The sun always shines while we’re at work.

Wood anemone. The ones in my garden aren't even close to have buds yet.

The sun shone most of the day just until we stopped working for the day. The rain started almost at the same time I started my car🙂 Isn’t that strange?  As soon as we start working on Mondays the sun arrives but as soon as we’re free from work the rain comes🙂🙂🙂

 

Lesser Celandine.

 

 

This is one of the places out on the bog where the Black Grouse roosters tries to impress their hen.

 

They have actually studied this phenomena and it’s actually true, when it comes to big cities. During the work week all factories, air-conditioners, cars and other things creates a pressure that can keep low pressures away from the area. But when the weekend comes and most things are shut down that pressure disappears and opens up the way for the clouds. But I doubt that it is the same way here though because we don’t have that many people in this area, or this country to be honest. Sweden is slightly bigger than California but we’re only nine million people🙂

 

 

Tree peony.

 

Corydalis something🙂

 

I took a look in all my sowing pots the other day and things starts to happen. I love the Japanese maples but most of them can’t handle the climate here. But Gardens North sold seeds to a species that should survive here, Acer pseudosieboldianum  (click on the name and a new page with pictures on Google will jump up). Three seeds has germinated and today I moved them to new pots. One must be extremely careful because if the root gets injured the seed will die. I like maples so I have sown a couple other species from Gardens North too, that seed firm only has high quality seeds and are more or less specialized for us living in colder climate (well there are lots of less hardy species as well).

 

Here You can see one of the seeds that has germinated. It is very important not to damage that long root, it dies if one does.

 

Unlike seeds from annuals or perennials seeds from trees needs fertilization quite early in life. So if You like to try sowing seeds from trees and bushes this is important to remember.

There's not a place where the Scilla sibirica doesn't like to grow🙂

 

I never got to that nap yesterday. I watched a dvd and then I went to bead really early and read a book instead. I’ll skip the dvd but I think I’ll jump in to my bed soon and continue to read instead🙂

 

I got tubers to this Corydalis of a garden friend some years ago and it is one of my favorites in the garden. Spreads like crazy but vanish after it has spread its seeds in early summer. I have it on the opposite side of my garden now and one day my neighbor asked me what those strange little pink flowers were, he had them all over his lawn🙂 Thank You Renate for sending them to me🙂

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The sun always shines while we’re at work.

  1. Det är faktiskt konstigt det där med vädret:) Vilka underbara bilder du tagit! Den där Acer pseudosieboldianum verkar väldigt intressant:) Såg helt underbar ut på bilderna- vilken höstfärg!! Får du någon planta över så är jag intresserad;) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jag tror att vädergudarna helt enkelt bara driver med oss🙂🙂🙂

      Visst är den fin! Vi får se hur många som gror i år, det är visst inte ovanligt att det tar två år för fröerna att gro. Jag har två andra lönnar på gång också, men det såg inte ut att hända något där än. Men när jag vetr mer kommer jag att ställa undan en till dig.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Love the blue scilla, so delicate. The photos of everything blooming in your area are very good; the tree peony looked odd at first to me. I very much hope your maples survive. I truly don’t think I have the patience to wait for a tree to grow from seed, though it would be so satisfying. Perhaps if I was ten years old though. Take care now, enjoy your book!

    • Hi Robin!
      I like the scilla but many see it as a terrible weed🙂 It spreads like crazy to be honest but I wouldn’t want to be without it.

      It’s strange that a beautiful flower like the tree peony has such an ugly bud🙂

      I don’t mind the waiting for those seeds to finally become a tree🙂 They grow so much slower up here too so I’m not sure if I ever will see it as fully grown but it will be big enough in a few years anyway🙂 I’m only 47 so I think I have enough years left to see most of my seedlings become big and beautiful🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,

    I don’t recognize the corydalis but it’s very pretty. I know it’s not sempervirens because it doesn’t have big yellow lips.🙂

    The tree peony has a fascinating bud. Especially the color. Beautiful. I have to say I’m not much impressed with the flower.

    The sun is finally showing through. It’s been raining for two days but it’s okay. We needed the rain. Rocky and I went for a walk by the lake and got soaked when the rain started up again. Apparently the fish like hanging around close to the shoreline because we spooked a couple of very large ones while we were walking along. They made a lot of noise flashing off into the depths and spooked us a bit too. That’s the extent of our activities today. Rocky is sleeping and I am hanging about on the internet.

    Enjoy your evening. I hope the sun comes out while you are not at work.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think it is Corydalis cava but there are a few that look very much alike and I don’t want to cut open the tuber to see if it is hollow🙂

      I do prefer the flowers on the tree peony even if they only last a few days and if it rains hardly that🙂

      Lots of fish stay close to the shoreline this time of year to lay their eggs. But sometimes they just enjoy the warmer water there.

      The sun did shine for a while even after I had come home today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It always rains on my parade. Anytime I have anything planned the rains arrive minutes before the event. It’s just bad luck. You miss the sun, the rain God says “take that!” Love those seedling shots today. Looks really good.

  5. hi christer! the snow missed us! i am disappointed but atleast it rained and we sure needed it! that is the good thing about being retired! the weekends are no different than the weeks. the weather doesn’t matter when it comes. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      To bad the snow missed You!

      I only have seventeen more years till retirement🙂🙂🙂 Either that or a big win in the lottery so I guess I’ll have to wait all those years🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cat!
      The colors is fantastic in that photo but my favorite is the gravel road with the wagon standing on it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

