Today is a perfect day to fly a kite, if I only had one.

The wind is steady and rather strong today and it would be perfect to fly a kite. I remember from when I was a kid flying them on a big football field just outside my home. Some had home-made kites but I had a bought one made from two thin sticks on each side and thin see through plastic between them. There was a big Donald Duck print on the plastic sheet on mine and I loved it. I don’t think I’ve ever had such a good kite after that one broke.

 

 

 

 

The sun is shining and if it hadn’t been for the wind I would probably have had my kitchen door open all day. Well, my dogs and I can enjoy the day for shorter periods of time anyway even if it would have been nice to be able to sit on the kitchen stairs with a cup of coffee. It’s always a bit problematic these kinds of days when it comes to keep the cottage warm. The rooms with windows towards south is always very warm but the others are rather cold 🙂 If I start a fire in the stove now my bedroom on the upper floor will be terrible hot because the sun goes down on that side of the cottage.

 

 

 

 

I’m a bit worried, no I’m very worried about Hector right now. We were out in the garden yesterday afternoon and the dogs were playing and having fun. I didn’t notice anything special but suddenly Hector started to limp and it wasn’t a small limp. He didn’t shout from pain, he just started to limp. It was so bad he couldn’t stand on his right hind leg at all. He has osteoarthritis in his right hip since long but that has been controlled with the help of his medicine.

 

 

 

 

 

So we didn’t go for any longer walk yesterday and I made him rest as much as possible until this morning. It did look a bit better when I woke up and he did follow us on a walk in the cow pasture just outside the cottage. Sometimes he almost walks normal but sometimes his limping is really bad. He is still very happy though and he still wants to walk with us. What surprises me is that he suddenly starts to run like crazy 🙂 I do hope that is a sign that he isn’t as bad in his hip as it looks. I’m not sure if this is a problem that will be helped by him moving around a lot or if it is best to just make him rest. Thinking of my own hip problems resting didn’t help that much to be honest.

 

 

 

 

If this doesn’t get better at all within a week I’m afraid I’ll have to take that decision I fear. But it is no use worrying about that yet. The weekend is coming with nice and sunny weather. I think I’ll take a shorter walk with him in the morning and then later take a longer walk with the two others. None of us will like it but I think that’s for the best.

 

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Today is a perfect day to fly a kite, if I only had one.

  1. Hi Christer,
    You should take Hector to the vet. A sudden lameness, especially after playing, could be a different kind of injury entirely. My terrier was playing basketball with my nephew. He bounced the basketball really high and she jumped up after it. When she landed she was three-legged lame. The vet said that her patella had slipped out of place but he got it back in again. She was sore and limped for a while. She wasn’t allowed to go in for lay-up shots after that. 🙂
    Anyway, I hope Hector’s limp goes away or is at least manageable.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I was thinking that just that might have happened to Hector now as well. I’m pretty used to things like that now, it happens to Orvar’s elbow all the time 🙂 🙂 But there is no pain anywhere else in his leg. We’ll know within some days if this is something that will stay or get better. Just the fact that he was a bit better this morning suggests that this might get better again. I’m really not in a hurry to take that decision to be hones 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Har aldrig haft någon drake, tror att det är en typisk pojkgrej, men vi har en som tillverkar mycket vackra sådana en bit härifrån. Skulle gärna vilja ha en nu! 🙂
    Stackars Hector, hoppas han bara gjorde sig illa på grund av att han hoppade fel. Det andra alternativet låter inte bra!! 😦 😦
    Det är väldigt blåsigt här med, så när vi var i Visby idag kunde man knappt ta sig ur bilen men annars är det ju faktiskt VÅR! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Ska till Visby i morgon igen, då med en väninna i Trädgårdsentusiasterna. Vi ska lyssna på en kompis som håller ett föredrag om barrväxter. Egentligen inget jag skulle behöva gå på, lärde mig ju massor genom bonsaiintresset, Men det är alltid kul att göra nått med en väninna ibland också, gubben ser man ju hela dagarna….. *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Hos oss hade alla barnen det när jag växte upp. Det finns så otroligt många vackra drakar 🙂 Ingen av våra var det dock 🙂 🙂 🙂 Jag har gjort några själv och det är svårare än man kan tro.

      Jag hoppas verkligen att det är något som kan läka igen, men hans höft är dålig som det är. Bara till att hålla tummarna.

      Kan ju inget om bonsaier men nog borde det vara skillnad mellan att ha dem hårt tuktade i kruka och att ha dem friväxande ute? Men alla föredrag som har med växter att göra brukar vara kul 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, sending healing thoughts to Hector. Sometimes old muscles and bones act up, and then all is fine!!! Every day you post your great photos–today’s photos seem exceptionally fine! The first photo of that blue expanse of sky is inspiring to think about warmer weather ahead. Teodor looks like he is doing Cat Yoga, I love it! Is that Hector by the mossy covered rock, such contrast between his black coat and the mossy green!! And the spider-webby, sort of frosty weeds is a great one. Thanks for all these wonderful images. And again, let’s keep a very positive view for Hector.

    • Hi Robin!
      He seemed to be a bit better earlier today but now it looks just as bad as before. It is his bad hip so I can only hope it will be able to get better again.

      Teodor is always rolling on the ground when we meet him, thankfully the ground was dry today 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes it is Hector and I like that photo best today. The green moss really shines compared to everything else.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I think you have some very helpful comments today and maybe it is something just out of place, the fact Hector runs when he’s excited to play makes me think it must be arthritis, something out of joint would still hurt to much to run one would think. Beautiful photos, hope with the warm spring sun comes healing for your canine pal.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I have examined his leg and there’s no pain anywhere so I guess it is the arthritis after all. So now I’ll force him to rest even if he doesn’t want to 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is getting colder again but the sun will shine every day they say 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Säger som Susie, det är nog en pojkgrej men eftersom jag har en bror som bara är 16 månader yngre än mig så har jag faktiskt lekt med drakar:) Vi gjorde egna som var väldigt fina:) Stackars Hector hoppas verkligen att det “bara” var en sträckning. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Kanske det snarare är en generations sakj eller kanske beror det på var man växte upp? För när jag växte upp höll både pojkar och flickor på med drakar.

      Jo jag hoppas på en sträckning också. Fast jag vet ju själv att det kunde hålla i länge när man gått fel och det huggit till i benet. Just nu på lördagsmorgon verkar han gå riktigt fint om man jämför med gårdagen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. I wonder if Hector’s hip is affected by the weather. You may want to see how he does this Summer as surgery can be very costly to fix a hip on a dog. I hope he shows signs of improvement as the weather gets warmer there. Guess which photo I stole today?

    • Hi Z&M!
      This happened so quickly so it isn’t weather related. My joints always get worse on hot summers days strangely enough. I rarely have any of those problems in cold winters.

      A hip surgery costs almost as much on a dog as on a human but He is considered to old to have that kind of surgery now.

      No big problems guessing wich photo 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I do hope Hector will be fine. Your dogs are beautiful and very healthy looking. When one of our fur friends hurts we do too.
    Great photos again.
    Went caming for a week and Fred loves to roll in dirt like your cat, but Fred is a dog. Had to go straight to the groomers. 🙂 now he smells and feels so soft again.

    • Hi JoJo!
      I do know how much it hurts because I’ve had just the same problems myself 🙂 I have metal in both my hips now days 🙂 He walked rather ok just now anyway so I cross my fingers and hope for the best.

      I really don’t know why Teo is doing that and he doesn’t care if it is in mud he does this 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer! oh no…poor hector! i wish these guys could let us know what is wrong. teddy refuses to go to the groomer and i have no idea what we will do now. she HAS to be groomed. ugh! we have bad storms heading our way. joyce

    • HI Joyce!
      It would have been so much easier 🙂

      Strange that she refuses to do that, I can’t recall You ever have written she dislikes going there before. I hope You can figure out why!

      I hope the storms doesn’t get to bad! Now I’ll have to check the weather forecast on Your area 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I hope Hector is feeling better, now. And, that Teodor — what a great photo! In fact, all your pictures today are wonderful. You have such a great eye and it’s always a pleasure to visit and see what’s next. Don’t like to hear sad things about the dogs, though. Poor babies. Well, it seems you will be having spring before long and all will be well. Come visit when you can!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Hectors leg was a bit better when we were out walking in the early morning, but now it’s just as bad again. But the fact that he was better shows that if he rests enough he might come back to normal again. But it has only gone two days yet so it is to early to say anything really.

      Now temperatures will drop again so spring is still far away even if it has felt as if it already has arrived 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. OK, I just stopped by to catch up!
    I came home Friday night to NO Internet!! I spent several hours trying to get it back by following all these “instructuions” and then had a long walk through talk over the phone with a someone who told me that the Tech Support Dept was closing in 10 minutes but that I should have it by Saturday morning by 8:00 am.
    But I didn’t 😦
    so Saturday I had SEVERAL phone calls in to my Internet place and they said it could be several days but no cost to me. I told them I KNEW there would be no cost and I was thinking of going with a different provider….then Sunday I get a call and the guy is 10 minutes away from my house! So he came over and fixed the problem. (a short in the phone line in the basement?!?!?!) anyway….
    I’m back!
    I’ve read all your posts backwards and I’m SO glad I did! Now I know already that Hector is doing better!
    Whew! what a relief!
    🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I hate making phone calls to internet delivery!!! They always tries to blame me if it doesn’t work, but there are some really good ones that do try to help. I’ll think twice before using this business again when this period goes out.

      I often have a short in my telephone line here in the cottage because the lightning always goes through it when it passes 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes it is a relief, I was prepared to take that awful decision but now I don’t have to 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

