I’m glad the wage negotiations will start when petrolprices are as high as they are.

I’m rather happy that I remembered to turn on the radiators yesterday because tonight the temperature dropped low. -8C (18F) when I drove to work this morning and it never really got warm at all today, it barely went over 0C (32F) even if the sun shone all day and the wind kept away. I filled my car with petrol the other day and now it costs 15,83 swedish kronor/liter. That would be 2,29 Canadian dollar/ liter and 8,7 US dollar/gallon. I don’t like it at all.

 

 

 

 

Now there’s only two more work days left this week and then I’ll have a long weekend. Four days free from work and I’ll enjoy every second of them even if the weather will be rather cold with risk of snowfall. I’ve also signed when I want to have my vacation this summer. They close down the factory for three weeks and I can either have a week before or after too if I want to. I want an early vacation so now I’ll have four weeks from week 28๐Ÿ™‚ I save my fifth week for Christmas. With those five days I can take three weeks vacation in total with the holidays included๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

Next week the wage negotiations will start (and end I hope). We already know that we’ll get 3% more this year but now we will negotiate about how much each and everyone will get. Those 3% is like a wage frame, so some can get more than 3% and some less. We’ll get someone from the big guys coming to negotiate for us and since I was the last union chairman we had I’ll be there too. I won’t have much to say really, I’ll be there more like a witness to what is decided. Naturally they’ll ask me if I agree with the owner but that’s it and I’m happy for that๐Ÿ™‚ No one get as much crap as those negotiating wages because no one is happy with what they get๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

Bitter cold weather doesn't stop the Lungwort from flowering.

 

It is time to put in more firelogs in the stove because this night will most likely get as cold as the last one was.

 

The moon is like a giant Christmas tree ornament in the pine๐Ÿ™‚

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I’m glad the wage negotiations will start when petrolprices are as high as they are.

  1. hi christer! you sure get lots of vacation. at least, compared to here. sorry you have cold weather again! you should send it to me then we both would be happy! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I was just thinking about that this morning, that You would love this cold weather๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think most of Europe has four or five weeks of paid vacation every year. The French has even more. But we up here have fewer holidays than the rest of Europe. But by combining holidays and vacation we can get many weeks away from work๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. wow, that shot with the moon is amazing, enjoy your long weekend, gas in Canada is bouncing up and down, $1.45 a liter here in Northern Ontario.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I just had to take a photograph when I saw the moon like that๐Ÿ™‚

      So the gas is cheaper than ours but still more expensive than in USA. They say it will become much more expensive when summer and vacation time is here!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I used to hate negotiating wages when I was a union man. It was also time consuming and you never make any friends even when the increase is a good one. There is never enough. We did get a good health care benefit for dock workers once but their raise was only 2%. But they grabbed it because the health care card was 100% major medical and $10 per doctor visit. Back then it was probably the best deal in town. Photos look great today. You must be happy with summer just around the corner.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’m so glad that I won’t have anything to do with the negotiations any longer๐Ÿ™‚ Everyone hates You afterworlds and complains about what others might have gotten and that they aren’t worth it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think that was a good health care deal! Since I do have my diseases I would have loved a deal like that!

      I’m just hoping spring returns soon again๐Ÿ™‚ Summer won’t come until late May I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The gas here is about $3.80 a gallon, and it is consider a crisis and is an issue in the presidental race for the republicans who blame everything on the president.

    I hated negotiating when I was president of the union. It was a small union, only the assistant principals so we had little leverage.

    • Hi Kat!
      I wish our prices were like Yours! I think a republican would get an heart attack if You got our prices for a while๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I hated it too and I’m so glad I don’t have to do it any longer! Everyone complained after and some can go on and on and on forever!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, chilly here at night too, but not as low as 18 degrees F. I filled our Subaru up last night and it was $3.99 a gallon, which is a few cents lower than a lot of other places. We have been trying to get the minimum wage here in the US raised for some time now, but nothing so far. Love the photo of the moon, really great shot. That is wonderful that you have so much vacation time…I know you will use it wisely!

    • Hi Robin!
      It was even colder this morning, only 14F. But the sun was shining and we had no wind so I kind of enjoyed it๐Ÿ™‚

      We don’t have minimum wages here and that actually makes the wages higher for low income takers๐Ÿ™‚ The unions have concentrated on raising them many years now. Still i wouldn’t say they make a lot of money.

      I just had to take a photo when I saw the moon like that๐Ÿ™‚

      Still, I wouldn’t complain if we got more vacation, like the french people๐Ÿ™‚ Or perhaps a couple of more holidays, we have none in after Midsummer until Yule.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I forgot I turned my heater off after the 90 degree weather we had been having. When I woke this morning it was 59 degrees in my house. brrr
    Pictures are beautiful as always.

  7. Enjoy your long holiday weekend, Christer. Do you have any special plans or will you visit any friends or family? We are now on the first part of our Easter visit with family and it seems that we are usually the ones doing all the driving around, but then it is easier for us to do this since we are retired. Gas prices are still high here too which makes this travel a bit costly. The weather is cooler than in recent weeks, but. I snow here.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I will๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ll stay at home all the time, already now its chaos on the roads and then the snow hasn’t come yet. This is one of the worst weekends in traffic every year. For some reason people seems to be more careful in traffic around Christmas and Midsummer. I’m also mostly the one driving around to others just because it is easier for me, I only put the dogs in the car and then I can drive away๐Ÿ™‚

      They say snow will arrive later tonight and it will continue until tomorrow sometime. I can’t say I’m looking forward to it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. ok, wait a minute. How much vacation do you get it total for the whole year? and is it paid?
    I’ve been at my job 10 years and I get 2 weeks, that’s it. And that’s all it will ever be. I know this for a fact because I just asked my boss in front of everyone at work.๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I didn’t get a raise last year and now this year is making it 2.
    But he does give us some bonus money each month IF the months sales are increased by a certain percentage from last year. Some months it’s maybe 50 cents an hour, some a dollar and then some it’s nothing….oh well, it’s a job and it’s one with animals.

    • Hi Cindi!
      We all get five weeks of paid vacation after working one year at the same place. The vacation period is from April first to the last of March. So if one works less than a year naturally one gets less paid vacation. So we get a bit more that two days vacation/ month. The vacation pay is also 12% higher than our usually pay check. We do tend to spend more money on our vacations๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We who works in factories usually have three weeks at the same time, the factories usually close down three weeks in July/August.

      The other two weeks we can use as we wish. Most of us takes four weeks in a row though. The fifth week is usually saved until Christmas time. If Christmas comes in the middle of the week we just take those few days in between the holidays as vacation days. In that way we can sort of make those five days become a three week vacation๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Years like that many factories just close down again since most people wants to be free from work that period. It is a totally different thing when working outside factories though, they just can’t close a hospital๐Ÿ™‚

      Most European countries have it like this, from four to five weeks of paid vacation. Except for France that I think has almost six weeks. I’m jealous๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • grrrrr. If it wouldn’t be so hard to pack up my zoo, I’d .be moving to France. They probably have Universal Health Care too?!?!?
        If I get REALLY sick or have a MAJOR accident…I’m done for, financially at least. In my case I think it would be better to just keep going until I die.
        Ignorance is bliss?

      • Hi Cindi!
        Yes they do have the same kind of health care system like we do and the weather is much closer to what You are used to that it is up here. The only problem then would be the french language๐Ÿ™‚ I studied it for five years and I still don’t understand much๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        I do know a lot about Your health care system so yes I think if one can’t afford a very good insurance Ignorance is bliss๐Ÿ™‚ It didn’t cost me more than 200 US dollars in total to get my hip implants. I would never be able to afford a good insurance with my two rheumatic diseases in the US.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

