There are more muscles in our bodies than we even can imagine it seems.

I borrowed the company pickup yesterday and brought those last windows home to the garage. Well I never managed to get them in to the garage because the pickup is so big that I had to park it so close to the garage doors that I couldn’t open them🙂🙂🙂  If I didn’t park it like that I blocked the road so that none could drive by.

 

 

 

So I managed to place them in the wood shed instead. There was only one problem, since I had to park the pickup like I had to there really was no space to walk on when going to the wood shed, there’s a 2,5 meter (much the same in yards) steep slope down to the cow pasture on that side🙂 But before even thinking of walking there I had to bring down the windows from the flatbed. The heaviest weigh around 50 kg (110 pounds) and is just as wide and high as my hands can reach🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

I could of course just have asked my neighbor to help me but then I had to walk to his cottage and ask and he would have said yes but it was easier to do it myself🙂🙂🙂 Well not really and today I pay the price, my upper body and arm hurts like h… I think I used some muscles I never have used before🙂🙂🙂 The only problem is that I have no idea how I’ll manage to get them to the garden later on🙂🙂🙂

 

The Honeysuckle is the only bigger plant that has started to sprout yet. Good thing since it will be rather cold next week.

 

So now I must measure them and then try to puzzle them together so it will look nice. And how advanced can I make the shape on this green house? A square with the windows in the front or perhaps a half octagon shaped with sloping roof on the sides? That would look great but would I manage to do that? The most advanced house I’ve ever made was a dog house. It was gigantic and so well built that I thought of burning it down when I moved from my earlier cottage, it was just impossible to break it down🙂🙂🙂

 

 

I don't count my red-berried elderberries. They always starts too early and they will freeze badly next week. But they always survive strangely enough.

 

So don’t expect this to be built quickly🙂 I’m normally a slow worker when it comes to my own projects and this will be even slower I think🙂🙂🙂  I really want this to be something I can be proud of and that my neighbor won’t hate every time he looks at it, after all it will stand close to his cottage.

 

I do like these new orchid hybrids. The easiest plants to keep and they usually flowers over and over again, as long as one can figure out how they want to be treated. It is all about what origin their parents have.

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “There are more muscles in our bodies than we even can imagine it seems.

  1. that is so interesting about the orchids, I never knew that.your photos really look like spring now, I’m enjoying that.Maybe you should soak in the bath tub with epsom salts , that might help those sore muscles.
    I can’t wait to see the green house,, sounds really interesting!

    • Hi Laurie!
      If I only had a bath tub! But I don’t think it is possible to fit one in my tiny bathroom. Perhaps if there was one that I could stand up in and still be covered with water🙂🙂🙂

      Today’s orchids are really easy to keep. But it is important to know if the parents likes cool or hot summers. Normally they don’t want any water after flowering for a couple of months and after that I usually water my every second or third week. Could it be easier?

      I’m afraid that wait is what You’ll have to do when it comes to that green house🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Att lyfta 50 kg i det läget som du beskriver frestar nog på både de ena och de andra musklerna. Hoppas att det snart bättrar sig. Så spännande att bygga ett egenhändigt ritat växthus, fast det är klart det är ju inte så himla lätt att få till det lika snyggt i verkligheten som i fantasin:)) Men du klurar säkert ut någon fint och tar du det i din egen takt blir det säkert jättebra:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jodu, det känns bra idag och det blir nog värre imorgon🙂🙂🙂

      Tänk om man ändå en gång i livet skulle lyckas med att få det att se ut som i fantasin🙂🙂 Hade jag haft det helt insynsskyddat skulle jag skitit i hur det kommer att se ut, men jag har en riktigt bra granne och det kommer att stå nära hans stuga så jag vill att det skall se bra ut. Det är ju inte meningen att stackaren skall bli ledsen så fort han går utanför dörren och ser mitt bygge🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, you will have to get some kind of rolling cart (like a furniture mover). And someone to help you move those windows. Good luck designing it. We will be patient. My weeping cherry blossoms all turned brown and are dropping after the hard freeze a couple of nights ago. Same with the daffodils. I haven’t checked the blueberry bushes yet. It is cold, gray, rainy, with wet snow predicted for later on. We have the wood stove going. This is definitely typical March weather. Those orchids are very unusual.

    • Hi Robin!
      The are some problems though, the gravel road and the turn I have to make when I come to my entrance. But I was thinking in the line of that just before I sat down here now.

      Thankfully only bulbs flowers here now so there will be no damages on our trees, well except for my elderberries then🙂 The blueberries has stayed calm as well thankfully! We call it April weather though🙂 One day summer, the next winter and good knows what the third day will be like🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Overdid it again! Well, at least the windows are home and you can nurse those muscles back to health while you make a plan for building it. Are you hoping it’s up by the Fall? What’s the flooring choice like? I admire your attempt to do this project. But I am sure you will delight in it once it’s done and can be used.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes I definitely over did it🙂

      Yes I do hope it will be up by autumn so I better start as soon as possible but first the last of the winter must pass and I hope that’ll be next week.
      This year I won’t care about the floor, I’ll just put some ground cover over it all. I guess I might have some concrete tiles in the future and grow most things in pots, that will make it easier too comtrol the pests that might move in because hopefully they’ll follow the pots out of there when winter arrives.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    I figure that’s when you call in all your chits, those for whom you have done favors. With your plan all sketched out and a couple of willing helpers, I bet you’ll get it done in shorter time than you’d ever imagine. Many hands make light work fits well here!

    I know your pain and I’m sorry. Nothing is worse than screaming muscles unused to physical labor.

    • Hi Kat!
      I’m afraid I’ve used all those chits already🙂🙂🙂 But I’m not the one that doesn’t abuse friendship when I need to🙂🙂🙂

      It actually was so bad this morning that I had to use my anti inflammatory medicine that I have against my rheumatism🙂🙂🙂 I couldn’t move my right shoulder at all🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,

    I hate it when I have abused muscles I didn’t even know I had.
    Put your aching muscles under the shower and turn the water from warm to cool and back again a few times. The temperature change will help increase blood flow to the injured tissues and speed healing. Then drink a lot of water and swallow some aspirin or whatever you have.

    Are the red-berried elderberries too big to throw some clear plastic over them to give them some protection?

    Enjoy your day .

    • Hi Caryn!🙂 The same here🙂 I really didn’t mean to wake them up and I can say they have a bad temper those muscles🙂🙂 I had to take the anti inflammatory medicine I have against my rheumatism this morning🙂 It was so bad that I couldn’t move my right shoulder at all🙂🙂🙂 Much better now though!

      Yes they are to big but they will restart later in the summer like they always do. Most plants actually learns that winter here is different and they start later, but these just doesn’t learn at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Åh vad spännande det ska bli att få se ditt växthus under uppbyggnad. Glasen såg ju väldigt snygga och intressanta ut.🙂 Det är ju faktiskt betydligt roligare att göra något “eget” än att köpa färdproducerat, men det kan också bli lite knepigare att göra. Man måste verkligen tänka till!🙂🙂
    Vi bara älskar att göra egna grejor, det senaste är mina jättestora krukor till min nypimpade altan. Det blev svartlackade spirorör i 3 olika dimensioner. Dom var dessutom helt gratis, vilket inte gjorde något.🙂
    På dom satts uppskuren svart slang som skydd på kanterna och sen ska jag vira några varv med färgad och matchad (mot växterna som ska vara i) bast runt “krukorna”. Har gjort en klar – den minsta – med orange penséer och orange bast och det blev precis som jag tänkt mig.🙂🙂🙂
    För att krukan inte ska blåsa omkull i eventuell storm så har jag ställt en stor kruka med grus i den och på den står sen själva planteringskrukan. Jag lovar…gör jag likadant med dom större (fast då blir det hinkar) så kommer jag aldrig att kunna flytta dom, så jag får nog tänka ut något annat klurigt till dom! *FNISS*

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Det kan bli lite väl spännande detta🙂 Har ju aldrig byggt något så stort och avancerat innan. Jag har två olika modeller i huvudet, den ena är svår att bygga men väldigt vacker när den är klar. Den andra blir lättare men inte alls lika vacker. Får se om jag vågar mig på den svåra🙂🙂

      Jag är inte speciellt förtjust i att göra egna grejor annars. Men kan man få tag i fösnter som dessa så bara måste jag göra det!

      Jag kan tänka mig att det blir snyggt det du gör nu! Du kan ju ha lite tåligare perenner och gräs i de som du kommer att ha stående framöver, kan ju bli riktigt snyggt med tiden.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Do you have a wagon you could lay the windows on and roll it down to where you want it?
    Maybe you could rope it up and drag it. Maybe you and the dogs could form a pulling team?😀
    I know what you mean about asking people for help. I HATE to ask anyone except my niece who is 16.
    She just helps and doesn’t ask me why I had to have “fill in the blank” thing…she used to my grand ideas.😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      The problem is that these windows easily breaks if they lay down, they have to stand upp all the time.

      I’m not sure about having my dogs as a pulling team🙂 Either they would start running like crazy in all directions or just stand still and look at me🙂🙂🙂

      I really want to do something by myself and I know if I would ask for help the ones helping me only would take over the entire project🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, so maybe we should expect to see the greenhouse in use by sometime next season? It surely sounds as if you have a major project to try and get it completed for use this year. Please take care and maybe consider asking the neighbor(s) for some help as glass is quite heavy. Grenville’s greenhouse was only made of heavy-duty plastic and very lightweight. ENjoy the warm weather, while it lasts.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I hope I can do this more quickly than I usually do my projects🙂

      Yes glass i very heavy! But I’ll figure out a way to nget those windows to my garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Not much you can do without a hot tub for those muscles. But, you could boil some water and put towels in it, wring them almost dry and wrap yourself in them. For the windows, if they have to stay upright. Get some cardboard and cut three or four pieces a few inches wider than the frame and just an inch or two longer. Wrap them together with duck tape and try to arc the front edge up a bit. (You’re making a skid like for a sled). For the top cardboard, leave at least two mini openings (reinforced with duck tape) for a rope to go through that will up and around the top of the window being moved. This should slide your window over rough terrain without needing too much side room. It’ll be slow, but that’s how you would be working, anyway. I’m just a little old lady and have had to revert to this trick, many times.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      True, that’s why I have my heat pad instead but its just not the same is it🙂 There’s few things so great than sliding down in a bathtub with warm and nice smelling water🙂

      I think I’ll have to read that advice a couple of times before I get it🙂🙂🙂 Do You mean that one layer with cardboard should slide over one on the ground? As I wrote, I need to read through that a couple of times🙂🙂🙂 But as You say, i will be working slowly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

