It isn’t nice enough to go outside but not bad enough to stay indoors.

Besides pushing down the dead old plum tree, place it by the pond and plant the Clematis beside it I also cleaned my cottage and scrubbed the floors. It was a pure joy to walk around barefoot. At least until this morning because it has rained most of the time🙂 So this day started much the same as yesterday but it is at least warmer. I’m hoping the sun will break through the clouds this afternoon as it did yesterday and the weather forecast gives me some hope🙂

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately they have changed the long time prognosis from really warm to rather chilly this week, with lots of rain. They really shouldn’t do these long time prognosis since they not even can guess the weather within an hour🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

This is one of those days I don’t know what to do. It isn’t nice enough to go out and do things in the garden but it is sort of too nice to stay indoors too🙂 I’ve already filled my car with newspapers and other kinds of paper so I can leave it at the recycling station close to work and I’ve brought all the packages with fire-logs from the car into the kitchen so now I can’t think of anything more to do. So I guess I’ll find a book to read or maybe take a nap🙂

 

The weather did get nicer yesterday afternoon and I hope it'll be the same today.

 

 

 

I could of course write down what kind of chain I need to my chain saw, the other plum tree is also dying so I better cut it down this spring. I’ll leave a rather high tree stump because I have a table top in white marble in the garage and I thought I would use that stump as a table outside the coming green house. The table top has a rather deep scratch in it so I don’t want it indoors but it is still too nice to throw away.

 

Coltsfoot, a weed extraordinaire. Nothing one wants in the garden but love since it is one of the first flowers to show in spring.

 

 

Rheum palmatum, a relative to our common rhubarb. But this isn't edible but it has beautiful leafs and is often used as a decorative perennial over here.

 

Well it is time to find a book or to take that nap now, I’ll just finish the tea before I do anything more.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “It isn’t nice enough to go outside but not bad enough to stay indoors.

  1. Hey Christer,
    The country side looks like spring is springing. Sure looks so inviting with the foliage turning green. Does so much for how you feel. Everything is turning beautifully green here too. Makes one feel so much better. I can’t imagine what your floors must get like with three dogs trapsing in from out side all the time. I had a friend that used to wipe her dogs feet. She couldn’t stand all the stuff they brought in on the paws. When you have pets you have to expect that. Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Donna!
      It started a few weeks ago when it was warm and nice here but sort of got on hold when the freezing temperatures and snow came. I do hope we won’t get any more snow anyway, but we can have frosty nights until the first week in June. But You are so right, it does so much for how we feel!
      I do wipe the paws on my dogs but even after showering my dogs things like sand and twigs falls out of it when drying up🙂🙂🙂 Their fur is much thicker than it looks🙂 Only Nova has a thin and nice fur🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    The day here is kind of like your day there. It’s cool and very cloudy with an occasional drop of rain. They say we are going to get a decent rain storm later on tonight, maybe about 2 inches. We need the rain badly since we had no snow to speak of and the spring rains have not come so far. In any case, it is not weather that motivates me to go outside but I don’t want to stay inside either.
    Perhaps I will take inspiration from you and clean. I have a great deal of organizing to do around here so that I can continue to rip out wallpaper and rugs. First I have to move all the stuff that is in the way. It’s mostly yarn and books so at least it isn’t heavy stuff. The problem is that I get distracted by some yarn I forgot I had and wander off to find a pattern to knit it into. Procrastination is my middle name.🙂
    Enjoy your nap.

    • Hi Caryn!
      We’ll have no rain storm here but the sun never broke through the clouds, it drizzles every now and again though. We don’t need more water from the sky here, we have plenty to share🙂🙂

      I’m thinking of starting with my walls later in the summer, when we can go away for some time if I decide to paint the them. Well dog and cat fur on new wallpapers isn’t that fun either🙂🙂
      I’m a very good friend with procrastination so I know what You mean🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! is coltsfoot the same as a dandilion? we are expecting a big snowstorm! i am so excited!!! but i am sure it will break my tree peonies. we might get 6 inches. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      No it isn’t, I don’t think they are especially closely related either. Come to think of it, we do have lots of flowers that looks very much like dandelions. The Coltsfoot is used to make cough medicine.

      That would be typical! When You finally get a snow storm they most likely will damage the tree peonies but I’ll hold my thumbs for good luck! 6 inches is a lot though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, it’s Earth Day today and a very rainy one, but we really do need the rain and it’s a nice gentle one. The heavier downpours were last night with some accompanying thunder and lightning which caused a short power outage. Of course, we didn’t find out about that until the coffee maker did not turn on with the auto setting. We are being extremely lazy today and still in bed reading blogs. Breakfast and later reading and some tea sound like great ways to spend the rest of today…glad to read you didn’t get snow. We did our recycling on Sat and also drive to the local transfer station.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Is it? I had no idea that it was. We don’t need the rain and it is pouring down since a couple of hours now. I might be able to swim to work tomorrow🙂🙂

      I’ve been watching dvd’s and that’s about it I think🙂 Now I’ll go to bed early and read that book instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Håller med dig att det är trist väder:( Vi har varit på Botan idag och där var det ok, mulet men uppehåll. Tänkte att vi skulle fortsätta i trädgården när vi kom hem men nu ösregnar det;( Vad fint det låter med ett marmorbord ute:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Här öser det ned sedan några timmar nu så här har det bara latats idag🙂

      Jo visst gör det🙂 Marmorskivan har stått i garaget sedan jag flyttade hit för tolv år sedan, så det är väl dags att få njuta av den igen för den är riktigt fin trots repan.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Our weather turned cool which is nice for a change. It rained hard overnight. I had the perfect tree stump for a marble top but couldn’t find one so bought a round slate piece at a garage sale. It didn’t balance well and I kept trimming the wood down but never got it right. Eventually the top slid off and was so heavy to keep putting back up I left it stored in the garage. Now the stump looks more like a tree. It has new branches which has taken over. Nice to look at though. Enjoy your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is pouring down here now and has so for a couple of hours. We really don’t need it but I guess the weather powers doesn’t care about that🙂

      I think I must strip of all bark on that plum tree otherwise there will be loads off new branches on that too🙂 I’ll have to cut it off high on the tree so I have enough space when I have to trim it🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, I love the leaves on that rhubarb-type plant! We have a fire in the stove, and it’s a chilly cloudy day. Movies and books the way to go! Not the best weather for Earth Day celebrations. I think a nap sounds like a fab idea!

    • Hi Robin!
      They become even more beautiful later, if I’m lucky🙂 One never knows what happens when sowing a seed🙂

      I never got to take that nap🙂 I looked at a dvd and then I went to bed early and read a book🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

