Easter traditions.

The clouds has already arrived, now we're waiting for the snow.

It is already chaos on the roads and then the snow hasn’t arrived yet. This is one of the absolute worst holidays when it comes to traffic so I always prefer to stay at home. So since the weather will be pretty nasty I won’t do anything than relaxing and eating I think🙂🙂🙂

 

The wind was to strong to get a good photo of these.

 

 

Easter is called Påsk in swedish (pronounce the å like the o in boring and You almost say it like we do🙂 ) and our celebration is very much a mix between the Christian one and lots of folklore. The witch for instance is actually our most important easter symbol. Last night and today is the day the witches travel to Blåkulla, an island outside the east coast in southern Sweden. There they’ll have a big party with the devil. They will travel back home on the night towards easter day and then, in this region I live and almost only here, it is tradition to have huge bonfires burning and fireworks to scare them away🙂🙂🙂

 

Yesterday was much nicer even though it was -10C (14F) in the morning. But the sun shone and the wind kept its distance all day.

 

 

Most will travel by broom but it isn’t uncommon to travel by a big animal like cow or horse or by any bigger tree branch they can find. They normally bring a black cat and an old coffee pot made of copper. Many kids will dress up as witches (or if I translate the name right, easter hags🙂🙂🙂 and boys like wizards now days thanks to harry Potter). Then they’ll walk around in the neighborhood wishing them a happy easter, sometimes giving away easter cards and then they’ll usually get candy in return. We only have one kid here and I doubt he’ll be walking around, he is way to shy🙂

 

 

 

Many decorate their homes with (Påskris) twigs, like a bouquet, decorated with brightly colored feathers, small brightly colored plastic or paper eggs and easter hags. I couldn’t fins any feathers and forgot to buy new ones so I won’t have any påskris this year. Since easter is early and it is rather cold now most people will buy flowerpots with Easter lilies, You call them Daffodils.  The food is very much the same as most holidays. Pickled herring, meatballs, prince sausages, salmon and so on but naturally we’ll have eggs in all variations as well🙂

 

 

 

On easter eve all kids get an easter egg filled with candy🙂 I do miss them and there’s no use for me to make one myself because I know I’ll eat all the candy before easter anyway🙂🙂🙂 It is good easter eve is on a Saturday, because we have something we call Saturday candy. Most people try to keep their kids away from candy as much as possible (at least as long as they are young) But they do get candy on Saturdays, I’ve heard that this is a very swedish thing.

 

 

 

It is time for me to put in more fire logs in the stove. The wind is already strong and the temperature will drop tonight again. After that I’ll make myself a pot of tea and something to eat. I guess it will be a sandwich or two🙂

 

I guess most easter hags flew to Blåkulla already last night since it was calm with a clear sky with lots of moon light. Everyone new this day would be much worse🙂 Most will probably go by broom, cows are rare now days🙂

 

Have a great day!

25 thoughts on “Easter traditions.

  1. have a great Easter weekend, light a big fire to keep those partying witches away! Such wonderful folklore you have, we are such a young country, Canada, we are just a mixed up pot of different nationalites, so we have no one set tradition, I think most just follow what our ancestors brought with them, the only true Canadians are the Native people, we all came to party later, The Inuit and Native Canadians I doubt very much have any true Easter traditions, but we all certainly buy into the chocolate eggs and coloured eggs.We fill baskets with marshmallow eggs and chocolate bunnies, the church going people go to church and the rest of us have a big dinner of usually ham and potato salads with devilled eggs, eggs are featured always at Easter.I think your traditions are far more interesting.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I will but I’m trying to see the witches flying to Blåkulla🙂

      New traditions are coming with our immigrants and it will be fun to see how they will mix together with ours in the future.

      The easter bunny isn’t that well known here. We do eat chocolate bunnies but I doubt most of us born here actually know why we have bunnies at easter🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Happy Easter. Easter hags sound like a fun idea. Easter always made me feel rather haggish as a child. I didn’t mind the new Easter hat and pocket book but the white shoes were a bother with spring mud all over the place and the froo-froo dress was always lined with nylon and scratched like an angry cat.
    Over here Easter is a mix of religious and pagan tradition. The religious folk go to church on Good Friday, some have a midnight service on Saturday and many others have a sunrise service on Easter Sunday.
    The Easter Bunny comes the night before Easter, like Santa Claus, and leaves baskets full of candy; jelly beans, chocolate eggs, chocolate bunnies. You always bite the bunny’s ears and tail off first. I don’t know why. It’s tradition.🙂
    Easter lilies over here are really the white Madonna Lily, I think, but there are also daffodils, tulips, hyacinth and crocus. The Easter meal is usually ham or lamb but pork roast is making a big showing lately.
    Sunny but cool here today. I have a cold and Rocky is bored because I’m not up for a long walk out in the wind.
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Happy Easter!
      That does sound a bit uncomfortable🙂 I can’t remember if we actually had any special clothes at easter, I honestly don’t remember that🙂🙂
      The Easter Bunny isn’t that well known here. We do eat chocolate bunnies but that’s it and we fill these eggs made of plastic or papier-maché with lots of candy🙂 Usually we only have the daffodils flowering here by easter so that’s why they are called easter lilies. The Narcissus is called Pentecost lily since they usually flowers around pentecost.

      I was thinking about that track that You thought might be from a beaver. Can it be a track from a Nutria? We have them here and they are rather big, smaller than a beaver though. I think they might like a pond like Yours, they are seen as a nuisance in most parts of the world🙂 I’ve seen one in my life and before I saw the tail I thought it was a young beaver🙂
      Take care and get better from that cold!
      Christer.

      • I forgot about nutria. There are a lot of them in Louisiana and perhaps other southern areas of USA. I have never seen one nor have I heard of any being this far north and east. But who knows?
        Personally, I think the water table has risen because the normal drainage pattern for the slope was changed by the access road that the town installed. We’ll see what the mosquito control person has to say, if he ever shows up.

      • I had forgotten about those too. We only have them because some fur farms had them long ago. Like all animals they escaped and now we have them living here too. But I think this might be as far north as they can manage, usually they spread like rats🙂 but not here. They are rather big so I was surprised when I realized it wasn’t a small beaver.

        That could be the reason. Do You think they’ll fix it or is that something You’ll have to live with?
        Christer.

  3. hi christer! i love to hear these stories! not much of easter anything going on here this year. i can only make right handed food! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I’ll try to find more of swedish traditions from other parts of the country. I do like these things too🙂

      To bad about You hand! It must feel awful since I know how much You enjoy cooking! I hope it heals quickly and without any problems further on!

      Take care!
      Christer.

  4. Tycker att dina beskrivningar av våra svenska högtider är så himla bra:)) Fast när man läser dem på engelska verkar vi ju helt puckade:)) Ha en underbar påskhelg och jag hoppas att du får lite godis du med:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monica!
      Visst låter det lustigare när man läser det på engelska🙂🙂🙂 Hur i hela friden översätter man påskris🙂🙂🙂

      Åt tyvärr upp mitt godis redan i bilen på vägen hem🙂 Kanske lika bra det egentligen🙂🙂🙂

      Ha en Glad Påsk!
      Christer.

  5. Sounds like our Halloween which is late October. We have no plans this year as my daughter couldn’t get on a flight and so she arrives late Tuesday, well after Easter Sunday. But a week with our grandson will be marvelous!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes it is a bit like Your Halloween🙂

      But the important thing is that Your daughter and grandchild comes, doesn’t matter if it is at easter really🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I don’t know what happened to my other comment, Christer, but I’ll try again. Love your Easter traditions. You can look for me flying over your house on my broom wishing you the best of Easter holidays. Our weather is willy-nilly and I’m just hoping that my garden doesn’t suffer in the predicted frost. Soon, it will be summer and we can complain about the heat.🙂🙂

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I hate it when comments just vanish like that! Happens all the time for me in Your blog and in Zoey & Me’s too!

      You must be writing this on Your way here then or do You fly fast🙂🙂🙂 I’ll keep an eye at the sky🙂
      I love reading about traditions from all over the world🙂 They may sound corny sometimes but they are important to us.

      Summer won’t arrive until late May or early June I’m afraid🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. If I were a sensitive type, Christer, I would be insulted by the term “Easter Hag”, but I know you would never use that term directed towards some of the real witches you know, lol!! Your Swedish traditions are most enjoyable to read about. I am also interested to hear about Candy Saturday. I don’t think that would go very well over here in the US…too many parents allow their kids to eat anything and everything they want, anytime they want. Well, my traveling broom is in the shop, and it is also very cold, so I won’t be making the trip to Blakulla this year. WIshing you a delightful Easter eating your favorite Easter foods. Not too many chocolate bunnies though! Give the family lots of pats and love!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Actually hag isn’t the right translation but it is the best I know. We call them Påskkärring and kärring can mean hag but it can also mean my loved one. This is a word used only on older women to be honest. Do You have a better word for that?

      I don’t know when this Saturday candy started but it must be a rather old tradition here. We all know candy is bad for our teeth and I think it might have been something started by dentists. It’s fun to listen to parents when walking in the grocery store, kids are begging to get only that little one of what ever candy they prefer and the parents then usually answers: Yes You can have that one now but nothing on Saturday🙂🙂🙂 I’ve never heard a kid choosing that instead of Saturday candy🙂🙂🙂 The rest of the week they can get as much fruit as they want. But this only works until the kids get money of their own🙂🙂🙂

      I didn’t see much last night when looking up at the sky, to many clouds I’m afraid🙂 and I ate all my candy in the car while driving home🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I like the sound of your tradition for Easter. The bonfires and black cats! Oh my! Sounds like Halloween.
    When I was very young, me and my sister would be dressed up in fancy Easter dresses and hats and little white gloves and shiny patent leather shoes. We would go to church and then out to eat. The best part of the day was early that morning waking up to discover Easter baskets and stuffed bunnies everywhere, one year I woke up to a real live white bunny in my bed.
    After my Mom passed away, my Dad remarried and me and my sister watched movies and ate pizza on Easter while they went to church and out to eat with her relatives.
    In the town where I live, there are A LOT of Catholics. So Easter is a VERY big deal and all the restauants around here offer fish for their main selections. I know it was to do with the Catholic faith but I have no idea why it is….and that’s all I’m saying about that faith.😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      In a way it does sound like Your Halloween.
      I can’t remember ever dressing up for Easter. I think we just went to my grandmother’s for dinner and met all the relatives. We were a lot of kids so they knew it was useless to dress us up in any special way, we would just get dirty directly while being out playing🙂🙂🙂

      There were only a few catholics when I grew up so I really have very little idea how they celebrated.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

