Spring has taken a break.

It is one of those days when it looks nice enough, seems to be warm enough but when going out finding that the wind destroys it all. It isn’t that strong but it’s cold and sort of eats its way through the clothes. So I’ve spent most of the time indoors looking at tv. I had forgotten that they send an awful lot of pay channels for free at the moment 🙂 Well I say it is good that they are free because I’ve never seen that much garbage in one day before 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

I could see showers pass by in the distance.

 

Geese were flying by.

 

Ok, there are a few good ones but it is not worth paying for those few and get all the others too. I made some pancakes as well and ate them with my home-made raspberry-peach jam. Not bad at all 🙂 But it is something with pancakes, everyone seems to like them 🙂 So I had to put aside a couple for my dogs and if my cats had been home I would have to make some for them too 🙂 No jam for any pet though, they fart bad enough as it is anyway 🙂

 

 

 

 

I’ve been thinking about what to do with the borderline around the pond area for some time now. I was thinking of digging a thin ditch around it but I know that rain and wind only will fill it up quickly anyway. Then I came to think about those tree branches I had drying outside my cottage, so I could make firewood out of them. I placed them around the border and it doesn’t look that bad, well not on the side towards the cottage. The other side not so good, But since I’ll have to cut down the old plum tree and half my apple tree this year as soon as I find a new chain to my chainsaw, I’ll get more thick branches to place there later.

 

The left side looks quite ok but I ran out of thicker branches when I came to the right side 🙂 I think this will be ok after I've planted some ferns to cover the gaps between the different branches and some climbers to grow along the thinner ones. Perhaps some clematis?

 

The Lungwort is spreading from my garden out into the wild 🙂

 

Gagea lutea.

 

I’ve also been thinking about some kind of foundation to the coming green house. The green house won’t rest on it so I don’t have to cast it with concrete. I’ll just have something there so grass can’t grow to close to the walls. That way it will be easier to keep it looking nice and the risk of the wall rotting is less since grass really can help with that. I have an idea and will let You know as soon as I have decided anything. I haven’t had a chance to do anything since the weather has been as it has been.

 

It would have been fantastic to be able to have moss like this growing by the pond, but it is too sunny there I'm afraid.

 

 

 

It looks like spring has taken a break here at the moment, nest week will stay cool and they say it will rain and snow some all week. To bad because I really would like to start building that greenhouse now, I never know when that will happen again 🙂 It’s time to take a walk with my dogs again and then I think I’ll watch more garbage on tv 🙂

 

Hepatica.

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Spring has taken a break.

  1. Haha. jag fattade inte varför du inte ville ha min kommentar. Hade glömt skriva något. Meen jag hade tänkt ut något fint att pränta ner ang. ditt inlägg. Nu har jag glömt både kommentar och inlägg. haha. Skall läsa igen! 😀

    • Jag har räknat ut att det blir strax under 15 kvadrat. Men nu gäller det ju bara att få tummarna ur också 🙂
      Jag lade in två ritningar på det för att tag sedan, kanske kan du hitta dem om du skrollar bakåt några veckor. Det är nog lättast att göra det på min svenska blogg dock, färre poster där nämligen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it is 80 degrees and sunny here today! i hate this weather. i can’t wait to see how your pond is this year. and the green house too. how is your thumb? i go to the doctor on tuesday and i sure hope this huge bandage comes off! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I wish we could switch weather 🙂 🙂 You would have loved ours today 🙂
      My thumb is healing fine, still bleeds a bit though every now and again. Mostly when I hit it in to something 🙂 🙂 I do hope Your thumb will be ok! and I know the feeling of wanting to get rid of a bandage like that!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. beautiful forest photos today and the horses are just beautiful as well.Raspberry peach jam sounds very nice, that pond is an on going project! Have a wonderful day,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Thank You 🙂
      I must admit that those pancakes with that jam were delicious 🙂
      I never hurry while doing a project 🙂 But with a bit of luck I’ll be finished with the pond this year 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Photos are very nice today. I liked those photos of the pond last year. Sounds like you want to jazz it up a bit. The green house should have a concrete floor I think. It would be easier to maintain and more use able for potting and holding a table on a flat surface. Give you a work area. Now you’ve got me thinking of adding pancakes to our dinner tonight. With lots of jam.!!

    • Hi Z&M!
      This year will be the one I start putting plants around the pond and I have a pretty clear picture in my mind on how I like it to be.

      No, no concrete floor. If someone one day want to remove the green house they would get lots of problems with a concrete floor. Many grows directly in the ground in their green houses, but I think I’ll have my plants in pots, at least in the beginning.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos especially the horses. It’s tomorrow here already. I’m a bit late reading posts.
    Yesterday I thought Rocky looked really bored so I decided to take him somewhere new. I had no idea where. After driving around for a spell I found myself in an area I hadn’t visited in perhaps 20 years or more. I found the place where I used to ride my horse a lot and Rocky and I took a little hike up the trails. It’s very different from what I remember mostly because there was a bad storm so there is a great deal of wind damage in the forest. Many trees are blown over. But the black flies, mosquitos and ticks were just the same as I remember. 🙂 Rocky got to sniff horse manure for the first time. It’s nice to know horses are still welcomed there though I didn’t see any actual horses. Just the poo. Anyway, I took some photos (of trees, not poo). They remind me of your forest except your forest is neater. I’ll post on Facebook.
    I just finished doing my taxes which are due tomorrow. I’m also tracking my friend online. She’s running the Boston Marathon today. It’s very hot out and bad for running. She’s projected at 6 hours finish time at the moment but she’s only done about 10K so that will change. Heartbreak Hill comes right near the end and it’s a killer.
    Can you use wood pallets as a base for the greenhouse? They are sturdy enough and they are also usually free at least around here. You could nail some boards over it to make a more solid surface.
    It’s hot, sunny and hot! It’s another ice cream day and I may indulge myself again. Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I did wonder if I had horses in todays post 🙂 🙂 🙂 But then I realized You commented on yesterdays post 🙂 🙂
      Are the black flies flying already!!! Mosquitoes has started here and I already have two mosquito bites that itch like crazy 🙂

      My dogs eat all kinds of poop but not horse poop?? They sniff some above it and then they leave, cow dung is so much tastier it seems 🙂 🙂 I’ll popp over to FB after this.

      Pallets costs rather much over here but I have something else in mind and it looks like I can get it cheap too 🙂 I’ll show as soon as I have bought it. I’m afraid wood just would rot to quickly.

      I almost feel sorry for Your friend in that heat! I have run a half marathon but was lucky with cold weather. I ran like a gazelle yhe first 10K and then I think I died 🙂 🙂 🙂 My body is most likely still lying there in the bushes 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I had an ice cream despite our weather today 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I can’t wait to find out your plans for the base of your greenhouse. I’m trying to figure out what to do with the bottom of my yard and I might steal your ideas!
    My neighbor has some guy building a gazebo right next to my property…..and I have no idea what to do with the bottom of my yard 😦 but I’ve cut down enough shrubs that it no longer looks like a jungle!

    • Hi Cindi!
      You don’t have to steal them, I can give You my ideas 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Strange that they are building a gazebo close to another property. Isn’t that a place that one wants a bit away from the rest of the world 🙂
      I like jungles though 🙂 But a green house is not a bad substitute 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

