It is April after all.

The blizzard got so bad that my camera had problems focusing on anything πŸ™‚

It is a rather nice morning despite the 15 cm (6 inches) of snow that is lying on the ground. But the sun is strong and even if it’s just above 0C (32F) the dripping from the roofs are intensive. This is what we swedes call a Springwinter day, snow on the ground but sunny and warm to bad I had to go through this when we already have had spring for quite some time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Well this is April so I guess this isn’t the last snow fall yet.

 

But my dogs wanted to go for a walk so out we went.

 

 

 

 

So what to do on a snowy Friday afternoon? I knew I shouldn’t have done it but I did it anyway, I looked at the movie Hachi: A Dog’s Tale. I remember the story from when I went to school. I had a teacher that every year before Christmas read a couple of chapters from a story throughout all of December. Every morning we sat there with the lights out, everyone with a candle burning at their desks, eating ginger breads and drinking Julmust. This was one of those stories she read to us.

 

Much nicer this morning.

 

Bertil followed like always.

 

 

 

I remember how we all tried to hide our tears, sobbing quietly trying to look as if we just didn’t care that much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I knew I shouldn’t have started to look at the movie, this time I didn’t have to look cool and didn’t either πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I actually don’t remember the whole story but it felt like the movie was rather close to the story I’ve heard. It is a true story though. In 1924 a Tokyo university professor (Hidesaburō Ueno)Β found a stray dog and they became friends for life. Every morning the dog followed the professor to the train station and waited for him to come home every afternoon and then followed him home.

 

 

The Forbidden Forest.

 

 

 

This continued until the professor suddenly died from a stroke while being at work (May 1925). Hachi continued to go to the train station (even though he got a new home) every day, just waiting there for his loved owner to come back. Hachi became famous after one of the professors students wrote several articles about him and people started giving him food. 1934 they made a statue of him and he was there himself seeing the unveiling of it πŸ™‚ After have waited nine years he finally died (March 8, 1935. The movie says 1934 but that’s wrong). There is actually a recording when one can hear Hachi bark πŸ™‚ and, (I’m not sure I like this) they stuffed him and he can be seen at the National Science Museum in Ueno.

 

 

 

 

 

The statue was melted down during the WW2 but remade 1948. I remember that I decided that I one day in life should get an Akita, the same breed Hachi was and it’s still not to late πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure my dogs just would run to the one giving them food if I suddenly never came home again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

34 thoughts on “It is April after all.

  1. I think you are wrong on this one Christer, your dogs would morn for you if you went away, you treat them so well.They would have a difficult time without you.Sorry about the snow, surely it will melt off quickly!

    • Hi Laurie!
      They would miss me yes, but they wouldn’t hesitate to move where the food is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Well this is typical April weather, it can turn within a day or two and become summer hot instead πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hey Christer,
    Beautiful pictures of the snow fall. We have had rain in stead of snow. It has turned cooler too. I don’t think it will last long. Some where they say April bring showers, but in your case snow. I liked the dog story. Seems to me I have heard it before. I think your dogs would really miss you. They know they have a good thing. Dogs are smart.
    I am having Easter at my home. All the family and there others. Having Glazed Ham, German potato salad, aspargus, yellow squash casserole. My Grand daughters are making a cake. To bad you live so far away you could share our dinner with us.
    Have a good day, and Happy Easter.
    Donna

    • Hi Donna!
      We have a similar saying about snow instead πŸ™‚

      You have most likely heard about that dog some time in Your life, it is world famous.

      Yes it is a bit too far away πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Even with a couple of flights I still wouldn’t be there until perhaps tomorrow at best πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I agree with Laurie, your dogs love you dearly.
    I accidently saw the “preview” of that movie while waiting for the actual DVD movie to come on. I stood there transfixed on that little bit of film and just started to sob.
    NO! I will never never never watch that film. I could barely stand to watch “8 Below”, it about killed me. I only continued because I HAD to make sure he came back. And even “Lassie” rips my heart out.

    sorry about the snow…it’s kinda cool here today (in the 50’s)
    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Hi Cindi!
      No I don’t think You should see this one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You wouldn’t see that much anyway through all those tears πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love that story and I think the movie is veru good as well and I cried a lot πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      This is April and there’s nothing I can do about it, just long for May πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, my sympathy for the 6 inches of snow. I hope we have seen the last of snow here. So far, so good. I cannot bear to watch heart-breaking movies with animals,, and I know I will not watch Hachi. As for your dogs just going to one who feeds them…I do believe you are completely wrong. Your boys and the little girl are devoted to you. Even the bitter Bertil would miss you. So there! Hope the snow melts fast for you!

    • Hi Robin!
      At least its slowly melting down now. This weather is unfortunately what kills most of the bushes and trees I have that comes from north america. I have four Osage Orange trees and they were looking fine until these last days of really cold weather and then snow on that. I hope they’ll survive because I think no other Osage Orange trees grow this far north and in such a hard climate either.

      It is a sad movie but Lasse HallstrΓΆm made a good ending of it. But still, it is very sad.

      Yes they would miss me but I know my dogs, they would move to the food πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I think You are right about Bertil, I am the only human he accepts so he would be lost. His brother is like the dogs, home is where food is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i can’t watch sad animal movies. lucky you to get snow again! at least we are cooler now. have a good easter! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      If so this is not a movie for You πŸ™‚ It does have a nice ending though.
      I so wish I could send this snow to You πŸ™‚ I know how much You would enjoy it! It is still so cold that we have plenty left until tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Vittran!

      Glad pΓ₯sk till dig och din familj ocksΓ₯!
      Det blev inte speciellt vcarmt idag sΓ₯ det kommer nog att finnas mycket snΓΆ kvar till i morgon Γ€r jag rΓ€dd.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,

    Lovely pictures of light through the snowfall. Still, you would probably have preferred light through new leaves. πŸ™‚
    We’re having seasonably cool temperatures with a little bit of sun and a lot of puffy clouds. It’s supposed to warm up in a week, just in time to be too warm for the Boston Marathon. Figures.

    Put me in the group with those who don’t watch sad animal stories. I have never heard of Hachi but I guess it to be like Greyfriars Bobby. Nothing is like Old Yeller or The Yearling. In those the child has to kill the pet which is even more disturbing.
    My dog would be like yours. Go where the food is especially if the people are nice. Hey, he’s a former street dog. It’s a matter of survival.

    Enjoy your day and have a Happy Easter.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes I would have preferred sun through new leafs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We’ll have plenty of snow left till tomorrow, it never got especially warm here today. But it will be warmer after easter again, that is also typical πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Old Yeller is terrible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think that is one of the worst films I’ve seen due to the killing of the dog. The others I haven’t heard of so now I’ll have to check them out πŸ™‚

      Nice to know it isn’t just my dogs that will follow the food πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great easter!
      Christer.

  7. Food or no food around…your dogs would certainly grieve your loss…we’ll all let you know, if that happens…then we can say…we told you so! πŸ™‚ Yes, that story is worldly famous and I always get teary when I hear it but probably couldn’t watch it…then there would be a flood in the house!
    Actually no…goats will not eat just anything…some are very picky, unless of course there are peanuts around…in the shell! πŸ™‚

    Beautiful snow in the sun photos!

    • Hi Chris!
      Yes they would be worried but they would follow the food πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I know my dogs very well πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I cry like a baby just thinking about that story πŸ™‚ I don’t know why I watched the film when I know how I will react πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes snow is beautiful in photographs, not in reality though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Du milde vad snΓΆ du har hos dig:( HΓ€r fΓΆrsvann det i ungefΓ€r samma takt som det fΓΆll ner pΓ₯ marken:)) SΓ₯ nu har vi det precis som det var innan:) Vilken fruktansvΓ€rt sorglig historia om Hachi, sΓ₯dan dΓ€r lΓ€sning som skulle ha grΓ₯tit floder av att lΓ€sa. GLAD PΓ…SK PΓ… DIG/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Det Γ€r inte fΓΆr inte som jag kallar detta fΓΆr lilla sibirien πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Ja historien om Hachi Γ€r sorglig och jag snΓΆrvlar pΓ₯ rejΓ€lt bara jag tΓ€nker pΓ₯ den πŸ™‚

      Ha en trevlig pΓ₯sk!
      Christer,

  9. These snow photos are delightful but who would have thought this blizzard would hit after such a nice run of good weather? We all had our doubts. I did not see that movie. I would ask if maybe it’s Swedish and not translated for over here. My neighbor told me this morning that Easter is a Pagan holiday and the Christians decided to run Passover at the same time to keep their flock together. He could be right. Well enjoy your Sunday.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well I’m not surprised about this blizzard at all, this is something that happens in April up here.

      It is an american movie with Richard Gere playing the professor. It is directed by the Swede Lasse HallstrΓΆm though.

      I wouldn’t say that Your neighbor is correct at all. This is actually a Jewish holiday in the beginning, they celebrate the leaving of Egypt. So our Easter is celebrated at the same time as the Jewish one is. But there is pagan holidays celebrated around this time as well but they have nothing to do with our easter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Hello
    All of your posting were so much fun this week πŸ™‚
    From Sponge Bob to Easter hags to Hachi.
    And some great pictures!!!!
    Have a Happy Happy Pask
    C

    • Hi CS!
      πŸ™‚
      I could hear how they tried to scare the returning easter hags yesterday evening. So much fire work in the air that it sounded like a little war was going on πŸ™‚ Nothing here in the village though πŸ™‚

      Have a happy easter!
      Christer.

      • Well its pretty obvious to me that Mr. Personally (also affectionately known as the Bertil) keeps the village, you and the neighbor’s hag free. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • Hi CS!
        You’re probably right πŸ™‚ He and that other cat can keep anything on a distance πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  11. Ok, I know you are not fond of the snow, but the night and day scenes were really very beautiful. We also have had spring weather and now it has turned much cooler,but without snow or rain, just wind. I am a fan of Richard Gere, but after seeing previews, knew this one would be too sad, like Marley and Me. Hope you enjoy the holiday and that it warms up.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I do enjoy it when we get a too early spring here even if I know this most likely will happen πŸ™‚ April is still young so this might happen again I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      If one doesn’t know the story it actually is a very nice one for almost all the movie. But since I knew the ending I just sat here sobbing all the time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I haven’t seen Marley and me, I started but had to do something else. But I have read the book and that is in most parts a hilarious book to read πŸ™‚

      It doesn’t seem to warm up until after the holiday πŸ™‚

      Have a great easter!
      Christer.

  12. What beautiful photos! Oh, how I wish that I were looking at the same thing. Just beautiful. I, too, watched Hachi and it is a beautiful, and true, story, just like the one about Greyfriars Bobby. Animals have a devotion that humans can only aspire to.

    • Hi myroseindecember!
      It really is a nice story when not knowing the end πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I started sobbing the minute I started looking at it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’ll have to check Greyfriars Bobby now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  13. One more movie to recommend: FLUKE. Strange name, wonderful story. A bit sad but very funny in places and seeing it makes it worth the bit of sadness. I saw it for the first time three days after a hysterectomy – it must have been the day my body realized I was missing hormones and it took nothing to make me cry. Charlotte’s Web was on first and I bawled. Then came Fluke. My doctor said he could hear my sobbing when he got off the elevator! One of my favorite dog movies of all times. Nancy

    • Hi myroseindecember!
      I suddenly remembered Greufriars Bobby! Yes that is a good and sad story as well.
      I remember when Charlotte dies and I remember how I cried loudly inn the cinema πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I had to check about Fluke though. It never became popular here and I’m not even sure it made it to the dvd’s. Some movies just doesn’t work in some places wiuthout any one understanding why. But I feel I have cried wnough for a while now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great easter!
      Christer.

      • I know Fluke made it to DVD in the US. I hope you can see it. Some parts just make you laugh outloud, especially the antics by the big dog Fluke pals around with. I have watched it at least 10 times.

      • I found out it’s a rather old movie so I doubt I’ll be able to find it, but I’ll keep my eyes open for it.

  14. The most beautiful of snow scenes…here I am clear back to the 7th of April…. HOW did I miss so much. I usually don’t. Just ran behind.
    Akita’s are very like the one in the story. Do you remember how the Akit’s acted …the one that was involved in the murder that surrounded O.J. Simpson?? The American footfall player (who is now in prison!) Anyway…the Akita that belonged to his wife..is the one that howled and howled outside the gate of his wife’s home until someone came and he lead them to the bodies of the young woman and her friend. They are extremely loyal I have heard.

    • Hi Mona!
      I didn’t know that it was an Akita they had. But I have read that about them and perhaps that’s what I like most about them. I still have time to get one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      So Oj is in prison now, I think I heard something about that some time ago. He never was especially famous here since his sport is tiny in my country. But he was fun in those movies, that I’ll have to give him πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

