I think spring has started.

We’ve had quite a nice day over here, the sun was shining a big part of the day and the temperature rose to 6C (42,8F). But we had a rather strong wind that made it a bit unpleasant so I spent a long part of the afternoon sleeping 🙂 🙂 I saw several geese flying to the lake, a couple of swans while walking in the forest and some cranes flew over my cottage when I sat down by the kitchen stairs drinking a cup of coffee 🙂 Today felt like the beginning of spring.

 

 

 

 

 

I was prepared to take Hector for his last visit to the vet this week if his leg didn’t get any better. It still isn’t especially good but he’s the first one that wants to take a walk and he’s still happy meeting new people and dogs. So I’ll follow the vets advice that when he doesn’t want any of that, that’s the day I’ll have to go. So it felt a bit strange when two of my friends had to do just that visit with their dogs instead.

 

 

 

 

 

There’s a fire in the stove and today is one of those days when it’s hard to guess how long I’ll have to keep the fire alive. It’s already nice and warm in my cottage but I think the night will be cold. If I have the fire burning too long it’ll be like a sauna in my bedroom all night 🙂 But if I keep it for to short it’ll be cold instead 🙂 I could of course just turn up the radiators but I think I pay enough as it is to the electrical company 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Down below is a list of some of what I bought at the grocery store in Gudhem yesterday. It isn’t the cheapest store but it isn’t especially expensive either. I checked that it goes 7 swedish kronor on one US dollar and the same in Canadian dollars. I have no idea id the Canadian dollar has the same sign as the US one so the second amount is the Canadian one 🙂 By the way! I’ve noticed that many of my comments just disappear a short while after I’ve left them on Blogger blogs. Especially those with word verification!

 

The Portal.

 

 

 

 

 

Dish soap 8,6 oz   $5                                        550ml/ 5

Brie Cheese (Saint Benoit)  $ 6,5/pond                          14,27/ kg

Philadelphia cheese $ 3,56/ 7,05oz                                   3,55/ 200gram

Hard Cheese  (it’s called Greve) $ 6,5/pound. But I bought a very cheap but delicious last week that cost $ 4,5/pond.   14,27/kg , 9,86/ kg

Salted pork $ 3,24/pound                                 7,13/ kg

Warm smoked pork $ 6,43/pound                            14,14/ kg

Milk 3% $ 1,9/0,4 US gallons                                              1,9/ 1,5 liters

Sour milk with fruit 1,5%  $2,27/ 0,26 US gallons. Yoghurt with fruit is slightly more expensive.   2,27/ liter

Boiled ham, thinly sliced for sandwiches $ 9/ pound.                                                    19,86/kg

Cat food, hard bits $ 2,6/pound                                                    5,7/ kg

Dog food $15,6/22 pounds.                                                            15,57/ 10kg

 

 

Have a great day!

42 thoughts on “I think spring has started.

  1. Inte har vi billig mat precis! Men man ska väl egentligen inte klaga – vi har ju mat i alla fall!! Med tanke på hur det ser ut i världen är vi ju väldigt bra lottade!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Just nu börjar Melodifestivalen, så min gubbe passade på att gå ut med Santos. Det är väl kanske inte direkt något program för musikälskare, själv tycker jag dock att det är kul att klaga och gnälla över “fel låtar, hemsk utstyrsel (vem faan har klätt ut tjejerna i dessa hemska gobeöänger!?) och falska toner (som om man skulle kunna göra nått bättre själv)!
    Vi har också haft ett underbart väder med +8 grader – äntligen -så det blev naturligtvis en härlig tur nere vid havet.

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag vet faktiskt inte hur stor skillnad det är på matpriserna i världen, men jag utgår från att vår mat är dyrare. Men som du säger, vi skall vara lyckliga att vi har mat.

      Jag och min syster brukar skicka en massa sms under festivalen, det är det som är det roligaste tror jag 🙂 Tycker nog att det var rätt låt och artist som vann idag.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i hope maybe once the weather warms up hector will feel better! i think spring is here as well. we are going to be in the upper 60’s and 70’s all week. i hope i get winter next year! i will have to pay more attention when i shop but it looks like our food prices are very similar. i am sick about my trees but sicker about my hardscaping. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I’m hoping that too but as long as he’s happy he will stay 🙂

      We’re not even close to Your temperatures 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I think southern Europe has much the same temperatures as You have.

      To bad about those roots! They can do so much damage and You are right in removing those trees!

      I’ve always thought the price of food was much lover over at Yours!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Låter ju bra att Hector är så pass pigg ändå;) Det var så fruktansvärt ledsamt att höra om fina, genomsnälla Lukas:( Vi har suttit och gråtit tillsammans i telefon jag och Linda. Tyvärr är det ju sådant som man måste genomlida när ens fyrbenta vänner inte längre kan få vara med oss:( Vi har passat vårt lilla yrväder till barnbarn idag, det är en stor lycka att få ha honom hos oss:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja han är pigg och glad och så länge han är det fortsätter allt som vanligt 🙂
      Jag blev förvånad när jag läste det om stora snälla Lukas! Det är så jobbigt när man måste ta beslutet! Ändå fortsätter man att skaffa hem dem 🙂

      Kan tänka mig att det är roligt att få hem barnbarnet 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Prices are pretty close to here in the U.S. So bye, bye winter! It looks like it from the photos. I hope Hector levels out now and you don’t have to visit with the vet again. We have to corale our two Himmies for their monthly flea treatment. It’s always bad when I forget to take them by the groomer to cut their nails. So we have to put gloves on this time. I was busy and had some back pain so was out of work a day last week, all drugged up on pain killers. Have a great weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I was very sure that the prices would be much lower in the US, so I’m a bit surprised actually!
      Thankfully my cats takes care of their claws outside 🙂 but they doesn’t need to groomed either. I decided long ago that I never again would have a long haired cat, one is quite enough 🙂 🙂 🙂

      To bad about Your back pain! I do hope You’ll get rid of it soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    As long as Hector is a happy dog there is no need to put him down. My old terrier was blind and deaf and had doggy Alzheimers but she remained a happy dog for quite some while so I couldn’t justify putting her down. I would have been doing it for my convenience and not because her quality of life was terribly reduced. She was having a good time. When she did finally get to the point where she was no longer a happy dog, I made the decision. It was very hard.
    Anyway, I’m glad that Hector is continuing. Nova would miss her friend and so would you.

    Today started out with snow squalls, turned sunny and windy but was still cold. Tomorrow starts daylight savings time and it’s supposed to be warmer. We shall see.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes as long as he’s happy he stays 🙂 Old Viran, his grandmother, was completely senile but always happy 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think being a dog owner is to set ones own convenience aside all the time 🙂 and yes Nova would miss him since Orvar don’t like to play with her.

      So Your daylight savings time starts now, I think ours is the last weekend this month. Totally useless here since we have daylight almost all hors of the day during summer 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. The only bad thing about big dogs is that we they go down and can’t walk it’s not like you can scoop them up and tuck them under your arm. 😦
    When my old Newfie mix, Truman (155lbs) developed a fast large growing tumor between his groin and leg and struggled to make it up the 3 steps from the yard to the house, I knew it was time. He was very old, 12 years at least…I adopted him when he was 7…maybe older, the vet wasn’t sure, my heart broke but I had to do it. I refuse to even think about Blue getting old. I am hoping and praying that the Spring weather breathes youthful energy into your big guy, Hector.
    I pretty much know my prices. I never pay more than $3 for good dish soap (like Dawn) at 34 fl oz.
    Philadelphia cream cheese (which I am not longer eating) on sale for $2.00
    4pk Activia yogurt on sale $2.00
    skim or fat free 1/2 gal milk (I don’t drink much and I HATE whole) $2.00
    cat food $15 for 16 lb…
    if I buy it at the store and not the vets and then
    Blue’s special fish and potato food (with my employee discount) 28lb for $40
    little dogs mini bite food (with empl. discount) $22 for 33lb.
    actually I hardly ever buy any food stuff unless it’s on sale.

    • Hi Cindi!
      Thankfully I’m rather strong so I can carry my 99 pound dogs all the way home if needed 🙂 I dread the day I need to take that decision as soon as I get a new dog to my home 🙂 Still I wouldn’t want to be without any dog 🙂

      This is the absolute best dish soap and much more expensive than the others but it lasts much longer so it is in fact the cheapest one, It’s called Yes here in Sweden but I don’t know what name it goes in other countries. Why don’t You eat Philadelphia any longer? I like it but prefer to buy other spreadable cheeses.
      I guess the yogurt is those small packages? I’ll take a look at those next time. I eat so much yogurt and sour milk that I only buy those large ones.
      I only drink whole milk 🙂 🙂 🙂

      There is cheaper cat food but my cats just refuses to eat them, I guess it’s like that because they continue to eat what they got the first time here and that’s what they think cat food should taste like 🙂 🙂 The dog food is very cheap but my dogs loves it and it contains everything they need and I do give them cooked liver or kidney every now and again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It’s not just Philadelphia, it’s all cheeses, breads, sweets…anything with trans fats, saturated fats or cholesterol. I’m eating grilled chicken, fish, lots of vegetables, almonds, rice cakes, shredded wheat and a few fruits. It will be a week tomorrow since I started and I’ve lost 8lbs. so far and feel much more energy! What a surprise! Ha! Someday I might slowly start to eat cheeses, and some breads but not yet. I’m on a roll and I’m not stopping! 😀

      • Hi Cindi!
        Ok I understand! I do eat cheese but not especially much. I have it on bread but perhaps one slice together with ham and tomatoes or in another combination. I do eat a lot of hard bread and since it is lighter but still makes me feel fed I’ve reduced how much bread I eat 🙂

        That’s right, just keep on going with what You’ve started 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  7. Hi Christer
    I’m a vegetarian and try to mostly eat organic when possible I find your cheese prices very low. I would only be able to buy ½ lb (pound) for that amount. The milk also organic and whole, $5.45 per gallon. We do have non organic for $2.50. I’m not familiar with sour milk and fruit is that Kiefer a drink? I also eat a lot of yogurt, this is where I seem to save big organic plain $2.20 32oz (ounces). I add my own fruit and honey or use it to cook with adding my own spices.

    Im glad the price is low because my guy Rudy a 56lb Am Stafford pit bull loves the stuff. Ive had him for 12 years now he was abused when I found him. At that time I could not find a trainer who would work with me. I also had a big old boxer .He was about 9 when he began to show signs of arthritis. I started giving him massages down his spinal column and back legs a few times a week. He loved it and never did have to take medicine for pain. He lived to be 13. Maybe it might help Hector if you tried it.

    I was thinking about your hip replacements you’re a young guy to have both hips go bad  Is that something common in your family?

    Loved the moon photos

    cs

    • Hi CS!
      I think that what we call ecological is the same thing as what You call organic. Thankfully the ecological milk and milk products aren’t that especially much more expensive here and I usually buy that if the store has it. Sour milk is our version of Kefir, just slightly different in taste and now days they also make it with fruit in it. I eat lots of yougurt, i have it for breakfast every day 🙂

      Nova is also an abused dog but she came to an elderly couple before she came to me. They couldn’t keep her due to bad health but they had made miracles with her 🙂 But they had also spoiled her way to much so she was a little diva when she arrived here 🙂 Well she most likely needed to be that spoiled after her first year in life. Now she works great with my two old boys 🙂 They did help a lot of raising her to a pack member 🙂

      I do give Hector massage but his problems are a bit to big now days so he must have this medicine. But he does love his massage 🙂 But when it comes to my hips I’m alone in the family. I have two rheumatic diseases, Psoriasis arthritis and Bechterews disease, that destroys the cartilage in my body. So far its just the hips that got totally destroyed 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • hi christer
        I had never heard of those illnesses so I just finishing reading 2 article on each. In all the articles it mentions that the illness’ is usually hereditary……more proof you might be of unknown ancestry. Cant wait for those dna test to come back !!!!

        Just wondering if you eat olive oil, garlic and lots of veggies in between those sandwiches you’re so fond of ????????????????????? hint hint

        Take care 🙂
        cs

      • Hi CS!
        They told me that they aren’t hereditary but the chances of getting them is much bigger if they already exists in the family, but it is still most probably something from my fathers rather cloudy background it seems 🙂 🙂 🙂

        It’s so fun because I really don’t eat that many sandwiches 🙂 🙂 🙂 But it’s the only thing I ever mention here 🙂 I eat lots of veggies but I am a bit bad with garlic. I don’t know why because I love it in food! The oil I use is mostly olive oil but it can also be rapeseed oil (really! Is it called that in english? Sounds horrible to be honest, I sort of read the name as three words 🙂 🙂 🙂 ), they have much the same positive characteristics.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  8. 🙂

    I believe the word you mean is ….grapeseed….from the fruit wine is made from.

    Rapeseed sounds like something sinister to my ears, like maybe a Goth word (those are the people into vampires and all that happy stuff)

    I’m laughing to hard to keep writing

    I composed myself

    I did think you lived on sandwiches and hotdogs!!!!!!
    I’m laughing to hard again!!!

    I really believe in food to keep healthy. When you had mentioned that you had the flue again I was going to suggest homemade vegetable broth for some of those cups of tea. It really works for me when I sick I try to always have some in the freezer because when I’m sick I wont cook or even eat sometimes, but I will drink broth.

    I’m writing you another post….more questions…I cant help it I love meeting new people and I’m originally from New York City , lots of big talkers up there 🙂

    • Hi CS!
      No not grape even though that would have sounded much better 🙂 🙂 🙂 Google just refuses to give me any other word 🙂 The scientific name is Brassica napus ssp. napus and even Wikipedia calls it that 🙂

      Thank good I don’t live on sandwiches and hotdogs 🙂 🙂 even though I do like them both I wouldn’t be able to stand it more than a couple of days 🙂 🙂 🙂 If it wasn’t for the cookies I eat very healthy 🙂

      I enjoy every question I get, we are much the same in Gothenburg where I come from 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I had to stop writing my other post again!!!

        What are all these scientific terms you’re spewing. With my NY accident I can barely speak English correctly.

        google….google who uses google anymore haven’t you heard they follow your every key stroke when your online and curse of all curses they sell that info to ADDVERTISES!!!!!!

        Now had you BING your quires you would have been directed to the American version of Wikipedia. There you would have been dully informed if your Brassica napus ssp. napus was of a particular group of cultivars it would be commonly known as Canola oil here in the states. I must admit they did call it rape seed oil.

        OK your turn to give me the business what is aplle ????????

        If you’ll excuse me I need to Bing … Gothburg

        Big smiles
        c

      • Hi CS!
        🙂 🙂 🙂 I write the scientific names since many things has very many common names. Over here we have a flower that has over 120 names all over the country 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Yes I know that Google do that and that’s why I don’t use Google Chrome any longer, they just go to far now!!! But I had forgotten to switch to Bing before I searched on the net. Won’t happen again, I promise 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Canola oil 🙂 🙂 A much better name 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I have no idea what apll is, have i really written that 🙂 🙂 🙂 But Gothenburg is Swedens next biggest city, the heart of Sweden and our gate towards the world 🙂 I grew up there and to be honest, I can’t stand that place any longer 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  9. Hello 🙂
    I know you always use those scientific names. I was just being ornery, for the fun of it.

    It is true about google, but I suspect any browser probably does the same these days, “its all about the money” as they say. I was teasing you about that because in the states your just not as cool if you dont use google this is according to my much younger nephews and the happing NYC crowd.

    Do you see a pattern here I like to make fun all the time. I’m one of those happy types that act silly alot of the time.

    I did read up on Goteborg….oh I fell so continental after all my reading today. The city is really pretty. From other things you’ve said in your posting your childhood seem like there was family problems. Mine too.

    The good thing now is you seem to have found a place that makes you really happy

    I did a lot of reading today and I have to admit I had/have so many stereotypes that I believed true about your country and your people. It was embarrassing Im past 40 too, I dont know how you pick up things in life and just believe them. I’ve never traveled out of the US (to poor) but I read all the time.

    I somehow ended up reading “The Local” paper the comments people left were brutal just like here. But it did open my eyes to reality. One thing which really surprised me was the weather in your area (south Sweden) I think when I lived in MA the weather was worst

    Hope you had a good day today, going to see what you written
    C

    • Hi CS!
      I did understand that You were joking about google though 🙂 🙂 But I don’t like Google at all to be honest, they have way to much power now and it is so easy to abuse power and they usually do if they can, those that have it I mean 🙂

      Yes lots of family problems back in the days. I grew up in what I later found out was called the slum of Gothenburg 🙂 🙂 🙂 But it was a safe place for kids, even the alcoholics kept an eye on us 🙂 But the city grew and with that all big city problems arrived. Today it’s a violent city I’m afraid. Gothenburg actually have two official names and has had so since it was built 1600 something. The king, Gustav the second, decided it should be called Göteborg and Gothenburg and it has always had close contact with Britain. It is actually called Little London 🙂

      Don’t we all believe a lot of the stereotypes? You should only know what swedes believes about Americans 🙂 🙂 🙂 I have been to a couple of countries here in Europe. Norway and Denmark of course since they are our closest neighbors (and we’ve been the same country long ago and none of us liked it 🙂 🙂 🙂 ) But I’ve been to France when my brother lived in Paris and to Portugal too (and the canary Islands on a two week vacation). But I’ve never been to an english speaking country, I don’t count that one time when I was one year old and was in England and Wales because I don’t remember that and I don’t count the two times I landed at Heathrow and one time in Gatwick outside London. It only lasted for a couple of minutes while I changed flights 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Sometimes I think the local papers are the place one can find the worst comments 🙂 🙂 It is amazing how people can treat each other while being anonymous!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I definitely agree about the whole power thing.

        I worry a lot with the internet. I’ve had 3 laptops infected and ruined with viruses. Your is the first blog I’ve ever left messages on. I think I got brave because you’re not in the states, dumb I know but it seems safer (of course this was before i learned what Swedes are really like).

        New York City has 3 names. Some of us still call it Manhattan, others NYC and most people even if they dont live in the city will just say New York. A lot of people think were arrogant. I think its just laziness. Me and the rest of america seem to be shorting the english language with our abbreviations.

        AHHHHHHHHHHHHH
        “Don’t we all believe a lot of the stereotypes? You should only know what swedes believes about Americans”

        You cannot say that and not tell me what stereotypes thats cruel. Go ahead, let lose, say what you guys are really thinking. I can take it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        Is it expensive for you to visit England? Or one of the other english speaking countries near you. You write english beautifully do you have troubles speaking. We both know I do !!!

        What about english (British) humor. I love it, I know many amercians dont get it. The Irish can be really funny too. I’ve hung out in Irish pubs lots of fun. My grandmother was Irish.

        I’m laughing so hard again I have to stop writing again 🙂

        Photo of the planets please…..By the way are you into science fiction.
        Take care
        cecilia

      • Hi CS!
        I’ve been lucky so far when it comes to computer virus but then I do have three different anti virus programs in my computer 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I was lucky to have friends that wrote blogs so I started to comment in those but it is easier to comment in blogs written very far away, I don’t know why though. I was a bit worried that my English wouldn’t be good enough but so far none has complained. I have no problems speaking either. An Englishman once told me I had a sort of upper class dialect when speaking English 🙂 I’ve posted some videos when I had a camera that could do that but it broke down before I bought my resent camera. For some reason I forgot that I can take videos with my mobile phone so I might start doing that again 🙂 Here’s a link to one of my very short videos I once posted in my old blog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c38uxUpgO0A&feature=channel
        I do hope it works.
        It’s not especially expensive to fly to Britain but I must find somewhere I can have my dogs while being away, even if it is just for one day.

        I sometimes laugh to myself when hearing people at work telling us how people in other countries are 🙂 I’ve mentioned some in another answer to You. But I’ll keep the american stereotypes to myself, they just show how ignorant we swedes can be 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I think most of us swedes love British humor, I do so very much 🙂 and it is very different from american humor. The British humor is more absurd in many ways like Monty Python or Dawn and French or Absolutely Fabulous 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I have to admit that they never could have made the american Friends just as good! It would have been something completely different and not as good I’m afraid.

        I’m very much in to science fiction and if the sky is clear tonight I’ll take a photo of Venus and Jupiter 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  10. HI forget what I said about telling me about stereotypes. I didn’t think that through. People could get upset .I’m sorry. I never have bad things or mean things in my head. Im just impulsive and playful. If I ask you any inappropriate questions just tell me to go to hell.
    Ill just sit here giving you the finger on the other side of the world

    Hope your having a good day
    C

    • Hi CS!
      But what You said is very much true 🙂 We do believe that those stereotypes are the truth and I don’t think anyone here would be upset by what You wrote! I mean we all know everyone from England is pale and polite, Germans are big and loud, Norwegians always happy and never forget about us Swedes, we are sex maniacs and screams a lot when being drunk 🙂 🙂 🙂 I don’t think I would feel any question is inappropriate as long as it is honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • oooooooooooooooooman!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        I am not replying to anything you just wrote…You are going to get us both in trouble

        I’m laughing to hard again

        Could you please answer some of the uncontroversial questions I ask you in that post, less I start talking about the weather.

        Respectfully
        C
        PS What kind of sandwich are you eating today !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Hi CS!
        🙂 🙂 🙂

        Today I think I’ll have much the same as yesterday but with hard bread instead 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  11. Hello I have a very foggy mind today, so some things I’m writing might not make sense today. Yesterday something happened in my area. I still don’t know what. Last night around 7:00 we had police cars racing throughout the neighborhood, police going threw yards. Of course this had the dog nuts and my cats. Whoever they were looking for they did not find but they were looking till very very late. Early this morning they (the police) were back driving around. The area I live in is not to cool (safe ).

    This is the post I forgot to send you yesterday replying to the pond, cottages etc.
    Hi

    I know what you mean about horse flies. Do you have problems with ticks affecting your dogs? That’s a big problem in the East coast states also flees.

    Your dragonflies seem pretty. I’m wondering now about what I saw. In this area they have these bee’s they call Carpenter Bees there about 4 times bigger than bumble bees and will eat your wooden house. This is true. Its been a long slow adjustment for me, living in this area.

    Wow 101 yrs old cottage, that sounds really nice and a good size. Easy to heat and clean. Can you see the beams in the attic. How are you heating it do you have a fire place or cast iron stove? I love architecture and interiors I have a degree is in Art History.

    Did you see the BBC Wallander?
    Take care
    C

    This is todays post replying to the above:

    I watch all the videos !!!!!!! not the music yet
    They made your entire still photo come to life. You seem to love nature so much. It must have been so hard for you to make the decision to close your nursery. These are just some random questions about the videos
    Who is the beautiful Anna?
    Can you even see your own feet at night (I’ve never seen anything like that)
    Does the moon shine any light on the ground.
    How many months does it last
    Is your house next to another house or is that a barn next to your house (I’m thinking about the last shots in the long video)
    There was the most beautiful flower, it was purple /dark blue with a bright yellow center is that a wildflower.

    Your English does sound as if you’re, well educated and RICH…. Very useful if you should visit the states. I also have the same problems going places now because of the pets. When I move again that is something I really have to consider.

    Friends the TV show……..ooooooooh man I’m speechless….what the world must think of the US.
    Needless to say I think I saw 3 shows in all the years it was on. All I can think is this is some big cultural thing I cant grasp between us.

    I’m laughing to hard again

    To be fair to you I,ve never really watch that much TV till I moved here. I stop the cable about 2 years ago. The last shows I watched were Battlestar Galactica and Psych. Have you seen either of those? Now I have just free Tv (about 8 channels) I did watch Downton Abby and love Masterpeice Mystery and most of the PBS shows. Their like the BBC here minus the sex, spicy language and all the really good stuff.

    Science Fiction… somehow in life I was blessed when someone gave me a copy of …W Gibson Neuromacer and A Clarke Rendezvous with Rama. For the next few years, maybe 5, I read nothing but scifi. Now I try to limited it to a few a year…. I’m trying hard to grow up!

    Things British I need another whole posting for this subject movies, novels, music a long list. The last funny movie I’ve seen was “Death at a Funeral” its kinda old and I don’t think the brits even like it but Im getting tears in my eye just thinking about it. I loved it.

    I am going to see your photos for today. Are you 5 or 6 hours ahead of est. time?

    Don’t work to hard tomorrow ITS FRIDAY!!!
    C

    ps just giving you a hard time about the soup:)

    • Hi CS!
      Not fun when the police drives around so long and then comes back again, must have been something nasty that has happened. Nothing ever happens here where I live but we had a police car here once, they were lost and didn’t know where they were 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I have heard about those carpenter bees and I’m glad we don’t have them here 🙂 We have very few insects like that but we do have an ant, it’s called horse ant here in Sweden, that eat our wood homes. Thankfully they are rare and we have a wood pecker that absolutely loves to eat them 🙂

      No I can’t see the beams, that would have been great though. I have radiators that works on electricity but I also use the fire heated stove I have in my kitchen. It’s a modern one that looks very much like an electric modern stove 🙂 It’s the best thing I’ve ever had 🙂 I almost never use my electric stove because now days I make all my food on the fire heated one 🙂
      I missed the BBC Wallander but it will most likely be shown on tv soon again.

      I understood that It would be too hard to continue with the garden center so the decision wasn’t that hard to take actually. It wasn’t funny but necessary and I miss it a lot. But I do like to have a pay check every month and that was rare when I had my garden center 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Was there a beautiful Anna in one of my videos? I can’t remember that 🙂 🙂 🙂 so I really can’t say who she is 🙂 🙂

      No I can’t see my feet at night during winter if there isn’t any light close 🙂 It’s dark from around 4pm for around four months here and the sun doesn’t rise until 8:30-9 am. Yes the moon does shine a light but it’s better when we have snow here.

      I have one close neighbor and his cottage is slightly higher than mine. I have to go back to the videos to understand what flower You’re talking about 🙂 🙂

      To bad I’m not rich then 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I love Friends and I think that many would love to be a friend amongst people like that 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I have almost all episodes on DVD 🙂 🙂

      I’ve seen some episodes of Battlestar Galactica but then they started to show it in the middle of the night?! I have 6 free channels and that’s it and mostly I look at Swedish Television, like a Swedish BBC, and those channels doesn’t have commercials 🙂 and we have all the good stuff as well 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Rendezvous with Rama! I loved that book! I haven’t thought of that one in a long time! I remember reading and rereading it several times before going back to the library. I must find that one again! But You should never grow up to fast 🙂 I’m planning on being grown up when I’m around 75 🙂

      Yes we would most probably need several posts if we’re going to get in to all British movies, novels and all the rest 🙂 I might have seen Death at a funeral but I’m not sure because I don’t know the swedish title on it 🙂 Now days they usually keep the English names on movies.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Happy Friday!!!!!!!!!
        Tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day here. Does Sweden have any celebrations for it? Maybe green beer at the pubs. In nyc it’s a big thing there a parade, green beer, lots of things to eat that are Irish!!!!!
        A lost police car that’s funny…
        I mention Wallander because of the scenery, its beautiful. One of the episodes has him driving out in the country side to a little red farmhouse your video reminded me of that show. If you like deticive story all the episodes are good.
        I figured out who the beautiful Anna was, she must be your dog who passed away. I couldn’t find the post where you mention her name. I only discovered your blog in January. I can not figure out where the index is. So sorry if your repeating a lot of things.
        The music videos…..well Im 6yrs older than you so you’re my brothers age we have different musical taste. I like Gabriel and Kate but my real love for him is when he was with Genesis. Musical box, Foxtrot, the Lamb lies down on Broadway …Great Stuff…right now my brother would be and probably you are…. just shaken your heads in pity for me.
        I just read today post. I agree with what you were saying but I really believe humans are speeding things up. I have been doing all I can to recycle, reuse and keep a low carbon footprint for years. I bought the house I have because of its solar orientation and property. I had planned on retro fitting it but the resceission has wipe me out finically. Worst than that is the number of people around me who have lost their homes. Last week I found out another neighbor is going into foreclosures. My heart breaks for those people.
        And by the way that whole posting reminded me of Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        I love the planet photos. Both were nice. I’m fascinated with what you can see with the naked eye, really cool.
        Will you be able to get any close up of the cranes. I found your blog trying to find a blog which was following the path of these cranes from Canada to South Amer.
        Tonight I rented from Netflix the last part of “Heat of the Sun” by BBC about a detective banished to South Africa.
        Have a good evening C

      • Hi CS!
        I’ll start by saying that we are six hours before eastern standard time, I forgot that yesterday 🙂

        No St, Patrick here in Sweden but I think there will be some celebrating at the Irish pubs in the bigger cities though.

        The Wallander episodes are filmed in the most southern parts of Sweden and they don’t have as many red houses like we do here further north. I think almost 75% of all the houses and cottages here in the countryside is red 🙂 We just love our red homes and surveys usually shows that a swedes highest dream is to own a red cottage in the countryside, so I’m living a swedes dream 🙂

        Ah! You mean old Erna 🙂
        The index sort of disappeared when I changed to this setting 🙂 🙂 🙂 The photographs shows better here but lots was lost by changing and I can’t figure out how to get it back 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I don’t mind repeating 🙂
        So You are the same age as my sister! Well she and I do have much the same taste for music as You have 🙂 But I have to say I do like some of Gabriel’s solo albums as well. I do like Kate Bush more though 🙂

        I do believe that humans are speeding things up when it comes to the climate change, I just felt it was appropriate to mention that not all scientists agree. We’ve been recycling for years here and I do what I can to lower the foot print I make. That’s why I use my fire heated stove as much as possible.

        Your economy got hit so much worse than ours so foreclosure isn’t that common over here. My cottage was so cheap so even if I should loose my job I still would be able to keep this little home of mine. It must be awful to loose everything like that and not being able to do anything to stop it!

        Since Harry Potter and Lord of the rings are two of my favorite book series I like that it reminded You of them 🙂

        There will be close up of the cranes later on, they don’t care about humans when they are by the lake, they get food close to where we all can watch them 🙂

        I haven’t heard about that series, must see if it might be shown on tv here!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  12. Happy St Paddy’s Day

    Sweden is missing out on a FUN holiday. I’m sure you have one I’ll be envious of !!!

    They really don’t do too much in this area. When I became friends with my neighbors across the street, I brought her Irish Soda Bread and scones nobody in her family had ever eaten either. Have you ?

    I loved your posting on the weather, I know you believe the climate changing. It’s the way I write. Writing is just not my forte. I also have trouble trying to proof what I write. I didn’t want you to think ( because of the whole Kyoto treaty mess) that I didn’t believe.

    Yesterday morning on the local news which I usually only listen to for the weather they had a short story about this mother and her 14yr old daughter buying houses to rent out. They only paid $12,000 for the house they were showing. Well…..this made my blood boil that the news would have a story like this now. Earlier in the week (on CNBC) they announce that there will probably be another 1 million foreclosures this year. I guess all this stuff was deep in my subconscious and I blurted everything out in that one paragraph. What I said about me was true but you don’t have to worry my house is also paid for thank God and the other stuff is just money. Or should I say…”but you can’t get it all can you’

    I didn’t ask you about your green house, will you be able to use it for passive heat gain (when you have sun). Still can’t get over those night video. Also wanted to know the name of your stove so I can look it up. I’ve been reading up on a heating system? Fireplace? called a Rocket Stove. Its another method of heating which used a lot less wood. Have you heard of it.

    “Heat of the Sun” was good it came on years ago. I just found these movies now because of Netflix. Do you have this there? They will ask you to rate movies (this is all online) and then suggest movies to watch you might like.
    I’m sending you a holiday toast with my coffee mug… to early to start drinking here
    I’ll be back to see today posting…… Who knows I could have had a few drinks by that time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    c

    • Hi CS!
      We actually have very few holidays here but we have five weeks payed vacation instead. So I guess it evens out in the long run 🙂

      Yes I have eaten both of them, I often make scones here when i want something newly baked but is to lazy to bake a big bread 🙂 🙂

      I sometimes do write a bit confusing, it can sound perfect in swedish but strange in english 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I would get angry too if I saw something like that! It must be terrible to see friends and neighbors having to move and then hear about people gain on it! I always ask myself when seeing something like that why the banks just didn’t lower they payment and interest so the former owners could stay, they would most probably loose less money on that! I know one can’t get it all but it would sure be fun to try it 🙂 🙂

      It is dark here during winter 🙂 🙂 🙂 But it’s just the opposite during summer. Around midsummer we’re only having a few hours of darkness 🙂 🙂

      No I won’t be able to do that I’m afraid, it will be to small for that and I think I’ll place it to far from my cottage. My stove is an Ökonom, but I’m not sure of the model. Its really made for cooking food but works great for warming up the cottage as well. I haven’t heard of that particular model but most people are buying fireplaces like that now days.

      I think we have netflix here but I’ve never looked after it. I’ll have to see if that movie has a swedish title, they still give them thet here but more seldom now days. I was just about to post when my modem just gave up 🙂 I think You’ll like my choice of dvd’s today 🙂

      Have a great holiday!
      Christer.

  13. Good evening

    After I thought about holidays here, we actually only have a few National days where people would not work. Most of our holidays are really celebrating other countries holiday. If there is food, drink and music we will show up and gladly help our fellow American whose cultural background is from that country CELBRATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    The newest (which we were partying to in ny/nj for a long time) is Cinco de Mayo. It’s a mexican holiday. Do you like mexican food. There are some things that are just to spicy for me but most of it I like.

    I looked up your stove how cool. It seems to work on the same principal as the rocket stoves just the deluxe version. Its the size of the pieces of wood burned and the efficiency rating just great. I was reading about people who were able to heat and cook all winter (on their stove) with wood they collect off their 5 acres. The wood was from trees that were naturally shedding (branches, limbs, twigs) that would save lots of money and the forest. Are cords of wood expense where you live.

    Oh…I almost forgot… do you make Pizza, I love pizza and pasta (not at the same time) That stove looks great for pizza making.

    About the greenhouse, I thought you had lots of windows. Right now how big are you thinking, length/wide in feet please. Where did these windows come from, I missed that post. When i lived in MA an old man had a small cabin and just made a lean to (the top of the window touches the house and the bottom is out a few ft) it was two windows high on the south side of his house. He really extended his growing season, there would be snow everywhere and he could still grow things no heat, no extra light….What can I say I’m easily impressed.

    I haven’t watched those movies in a long time, I liked the life of Brian the most. The short skits I only saw on Tv.
    Just tried to bring up your web page its loading really slow again. This happen to me last night. The pictures are not loading correctly or not at all. I have 3G internet connection with a thing you stick into your laptop. I forgot what the thing is called….its broadband. I heard you guys (Europeans) have really good internet connection and speed. Alot faster than the US. South Korea is supposed to have the best. I knew somebody from there he hated using our connections and even the one he had at work (which is usually the fastest). i saw what you said about your modem maybe its the carrier. Just looked again still not fully loaded.

    On Sundays I usually get up at 6am and start watching/listing to business and political shows. I like to watch on Sunday because the guest do not yell and talk over each other. Each person can give their opinion without interruptions. They had a whole segment on Eurovision today pointing out the votes are usually cast in political blocks. What happen to the person you wanted to win in Sweden.
    During the week I’ve given up listing to the morning programs here, all that yelling. That why I listen to CNBC, BBC and latter in the day other US news. So many things are going on in amer again.

    Loved that photo of Nova and the cat, so cute.
    Going to read your post it loaded
    Ps: I am not overweight I just look normal…. and paranoid talking about food these days!!! …..and I know you know what I mean.

    • Hi CS!
      I haven’t eaten that much Mexican food but the little I’ve tried has been delicious!

      It really is a good stove and it’s enough to have a fire burning a couple of hours, the radiators doesn’t start until late next morning. No fire wood isn’t especially expensive here, not even if they cut it in special lengths either. But I’ve started to use Fire logs, a bit more expensive but every log burns a very long time and there’s just less work with them 🙂 No chopping at all and they come in 10kg (around 22 pound) packages.

      I’m not especially fond of pizza to be honest, I eat perhaps one or two a year 🙂

      I do have rather many windows but that won’t make the green house especially big anyway 🙂 Not that big that I’ll be able to use the extra heat anyway 🙂

      The factory I work in makes windows (amongst other things). The windows I’ll bring home is the ones that for one reason or another were supposed to be tossed away. But at the moment I can’t say how big it will become. At first I thought of putting them on my patio and then it would have been rather big. But now I’m thinking of placing it elsewhere and then it will become smaller since the roof also will be made from those windows.

      We really have good internet connection here but it is my modem breaking down, it told me so itself 🙂 It’s really fantastic how they can telll what’s wrong, but not how to fix it 🙂 🙂 🙂 It over heats from time to time so now I have a cold pack beneath it. It dies every now and again anyway but not as often as before. The modem isn’t that expensive to be honest but I tend to forget to buy a new one everu time i get to the super market 🙂 🙂 🙂 More and more people are using 4G now but I still have 3g.

      My favorite didn’t win but the other girl, Loreen who’s video I also showed did win. It is a bit exaggerated that they vote by political blocks. But we tend to vote on neighbors 🙂 So we from Scandinavia usually give our neighbors high points Those in the eastern Europe votes for their neighbors and so on. We up here in the north don’t have that many neighbors 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Well I am overweight but just don’t care 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I was going to wait till tomorrow but…….
        I cannot believe you ended that posting like that. I’ve seen your photo I know you’re always out walking. I don’t think your picture is going to end up in one of your newspaper discussing the obesity problem in America.

        You’re a brat

        And just so you know…….that was the most boring description of a Black Hole
        I’ve ever read in my life
        You couldn’t be a little more creative…a wormhole, a portal to another dimension
        A TEAR IN THE TIME CONTINUUM

        Have a lousy day
        me

      • Hi CS!
        🙂 No I won’t end up in that discussion but I do need to loose around 33 pounds. Even though I eat healthy I have one thing I can’t resist and that is cookies, especially if they are filled with chocolate 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is so easy to just grab a packet while being in nthe grocery store and start eating them on my way home 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I am how ever a bit confused about that black hole, I can’t remember writing about that at all lately. Do You mean Nemesis? Well that isn’t a black hole but a brown dwarf star and that is kind of cool, the suns evil twin 🙂 🙂 🙂 But if this isn’t about Nemesis You really have to tell me what You’re talking about 🙂 🙂 🙂

        The day has been quite uneventful but still rather nice 🙂
        I wish You a wonderful day 🙂
        Christer.

  14. Hello
    I’m still having problems with pages loading up and the photos are only showing in half.
    What happen is I’ve gone over my limit for 3g this month. That day I was watching your music videos, when I finished, the rest of the day I was playing old music videos.

    I won’t get full speed back till Saturday when they bill me

    I have a sweet tooth too.

    The black hole was your response in a question from that posting. I was just playing with you what you said was correct. Will drop by Saturday
    Have a good week C

    • Hi CS!
      I have much the same internet deal as You do but I think I have more gigabytes to use before it happens. One day they slowed down the speed for fifteen minutes and then the new month started 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I barely remember the post I’ve written so almost everything else is gone since long 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

