That’s one way to wake up.

This is the last we saw the sun today I'm afraid.

Easter Monday, a holiday most of us have no idea why we celebrate, including me🙂 But I checked it up just a minute . Back in the days the week after Easter had a non religious holiday for ever weekday but in the nineteenth century they shortened it down to one day and sort of made it religious at the same time. Today we celebrate the first time Jesus met people outside the inner circle for the first time after resurrection and I realized that rather many countries actually have a holiday today. 104 actually with some restrictions in some countries. I actually learned a few new countries that I didn’t know existed🙂

 

Hampus the Drever. Yesterday was a much nicer day if one could get away from the cold wind.

 

We went out to the bog where the forest stopped most of the wind.

 

 

 

 

I started this morning by doing something that really woke me up. I had baked a bread yesterday and the failure was total🙂🙂 It never really rose as it should and sort of sank together to one thick brick in the oven🙂 But I thought that I at least had to taste it before dismissing it. So I used my sharpest knife and cut deep right down in to my left thumb🙂🙂🙂 It isn’t as bad as when Joyce at Octoberfarm cut her thumb though. This is at the top so no tendons is even close, but I think I almost reached the bone🙂🙂🙂

 

Some plants, like my east Russian Red-berried Elderberry bush froze badly this weekend.

 

But the Scilla continued like nothing had happened.

 

And so did the crocuses.

 

And the flies came out from their hiding places to get some warmth from the sun.

 

It doesn’t hurt any longer but it still bleeds after a couple of hours but it is starting to heal now. I only had tiny plasters so since it wasn’t snowing I drove to the grocery store as soon as they opened. Naturally I came home without any plasters so now I have a several small ones to cover the wound🙂🙂🙂 It started to snow when I was at the grocery store but down here beside the mountain it’s mostly rain.

 

The creek is much bigger here close to the lake. I'm not allowed to pass behind that yellow sign You can see. We have a similar just outside the village but we are allowed to go to our homes🙂

 

There weren't that many cranes here where I walked but there were no humans either and that is a big plus🙂

 

 

I have to admit that I wouldn't want to live that close to the lake this time of year, just imagine the sound of 26 500 cranes early in the morning🙂

 

 

I brought my camera with me so I could make a stop by the lake. This second snowfall was just to much for many of the campers so I could see how they were driving away from the lake, but new ones are on the way. I didn’t go close to the lake itself but stopped close to the church where “our” creek passes by. I was totally alone so the cranes didn’t care much about me at all.

 

 

 

 

 

Well it’s time to stop now, I need new plasters on that thumb of mine🙂🙂🙂 It is no weather to go outside unnecessary so I’ll just stay indoors, drink lots of tea and perhaps read a book.

 

Hector's frozen paw print.

 

Have a great day!

23 thoughts on “That’s one way to wake up.

  1. oh no christer! so sorry to hear about your finger! i feel for you! i still don’t have a date for surgery. i am working on this as soon as the offices open this morning! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Well I did wake up🙂🙂🙂 But it isn’t even close to as bad as Your cut though.
      I do hope You’ll get surgery early this week!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. beautiful photos, sorry about the thumb, thank goodnes it wasn’t as bad as Joyce’s thumb, she really did a number on hers.The cranes always look so graceful flying and walking but when they land they look like a comedy act to me.I think you’re right, to live by the lake would be deafening I would imagine.I love the sound of the cranes flying over, we have sandhill cranes here , they look a bit different from yours, just in colouring though.Take care of your thumb, that must have been some very hard bread!Better luck today.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Well shit happens🙂🙂 and I am glad that it wasn’t as bad as Joyce’s thumb! But I have realized how much I use my left hand! Since I’m both left and right handed I do use my left hand all the time🙂🙂🙂

      Yes You are so right about cranes and they do look clumsy when they are landing🙂 The sound of that many cranes is actually unpleasant so I am glad I live some distance away from the lake🙂
      The Sandhill crane is more gracious than this one, but I do like them both even if I’ve only seen tha Sandhill cranes on photographs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Oh, brother, Christer!!! You and Joyce! What are we going to do with you! So: rule of thumb (pun intended): Do not try to slice brick bread! Wonderful crane photos, lucky no campers were there to ruin the shot!

    • Hi Robin!🙂 No next time when slicing brick bread use an ax! and keep all fingers away from the bread while doing it🙂🙂🙂

      The campers are closer to the tourist center they have by the lake, the cranes are closer to the ones looking at them there because they feed them there as long as they rest by the lake.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Fy!!! Jag rös långt in i märgen när du sa att du skurit dig:( Det är bland det otäckaste jag vet. Hoppas att du inte får problem nu med läkning och infektioner. Vilka fina bilder på tranorna:) Var rädd om dig nu och håll dig undan från knivarna/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      vanligtvis brukar det inte göra så ont när man skär sig med en vass kniv, utan det startar en stund efteråt. Denna gången gjorde det rejält ont när jag skar mig, men inget efteråt🙂🙂🙂

      Tror inte att det blir någon infektion, det verkar läka fint även om jag slagit upp såret en gång🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. No Easter Monday holiday here in Ontario unless you are a teacher, student, government worker or postal person. My husband found my best paring knife out in the composter this weekend, I guess I had thrown it out with the peelings one day. It could have been a disaster, but it ddn’t cut him. Blade is still sharp!

    • Hi Lois!
      Yes I read that about Canada! Strange that not the rest of the people get a holiday as well?

      He was lucky not to cut himself! Even though a composter is very good for anything growing I doubt it’s good to cut oneself with a knife that’s been laying there🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Sorry about the sliced thumb. I’ve done that once or twice but mostly my worst kitchen accidents have involved the heating element in the toaster oven or hot fat in a pan. I have some lovely scars.🙂

    Sweden seems to have a lot of holidays with a Monday off after them. Seems a very sensible thing to do to have a day off in order to recover from the holiday.😉

    Lovely shots of the cranes.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Well shit happens🙂🙂 and heating elements is a big cause of scares on me as well🙂🙂🙂

      We do have a couple holidays like that, I’ve never thought of that before. Well we have so few holidays as it is so I think we deserve long weekends🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Usch, det där med tummen låter läbbigt! Se nu till bara att du inte får in jord i såret – det är INTE bra!!😦
    Stackars Hampus, ser han inte ensam och längtande ut!? Jag vet att han har hjärtfel och inte får springa längre, men får han bara sitta kedjad ute?😦
    Får han aldrig några försiktiga promenader i koppel åtminstone!? Eller är det bara till er han längtar? Han skulle väl vilja springa runt med er, antar jag?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ingen risk med jord just nu i alla fall, inte riktigt väder fär det och inne har jag inte plats för mer som det är🙂🙂

      Nej Hampus har det faktiskt lite för bra🙂 De skämmer bort honom och han älskar att få sitta där ute🙂 Då får han ju chans att hälsa på alla som går förbi🙂 De är ute och promenerar mest hela tiden, men fort går det inte. Alla djur han får syn på måste studeras länge och väl och sedan får man ju inte missa ett endaste doftspår han kan stöta på🙂 Vi brukar ha sällskap ibland men får alltid lämna dem efter oss🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It’s so funny because a friend of mine that lives in bear country said just the same about that paw print🙂🙂🙂

      Well shit happens and sooner or later it will heal🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Sorry to hear about the thumb! Thank goodness it wasn’t worse.
    I hope you poured alcohol and hydrogen peroxide on it when it happened. So it doesn’t get infected.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Shit happens and now the thumb is healing fine🙂
      No I’m not crazy, that hurts soo bad🙂🙂🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever gotten an infection when cutting myself, I think it is our cold climate helping us with that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I had to laugh at your reply to most of the comments…Shit happens!!🙂 It’s one of our favorite sayings! In fact we use the word to pretty much describe all kinds of things!! Anyway, hope your thumb is starting to heal up ok and no more shit happens to you in the kitchen!🙂

    • Hi Kat!
      I just felt it was time for a short vacation from the entire internet (except for the e-mail):-) I’ll be back tomorrow again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. What great photo’s of the lake and the cranes. I don’t recall you ever posting one that close up…Neat!!
    Your thumb must be a bit better by today…I hope so! I grabbed hold of my iron while it was on HIGH, trying to save a stack of pressed dish towels..and grbbed the entire iron. I am now nursing a large blister across the palm of my hand..OUCH! A wounded hand is not fun…very hampering!
    (back to my catching up!)

    • Hi Mona!
      I think I actually got an even closer last spring when I was by the lake but I didn’t go to the place where they were closest to us humans this time. There aere just to many tourists there.

      My thumb is much better now🙂 It still has some healing to do but now I don’t care for any plaster.
      But burn injuries are much worse! I do hope it heals quickly! It is a pain in the … not to be able to use ones hands properly. Thankfully I’m both right and left handed🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

