The petrol prices are insanely high now and it will get worse :-)

The moon yesterday evening.

I went to the petrol station yesterday to fill up my car and now the price is painful to be honest. It costs 15,18 swedish kronor / liter and that is $ 8,22 / US gallon. By the time summer arrives they think the price will be around 17 kronor/liter and that would be around $9,20/ US gallon. The strange thing is that we always seems to adapt to these insanely high petrol prices and continues to drive just as much as before🙂🙂🙂 But I do plan my driving already now and I guess I’ll have to be even better at it when summer comes🙂🙂🙂

 

Hector waiting for me. Look how his hind leg sort of leans outwards, that is the bad leg/hip.

 

 

 

But I can’t live cheaper than I do in this little cottage if mine and the food prices has actually gone down if looking back. That’s good for us customers but bad for our farmers but it seems we both never can be happy at the same time🙂🙂 :-)I would like to have chicken or perhaps rabbits but I doubt that I can wring even a rabbit (I don’t like rabbits but they do taste rather nice🙂🙂 ) so I would just have zillions of them costing me a fortune instead🙂🙂🙂 Thank God my economy isn’t dependent on keeping animals for food🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

The afternoon was warm and pleasant so it’s hard to believe that it will snow tomorrow. But it will start to melt away almost directly and the coming weekend will be warm and sunny they say. Hector ran around almost as if nothing ever happened today, well at least till he over did it and then he limped badly again. But it is getting better every day so now I don’t worry about taking that awful decision🙂 Nova behaved very well all the time so no leash was necessary, she is a quick learner after being leashed for almost two days🙂

 

 

 

 

It is time to make something to eat and today I think I’ll skip both coffee and tea. I don’t know why and this is rare for me🙂 But I will keep on having a fire in the stove, it’s already below 0CF (32F) and the night is still very young.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “The petrol prices are insanely high now and it will get worse :-)

  1. hard times everywhere, my husband is sitting beside me here as I read this and although he butchered rabbits and chickens and cows and pigs when growing up and a younger man, he admitts it would be hard to wring their necks now, maybe a chicken he said but never a rabitt or cow.We would have to starve I suppose!!Gas prices here in Canada are measured in litres, its cheaper in the United States, ours is 1.80 a litre which is 4.93 u.s dollars for that amount, the american gallon is bigger also, ours the imperial gallon 4.5 litres . ( confusing isn’t it) and we live beside each other , Canada and United States have many many differences..
    We live right on the border, its the united states you see in the photos we take, we face the American side but we hardly ever travel across for gasoline.Many ,many do though,its a busy crossing here.Its hard to understand how the prices can change so quickly, over night.
    Maybe you should keep chickens for eggs and cow for milk, I would forget about the rabbits because as you said you would end up feeding a tribe of them in no time.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I don’t think I would be able to do it, but of course if my life depended on it I naturally would do it. Thankfully it’s a long way before I end up needing to do that🙂🙂 I think I better forget any kind of animal keeping for my survival to be honest🙂🙂🙂

      I guess I’m right when saying Canada is more like the European countries in many ways than the rest of the American ones. Britain did have a great influence during the years . The petrol price is much the same all over Europe so there’s no use in passing a border here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I’m paying $3.71 per gallon and it’s forced us to cut back on our food purchases. For some reason I get the feeling, even with higher prices over there, you are doing better than we are. Steak has already gone up .97 cents per lb. It’s now a luxury item for most. Cat food has stayed the same so far $10 U.S for 20 cans if you buy in bulk. The moon photo is simply amazing. I swiped it.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I think I’ll take a look at what food costs here and write it down in my blog so we can compare what difference there is. I’ve always belived food is cheaper in the US than it is here, after all we still have amongst the highest taxes in the world🙂

      I never buy canned cat food any longer, to expensive to be honest. They have made the dry food so much better now days and it helps keeping their teeth clean as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I think you already know that I live in Illinois but work in Iowa. I ALWAYS buy my gas in Iowa unless I’ve been a complete idiot and forgotten to get gas and I’m down to driving on fumes. So, I’m not sure what it’s selling for down the block. I bought it for $3.54 last week in Iowa and it was also $3.71 closer to my work so I’m sure it probably was 25 to 30 cents MORE than that, here at home. This summer they say it should be near $5 and while it seems cheap to you, it will really kill me. Oh well, nothing I can do about it.😦
    I buy groceries at this place called Aldi’s where you have to bring a bag (or buy one) and bag it yourself. They only have their brands so there is no choosing between this and that and canned cat food is only 32cents!… and I buy from Target. Sometimes they have great deals as long as I put blinders on so that I don’t buy other cool expensive stuff.
    and then I go to the dreaded Hyvee, they have specials each week and their scoopable litter is only $5 for a 25lb bag. Actually I only hate the Hyvee by my house, the one in Iowa is very nice….I’m rambling, sorry.
    and no, if I had to wring a neck I would end up eating dandelions.🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well since I have Your address I do know that🙂 So it’s cheaper in Iowa! I tend to forget that Your states very much are like different countries over here.

      We do have stores that reminds of Aldi’s here but they do bring in other brands as well, we swedes seems very conservative when it comes to change brands on our food🙂🙂🙂 But there’s no store where one gets help in baging what one has bought, I have only seen that in movies from Your country🙂🙂🙂
      I think I’ll write down the prices in the little grocery store I buy my food in every Friday and write it down here so we can compare🙂 That store isn’t cheap nor especially expensive but it is close to where I live🙂

      Dandelions are filled with good nutritions and I think one can grow them indoors all winter🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer

  4. Christer, the gas prices are also rising here in the U.S., but are not (yet) at the levels you described…perhaps give it time? We have cut down on our grocery shopping anuy items when we are out of them and/or they happen to be on sale. It’s been amazing how much we have been able to lower our shopping costs by paying attention to WHAT we are buying. Also, we tend to cook our own meals most often and reserve going out only for a special occasion or because we have not done it in a great while. This week, I am visiting my mother in NJ and paid $3.60 USD/gallon here on Sunday and it was $3.63/gal before i left VA.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I doubt that the petrol price ever will go up to our levels over at Yours. Since most of You have really large cars (compared to us in Europe) Your country would stop🙂

      I haven’t cut down especially much when it comes to grocery shopping yet but I think I would be able to cut down rather much. I have periods when I just hate cooking but mostly I do it myself and it is much cheaper as You say.
      I do wish we had Your petrol prices though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    So far I haven’t taken to planning my driving. My daily commute used to cost about $300.00 USD in gasoline each month. Shopping and extra trips added to that. When I retired my monthly gasoline bill dropped from almost $400.00 down to $190.00. Last month it was only $140.00. I don’t drive around as much now that I don’t work so I still think I’m saving money even with higher prices.

    I was thinking about getting a few hens for the eggs but then I remembered that I don’t like chickens as a group and I don’t use eggs all that often so what was I thinking? I couldn’t kill the old hens that weren’t laying anymore either even though I did do that as child. Forget rabbits. I’ve eaten them and they are tasty but I’d just as soon get them already processed. I’m old enough now that I can have someone do that stuff for me.🙂

    Hector does look as if he’s got a dislocation of some kind. Has the vet checked him out?

    Have a good day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I checked how much it costs me to drive to work every day now and it’s $ 10/ day, so a normal month would be around $200. But that doesn’t include any other driving than just to work and home again. Thankfully my little Mazda doesn’t use a lot of petrol🙂

      That is a problem with having hen, one must start eating a lot of eggs🙂🙂🙂 But I do like them but I don’t feel I have the time to keep them properly as long as I work. But perhaps when I retire?

      Yes the vet has checked him and the reason he stands like that with his leg is that it hurts less. My leg did much the same when my hips went down the drain🙂 But in my case it was my feet changing position. My toes pointed almost straight to my right when my right hip gave up. It is the leg adjusting by itself. But since his leg is getting better it doesn’t look that strange any more🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Ja du, vi som gillar att göra “biltripper” för att sen hitta mysiga ställen att gå med Santos skulle ju egentligen sluta med det. Vi åker väl kanske en 30-50 mil helt i onödan varje vecka, men…numera när vi bor här så gör vi ju inte av med några pengar alls på nöjen. Dessutom så älskar vi båda två att åka bil, så vi lär fortsätta! 🙂
    Skönt att Hector blir bättre och bättre och att Nova är så pass smart att hon förstår “vinken”! 🙂 🙂
    Santos har varit lite småjobbig sista tiden när granntikarna löpt, så han har fått gått kopplad hemmavid. När vi sen gått i skogen så har han trott att han kan springa precis som han vill, vilket betytt att han dragit iväg från oss mot hemmet. Visserligen vänder han och kommer när han märker att vi vänder. Men… eftersom han alltid går mitt på skogsvägen eller stigen så kan det ju betyda att det kan komma en bil och köra över honom. Han är ju dessutom otroligt lik en liten rävvalp, så risken finns att någon skjuter honom! usch!!😦😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag tycker att har man ekonomi för det skall man fortsätta sina små resor🙂 Finns ingen anledning att stanna hemma då🙂

      Ja Hector springer på nästan som vanligt igen🙂 Men han överanstränger sig ju hela tiden så när vi kommit hem går han och lägger sig tills det är bättre. Nova är ganska så smart egentligen, jag behöver sällan hålla extra koll dagen efter hon varit kopplad🙂

      Brukar det komma en massa bilar på skogsvägarna då? Här händer det så sällan att mina får springa före en bra bit innan jag ropar tillbaka dem. Men det är tråkigt att de skjuter rävvalpar när det inte är säsong, här jagar de inte räv alls tack och lov🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! it would be fun to compare prices! i think i can get stuff cheaper living in a big city because there is more competition in pricing. plus, i shop at stores right where the food comes off of the trains and then it is much cheaper. however, living in the city, my taxes are astronomical! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Lets start with what I buy this Friday🙂 The fun thing here is that it is more expensive in big cities and cheaper outside middle sized towns on the country side🙂
      Usually taxes are a bit higher here on the countryside, we want the same service as they have in the big cities but are fewer to pay for it. We don’t have property taxes any longer, they made it so complicated that no one understood it🙂🙂 So now we pay a fee instead and that fee is much lower here where I live than in the cities or twons.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

