Looking for signs.

The day has been grey and dreary and we’ve had heavy drizzling (is it possible to say like that? 🙂 ) most of the time. But it has been fairly warm and it was quite nice to walk in this weather so I won’t complain. Nova woke me up several times last night kissing me in the face 🙂 I don’t know why though, I guess she just wanted company 🙂 🙂 🙂 She does that sometimes and it’s just impossible to get angry 🙂 I’ve tried to tell her that she’s a pitbull and according to rumor she should be dangerous, not loving but she just don’t care 🙂 🙂 🙂

A family of ravens are playing in the air. I know that last years nestlings always helps out with this years ones when it comes to Jackdaws but I don't know it it is the same with ravens.

So I took a little nap and sometimes one wakes up refreshed and full of energy but sometimes one wakes up even more tired than before and this is one of those days. Not even a pot of tea and a several cups of coffee has helped 🙂  So I have sort of been sleep walking all day and I guess it will be impossible to fall asleep tonight instead 🙂

 

 

 

 

I’ve heard a lot of cranes, geese and swans flying towards the lake but most of them have been flying in the rather low-flying clouds so I haven’t seen many. But just knowing they are there and that more are on their way sort of gives a feeling that spring actually has sprung and that we won’t get any backlashes this time. It is wishful thinking because winter can come at any time at least thruogh all of April up here.

 

 

 

 

There are some signs amongst the plant life as well even if they still are few. My red berried elderberry bushes have flower buds but those are always way to early so that the flowers freeze, the wild ones in the forest doesn’t show any yet but the ones I have in my garden originates from an area called Ussuria in the south east of Russia and they just never learn that winter is different here 🙂 The Bougainville in my kitchen window has started as well and even if it is indoors it’s still a sign of spring since it won’t flower unless there’s enough daylight.

 

Columbine.

 

Scilla sibirica. Many see it as a terrible weed because it spreads like crazy but I welcome it 🙂

 

The Hepatica only open up its flowers on sunny days.

 

Flower buds on my Red berried elderberry bush. This variety comes from south east Russia.

 

There’s absolutely nothing of interest on tv tonight so I think I’ll watch some dvd’s instead. I’ve decided it will be a Monty Python evening this time. First I’ll start with Life of Brian, then I’ll continue with The Meaning Of Life and if I’m not to tired it will be a dvd with the best of Monty Python 🙂 I might change the last one to some episodes with Little Britain instead though they are sort of in the same spirit as Pythons 🙂

 

The Bougainvillea in my kitchen. They are still tiny but are growing fast.

 

Do You remember the cuttings I took from my Frost grapevine? Now roots are growing on them. This is probably the hardiest of all grapevines.

 

But they are also producing flowers 🙂 I'll remove them because these cuttings are way to small to have any grapes this year 🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Looking for signs.

  1. oh god..i forgot to trim my grapes. what is wrong with me? is it too late? with this early summer it might be too late. what will happen if i trim them now? oh boy! i need to get focused on my gardens! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes it is when it’s about the old branches, but You can trim the grape when the green comes again. Then You can cut every branch after either two pair of flower bunches or two pair of leaves. If You trim the old, brown branches now the vine will bleed to death rather quickly. It’s almost impossible to stop all the sap running out from it. So wait until the new green branches are long enough.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Those Cranes keep flying by and the photos of spring buddings are surely a sign winter is behind you. But I understand your warning. I remember a nice spring in DC and all the Cherry Blossoms blumed and then we were hit with an awful week of snow and sub zero weather temps. Killed everything. But that was back in the 70’s. Let’s both hope for the best.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do hope winter truly is behind us up here too! At the moment there’s no signs of otherwise anyway. But we’ll have lots of nights with frost ahead of us yet, that usually stops around June 6.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. We are having a lovely spring day today, and crocuses are blooming as well as the daffodils budding. I am thinking we may actually get away with no more snow, except perhaps a small wet snow-shower or two. The longer light in the evening is very inspiring! The photo of the red berried elderberry: it looks like it has fingers or wings, reaching out to the light! Also the blue of the hepatica, even in such an early form is gorgeous. Maybe you were talking in your sleep and Nova was trying to hush you up!! LOL!! Hope you have a more energetic day on Sunday!! Love to the family.

    • Hi Robin!
      I know crocuses and hepatica’s are flowering closer to the coast but it will take some time until it happens here, at least when its about the crocuses.
      I do hope that we won’t get any snow anyway, frost at night is something we’ll have for quite some time yet.

      She has started to do this lots of mornings now, but it happens just before my alarm clock starts on work days so that doesn’t bother me 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Underbar Bougainvilla, min gubbes favoritklängväxt – som man tyvärr inte kan ha ute här. Jag har tidigare – i Stockholm – haft en som bonsai men den är svår att få att övervintra när man inte har något svalt förråd åt den! 😦
    Idag har vi varit till Fårösund och tittat på en gammal traktor – 22 mil! Men som vanligt så var det inget att ha, i alla fall för priset ägaren ville ha!! 😦 😦
    Jag älskar när du berättar om Nova och hur snäll hon är och hur hon pussar på dig när hon vill att du ska vakna. Skräckhistorier om hundar av olika raser gör faktiskt mig väldigt arg. Det är ju ALDRIG – eller i alla fall är det väldigt sällsynt – att det är hundens fel att den är ilsken och aggressiv. Nej, det är ägarnas!! 🙂 🙂
    Jag har en liten tävling på min blogg om du är intresserad.
    TREVLIG HELG!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har aldrig haft någon innan denna men minns den så väl från min bästis hem när vi växte upp 🙂 Så jag har alltid velat ha en men inte haft något bra ställe att ha någon på. Men denna har stått i köket hela vintyern ovanför ett element, ok elementet har bara varit ställt på 15 grader men ändå torkat ut växten illa iblend. Fast det kommer ju nya hybrider hela tiden så de kan ju vara tåligare numera.

      Är det inte alltid så, man åker hur långt som helst för att titta på något som inte är värt priset, sedan kan man hitta något alldeles i närheten verkligen billigt 🙂 🙂

      Jo oftast är det ägaren som gör fel, men även hundar kan ha mentala problem redan från födseln.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Beautiful photos as always. The top bud on the red berried elderberry looks like a bird with the head pointed down and the tail up in the air. So pretty. The Scilia surprised me as I thought it Hyacinth. Things are starting to come alive here but I am sad that we had too warm a winter, with not enough snow to keep the bulbs safe over the winter. I am one of the few who loves winter, so when we get a mild one, I am not happy. Give me SNOW and COLD.

    • Hi myroseindecember!
      It does look much like a bird that bud 🙂 🙂 and scilla’s do remind of hyacinth’s in this stage. I do like the blue color on them and the flower is cute even though it looks down to the ground so one really can’t see it properly 🙂 🙂

      We did get a couple of winter weeks and they were’nt especially cold and that is a winter I like 🙂 I think I actually could like winter if it never were worse than this 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Grey and dreary with heavy drizzle is called a fine soft day. 🙂
    There’s not much springing up around my yard yet. The daylilies are up a few inches and the vicious roses are starting to leaf out. I saw my first turkey vulture of the season today. They usually show up around now. There were several dead small mammals on the highway which is always a sign that things are happening in the woods and fields. No spawns of Satan though.
    I love Monty Python and Life of Brian is one of my most favorite of their films. Holy Grail is another. Little Britain doesn’t do much for me, though. I’d rather watch old Benny Hill stuff or The Two Ronnies.
    Enjoy your evening and I hope Nova lets you sleep a little longer tomorrow. 🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll try to remember that 🙂 It looks as if this day will be much the same.

      It’s only when strong winds blow from south that we might get a lost vulture up here and when it happens newspapers usually take photos of it 🙂 Ravens, crows and eagles do their job here instead. Very few dead mammals here yet but that will soon start to happen here too I’m afraid.

      I just couldn’t find Life of Brian so I looked at the Holy Grail instead 🙂 I must find life of Brian today since the weather isn’t that inviting 🙂 🙂 Benny Hill is Benny Hill and I love watching him 🙂 But I’ve never heard of the Two Ronnies! Must look them up 🙂 Little Britain is one of my favorites 🙂 🙂 🙂

      No Nova tried to wake me up this morning again but I managed to continue sleeping for another hour 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I think we are wishing to hard for spring.
    We had been in the 80s all week and now we are going to drop all the way down to 56 degrees and have snow down to 3,000 ft tomorrow and Monday.
    But it is exciting to see your buds starting up.

    • Hi JoJo!
      Those temperatures are what we get hot summers here 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is rare that we get any higher that around 80F.
      It still continues to snow further north and I do hope it stays up there 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. So glad Jaz asked the question, ’cause I forgot my vines, too! Now,I will wait for the green. I think you might have a touch of spring fever and could use some Vitamin A to kind of perk you up. We used to call it ‘cabin fever.’ A bit of Dandelion Wine will do the trick, too. We’ve been having crazy weather — not at all like winter — and my fruit trees are blooming! I’m so afraid we’re going to have a frost, now. Grr. Have a great day! Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think I have more than a touch of spring fever and I do get a lot of vitamin a via the milk and Yoghurt In eat every day. But I think I can blame little Nova for this, she really wants me to get up even earlier than I always do and I do get upnat 5 am every day 🙂 🙂 🙂

      My comments doesn’t stick when I post them on Your blog! I have lots of problems with Blogger blogs at the moment.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Everything “greened” up today (it’s Tuesday, I’m behind again!) I think Spring is here to stay, though I will still wait to plant my seeds outdoors!

    • Hi Cindi!
      We still have some time until everything greens up here, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it starts this weekend.
      Up here it is way to early to plant most seeds, especially if we’ll get frost nights.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

