Perhaps spring has survived anyway?

It looked like there still was some snow left on the mountain this morning.

The day started much the same as it ended yesterday, cold and cloudy. So I started a fire in the stove and then we went for a walk. We went out to the bog and suddenly I could hear the Black Grouse roosters trying to impress the hens almost beside me๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We had walked so quietly that they hadn’t heard us coming. But naturally I stepped on a branch just before I would be able to see them as well๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

I saw this tiny little spot out in the fields and called for him.

 

Bertil never wants to miss a walk with us, so he came running like the dog he think he is๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

I continued to have a fire burning in the stove when we came home, I have shut down all but one radiator so it feels a bit chilly inside even if it isn’t. Suddenly the sun came out and then it got just too hot indoors๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But I refused to open up any windows or doors to let the heat out, so I and all the animals went out into the garden instead.

 

 

 

I have an old plum tree in the garden that has been dead for over ten years now but I have never taken it down but let clematis grow up climbing on it instead. But now all the old roots had rotten away and to be honest, I don’t think it still would have stood there if it wasn’t for the clematis๐Ÿ™‚ ย So I leaned towards the tree and it fell within a second and I dug up the clematis so I could plant them by the pond. It isn’t always they survive a move like that but they just couldn’t stay where they were. A small Laburnum is growing there now and they would only have killed that little tree in the long run.

 

 

White wagtail.

 

I then moved the dead tree and placed it by the pond, naturally I forgot to take a photo both before I leaned towards it and when it got its final place. At the same time I was doing that my neighbor started his war against moss in the lawn. It is a bit funny actually because he cares for his lawn a lot and does everything right and still he has a lot of moss in it. I really don’t care about my lawn and have no moss at all in mine๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ So now he’s spreading ferrous sulphate all over his lawn, with a tiny watering can๐Ÿ™‚

 

The plum tree is gone and now the Laburnum (we call it Golden Rain) will get a better chance to grow up faster.

 

I just leaned towards the tree and then it fell๐Ÿ™‚

 

He then told me that he has a work colleague that wants to rent the cottage my neighbors just sold. That would be great because then we’ll know that it isn’t a totally insane person that moves here when they have moved to town. Unfortunately secluded places like this attracts the most odd people in the world and I asked my neighbor if that was why we lived here๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

I planted one clematis beside the branches closest to the cottage. If it survives the move it will soon cover the branches totally.

 

The other clematis I planted beside the old plum tree. I also planted a white Wisteria there. I really don't know why I bought that one, they normally freeze down to the ground every winter here. We call the Wisteria Blue Rain here (no matter what color they have๐Ÿ™‚ )

 

I think it is time for a short nap and then we’ll go out for a walk again. It looks as if the weather will at least not be rainy today, next week they say we might get up to 22C (72F). Well we’ll know better when that day comes๐Ÿ™‚

 

The peat blocks are getting the surface I want them to have, lots of moss growing on them๐Ÿ™‚ The water level is low in the pond but since we'll get more rain and snow the coming days I didn't think there was any idea to fill it up.

 

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Perhaps spring has survived anyway?

  1. Good Saturday to you Christer! Can’t wait to see photos of all your clematis transplants. Great shot of the wagtail sitting on the horse weather vane. I was chuckling when you were talking about “odd” people attracted to isolated living areas…not that I was thinking you and your neighbor are odd!! So many projects awaiting your attention around your cottage, especially the big project of the greenhouse. You will be busy this summer. Thankfully, you have the ever-helpful Bertil to assist and direct! Chilly, rainy here today…best for indoor chores. Oh well, spring is always fickle. Take care.

    • Hi Robin!
      I do hope they manage to survive the move but one never knows with clematis.

      I think many would call us odd just by moving to a place like this๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We have had so many very, very strange people living here so it would be nice is whom ever moves here is just almost like everyone else for once๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I have to say that the weather turned to the better and now it’s quite nice here even if there’s lots of clouds.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. is that a cigarette on the peat? that bertil never ceases to entertain me! you should write a kids book about him! the cat that thought he was a dog! the bird on the weathervane horses back is so funny too! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I had to check that and no it isn’t๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a wood chip, a piece of a thin twig๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I would have been surprised if it had been because that would have meant that someone had walked around in my garden without my knowledge. That would have been creepy!

      Kids books about Bertil the evil cat๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ That could be really fun books๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. So crazy people live in the country? Not so. We live in the country too, closer to shopping than you are, but still out here on acreage. Looks like your kitty stole the show today. Oh well, it is Caturday.

    • Hi Z&M!
      They do tend to move to secluded places like this I’m afraid. Especially if they only rent a place. There are crazy people in town too but there we don’t notice them asmuch. I could tell You about very strange people that once lived in this village๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!
      He tends to do that the evil one๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      That would be a nice change if he is๐Ÿ™‚ We’ve had the most odd people living in this village so I feel it would be nice to have a neighbor that is at least sort of normal๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

