rather painful for the rest of the day but that’s how it is when being clumsy๐Ÿ™‚ At least things can’t be much worse now, can they๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    We can be the chief officers in the bad day club. That is horrible-one thing cascaded into several others. The cut didn’t hurt at first because the knife is so sharp-that has happened to me, but later, ouch, the throbbing starts.

    Stay home and heal and hope for better days!

    • Hi Kat!
      So true! It just didn’t seem to be an end to it today๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes the pain came and with strength too๐Ÿ™‚ As soon as I think I have found a way to place my hand to decrease the pain it starts again within a couple of seconds, I hope that I can fall asleep tonight.
      I’ll stay at home until next Wednesday.

      Take care!
      Christer.

  3. wow, thats a day for the records book for sure, ouch! which hand? You and Joyce both with stitched up hands , my goodness, that detergent sounds pretty scary stuff, maybe you should wear a rubber suit or apron or something wow, bet that hurt, hope you have a better day tomorrow, take some rest, your thumb will be sore, to bad the dogs can’t cook!

    • Hi Laurie!

      We have ordered rubber aprons and rubber boots but it takes for ever to get them to the factory. But the pain in my forehead is entirely my own fault๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Well the cut in my thumb as well of course๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      That is a powerful detergent and made to clean all kinds of stuff from metal. Nothing for the dishes but I’m pretty sure it would clean it very well๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Thankfully I’m both right and left handed๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. jesus christer!!!! what a total train wreck! maybe you should climb under the covers and stay there for a while! and anothe finger cut. sorry all this happened to you! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I never do anything half-hearted๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ No work fro me until next Wednesday and then a workfriend and I will remove the stitches on Thursday. I asked if I really had to go to the doctor to remove them and they said it was ok if I did it myself๐Ÿ™‚

      How’s Your thumb doing?
      Christer.

  5. ok, I went back to read this post for my husband and realized you told us which thumb, and yes I guess that is a chemical peel, the hard way for sure!I would n’t want it on my skin i tell you that, rough day, take care of yourself, sorry but we did laugh a bit because the way you told us your day was a bit comical, it sounds like a TV show!

    • Hi Laurie!
      You should know how soft my thight is now๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ A bit painful but what doesn’t one do to have a smooth skin๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I wouldn’t have written it this way if I didn’t want You all to laugh at this๐Ÿ™‚ The staff at the doctors office and I laughed all the time while they were sowing my thumb๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Christer.

  6. Gee, could it have gotten any worse? You should have slept in that day. Off till next week? You certainly work in a dangerous environment. I’ve never heard of chemical peel before but then I never worked around chemicals. I’m sure it will heal over time. Make it a great weekend with your thumb.

    • Hi Z&M!
      No I doubt that๐Ÿ™‚ But all good/bad things comes in three they say.
      Yes no more work until next Wednesday.

      A chemical peel is like a facial where they are removing the dead skin cells with chemicals, much nicer than this one though๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll make it as good as I can๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Caryn!
      All good/bad things comes i three so I think I’m safe for now๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      But I’m afraid that this thumb will be hurting a lot tonight and perhaps tomorrow as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Ouch, Christer, just reading about your day made mine seem so wonderful. The only bad thing was a splinter in my hand from our wood railing. I get splinters all the time, so you would think I have figured out NOT to touch it…but no. Hope the throbbing stops and that you also got some pain meds. Were you able to drive home from work OK?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      How I wished I only had gotten a splinter last night๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t slept especially much last night. The nerves did what they could to show that they didn’t like this at all. I tried to find a way to place my hand so that the pain should get less awful and sometimes it looked as if I had found one. But just as I was falling asleep it came back even worse๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Well that’s the price I have to pay for being clumsy๐Ÿ™‚
      No I didn’t get any pain pills and those Ialready had here at home didn’t help a bit.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Oh God! What a day! I’m so glad you made it home without getting into an accident.
    Did they given you pain pills? and I think you are supposed to keep it elevated. I think.
    If you don’t have meds then maybe you need to self-medicate. Vodka? Whiskey?
    Do be careful!๐Ÿ˜€

    oh, you are right. Stupid Blogger put your comment in Spam again.
    I’m checking the Spam regularly because other comments have ended up there.
    But of course the actual “Spam” makes it through and I have to DELETE that!

    • Hi Cindi!
      No, no pain pills and those I had here at home didn’t help at all. I didn’t sleep much last night๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ and I have nothing stronger than milk at home๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I am a bit tired on Blogger now, it keeps putting my comments in the spam box even if You already have approved my comments before!!! But it is rather funny that the spam gets through๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Great sympathetic response to Joyce’s dilemma, Christer! Oh, yes, it comes in threes. My daughter had a similar day in Mexico City this past week, just kept getting worse, as the day progressed. Hope you’re finally getting some sleep. Those cuts are terrible and annoying. I don’t think I could take out my own stitches, though — maybe yours but not mine.๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž I’m surprised your company didn’t have the protective clothing already. Are they afraid you might sue? In America, that’s the number one thought. The companies have you signing a release before you get up from the floor! Take care and enjoy your few days rest. Do try to get some healing sleep.๐Ÿ˜Ž

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Well I do what I can to show my sympathy to others๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I did wonder what might happen last night but thankfully it stayed calm all night๐Ÿ™‚

      We did order those protecting clothes long ago but they never seem to arrive. But I guess after my awful yesterday it will arrive already next week๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I have to say that the company I work for always think of safety first. Unfortunately the company we prdered the clothes from doesn’t seem to think that way at all๐Ÿ™‚

      I have no problems taking those stitches myself๐Ÿ™‚ and I will get some help from another work friend, we’re both used to take stitches from our pets๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I do hope I’ll be able to sleep tonight!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

