The Easter bunny will freeze to death today.

It was quite nice weather when Nova woke me up around 5:30 this morning and it stayed that way until we were going out for our morning walk. As soon as we stepped outside the snow began to fall and the wind got stronger. So I decided single-handed that the walk should be a short one๐Ÿ™‚ but the dogs didn’t seem to mind that much anyway๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

The snowfall that came early this morning was kind of nice compared to what came later. I had to have the shutter on low speed so it was hard to catch thge snowflakes in the photo.

 

 

We mostly walked in the forest today to avoid the muddy roads as much as possible. The ground in the forest however is frozen solid. I hope that means lots of ticks will die, I've already picked one from Nova.

 

Then the rain came and the wind slowed down some, it actually got quite nice. So we went out for another walk in a spring drizzle and the wind was sort of lukewarm, at least until we had walked some distance out into the forest. Then everything changed quickly. The wind got strong and nasty cold and the snow started to fall once again, this time the temperature dropped beneath 0C (32F) so I guess this will stay for some time.

 

 

 

 

The boys don't mind laying on the ground getting snow all over them๐Ÿ™‚

 

Nova however prefers to sit in my not so tidy patio beneath a roof๐Ÿ™‚

 

The 26 500 cranes by the lake ( new record) will survive though, they get food every day and those nesting furthest north are used to snow fall in the middle of summer anyway. But I think that if the Easter bunny would come here it would freeze to death๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily for him he isn’t that well known here so I doubt he will come๐Ÿ™‚ I guess it is gigantic easter hen that lays our candy filled easter eggs๐Ÿ™‚

 

It was much harder not to capture the snowfall on our second walk๐Ÿ™‚ It was bad in the beginning and it only got worse๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Not a happy camper.

 

Neither is Nova.

 

I’ve sown the seeds I have had in my fridge for a couple of months now, they have been there in moist paper towels wrapped in plastic. But now they are in pots with soil and placed outdoors. This is actually perfect weather for them, many seeds needs lots of changing in temperature the last month or so to be able to germinate. They contain chemicals that stops them from germinating until that happens. So with a bit of luck I’ll have a couple of magnolias and American Persimmons this summer. I’ve tried magnolias here before but the climate is just to tough for most of them but now I’ve sown the two hardiest of them all. Magnolia kobus and Magnolia acuminata.

 

 

Hungry deers and moose have stripped trees from its bark when there's nothing else to eat.

 

 

 

I would like to make a pie or cobbler today but I don’t have any fruits. I’m wondering if I can use jam in a cobbler? That I have plenty off๐Ÿ™‚ I think it would work if I skip any sugar in the dough since there is plenty in the jam. I have a jar of raspberry and peach jam in the fridge, I have it on my porridge every morning. I think I’ll try anyway๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The fire will be burning in the stove all day and lots of pots with tea will be made๐Ÿ™‚

 

I think we've gotten five centimeters (two inches) in less than half an hour and it just continues to fall.
Happy easter๐Ÿ™‚

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “The Easter bunny will freeze to death today.

  1. oh my gosh, winters return, please keep that on your side of the ocean, it always amazes me the different personalities of the dogs, howsome will lie down in the cold wind and snow other seek out refuge from it.We have had both sorts of dogs, our last dog was a softie and hated the rain and snow, unless the magic word was spoken, “walk”, that made all fears disappear.I cannot even imagine what that many Cranes would sound like, something prehistioric I would think! Good luck with your cobbler , I think the jam will work, maybe you could lossen it with apple sauce, just a thought, Have a great weekend, hope the bunny doesn’t show up, I would hate to have to tell my grand children he froze to death in Norway!

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes it really has returned and with full strength! Now I think we have around 10 centimeters of that white garbage.
      I know that if Hector and Orvar could decide they would have it this cold all the time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully at least Nova is more like me๐Ÿ™‚

      The cranes are pretty quiet at the moment but as soon as the snow stops falling they most likely will start their serenade and it is loud๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t have apple sauce I’m afraid but I’ll see if I can use something else. Something not so sweet๐Ÿ™‚

      But I live in sweden๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ So I wouldn’t feel guilty if it died in Norway๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      CXhrister.

      • ha ha, thats a good one, I keep thinking you live in Norway! Sorry, I got that wrong!!! I feel so embarassed,
        I still think you would be sad if the Easter bunny froze to death!Anywhere!!

      • Hi Laurie!๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t be embarrassed! We almost speak the same languages and I would love to live in Norway but it is just to expensive in that country. Norwegians with low pension moves to us and suddenly they have a lot more money๐Ÿ™‚ Sweden is a much cheaper country to live in.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  2. hi christer! bertil sure does not look happy! we are bright and sunny here but it thankfully is a bit cool. are you doing anything special for easter. not much happening here except for the guys going to baseball games. there is not much i can cook one handed! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      That’s just his favorite mood showing๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll stay at home all easter, this is not a weather I like and especially not to drive in.
      I hope Your hand heals quickly!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I don’t blame Nova for sitting on the patio underneath a roof especially after getting snow in the face during the walk. Poor Bertil all covered in snow chunks. That would make me an unhappy cat.

    What variety of persimmon did you sow? I didn’t think they would grow so far north.

    I would try to get that moose-eaten branch for the pond. The gnaw patterns are very attractive. I might even try clear-coating it to make sure it stayed that way.๐Ÿ™‚

    Mid-forties Fahrenheit here and partly sunny. Rocky is at doggy play school running off some extra energy while I do boring errands all over the place. Grocery shopping is next on the list. Bleh.

    The jam cobbler sounds interesting but I’m not sure about leaving out the sugar in the dough. I think there’s some chemical thing that sugar does with dough. You might end up with a giant cracker filled with jam. Hmm. Could work.
    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I fully understand Nova๐Ÿ™‚ But to be honest, Bertil never likes anything๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It is the species I’ve sown (Diospyrus virginiana). It will most likely survive here even though it is very much north to what it is used to. But I doubt it ever will give any fruit, our spring comes to late and autumn comes to early. So it might start giving fruit but they will most likely never ripen. I have Osage orange growing in my garden, they survived even the two latest winters in pots above the ground when we had so cold weather and they have around the same hardiness.

      Unfortunately all those branches still are attached to the tree๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ So I can’t bring home any of them.

      A giant cracker You say, sounds pretty interesting๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Now I really has to try it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You could find a way to make the branch not attached to the tree any longer but make it look like the beavers did it.

      • Hi Caryn!
        Well I think the forest owner would have a hard time believing beavers would use a chain saw๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ That is actually a rather thick tree trunk You can see in that photo๐Ÿ™‚ and it has to be that big if it would be noticeable by the pond. Besides, his daughter and son in law lives so they could see when I was removing anything from that spot๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        Christer.

  4. Good afternoon Christer, wonderful snow photos, especially with the boys, the girl, and The Cat. I also really liked the pussy willows and tree branches, very nice. Thankfully it is not snowing here, though we had a very hard frost last night, again. Sunny skies today, about mid 40s F. I don’t know about a cobbler, but my mother used to roll out pie dough and spread jam on it, then fold over and bake. Turned out quite delightfully. She would prick the dough with a fork after folding over. Looking forward to seeing the sprouts of the seeds you planted. A quiet Easter weekend sounds perfect to me. Take care!

    • Hi Robin!
      To bad for me that I hate this weather๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll make that cobbler tomorrow instead but I have to say that what Your mother used to do sounds rather tasty. I might actually try that!

      Let us just hope those seeds germinate๐Ÿ™‚ One never knows with seeds๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      In was pretty sure this would happen too and it might happen again. This is typical April weather here, the early spring was very untypical๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Oh Ugh!! I’m with Nova under some shelter!! She must be the smart one around there!๐Ÿ™‚ Great shots of the animals and love that moose-chewed branch. I have goats and they do the same thing….they love bark! Yum!
    Stay warm and cozy by the fire!!

    • Hi Chris!
      Yes she must be the smart one๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But to be fair to the boys, they are a big part New Foundland and have that thick isolating fur, so thay don’t think this is cold in any way. All temperatures above 10C (50F) feels to hot for them๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m not surprised that gots do the same, from what I know they tend to eat anything๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. OK, I’ll stop grumbling about our cool weather today. I woke up to low 30’s and finally it’s in the 50’s. I guess I’m already used to warm weather.
    I can’t eat pie so I don’t want to even think about it.๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ but if I did, I’d bake the dough and then spread jam on top.
    I hope little Bertil got warm right after that photo!
    Take care and watch out for the Giant Chicken!

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well I could just make shortbread biscuits and put jam on them๐Ÿ™‚ That would be rather easy but then I’ll have no use for the vanilla pudding I thought I should have with what ever I’ll make๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Bertil went in with us and slept in his favorite spot๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day! .
      Christer

  7. I went to college in Buffalo, NY and remembering calling my Mom to say I could not get home for Easter because Buffalo was in a blizzard and the Buffalo and Rochester airports were closed. Since it was sunny and in the 70s in the Philadelphia area, she did not believe me and thought I just wanted to stay in Buffalo with my new beau. I do remember one March Easter in Philly when everything was closed. It was in the late 60s and wicked. I miss snow. We had one paltry snow storm this past winter season, not enough to keep me happy. My Beagles used to love the snow. We had a small hill in our back yard and they would slide down it on their backs, happy as could be, or go through it nose to the ground like a shovel, snow piling up on their noses. Easter Sunday should be nice here, in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. However, we had such strong winds two nights ago that my screen was pulled out of my living room window! The maintenance man said at least 20 fall out a year in heavy winds. Have a Happy Easter and thanks for all the enjoyment your blog brings over the year.

    • Hi myroseindecember!
      We never know when this kind of weather will hit us๐Ÿ™‚
      I remember the day I graduated from high school, June sixth. Just when we were going out the snow started to fall like crazy for about ten minutes๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully the sun came back and melted it all away quickly๐Ÿ™‚

      Most of my dogs has loved the snow, Nova not so much though. She likes to run around in it for a couple of minutes but that’s it๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • We have never had snow in June in PA, that I remember but we did have a brief snow shower on 6/1, the year I lived in Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

