Nova and I are participating in a campaign.

Do You remember some time ago when I told You I tried to take a photograph but wouldn’t tell You why or what it was supposed to show🙂 It was the one above and that one wasn’t especially easy to take🙂 I think I must have taken at least 30 photographs but Nova wasn’t especially cooperative🙂 I found a Facebook page that is called Guilty ‘Til Proven Innocent that want to show that there are lots of people that have pitbulls and that they are just like everyone else🙂 They asked for people that wanted to help with that and I thought why not🙂 There are other photographs as well You can look at if You have Facebook.

Jackdaws warming up in the sky after a cold night.

The suns reflection on the clouds was so strong it actually looked as if the sun already had gone up🙂

So far this campaign only exists on Fb but the ones behind this page has also made a documentary called just Guilty ‘Til Proven Innocent   (if You click on the name You’ll go to their official web site) that will be released soon, so perhaps these photographs will be shown in more places. I hope so because even if Fb is a great place to spread things this is a subject that is preached to those already convinced. Few people that hates pitbulls would go to a site like this to be honest.

 

 

A very old tree fungus.

 

 

The Stock Dove is already back and flies its rounds around its territory.

 

The weather isn’t even close to as nice it was yesterday. The sun do peek through the clouds for a second or two but that’s it. It’s just a degree or two above 0C (above 32F) and there’s a weak but rather nasty wind blowing all the time. But Orvar and Hector just loves this kind of weather, they really should have been born on Greenland or something similar🙂🙂🙂 Nova is more like me even though she doesn’t say no to take a walk anyway.

 

 

 

Making sure no Jackdaws tries to make my chimney their home🙂

 

 

I thought Hector limped less this morning and he really wanted to go for a morning walk. But I walked out with them in to the garden first so we could have our breakfast before leaving. The kitchen stairs aren’t especially high, just two steps but Hector managed to fall down from them anyway when we were going inside again. My first thought was that this might be the thing that will push him closer to the end. But it turned out that he walks much better after the fall🙂 I’m not saying he is alright again, he still limps a lot but much less than yesterday🙂 So I did let him decide how far we should walk today and I think we overdid it.

 

 

 

 

 

His leg got very stiff after he had rested for a while but it got better when he started walking again. So now it feels like he’s going to be ok again🙂 Well it is time to get ready for ski biathlon on tv again. It’s the world championships now and we’ve already gotten two medals (one silver and one bronze) with a slight chance of getting one more this afternoon🙂

Have a great day!

26 thoughts on “Nova and I are participating in a campaign.

  1. Fab photo of you and Nova, Christer. Good effort on your part to increase awareness. Snowing here today quite a bit. Blech!

    • Hi Robin!
      It was probably the toughest photo I’ve ever taken🙂🙂 She refused to stay close to the camera if it was on a timer, it beeps all the time then🙂🙂 So I had to hold the camera in my left hand and use my thumb to be able to take the photo🙂🙂🙂

      They are just trying to show that we don’t have to be gang members to have a pitbull🙂 Everything is about how one keeps and raise the dog. A dog chained to the back yard 24/7 and never get a chance to socialize with anyone is always at risk of being dangerous. If it never learns how to behave how will it ever know that it might do the wrong thing?

      Thankfully no snow here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hahaha…i just stared at the pjoto trying to figure out who the guy with nova is and then i realized it is you. the new thinner christer! wow…you lost a lot of weight! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!🙂🙂 Unfortunately it seem that the weight I have lost was placed just around my head🙂🙂🙂 Not much difference otherwise🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. great photo, my son has a mixed breed dog, she has pit bull in her which is quite obvious but i can’t say we have ever found her any different from any other dog. Wonderful photo!

    • Hi Laurie!
      That’s just it, there’s no difference to other dogs. This has happened before to other breeds, like German shepherd, Rotweiller and Doberman pincher. If raised and kept properly they are just as sweet or nasty as other dogs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,

    Great photo! Saw it on FB this morning but didn’t realize it was you and Nova. I went right to the translation of the message and didn’t read the captions on the photo.
    The problem with pit bulls and some other breeds like Rotweillers and Dobermans is that the wrong people have them for the wrong reasons and they don’t know how to train the dogs either.

    Kind of blah day here. Grey, cloudy, cool, damp. I’m trying to work a bit of enthusiasm to go to the home improvement store and pick up some supplies but I’m not being very successful at it. Think I’ll give up the effort.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’m not surprised that no one recognizes me since most of You never have seen me except for that little photo of my face You can see when I comment in any blog🙂

      Yes it is all about how one treats the dogs. If it is chained in the back yard all the time never meeting any one or get abused any dog can become dangerous. I usually say that any young hip person that wants a cool dog is probably the one that shouldn’t own a pit bull. They should have a spaniel or a poodle.

      Sort of the same kind of day here but without the dampness. I haven’t done anything useful at all today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • On second thought I’ve decided I need flowers and ice cream and that will motivate me to go outside into the world.

        I have seen more photos of you on FB. They show up on my wall sometimes.

      • Ice cream is always a good motivator🙂

        You are amongst the few that has seen more photographs of me, I prefer not to be seen in photographs to be honest🙂🙂🙂

  5. This facebook page is great. Thanks for telling us about it! I had never heard of it before. Now I want to make a picture with my dog too (half pit bull, half yellow lab, and 100% heart of gold!)
    I really love this picture of Nova and you.

    • Hi littlegreentgardengal!
      I think it was a photo that someone had posted that lead me to that page and it is a good one. I’ve learned so much just by reading there. Tell me when Your photo is ready!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. What a wonderful photo! Nova looks so sweet. You are absolutely correct in your premise about pit bulls – it is all in how they are raised. They are not inherently mean. Have you heard about the television show here in the US called “Pit Bulls and Parolees”? The woman who runs the rescue/sanctuary thinks that dogs and people deserve a second chance. She gets a lot of grief from the local law enforcement but what she is doing is wonderful. Perhaps it can be seen online?

    • Hi Nancy!
      Any dog can become dangerous if treated the wrong way, even if damages are smaller if it is a chihuahua🙂🙂 .-)

      No I’ve never heard of that show, I’ll see if I can see it on the web, sometimes programs are stopped to be shown over the net if one lives outside the country it is made in.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Sorry to hear about Hector; I hope he’s okay and nothing serious (sorry, I haven’t had time to read back to know details).
    Thinking good thoughts🙂

    • Hi Perovskia!
      It is serious but it seems to be healing some now. I’ll just have to force him to take it easy so the leg gets as much rest as possible, not an easy task🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Yes it certainly is🙂🙂🙂 He’s eight and a half now, it feels like it was yesterday he and his siblings were born though🙂

  8. You look Swedish.🙂
    I thought your hair was curly though from your little photo? Hmm guess not.
    But good pic of the two of you!
    You know what I think of pitbulls…..
    one of my favorite “boarders” just went home the other day. He spent 2 weeks with me (his name is Spike) and he’s just the most mellow and sweetest thing.
    He never makes a mess and calmly watches the OTHERS act crazy and goofy.
    When he has HIS turn outside he runs around all excited with his bone wanting to play.
    He’s an adorable little pitbull.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes I think I do🙂🙂🙂 But You should see photograqphs of my mormor (grandmother on my mothers side) and her siblings, nothing swedish at all🙂🙂🙂

      My hair decides by itself how it will look🙂 So it is somewhat curly every now and again especially around my forehead. Usually it isn’t though. Not even hair gel can make it stay as I want it to🙂🙂🙂

      Nova always runs around with something in her mouth🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I loved the photo but it took me a few seconds to realize it was you I was looking at! 🙂 I don’t hate pit bulls and actually I don’t think it’s “hate” Christer, as much as mistrust. My daughter had two pit bull puppies. She got one and loved him and so bought another.
    She has three children and they were not tiny, all three were in grade school at that time. They seemed great with the family situation. Like you, my daughter felt they had gotten a bad rap..so to speak.
    She raised the Pit Bulls to adult hood and all seemed fine..then one day, someone was walking their dog way down the block from their home and her dog jerked of her hand and dashed down the street and mauled the neighbors dog to death and no one could stop him. Both dogs went back to the breeder. These were pups she had gotten at 6 weeks or so..and my daughter and her husband and their children are dog lovers to the max!! The dogs were never mistreated. Always shown love. There had been no signs of either dog being agressive beyond a bit of barking which is not agression. No one knows why this happened…but they knew they could not keep them.
    No hatred here…just puzzlement.
    Seeing your dogs with you, it’s difficult to imagine them being agressive but my daughters dogs were the same way.
    It’s a sad situation and I feel bad that there is a need to try and make them seen in a different light. I don’t know what the answer is…
    I think you have yours in a perfect situation. They are gorgeous dogs and wonderful companions to you.
    I do understand people’s reluctance to own them though. There is a wonderful place for them and you are a perfect example.🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Such a sad story! But we must also remember that dogs too can be mentally ill and these kind of things do happen to all breeds. I’ve seen german shepherds do just the same thing. It’s so sad for both the one owning the dog that got killed and the one owning the dog that did it.
      I should’t keep a dog like that either and I would probably distrust that breed I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

