Bertil would naturally walk out there with us today.

They had predicted snow last night and it did snow, just look at this spruce🙂

 

It is one of those days in the middle of winter that signals spring is on its way. I know that we normally has to wait until at least April before spring starts here but still🙂 The sun is shining and the temperature is just below 0C (32F), birds are singing and the few I meet have a smile on their face🙂 the snow is melting on the roofs and one can hear the sound of water dripping everywhere. The city pigeons that live in a barn close to here has started the courting already as well.

 

The sun broke through the clouds when we were on our way to the bog.

 

They cut down almost all trees on the first island before the nature reserv was made bigger. As You can see it isn't to easy to walk in there🙂

 

Bertil found this place very interesting and perhaps a bit scary. He was seldome more than a couple of meters (much the same in yards) away.

 

The tree might be dead but it's still full of life, like funguses and insect larvaes.

 

We did walk out on the bog again as I had planned but the sun heats up the air much more than I had expected so instead of walking to the lake we stayed close to the islands  where we walked yesterday. I know the ice is thick there but have no idea how it is closer to the lake. Snow is a far better insolation than one might think so it isn’t always the ice is thick where the snow is.

 

One of all these small bays these islands are full of. I can see myself camping there after a long day of canoing🙂

 

 

 

 

We were out walking for an hour and a half before we turned homewards again. I didn’t see any animals but found signs showing we have plenty of big deers out there and it looks like we have a lot of Black grouse as well. Nova was trying to follow every track she stumbled upon so we did get some problems with the leash🙂  If I thought it was quiet yesterday it was even more so today when we came to the other side of the islands. There’s always a background sound from the expressway even if one doesn’t notice it, on the other side of the islands that sound was gone.

Looking out on the bog.

 

 

Turning homewards again and this time we walked straight through the forest on the islands. I doubt this would have been dry land if the lake still would have been as high as it once was.

 

We could hear deers walk from big distance and some kind of bird of prey flew over us shouting out loud. The ravens didn’t like us out there either and they followed us on s distance all the time we were out there. None of them made Bertil especially happy, he followed us today and I actually think this was the first time he was out there. Everything seemed to be interesting to him and every now and again he was left behind making him shout out loud🙂

 

 

 

 

 

I would like to see that lake though but if I can’t walk there this winter I’ll drive as close as I can this summer. The road stops far from the lake but I think there’s a trail leading to the lake where the road ends. By the way, the lemon isn’t bad at all🙂 The taste isn’t especially strong but it’s sort of very sweet at the same time it is sour. I have it in my tea right now🙂

 

 

We walked where the deforestation machines had driven before to get out of the nature reserv.

 

 

Outside the nature reserv and finally free from the leash🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Bertil would naturally walk out there with us today.

  1. I love all the photos. The 3rd one with the trees is very cool.
    But of course the one of Bertil in the shadows is my fav. It makes me wish that my Harry could go on walks and adventures.
    My other cats seem to be alright staying inside but he used to have a lot of outside adventures and I wonder if he misses that.😦
    I live on a busy street and while I think he would stay in the back of the house in the trees…I can’t take that chance.

    I bet walking in all that silence really clears your mind.
    So peaceful
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I wish I could walk there more during summer but it is a paradise for horse and deer flies🙂

      Most cats adapts easily to other situations so I doubt he misses it to much. I wouldn’ let my cats outside either if I had traffic outside here. Sometimes it looks like cats are suicidal because they wait until the last minute to pass a street. I don’t know how many times I’ve been close to hit cats with my car!

      It is actually so silent out there that one can hear it🙂

      Have a great day!
      CFhrister.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I love it out there🙂 To bad horse and deer flies loves it too during summer🙂

      Yes they aren’t used to wear a leash but they walk very well while wearing it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I only wish I could have reached the lake. But since I wasn’t sure about the ice and had nothing with me to test it with I thought it was best to not walk out in the middle of the bog.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos today. The bog looks fascinating. I bet there are wonderful things growing in there when it’s not winter and frozen over but it’s probably treacherous to go find them if one doesn’t know where to step.

    Is that last photo Nova? It looks like Orvar and why would Orvar need the leash? I’m confused.🙂

    Sunny and cold here today. The backyard birds appear to have a preference for only one of the feeders even though both have the same stuff in them. I’ll let the favorite one run out and see what happens.

    Time for lunch. Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’ve read that we do have some rare plants out there, a few orchids amongst other things. But I rarely walk there during summer because horse and deer flies loves that place as well🙂🙂

      It is Orvar🙂 The only reason they have to wear a leash is that it is forbidden to walk dogs without a leash on there. Doesn’t matter what time of year it is and I would most probably be caught it I didn’t have them leashed🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve noticed the same behaviour with our birds🙂 It is the one where it’s tougher to get the seeds that is the most popular?! Can’t understand why🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Låter och ser ut som om ni hade sn skön söndagsprommmis!🙂 Själv har jag inte varit utanför dörren idag, det här snöat och varit runt nollan och väldigt halt.😦 Rolle däremot har väl varit ute en 5-6 gånger med Santos. Det är tur att inte han lider av rädsla att halka!🙂

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Så ni har haft snöfall såpass länge!
      Det är inte kul att slinta och kanske förstöra sig och du hade ju redan skadat dig innan, så jag förstår att du helst hållit dig inne.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      Yes I think we all enjod the day to the fullest🙂

      Yes he is🙂 It’s the dogs he follows, he loves them more than anything. Humans is of no interst at all. Everyone likes that cat but he has a rather nasty personality to be honest🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes the snow was melting but only for today, it will get colder already tomorrow and it’s already rather cold outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The line of trees is a great picture.

    I can understand why Bertil would stay close. It looked so dense in some parts. The sun shines wonderfully through those trees. I thoroughly enjoyed your walk today!

    • Hi Kat!
      I like that one too🙂

      It was impossible to walk through some parts of the forest out there, even when there were no fallen trees in the way. I think our lynx lives out there so staying close to us would probably be the best life insurance for him🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

