When the roads finally was great to drive on again.

I only managed to take three photographs today. This one I took through my bathroom window early this morning.

I’m not sure we can call this snow fall a blizzard, at least not here where I live, but up on the mountain where the wind blows hard it most certainly is. It started to snow already last night, I noticed that when Hector desperately needed to go out and I opened the door. A gentle snowfall was falling and I didn’t think any more of it to be honest. I did however when I got up at 4:45am.

The gentle snowfall had given us around 1dm (4 inches) of snow. I don’t remember why I walked out but while standing there I thought that this would be a great day to stay at home. Strange really because I really don’t like snow🙂🙂🙂 The roads to work was a mess and they were not much better on my way home when the snow had started to fall again and now with  help from the wind.

I found a file called Save for a rainy day and since it is water falling from the sky I thought I should use them today🙂

There’s a man living in one of our bigger airports, Landvetter outside Gothenburg. He’s from Germany and says he wants to live and work in Sweden. But he has no money so he really can’t go anywhere and he doesn’t want to go back to germany he says. He has been living there for almost three months now (three months is the limit to live in Sweden without any kind of visa if You are from Europe).

 

The security personnel doesn’t mind him being there and perhaps they look the other way during nights when he sleep on places he really shouldn’t be sleeping in🙂 They also chats with him every now and again so he feels he has some company. Since he has no money other travellers helps him with food and some bring him things to read too. I think most people feels sorry for him, being so close to where he wants to live and work, but still so far away to make it come true.

It is time to make a pot of tea and a sandwich or two. If I only had some bread for my hotdogs I would eat that, but that was another thing I forgot to buy yesterday🙂

 

 

Happy Valentines Day, or as we say here in Sweden: Have a nice All Hearts Day!

20 thoughts on “When the roads finally was great to drive on again.

  1. Love the photo from your bathroom window, very artful, really! Our little bits of snow from the other day are just about gone. And it is 45 degrees F today. I like your “rainy day” photos, especially all the foggy ones. There was a great movie with Tom Hanks about a guy living at an airport; I cannot think of the name of the movie for the life of me, but it was very good, and sounds just like this fellow at the Swedish airport. I wonder if they will evict him soon. Christer, there is a wonderful little thing called a “shopping list”. you write things down as you see you need them, or run out of things. Then, you take the list to the store, and there you are, no forgetting important things like bleu cheese, bread for hot dogs, light bulbs, or god forbid, cat food! Happy All Hearts Day!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I don’t need to turn on the lights in the bathroom when those lights outside are on🙂🙂
      The temperature are just below 32F here and will stay around that during the days.

      I know that movie but I haven’t seen it all. I don’t know if they actually knows what to do with him. He can’t buy a ticket somewhere else since he has no money. So maybe they’ll just put him on a plane back to Germany. Most people seems to like having him there though🙂

      Well the problem is that I tend to forget that list here at home or at work🙂🙂 But I’ve heard it is great to have if one remember to bring it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Just love the photo of the tree, snow and lights. Great pictures all the way around.
    I live in Tucson, AZ and we just had snow!🙂 thats the end of the camping trip scheduled for tomorrow. Oh well thats the way it goes sometimes.

    • Hi JoJo!
      Not even I can deny that snow and lights are beautiful, but I prefere to see it in a photograph🙂🙂

      I guess snow isn’t that common in Arizona🙂 To bad about tha camping trip but You can build a snowman instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det var ett jobbigt väder idag:( Vi körde min svärmor till Uddevalla sjukhus på en kontroll med hörapparaten och det snöade hela tiden. Värre när vi körde hem för då blåste/yrde snön mer och plusgraderna gjorde att det blev så där slaskigt och jobbigt som det brukar när det snöar och är milt:( Nu verkar det ha lugnat ner sig men nu fryser det säkert på istället:( Vilket underbart foto från ditt badrumsfönster, rena julstämningen:) Skickar dig en stor kram på alla hjärtans dag/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det var ett skitväder rent ut sagt🙂 Det är så typiskt att skiten skall börja falla när äntligen vägarna var riktigt bra igen.

      Ja den bilden blev mer lyckad än jag trott🙂

      Hoppas alla hjärtans dag var bra🙂
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Love the first photo the most. Followed by the third photo.

    If your cell phone has text you can write the list as a text on your phone and save it as a draft. The phone is in your pocket so the list is too. Unless you are one of those people who leaves the phone in the car all the time.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It seems we all like that photo🙂

      But where on earth is that draft? Many timews I touch some words on the screen and the phone says the word is saved in drafts, but I just can’t find it🙂🙂 I must have over hundred words saved there by now and I can’t find them so I can delete them🙂🙂🙂
      I always have my phone on me unless I’m at home.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I don’t know where your drafts are but mine are under Messages along with all my text messages and my voice mail. Of course my phone is ancient ( 5 years old) so your phone will be different.

      • We did loom there at work today and couldn’t find it🙂🙂 So I have lots of words that I don’t want saved somewhere in my phone🙂🙂🙂 The old ones was so much easier to understand🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  5. did you remember what it was you forgot?
    The man living at the airport, thats so sad, it amazing someone hasn’t taken pity on him and given him a job.It is good that people are helping him, I wonder why he wants to leave his country so badly.Four inches of snow isn’t too bad, It’s just enough to make things clean and pretty, and the roads, messy!

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes I did and it was the story about the man living on the airport.

      I don’t think many knew he lived there until a couple of days ago when the newspapers wrote about it. But we don’t have that many jobs ourselves so if he doesn’t have special competense his chance of getting a job is slim to nothing.

      More snow came later and then came some rain so it sort of sank down rather much. The roads are not so fun to drive on I can say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Stackars man, kan inte vara kul att bo på en flygplats!😦
    Här har det snöat så jäkligt i natt (ett par dm) att DN inte kom idag. Tydligen kunde morgonflyget inta landa här. Det är väldans vackert om man nu gillar vitt, med helt insnöade träd och stigar. Rolle försökte gå med Santos i kohagen bakom, men det gick inte så han var tvungen att gå på den plogade vägen utanför. Inte så kul, men “nöden har ingen lag.”….ut måste han ju! Fast det blev ingen längre tur!! 😦 😦

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Han verkar trots allt ha det ganska så bra där på flygplatsen🙂

      Det kom en hel del snö här med, men så kom det regn och någon plusgrad så det sjönk ihop rätt bra till slut.
      Santos kan inte ha det lätt då🙂 Han är ju inte så hög i sig själv trots allt. Ja, ja, snart kommer våren🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, The name of the movie is “The Terminal” and I also saw it years ago, but it would be a good one to rewatch. Happy belated Hearts Day and I prefer to use that wording instead of Happy Valentine’s Day. We celebrated by going out to dinner, which is not something we do often as our choices are very limited where we live. Then, we watched “When Harry Met Sallay” (again). It’s one of our favorite movies. I can rewatch romantic-comedies over and over again, but not so much any other type of film, which are only viewed once and then forgotten. We will most likely watch “You’ve Got Mail” this week as well. The first shot from your bathroom window was great and I really liked the blue snow scenes better than the save for a rainy day ones, which were beautiful, but this is winter.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes when You mention it I remember the name🙂

      When Harry met Sally is one of my favorite romantic comedies🙂 Strangelöy enough I don’t like You’ve got mail as much even if I think it is good too!
      I can rewatch most movies if it has gone a couple of months since I saw it the last time. At the moment The Proposal is my favorite🙂
      I do like that first photo but prefere the rainy day photographs since I really don’t like winter🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Cool Snow pictures!
    It looks so much nicer in YOUR yard than mine. But actually I wouldn’t mind it compared to what we have now. Temps in the 40’s and mud.
    Hope you had a Happy Hearts Day, Mine was boring, I had to work and I’m taking care of several OLD OLD dogs and a Puppy…so lots of poop!
    No flowers, just poop.
    Oh! It was Twinkle’s birthday! (my Chihuahua) she turned 5!
    so that was nice!
    Today I went to the dentist and had 2 teeth filled. I HATE the dentist.
    so, yeah. yesterday was better.

    • Hi Cindi!
      Snow is always nicer somewhere else🙂🙂🙂

      Well we don’t really celebrate that day here so it was just a normal day for me. To be honest, I can’t remember what I did except for working🙂🙂🙂 All poop however is covered withn snow now so I don’t have to think about that for a while🙂🙂🙂

      No birthdys here until September but then we all have our birthdays within nine days🙂

      I’ve always liked to go to the dentist🙂 I’ve been so lucky to have had great dentists that was so careful I never had to use anesthetic. The only thing I don’t like is the price though🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

