Where do I have my roots?

I managed to take three photographs today, this one early this morning. I love the color of the moon.

I have two dogs that was ordered by me to be ashamed about how they behaved earlier today. Orvar and Nova had a big fight in the kitchen over a small piece of liver I accidentally dropped on the floor and they both wanted. It didn’t last long because when I yell I can be heard through closed doors and windows in my neighbors cottage🙂🙂🙂 After a bit of yelling from me they now both are up sleeping in my bed next to each other🙂🙂 Orvar is sort of curled around her as if he is protecting her🙂

 

 

 

I don’t know if You remember but we have a story in the family that my Mormors mormor (that means grandmothers grandmother on my mother’s side, if it was on my father’s side it would be farmor) Most probably wasn’t swedish, in fact my mormor said she was a gypsy, something most people in the family keeps quiet about. Well not me and my brother🙂🙂🙂 I have checked back as far as I could but some priests handwriting is so bad its hard to understand what they actually has written🙂🙂

 

 

 

So before I try again I’ve ordered a DNA test that will show from where my ancestors really originate. The thing is that they can see that in the DNA. They can follow the woman line via the mitochondrial DNA. That sort of stick with the women from the beginning of time and it varies from region to region. They can also trace from where the men has come from via the Y chromosome and since my father’s origin is rather clouded I thought that would be interesting as well.

 

 

 

My father’s father is unknown to all of us, my farmor refused to tell us who he was. Back in 1936 it was a huge scandal to become pregnant if unmarried. She had worked as a maid on a big farm and came home with my father. The thing is that she had another son again just a year after that, still unmarried but he stayed with his father not far from where I live. We all just hope that my farmor was (for the morals of that time) a promiscuous slut that liked a bit of fun in the hay, the alternative is that she was raped and that would be terrible.

 

 

 

So now I’m waiting for a test tube to arrive via the mail so I can spit in it and send it back. After that I’ll have to wait for up to eight weeks before I get an answer. Since some of my relatives unfortunately are rather much on the racists side I truly and honestly hope we derives from something they just can’t take🙂🙂🙂 The worst would be if we only have swedish or Scandinavian ancestors🙂  I’ll tell You from where my roots come as soon as I get an answer but it will take some time.

 

 

Have a great day!

26 thoughts on “Where do I have my roots?

    • Hi Robin!
      I’m soo looking forward to that test now! I really hopes that too and how many wish that about ones grandmother🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. wow thats is really interesting, I think its sad the gypsies got such a bad wrap, my relatives always spoke negative about gypsies but my fathers relatives had gypsy blood. thye were not happy when my mum married him.We should not judge should we, there are bad people in all walks of life.Personally the gypsy life appeals to me far more than the aristocratic life in comparism. I certainly hope the best outcome of your investigations.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Gypsies has always had a hard time no matter where they have been living I’m afraid. I don’t know much about their history more than that they comes from northern India in the beginning. I’m hoping my grandmother was right about us being partly gypsy and I think that would kill some of my relatives🙂🙂🙂
      I too would prefere a gypsy life to a life amongst the aristocratics!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Vad häftigt:)) Göran var ju ordförande i Tjörns Släktforskare i 15 år så han/vi har ju varit med om en del kul historier:)) Det är ju just det som är roligast att få reda på om det finns några “skelett” i garderoben:) En gång på ett av våra “möten” var det en man som fick reda på att hans farfars far suttit på fästning för att ha stulit en häst- “han hade säkert bara lånat den” sa mannen helt förstörd över detta fruktansvärda:)) Han kom aldrig mer tillbaka till mötena haha. Som sagt riktigt häftigt:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det är ju de där inte fullt rumsrena personerna som är intressanta trots allt🙂 Efter detta testet får jag i alla fall reda på varifrån jag härstammar även om jag inte får veta något om personerna i sig. Fast den biten skall jag gå vidare med sedan. Först och främst är det ju mormors mormor jag vill veta något om. Är hon från utlandet blir jag glad men jag kommer i alla fall att börja kolla bakåt så gott det går genom vanlig släktforskning.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. We tried to do a family tree, but mom’s family are all gone so we really couldn’t trace much there. My dad’s family won’t talk much. You wonder what they are hiding:) Since my grandparents, both sides, immgrated here you can’t find much in documents.
    I think the gypsy life is in me for sure.
    Can’t wait to hear your findings

    • Hi JoJo!
      It is rather easy to do research back in time here. Our priests has made records of us, our families and jobs, what we worked with and how we died and from what since early 1500. It is especially easy now days when we can reach it all on the internet. The only problem is the hand writing🙂🙂🙂 Some priests must have been drunk while writing in those old books🙂🙂

      I think I could travel around with a horse and carriage (if I only could bring myself to like horses🙂🙂 ) and if people just didn’t hate me for being a gypsy. But I do think that life style sounds nice.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer!🙂
    Is it the wind that makes the icycles look bent like that? Looks CoLD! Your pictures are just beautiful. I was beginning to think you were not going to get snow this year.. It was late in coming to many area’s here as well.
    About your parentage. There are a lot of us with cloudy ancestry. I didn’t think your ancestry could be told from your DNA..I thought it could only prove who a father or mother was if there was a question. It can tell your ethnic background? Really?? I did not know that! I would love to know what mine really is as many stories have come down through time.
    You are on an adventure, Christer. Let us know how it all turns out. Would love to know! If you are a gypsy…:) now that would be interesting.

    • Hi Mona!
      No its actually the sun. But just inderectly🙂 The sun have melted the snow on the roof that has started to slide down and the water has followed that curve the snow always makes when slowly sliding of the roof. It looks cool doesn’t it🙂
      I was hoping I wouldn’t show any snbow photos this year🙂🙂

      Yes it seems that small pieces of our origin looks different from place to place and since it stays in our DNA they can trace our way from thousands of year back they say. I know I ordered the test only a day ago but I was kind of hoping it would arrive already today🙂

      I too am hoping for some gypsy blood in my veins🙂🙂 I’ll let You all know when the test results comes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Sounds very interesting to me. I hope their is some gypsy. Seems like alot of families don’t want to discuss there back ground. My fathers, father changed his name just with one letter. Appartenly if his name ended in an A he was a Hungarian, and if an O he was Slovak. People didn’t like Hungarians to much. Strange but I guess years ago it made a difference. It will be prove to be interesting in your case. Family really can be funny. My father was always secretive about his back ground too.
    Donna

    • Hi Donna!

      I do hope they’ll find something not scandinavian anyway🙂 and mostly I hope for gypsy🙂 But I would love anything my racist relatives would have troubles liking🙂🙂🙂

      It really was very important back in the days to not belonging to the wrong people and I’m afraid it still is that way. How anyone even can decide what’s right or wrong is beyond me. I was hoping that the test tube would come already today but no, so I’ll just have to be patient🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. That is so interesting. A few years ago I traced my mother’s lineage. Thanks to the internet, I was able to discover that my grandmother, who died in 1924, could be traced way back to Spanish Queens and British Kings. My mother had always told me that, but we hadn’t believed her. Looking forward to hearing your history, and I’m cheering for the Gypsies! Lois from Canada.

    • Hi Lois and welcome to my blog🙂

      It is my mother’s lineage that is most interesting since we’ve heard all our lives that my grandmother’s grandmother was from abroad. But then again I have absolutely no idea from where my father’s father comes from so that will be interesting as well🙂 But I doubt we’ll find any of the nobility in our background🙂🙂🙂
      Yes cross Your fingers for gypsy and I would love something even more unusual up here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    As I understand it the Y chromosome will only show your father’s male lineage and the mitochondrial DNA will only show your mother’s female lineage. You won’t get any information about your father’s female lineage or your mother’s male lineage. But still, you will have some more pieces of the puzzle.

    My roots are all mixed up. My father’s sister has done some research into her father’s side of the family but I think she is interested only in the Irish side and has glossed over the bits that she considers unsavory like the Scottish, English, French Canadian and Native American bits. My mother’s uncle has done quite a bit of research into their family and he left out none of the unsavory bits. Much more fun to read. My particularly favorite ancestor is Becky of the Lower Road. That’s the only name we have for her. Not much is known about her but there is a painting of her looking stylish in a fur-trimmed coat, a muff and a very grand hat. We suspect she was a strumpet. But one with standards.🙂

    In case you are interested, you can also buy a DNA test for dogs that will give a fair indication of what breeds may be in your dog’s genetic mix. Presumably this is useful so that you can be aware of what genetic diseases and disorders your dog might be subject to because of it’s breed mix. But I just think it would be fun to know.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      That’s right, but it is the women in my mother’s lineage that I am interested in. The women are the ones that are remembered in our family, the men tends to be forgotten rather quickly🙂

      I would love to have a very mixed back ground🙂 But I guess it mostly is scandinavian forfathers that exists in me. But the more unusual back ground the better🙂
      Well as long she was a strumpet with class and standards🙂 sort of in the same level as my promiscuous slut grandmother🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I have just reacently heard that but I know ratherw ell what’s in my dogs🙂 Orvar and Hector has six (perhaps seven) breeds in them and Nova two🙂 The disorders comes weather we like it or not anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. OK, I’ve been catching up backwards after reading about you spitting in a test tube and here it is!😀
    Good luck I hope you are part Gypsy if that is what you would like to be.
    I know nothing of gypsies except what I’ve seen in the movies. Have you ever seen “Chocolat” ? were they gypsies?
    No, maybe not but Johnny Depp’s character was.🙂🙂🙂
    this post made me smile and the comments laugh! Yes! a strumpet with standards is still a slut. It’s just a negotiation of price.🙂
    (actually wouldn’t it be worse to charge for it?) LOL!
    I must go now!
    (don’t tell anyone that I was on the computer AGAIN!) LOL!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do hope that I’m very mixed anyway. Since southern Sweden once was danish I most probably have a danish background, but I sure do hope my grandmother’s grandmother at least was from out of scandinavia. They say she spoke with her parents in another language so there’s a big chance anyway🙂

      I never figured out if they were gypsies🙂 But I love the movie🙂

      Strumpet or slut🙂 As long as they had a good life nothing else matters🙂

      I’ll be very quiet about You being out on the internet🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hello, Christer. Just stumbled upon your blog and found this post particularly interesting. My grandmother is hoping to have her DNA tested sometime soon to find out what Native American tribe we come from. We know that her grandmother was full-blood native, but we’ve never been able to find out which tribe she was from. Hopefully we’ll know soon.

    On the other side of the family we’ve traced our lineage back to William the Conqueror and beyond. It’s really crazy to think. As it turns out, I’m cousins to both the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and a direct descendant of Mary Boleyn (The Other Boleyn Girl🙂 )

    I am also part gypsy which I only found out recently. It’s all very interesting stuff and I’m eager to hear what you find out about yourself!

    • Hi Elizabeth and welcome to my blog🙂

      How interesting! I’m unfortunately very sure of not having any native american blood in my veins but I would have liked that! Now I only have maximum seven weeks left before an answer comes and I do hope it is a very mioxed background I have🙂 From what I’ve seen we have been mostly sailors and maids in my family, nothing nobel about us at all I’m afraid🙂🙂

      Take a look here every now and again because I’ll post the answer I get here🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

